Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Suzuki SX4 Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2012 Suzuki SX4

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22-25/29-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 148HP
2.0L I4 150HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Suzuki SX4 in the top 22% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
78%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Suzuki SX4 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Suzuki SX4 also consider:
Submitted Jul 3, 2012

Walter Keller
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Suzuki SX4?
We bought the hatchback one and we were surprised at how much room was in the back for groceries.
The seats are comfortable and the bigger window is just great.
Great gas mileage also.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Suzuki SX4?
There isn't any.

2012 Suzuki SX4 Review:
Just love it, great on gas. Comfortable riding and good storage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 17, 2012

Frank Kenney
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Suzuki SX4?
Overall performance.
Styling of hatch back model.
Company reputation.
Transferable warranty with no deductions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Suzuki SX4?
The need for a stronger and larger dealer support network.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 22, 2013

steve
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Styling (looks cool - especially in Orange).
Great gas mileage.
Nice comfortable interior.
Plenty of power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Suzuki should be ashamed of themselves for making the arm rest a pay for accessory.
Transmission sometimes feels like it can't decide what gear to stay in.
12 gallon gas tank...come on,seriously. Sure, I get great mileage but I still have to fill up twice a week).
The exterior metal is very flimsy and thin. The lightest taps and it has a ding forever.
Maybe a little more leg room in back.

2008 Suzuki SX4 Review:
What a cool little car. Bought new in 08 and have since put 90k miles on it. No trouble other than the recall notices for the mirror and finally for the passenger side air bag (Seriously Suzuki, what took so long).

The car is peppy in both highway and city driving and has great gas mileage (but it might not feel like it with the tiny 12 gallon tank).

Just had a problem where I am hearing timing chain and tensioner noise but its covered and according to the shop, very rare. I have taken it offroad on some pretty serious dirt trails and it handled it without issue (except for areas where the low clearance got in the way but the low clearance also makes it easier to go between trees and rocks when a bigger vehicle couldn't).

With back seats down it hauls a ton but it doesn't have much room otherwise.

And lastly, Suzuki, epic fail on the arm rest. Sham on you.

But I love this car. Just gave it to my daughter.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
Really fun to drive.
It's zippy, hugs the road, turns on a nickel, easy to park.
I love that it comes loaded with features... tire pressure sensor, trip/gas computer, semi decent sound system, bucket seats with arm rests...
Great safety ratings, with solid construction and a full deck of airbags.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
Solid construction + all wheel drive + automatic transmission = lower gas mileage than other vehicles in this class.

Noisy diff and wheels, but you get used to it.

The extra wide pillar in the front also takes getting used to - you have to move your position to look around it when cornering.

"Bluetooth equipped" not a valid feature. Bluetooth is handled by the removable Garmin navigator which transmits to the stereo. The Garmin mic sucks and is useless. You can't listen to a radio station and have the Garmin transmit to stereo at the same time. Budget for a replacement stereo/Bluetooth/nav.

2009 Suzuki SX4 Review:
Great little car! Handles challenging road conditions extremely well! Only the low clearance of a small car prevents it from being a real off road vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 6, 2012

Heather
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Great gas mileage! Best I've ever had out of a car. Peppy engine, front and side curtain air bags, 6 disc changer and subwoofer, hardly any problems at all. You wouldn't think it but this car handles like a dream! Very fun to drive. Love the 17" rims too.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Styling isn't the best, it's a little tall. Doesn't have center console.

2008 Suzuki SX4 Review:
I bought this car brand new in 2008 looking for a fuel-efficient car that would last. This car has been great! I have 85,000 miles on it and the very few problems I had with it were re-called (GPS unit overheating, side mirror needed lock-tite, and passenger air bag sensor). The ONLY other money I've put into this car (besides oil changes) was front brakes (rear are still good!), tires, and a tire pressure monitor sensor (right after the tires were changed - could have been the tire center) - all maintenance items except the TPS. Oh, and I blew the subwoofer when I first bought it but that was all me! Luckily, the dealership still replaced it at no cost.

I'm selling it now, just because I bought a bigger SUV for my growing family and don't need both vehicles. If my kids were a little older I'd keep it for them to drive. Oh, and it has front and passenger air bags and both front and rear side head curtain air bags. That was a strong selling point because of the safety! Suzuki resale value isn't the best but these cars will definitely last.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2009

Rob
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
I have a 2008 Model SX4 Sedan that we bought in 2009 brand new for $13,500 out the door. It now has 2,600 miles on it and has performed without a glitch. I'm getting an average of 23/24 mpg around town and 29/30 on the freeway (at 70 mph). That gives me a 300 mile range on the highway and that's time to get out and stretch or eat so I think the gas tank is big enough. I would buy another one in a heart beat. Suzuki vehicles are basically a (sleeper) company here in Southern Calif. (San Diego) and it appears that they're catching on as I'm starting to see more like mine and the Cross-over every time I drive around. Seems you notice other cars like the one you happen to be driving. Love it and would take it over a Civic, Versa or Corolla any day and keep the $5K I saved for other fun things to do. Hard to beat the warranty and now that Chevrolet and Chrysler have folded up with the Government changing their diapers, some of the (closed) Chrysler dealers have picked up Suzuki so it's even better for service and anything else that might come up...

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
The only con that comes to mind is when I have the drivers window all the way down, the seat belt mount that's near my left shoulder catches the wind and can get annoying. If you roll the window up about 1/4 then it stops but that's about it.

2009 Suzuki SX4 Review:
I would buy another one without question. It's not a race car, the Cross Over is not a Ralley car. If you think you need a cold air intake and turbo's then just buy a vehicle with a V6 and get 13 mpg while you race around and get tickets. These are well made vehicles and they do exactly what they're designed to do... Get you from point A to point B in one piece (every time). My Daughter is 12 and this will be her first car when she's 16 (and still under warranty) unless it's stolen or hit by an illegal with no insurance. (Very common here). If you don't have uninsured motorist and live in Calif., get it. Don't think about getting it...get it. (No I'm not an insurance salesman) just learned the hard way...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Regarding the Sport (sedan model):
Incredibly agile handling.
Excellent KYB suspension dynamics.
Very comfortable buckets.
Timing chain-no belt.
Great brakes-and-bags package standard.
ESP available.
Front quarter window/huge mirrors give great visibility.
Very handsome car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
5-speed automatic.
Some sort of folding rear seat.
16" wheel option for sedan.
Some light colored upholstery would be welcome, black or black is just too dark.

2008 Suzuki SX4 Review:
Cross-shopped the SX4 Pport sedan vs. Hyundai Elantra. The Suzuki comes across as very quick on its feet, while the Elantra drives more conventionally. The 17" 50 profile tires may have something to do with that, but the Suzuki has a well-snubbed feel to its KYB suspension work that puts it well ahead of the H in the handles-like-a-slot-car department. The 4-wheel disc brakes have a good feel, the engine needs one more gear to make it work better but power seems adequate. The cabin is comfy and controls are natural and easy to reach. One great feature is the A pillar work. There is a peekaboo front quarter window which gives great visibility, welcome relief from the A-pillar blindness so common. The outside mirrors are huge. These two features help give the cockpit a great view out that I haven't seen (NPI) in any other car. These features trump the Hyundai's convenient folding seats and slightly torquier engine. Now, if they just sold these at GM dealers...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2007
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Suzuki SX4?
Really like the design, no nonsense interior, AWD,reasonable interior volume, price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Suzuki SX4?
Desperately needs to have the 1.9L diesel engine from "Sedici" available in europe.
Current US 2.0L gas engine needs to have a 6 speed Manual and 5 speed auto available to improve average fuel economy and reduce top gear rev resulting in a quieter cabin.
Improve interior plastics with more easy touch materials.
Add a 2 tone layout on dash to instill a larger feeling and greater preception of quality.
Possibly use an enhanced Aerio 2.3 Engine in a "Sport+" option for bigger performance.
Have all Independant suspension, wishbone type would be a real step up and would improve the average ride quality, to excellent.

2007 Suzuki SX4 Review:
I really like this car and would love to have one.
However, fuel economy is rather average.
Honestly, considering the fact that Suzuki primarily makes cars, It has been something of a dissapointment that they havent pushed their products to have above average fuel economy?!
Awd on the SX4 will be especially useful in bad weather and the decent use of interior space will make for a practical and functional interior.
Overall performance will be decent, but there is room for improvement.
Honestly, an excellent car that could use a bit of polish that already has the makings to be one hell of a hit if some of these main issues are taken care of.
Get more MPG, and watch the competition squirm.
Please introduce the 1.9L Diesel, or punch it out to 2.0L for US models for average fuel economy of something in the neighborhood of 40-43 Mpg in mixed driving. The "sedici" made avalible in Europe has the 1.9L and gets 43 MPG mixed driving and has 120 HP! (a 2.0 Variant could have 135+HP, which is pretty comparable to the current gas 2.0 @ 143HP
Again I feel there is no excuse not to bring a diesel option to the US with fuel prices over $3.00 a gallon and climbing.
Id snap one up in a second.
As Im sure many would.
Overall, a really good car regardless of the quibbles.
People are looking for frugality and value, but also look for an area that stands out.
As it is, the SX4 is a jack of all trades kind of car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 2, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
My SX4 Crossover is nimble and easy to drive.

The AWD mode is very adaptable on all road conditions. I use this feature in snow and the car plows right through it.

The interior is comfortable and well placed, with the navigation system a very useful asset.

The price was very attractive for an AWD vehicle as well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Suzuki SX4?
My number one pet peeve with this car is the tiny fuel tank - I'm always at the gas station. Frequent visits to the pump is also true due to the lower than expected MPG I am getting (22 HWY / 16 City).

Next, the automatic transmission has trouble keeping in overdrive when dealing with high (head) winds or steep grades - moment by moment shifting between 'drive' and overdrive'. I usually have to override the transmission into drive until the 'load' on the car is no longer a factor.

2009 Suzuki SX4 Review:
Overall this vehicle is a good fit for me. It does what I want it to do, and in a fun way - except the gas thing. I would recommend this car to those needing an AWD vehicle, just plan your routes near gas stations!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Reliability ! Power, fuel economy, handling, cuteness.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Suzuki SX4?
Don't touch a thing. Why mess with something that works so well.

2008 Suzuki SX4 Review:
We purchased this Suzuki new. It now has around 35,000 miles. This is our 5th Suzuki over a 25 year period. We would buy them forever if Suzuki still sold in the US. They have all been wonderful cars. We put 1 set of tires, brakes, and routine maintenance on this SX4. The 5 disc CD player still functions as day 1. The mileage is 25mpg. The AWD awesome in the snow. We plan to keep this car until the wheels fall off, which we're sure will be a long time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Suzuki SX4 Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Suzuki SX4?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Suzuki SX4? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Suzuki SX4? 2012 Suzuki SX4 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Suzuki Model Lineup:
2012 Equator
2012 Grand Vitara
2012 Kizashi
2012 SX4
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Suzuki SX4 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact