Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Toyota Matrix

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 20-26/26-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 132HP
2.4L I4 158HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2012 Toyota Matrix in the top 2% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
98%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Toyota Matrix in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Toyota Matrix also consider:
Submitted Nov 5, 2012

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
I really like its sporty look. It's not over done like other cars in its class. It has clean lines and a somewhat intimidating look to it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
Although the looks are sporty and somewhat intimidating, the same cannot be said for its 1.8 liter engine. Although it suits a leisurely commute and will get you to your destination it does lack a thrilling ride. Nevertheless, a relatively smooth one at that.

2012 Toyota Matrix Review:
Overall a very solid reliable car with a sporty exterior. Toyota has a winner with the matrix as it provides sportiness, reliability as well as function.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 25, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
JUST ABOUT EVERY THING.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
MORE COMFORTABLE SEATS.
CUSTOMERS WHEN GETTING THEIR SERVICE SHOULD HAVE THE OPTION OF BEING WITH THERE CAR WHILE IT IS BEING SERVICED.
I PAID FOR IT SO WHY AM I NOT ABLE TO SEE WHAT IS BEING DONE?
HOW WOULD I KNOW THAT SERVICE ATTENDANT DID THE WORK REQUIRED????????????? I HAVE TO PAY FOR SERVICE AND PARTS SIGHT UNSEEN.

TRUST SHOULD WORK BOTH WAYS FOR THE CUSTOMER AND THE DEALER.

2012 Toyota Matrix Review:
SEATS TOO FIRM FOR LONG TRIPS.
BUT I LIKE ITS HANDLING AND DEPENDABILITY.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 5, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
The 1.8 L fwd automatic is great on gas.
Lots of interior room especially with the rear seats folding down.
Low maintenance, high reliability.
I love the way the car looks inside and out. Much nicer looking then the Corolla.
I love the hatchback.
Love the power locks and huge glove box.
Great value for the price.
Heater is great and defrosts windows and gets you in the comfort zone quickly.
Oil only needs to be changed every 6 months or 8000 km.
I really like the big storage box located between the driver and passenger.
Great functional car for point A to point B driving.
Great cargo space.
Probably the nicest looking wagon ever made.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
Lots of road noise. You can feel every little bump in the road which I guess you would expect from such a small car.
The seat belt alarm is very annoying.
Poor armrests or lack of a middle armrest.
Cheap front cup holders.
Power window switch hurts your fingers.
Cheap plastic interior and it marks up easily.
Stereo sounds too bassy and the speakers buzz and rattle.
Engine noise.
Seats could be more comfortable.
Lots of small chips in the paint.
A little bit under powered but makes up for it in gas mileage.
Doors sound cheap and tinny when closing.
Lots of blind spots especially in the back with the tiny back window.
I'm a little concerned about the transmission... passenger could easily bump it sending it into another gear.
Not really fun or inspiring to drive.

2010 Toyota Matrix Review:
It's a nice looking, reliable, functional car that is good on gas and has great cargo space. If you can live with the noise and a bit of a bumpy ride with a few blind spots, it is a great car for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Utility is great, folding front seat.
It has the shortest turning radius in its class so it's easy to park.
Gas mileage is great now, but not at first. Gas mileage gets better after engine & transmission are broken in around 15 - 20K.
It has plenty of head room for four six foot adults.
It's easy to work on and repair which shows good engineering.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I would like a higher center console that blends into dash (i.e. the 2010 Matrix).
The addition of two DC outlets in the rear storage compartment.
Maybe a splash of color the the interior.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
Overall the Matrix is a wonderful little economy car that reaches that good blend between function and fun.

I had considered the Ford Escape/Mazda Tribute but found they ride firmer more like trucks. And the gas mileage for both wasn't close to the Matrix.

I traded in my Ford Explorer for the Matrix and I love it. I now have 48K on my Matrix and haven't had any problems with it (which is more than I can say about other new cars I have purchased in the past). With regular maintenance, most of which I do, I see no problem with getting 150 - 200k out of this car easy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 22, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
I find that TOYOTA(Cambridge) makes a great car.
I love everything about it....refined looks inside and out.
Excellent fit and finish throughout.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
The so called bag hooks in the rear are basically useless.

2013 Toyota Matrix Review:
This is my second Toyota...the1st being a 2003 corolla le which in 10 years never even had a burnt out light bulb. So I didn't hesitate to go with a Matrix...you just can't go wrong with a Toyota.


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 19, 2013

Tyrone
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
It drives smooth for an econo box.
Engine fairly quiet after you get it up to your speed, solid feel, smooth transmission.
Why mess with a good thing, great fuel economy, not as good as my Yards, but makes up for it with space and comfort on long runs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
Improving would mean adding more weight, which defeats the purpose and the goal of the vehicle to begin with. cant have it all.

If you want a LEXUS buy a Lexus. I guess the only thing I would Improve on it is swapping out the electronic accelerator with the Japanese version which I had in my Yaris, has a better feel, and feed back.

2013 Toyota Matrix Review:
Great vehicle all around. the Dual VVTI engine feels strong, and positive, even though its my first North American built Toyota product, I am Happy with it. As I said before I did not buy a Lexus, so I don't expect it to perform and built like a Lexus. Its a down to earth vehicle does the job with a quality body, No smoke and Mirror technology here , its the real deal.......


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2012

Ginette
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
It's a great little car.
Gas mileage is great.
It has lots of room inside and the outer design is smart looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
Fix the blind spots. Reversing into a parking spot is tricky.
The head rests are some of the biggest I have ever seen.

2010 Toyota Matrix Review:
It is a nice little car. I love mine.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 17, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Matrix?
I just purchased my first 2007 Toyota Matrix and I love it. It gets amazing gas mileage and me driving 30 miles to work and 30 back it helps me a lot. The ride is very smoothe. Handling is amazing. When I test drove it I knew it was for me. I haven't found one thing wrong with my Ruby. :)

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Matrix?
The only con I can think of is I didn't purchase one sooner..

2007 Toyota Matrix Review:
Amazing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Matrix?
Good on Gas.
Very reliable.
No repairs required in 5 years that I have owned.

2005 Toyota Matrix Review:
For a small car that is very reliable and economical. Good family car and reasonable priced.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 8, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Comfortable on long rides, decent gas mileage, economical and easy to drive. Great crossover. Picked up a small chest freezer and brought it home--saved me $40.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Roof Rack, definitely. I'm also not a fan of the aerial in the middle of the roof--gets in the way of the kayak/canoe.

2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
We've had the Matrix for 2 years now and find it to be an outstanding car. Drove it from WI through the Rockies in December, didn't end up in a ditch and didn't feel very stiff getting in and out of the car. An easy long-distance ride.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Toyota Matrix?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Matrix? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Matrix? 2012 Toyota Matrix Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Toyota Model Lineup:
2012 4Runner
2012 Avalon
2012 Camry
2012 Camry Hybrid
2012 Corolla
2012 FJ Cruiser
2012 Highlander
2012 Highlander Hybrid
2012 Matrix
2012 Prius
2012 Prius C
2012 Prius V
2012 Rav4
2012 Sequoia
2012 Sienna
2012 Tacoma
2012 Tundra
2012 Venza
2012 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Toyota Matrix | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact