Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota FJ Cruiser Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 15-17/18-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.0L V6 260HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser in the top 39% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
61%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser also consider:
Be the first to review 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Exterior looks are Great.
Locking Differential etc.
Mechanically it is well thought out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Ungodly Sulpher smell from exhaust. This is the ONLY! 4by that STINKS like this regardless of fuel used as compared to other vehicles. Such as Jeeps, other toyotas, Fords Chevrolets when mudding, rock crawling, general driving etc. Heated seats should be standard; this is designed and touted as a rugged OUTDOORS vehicle. Occupants should be allowed creature comforts of modern vehicles. Vastly improved foot air flow; again it is to be expected at some point your feet are going to be very wet and cold; that aspect has not been addressed. Window visors are useless for side sun blocking. Get rid of the "Wart" on top of the dash. Join the 21st century with in-dash displays,GPS etc. Inclonometer? Naw!. Too much plastic. Good on the floor being washable. Horrific resonance from my performance exhaust system. We have to wear earplugs on long trips. The drone of the exhaust becomes deafening on longer than around town trips. Allow back window to be opened from driver console/dash. Rear seats MUST/SHOULD fold flat. 3" Hump in rear deck floor should be eliminated to produce a flat deck for sleeping/storage. Rear door should raise rather than swing out: with the roof being narrower than the body, it lets rain into the back deck. Also it provides absolutely no shelter when removing boots etc in the rain. Driver/passenger doors; same thing when windows are open- allow rain to drain directly onto the interior door/window control panels. Door edging is chipping w/o being hit, honest. I don't know how but they are chipping; seemingly overnight in my garage. I'm to the point of taking dated and timed pictures of the events. Doesn't make sense but it IS HAPPENING! Sorry, you asked for a review.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Having said all that the power is better than good. The looks are stunning. I would trade in my 07 in a heartbeat if the 08 or 09 models addressed these issues. this is a unique looking vehicle. It should develop into a cult, especially if the above were to be changed. Like a 'vette driver waving as you pass, it's becoming like that here in the Seattle area.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Performance is great, especially in all types of weather and road conditions.
The overall design is a very effective combination of both retro and contemporary.
Lots of great safety options -- side curtain airbags, variable steering, control.
Plus an excellent sound system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
1.) More comfortable front driver's seat.
2.) Lower roof rack, or make it easier to remove.
3.) Drop the premium fuel specification.
4.) Improve the road "feel" of the power steering.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
I bought the FJ Cruiser for sentimental and practical reasons. Way back in '76 I almost sprang for a Land Cruiser, but ended up going with the new Camaro. (OK, I was young and obviously had some competing priorities.) This time round I went with the FJ Cruiser for the very long daily commute I have via a variety of interesting road and weather conditions. The FJ Cruiser has already demonstrated its abilities to handle all sorts of extreme weather driving conditions.

It may just be me, but I find the driver's seat increasingly uncomfortable on a long drive. Despite the multiple adjustment options, it starts to feel like I'm sitting on a tennis ball buried right in the middle of the seat after about half an hour or so of driving.

And although the roof rack is very practical and looks great, it does limit the number of parkades you can safely enter. I hadn't realized how many of these have a maximum height clearance of 6'2" to 6'6", and the FJ Cruiser is right at the upper end of that range. Fortunately, the Toyota folks were very clever and the antenna rides just an inch or two higher than the rack and makes for an effective height indicator. Shaving an inch or so off that rack would make life easier for those of us who also have to spend time in urban settings.

Overall, I really like the new FJ Cruiser and it is a joy to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 28, 2013

Io
Performance:3
Exterior:1
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Paint cracking and Toyota refuses to fix it. I have only owned it for six months.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 27, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Everything! Awsome truck...a real head turner.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Can't find anything not awsome with my fj...i just love everything in it! My sister thinks the same way too...

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Great truck to own...every penny spent is worth it!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 20, 2012

marc M
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Stylish, comfort and power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Windshield visibility is not great, real 4 doors.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Love my FJ!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 30, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Absolutely Awesome vehicle.. I have owned Tahoes, Suburbans, Trailblazers, Avalanches, Hummer H2's AND H3's, Jeep Wranglers 2 and 4 door..

This Truck is Head and Shoulders ABOVE THEM ALL.. Great Kool Truck!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Better Fuel Economy..
6 Speed Automatic Trans..
and MORE POWER.. Never Enough!!
Looking forward to a Full Performance Exhaust and Super Charger!!

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Best Truck I have Ever Owned!!! EVER!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Styling is still attractive and will likely become timeless like its predecessor.
The list of upgrades available and off road performance.
Back up camera which is needs to offset the blind spot.
Available TRD supercharger!!!!!!
Is really a treat with the 6 sp. TRD quickshifter.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Could use at least 50 more horsepower STD. and forgo the supercharger.
Larger fuel tank by at least 5 gallons.
Price point is high for what you really get.
Not very comfortable compared to competition.

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
My brother loves his and I have considered purchasing one because I like his. But for the same money I can get a Jeep with a hemi which will deliver equal or better fuel economy, lots more power, and offers equivalent if not better off road capability depending upon model.

The FJ only beats out the Wrangler because of the extra 60 ponies but 2012 is suppose to bring 88 extra HP to the Wrangler v-6 and FJ is scheduled to be dropped. Go figure.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 20, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
The cool styling, interior, comfort, and ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Improve the gas mileage. Bigger fuel tank for longer trips.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
This is a great truck if you want to explore even with just the two wheel drive version. Or just for your daily commute or drive around town. Very cool looking retro type vehicle. Love it and I will be buying another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 10, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Great truck, mechanically sound.
Not too many bells n whistles = less trips to the dealer.
When you slap this truck in 4 X 4, it's like a TANK.
Look is awesome.
Would buy another in a heartbeat but unfortunately will be discontinued. My question to George318 is why buy a big truck if you wanted a smart or a Mercedes you should have bought one ..
Truck floor is so easy to clean, moulded.
Great offroad.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
Fuel economy, but new this being a 4 litre V6 would be costly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
It rides wonderful, like the shape and look of it, the built in roll bars and ability for off roading.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser?
I thought the suicide doors were good, however, getting in the back when parked next to cars on both sides is very hectic. I would like to see better gas mileage and would of loved a sun/moon roof.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
Very happy with my FJ and would recommend it to friends and family.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota FJ Cruiser Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser? 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Toyota Model Lineup:
2012 4Runner
2012 Avalon
2012 Camry
2012 Camry Hybrid
2012 Corolla
2012 FJ Cruiser
2012 Highlander
2012 Highlander Hybrid
2012 Matrix
2012 Prius
2012 Prius C
2012 Prius V
2012 Rav4
2012 Sequoia
2012 Sienna
2012 Tacoma
2012 Tundra
2012 Venza
2012 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact