Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Sienna Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Toyota Sienna

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Van
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 7
MPG: 17-19/23-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.7L I4 187HP
3.5L V6 266HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2012 Toyota Sienna in the top 8% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
92%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Toyota Sienna in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Toyota Sienna also consider:
Be the first to review 2012 Toyota Sienna!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 29, 2012

Ian
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Lots of room inside, especially if we remove or put down the 2nd and 3rd row seats so we can carry bicycles (crosswise) behind the front row seats and then carry camping gear and an electronic cooler behind that.

I made a table out of a half sheet of plywood, with folding legs below and a lip above around the edges to hold lighter tent, sleeping bags, mattresses, etc., on it.

I place the heavier containers of food, extra clothing, bicycle accessories and cooler on the floor. This way we are able to travel with most everything we need to be comfortable in different types of weather.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
The heater takes forever to warm up and the outlets on the dashboard and especially down at floor level put out little volume. Our 2006 Toyota Corolla heats up really quickly and works so much better than the Sienna. Has anyone being able to find a solution to this problem? Going to the dealership and writing Toyota in Canada did not bring me any satisfaction. Toyota told me to go to the dealership, even though I told them in an email that I had done that. Is there any accountability for this problem?

The airplane lights don't remain in an obvious depressed position so you can tell that they are on, after pressing them on. Who wants a dead battery because you can't easily see if you turned the lights on?

I find the front seats a little uncomfortable after several hours of driving. These seats lack adequate lower back support (a problem that was common with domestic minivans of the early 1990's). Why are these issues still common with numerous newer models of vehicles?

After removing the 2nd row seats, I don't like the seat brackets that cannot be removed from the tracks in the floor. I made some built up layers of cardboard that fit between the seat brackets and then cover the above with a thing layer of rubber matting so that I won't damage the brackets or items placed onto them, plus I get a smoother surface to place items onto.

Gas mileage could be improved.

The dashboard gauges are unimpressive to look at. The gas gauge is hard to see and the increments are small and not very helpful in seeing how full the tank is - relative to other vehicles.

2011 Toyota Sienna Review:
I would like see Toyota consider putting in a continuously variable transmission, similar to the very efficient transmission design found in the 2013 Nissan Altima, as one way of improving fuel efficiency. As Toyota has a hybrid Camry model, will they consider making a hybrid Sienna to improve mileage? Toyota did not respond to these two suggestions I emailed them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 9, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Better gas mileage than the 24 mpg highway stated by Toyota.
Quiet ride, even at high speed.
Really attractive exterior, attractive and comfortable interior.
Lots of cargo space.
Great performance/acceleration in highway/city driving.
The six speed transmission is incredibly responsive up and downshifting.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Even better gas mileage.

2011 Toyota Sienna Review:
Smooth ride, good acceleration, quiet interior even at 85-90 mph.

I get 26 mpg in straight highway driving going between 70-85 mph, with occasionally aggressive merging and lane changing over an 80 mile stretch, I imagine a lot of V6 owners will be envious of that (especially the AWD owners).

I find the engine very satisfactory and the suspension perfect even when hauling my four kids, wife and all our stuff.

Interior is attractive and comfortable, lots of storage and head/foot room.

The new 2011 design is eye catching and gets lots of attention whereever we go, it's really sporty.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 30, 2013

Sarah Maged
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Sienna?
Very comfortable.
Smooth drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Sienna?
Huge gas tank issues & rattling issues.

2013 Toyota Sienna Review:
I own the car for 9 month, I have been more than 10 times back in the shop. Totally unacceptable. The gas tank can not be fully filled up. We get "kicked out" after about 20 liters and then must attempt to fill again and again dropwise!

Also I have been four times back for rattling noises. They cant fix it properly. They changed twice cables to the back seats and the car is still rattling like an old klunker. I have had two amazing Siennas before (1999/2006) I WILL NEVER BUY ONE AGAIN!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 4, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Sienna?
No problems with the van. I have done nothing but routine maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Sienna?
Gas tank is small.
A little under powered. Would be nice to have more pep.

2005 Toyota Sienna Review:
Love the fold down seats. I tow a small trailer and it works well. Engine and transmission are fine. No electrical problems. Had a pontiac montana before this and had major electrical problems after 8 years old.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 16, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Sienna?
I love my van. It is a perfect size for my family and has plenty of storage with the seats up. I would like the set up of this van. I just wish the parts were reliable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Sienna?
Warranty parts that do not break easily.

2007 Toyota Sienna Review:
So far my warranty covers nothing that goes wrong. The springs on the front broke. The sliding door does not always latch open so it slams back into my kids as they are getting in and out. The motor went out all on the same door which caused to to open when driving.. now the front end is making noise. Every time I go to the dealer they cannot help me or it is not covered. For spring on a 2 year old car to go out is unheard of since my 1993 still has the original.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 9, 2011

g. kho
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Excellent vehicle.
Lots of room.
Excellent body style.
Performance is outstanding.
Interior is very roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Exhaust needs stainless tip.
Stainless exhaust tip.
All weather mats on all rows.
Gas mileage.

2011 Toyota Sienna Review:
Great love you do for me Toyota.
The Lexus of the minivans.
Best of all the vans.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 25, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Sienna?
It's a perfect vehicle for hauling the troops ( 4 kids ) and it would be nice to own a suburban like when I was little, but gas was only about $0.80 a gallon then.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Sienna?
I had an 04 Sienna, until a pick-up truck failed to stop at a stop sign and total it, (virtually the same as the 06) and it seemed to have a little more pep to it, and the mileage was a little better, don't know what happened there.

2006 Toyota Sienna Review:
Overall, between both Sienna's we've owned, they never been in the shop for anything out of the ordinary, good quality vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2011

Gill
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Exterior and interior design are the best in class.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Not as fun to drive as the Honda Odyssey.

2011 Toyota Sienna Review:
Compared to the Honda Odyssey, the Sienna is a better overall package.

I love the look, and the interior layout, compared to the Odyssey. Sure, the Sienna is not as fun to drive, but we would not have bought a minivan if fun was what we were looking for.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 15, 2011

Arlene Moller772
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Kudos to Toyota for recognizing that women drive and buy cars and that they need a place to put their purse.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
The tray on the floor between the front seats is a good new design feature but the sides need to be higher. At only an inch high, anyone getting into the vehicle with mud or snow on their boots will kick dirt and snow into the tray. No woman who pays a thousand dollars for a designer bag would want to put it there. The edges need to be higher to make the tray actually usable as a purse holder.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 26, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Styling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Sienna?
Better engine.
Better response from Toyota Customer Service.

2011 Toyota Sienna Review:
Purchased my 2011 sienna Feb.27/10. What a nightmare!!
Sienna has 6300 miles. Things fixed already:
Oil Pan Gasket
Soft Plug
ENGINE BLOCK REPLACED
TIMING CHAIN
Oil pressure switch.

Presently the Sienna is in the shop again - malfunction water pump caused the engine to blew up.

My Sienna has been in the shop for 38 days in the FIRST YEAR.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Sienna Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Toyota Sienna?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Sienna? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Sienna? 2012 Toyota Sienna Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Toyota Model Lineup:
2012 4Runner
2012 Avalon
2012 Camry
2012 Camry Hybrid
2012 Corolla
2012 FJ Cruiser
2012 Highlander
2012 Highlander Hybrid
2012 Matrix
2012 Prius
2012 Prius C
2012 Prius V
2012 Rav4
2012 Sequoia
2012 Sienna
2012 Tacoma
2012 Tundra
2012 Venza
2012 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Toyota Sienna | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact