Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Avalon Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Toyota Avalon

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19/28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 268HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Toyota Avalon in the top 16% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
84%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Toyota Avalon in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Toyota Avalon also consider:
Submitted Jan 18, 2013

Don
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Avalon?
12 Limited. Everything. Had to sell now, will purchase 13 Hybrid.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Avalon?
None


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 23, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Avalon?
I want cloth seats, not leather seats.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 1, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Avalon?
We owned a big S500 Mercedes prior to this Avalon, and due to the front-wheel drive, there is no transmission hump through the center of the car allowing just as much room as the S500.

The car gets incredible gas mileage. Running this car at 70-80 mph on the highway with the AC blowing, it will average 27-30 mpg.

It handles like a luxury car but the maintenance is so much less. My oil changes run less than $30 on average. When we owned our Mercedes, we would just pass a dealership and have to pay $200! Thank you, Toyota!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Avalon?
There is a sheen that is reflected from the dash to the windshield when the sun is shining through the front. This has a tendency to blind the driver at times. I would reduce the glaze on the dash to decrease the reflection.

Otherwise, it is perfect.

2007 Toyota Avalon Review:
Beautiful, very affordable purchase price, maintenance and gas consumption, roomy, fabulous for cruising over long distances and periods of time, very luxurious.

Can't say enough good about it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 2, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Avalon?
The car is quiet, quiet, quiet. The ride is smooth. Accleration is there when you need it yet I easily obtain 31-32 mpg on the road. The front seat extension, while not much, makes a large difference in comfort. Auto dimming mirror on the passenger and driver side is nice. The use of regular fuel as opposed to the Lexus which requires premium. Keyless entry is nice and I like how the courtesy lights come on when you approach the car. The trunk has substantial room. The reclining rear seats are enjoyed by the rear passengers.

Crash safety is another significant advantage. I was rear ended in my 2006 Avalon. The rear of the car was smashed up to the rear window. All the doors worked and my only injury was whiplash The car did what it was supposed to do in a crash.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Avalon?
Folding rear view mirrors. I had one snapped off on my previous Avalon and the repair was over $600.00. Breakaway mirrors would have avoided that cost.

2008 Toyota Avalon Review:
This is one great car for traveling or commuting. It is not for road course work. The ride is smooth, quiet, and just flat out feels good. The crash safety is excellent as I have experience. The audio system has an outstanding sound with rich, but not over powering bass. The car feels solidly built with excellent noise abatement. You can barely hear the engine. I also like the added indicators in the dash that provide more information about the car. The six speed transmission is smoother than the 2006 transmission. It is many times hard to discern the shifts that are made.

This is one fine car for the money, especially in the Limited version. Highly recommended


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 11, 2006
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
The smartkey system is awesome.
I like the dynamic laser cruise control.
The HID headlights.
The power seats with heat and air in them.
The navigational system with voice commands.
The autodimming mirrors.
Heated outside mirrors.
The 6 disch in-dash changer.
The 1 touch up/down front windows.
The memory seating.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
I would add the HID to the hi-beams, and give the passenger seat more power settings and add memory seating to it.
Also put in a radio that plays mp3 formats as well and the other popular ones too.
I would add 1 touch up/down to the rear windows.

2006 Toyota Avalon Review:
Driving the Avalon at first is like driving pure luxury. The cabin is extremely quiet and the engine is potent and smooth. The occupants are pampered in comfort and leather in the Limited version which is what I drive. Even though the wood is imitation there is lots of it that adds to the rich expensive look of the vehicle. Wood on the steering wheel(oh my gosh) there's wood on the gear shift as well as leather(oh my gosh). The leather is supple and comfortable. It is very easy to get comfortable in this vehicle although I have to admit that if I were a bit bigger say over 6ft and wider then it would be harder for me to get comfortable in the front seats because they are just not that big. Even with the powered seat extender the seat is not that big. I am 5ft 9inches and almost 260lbs and every time I drive it I am extremely comfortable. I have found that I need to take my already downsized wallet out of my back pocket though because the leather seat doesn't absorb that lump to well in my back pocket. The ride is to die for. It has fast, smooth, effortless acceleration. With a car this size I wouldn't be in a hurry to put it in a slalom course. It's as big as the LS430. I think I would tune up the suspension a bit if I wanted to drive it like I drive my Z-28 in the turns. The only visible gripes about the driving experience are that the car is not able to smooth out the biggest bumps and that's when you see it lose some of it's composure. The other thing is the transmission, although it is very smooth and shifts effortlessly, there is something about it that, when mentioned in another review that I read, causes it to seem like it is looking for the best gear to get into. I could be taking off gradually and at times it will downshift and I find my self accelerating faster than I intended, albeit, the car never once gets away from the driver. It speaks very clearly about what it is doing and gets the signal from the pavement to the steering wheel very clearly. If asked if I would by this exact same vehicle again, I would have to immediately say without hesitation, absolutely yes I would. From the looks, comfort, and refinement to the ride and gas mileage, this is an excellent vehicle to own and drive everyday. I would like to be able to say this maybe 5yrs from now. Only time will tell.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
Acceleration.
Absence of road noise.
One touch up/down windows.
2nd accessory plug-in.
Adjustable console lid.
No hump in rear passenger compartment.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
XLS model offered without: steering column memory, power seat memory, rear shade option, a/c seat option, driving too close warning.
I'm 6'2" and the front seat doesn't slide back far enough. Trunk too small to get my bag of golf clubs inside, have trouble getting 19 mpg city driving, driver's side leather bench developed 2 splits 2 months after 36 month warranty expired and dealer or Toyota offered no compensation.
Exterior too prone to nicks even after I paid for paint sealant.
Sun visors in front won't cover side window. too short.
Rear window is a pain to clean from inside. Film develops on interior driver side front windshield.
Gas pedal too short after recall.
Front tires slip inside car was when you attempt to drive out. OEM tires wore out after 24,500 miles.

2006 Toyota Avalon Review:
For the price, in 2006, no American made car offered same equipment. Buick equivalent was $10k higher and Cadillac, $15k higher. 2006 Camry exterior design was horrible. Hard to find a domestic car model with a factory sunroof, plus the Avalon headroom with a sunroof.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 10, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
Gas mileage.
Very quiet.
Smooth riding.
Spacious.
Styling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Avalon?
Larger trunk.
Better external media jacks.
More cubby storage.
TRACTION CONTROL ON/OFF BUTTON.

2006 Toyota Avalon Review:
I like the styling, roomy interior, and the luxurious, quiet highway driving. I drive 500 miles per week, mostly highway. I average 27/28 mpg overall, which includes mostly hilly interstate. The car is quiet, composed, and very quiet.

It suits my driving very well, and the mileage is very good for such a large and powerful vehicle.

Unfortunately, my car has the built-in cassette. It has nowhere to mount my Tom Tom GPS, and no bluetooth. The power adapters are hidden, and access means closing doors on top of the cables, for which Toyota made no provisional slots. On newer cars with the silly headphone jack plug, the sound is terrible.

And please, give me a traction control Off button. Toyota engineers should be forced to drive with it on all the time in snow and ice. They will immediately see the need for an on/off button.

I would also easily give up the rear seat recliners for more trunk room.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Avalon?
Smooth, quiet ride.
Quick acceleration.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Avalon?
Seats nead to have more contour/back comfort, even with the lumbar support that's not quite that effective; need more thigh support and a bit more plush.

2007 Toyota Avalon Review:
Overall quite content with my purchase. Did have a problem with front end alignment; it tended to "creep" to the left and had to return it several times until I found a new dealership that remedied the problem in one visit
Also has a "ticking" sound in the engine when cold and tends to disappear after about 10 or so minutes of driving with no effect, it would seem, on the engine's performance. Transmission seems smooth, although I've read some negative reviews concerning same. But so far, no complaints.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this vehicle to anyone seeking a Lexus-like ride for a lot less $$$$$. Oh, yes, and the gas mileage is really excellent for a sedan of this type -- on regular gas, too. But I get better mileage on mid-grade or high-grade gas. So, in that case it's a toss-up, and the mileage isn't too significant with the various grades.
Also, the cloth interior in my XL is wonderfully comfortable in hot and especially cold weather. My last 4 automotbiles have had leather seats, and except for the "luxorious" impression, I think leather isn't very practical, especially in weather variations. However, as previously mentioned, leather or not, I think Toyota should re-think the Avalon's seating -- a little more side and back support, more like a bucket, for traveling, rather than living-room-like.
Otherwise I'll give it a 4 and a half star overall rating.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2013

olga
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Avalon?
Love the feel and comfort.
Quiet and smooth drive.
Love all the new tech gadgets especially safety features.
Slide controls.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Avalon?
Haven't found any yet. Would not spend so much on a car with cons.

2013 Toyota Avalon Review:
The new exterior and interior certainly got my attention.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 3, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Toyota Avalon Review:
A few weeks back I bought used 2006 Toyota Avalon XL. It is all nice about it but one thing, I think it consumes too much fuel. What can it be or what is the reason of this? Thanks a lot...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Avalon Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Toyota Avalon?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Avalon? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Avalon? 2012 Toyota Avalon Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Toyota Model Lineup:
2012 4Runner
2012 Avalon
2012 Camry
2012 Camry Hybrid
2012 Corolla
2012 FJ Cruiser
2012 Highlander
2012 Highlander Hybrid
2012 Matrix
2012 Prius
2012 Prius C
2012 Prius V
2012 Rav4
2012 Sequoia
2012 Sienna
2012 Tacoma
2012 Tundra
2012 Venza
2012 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Toyota Avalon | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact