Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Suzuki Grand Vitara Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 19/23-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 166HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 1 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara in the top 39% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
61%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara also consider:
Be the first to review 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 10, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
I like the styling.
Nice ride......have taken two cross country trips---no problems or issues and no fatigue.
Nice cargo space.
Lots of options for the price.
4X4 is great when you need it.
Roomy.
Over-all great little car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Has some blind spots, mostly from head rest.
A/C has to be redesigned or use higher quality parts. I have had no tire issues although many seem to have.......maybe dealers swapping out for GREED!
Rear cargo door should open from curb not street side for safety reasons and loading purposes.
ABS wheel sensors once again, cheap quality.
Oil filter needs to be relocated to a more desirable location, so you don't have to be a contortionist to change it.
Carpet could be upgraded to a much better quality.

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
Over-all, I like the vehicle. It's been pretty reliable with only ABS sensors and A/C issues. Parts are expensive and very difficult to come by in an emergency situation. Many dealers closed and those that are out there rob you for the parts.

My 2006 should have after market parts available or at least OEM from outside sources. The HVAC fan blower ranges from $183-$1300 depending on dealer---that's a bit extreme and I think Suzuki needs to better regulate their products!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 12, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Has been fairly reliable, a few issues.
Has been great in snow with 4x4, build quality seems good (but cheap metal for body), good safety features.
Great style.
Interior well thought out and holds up well (but get black interior, tan leather and tan rugs gets dirty and stays dirty).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Gas mileage not great, I drive 70 miles/day RT to work.
Tire wear is unbelievable, 3 sets of tires in 75K miles.
Dents very easily.
Issues with CD player 2xs, fixed under warranty.
Headlights burned out 2xs, fixed once under warranty.
Has had one recall issue, fixed under warranty.
Back door should open from opposite side, or flip up - back door awkward and heavy.
Horrible road noise and handling if anyone rolls down back window(s) while driving....air catches in car, results in vibrations and noise.
Resale value is in the really low...even back for trade in for a Suzuki dealer, what does that say to a consumer?
Not enough dealers for service - the dealership I bought from lost its Suzuki partnership, there is no where for Suzuki service.

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
Overall, good value for the price compared to Hondas, etc. but gas mileage is killing me.

I love my Grand Vitara but the tire wear is definitely an issue, thought it was me or my particular car until I read all these reviews, have put 3 sets of tires on this car since 2006 (by 75K) - not good. Costly issue for consumer.

Recommendations for better design, put a window that can go down in back door (move spare tire).

For a company that makes some of the most efficient engines in the world, the gas mileage is unacceptable.

Ridiculous that can't even get a decent trade-in to buy another Suzuki if I wanted to, the Suzuki dealers don't even want to buy them back.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 25, 2010

mario menendez
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
The Grand Vitara is really nice suv or cross over. The outside looks awesome and the inside looks great as well.
Before I bought mine I looked at the Rav4 and the CRV, but when I looked at the Grand Vitara thats where I decided to go with it.
Price was way cheaper than the Rav4 or CRV and with way more options.
Road noise in the cab when you are driving is really low and ride is phenomenal and I really happy to have chosen that vehicle.
If you live in the areas where it snows, and is clod well that is the perfect vehicle top go with. With real time 4x4 is just amazing.
I have taking to the mountains and I was blown away with the stability of the vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
The vehicle when is just brand new the gas mileage is not the great to start with, the only thing you have to give it time until you reach 20,000 kms and then you start to look at the difference in gas mileage. I would like to see it before the 20,000 kms. and of course navigation and heated steering wheel will be a plus.

2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
To me the vehicle is by far the best compact suv or cross over ever.
You have lots of room and comfort. My advice is if you are looking for a great suv. consider the Grand Vitara. For you will not be disappointed at least I am not and I drive it everywhere I go.
If you love driving you will like the ride for it is smooth but yet you know you are in a suv.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Good on gas!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Fix the issue or at list admit there is a problem--I should NOT have to replace tires at 15,000 miles. The vehicle is obviously built wrong. I have ONE tire that is completely bald - you can't tell me that this is normal. Did I mention at only 15,000 miles. Funny how I can get on the web and find over 200 individual complaints about the tire-wearing problem but go to my dealer and they never heard of such a thing. Come on Suzuki step up and admit you made a mistake and recall em or pay for the fixing!

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
Okay. The vehicle is and was economical from purchasing to fueling, but now I have to replace tires and that is only a temporary fix; these brand new tires too will be worn improperly in a matter of months. I'm very nervous for my families safety driving down a highway. So my choices are to keep it and try to forget about this issue till a tire blows out and we get hurt or hurt someone or look to purchase another vehicle when I completely can not afford to do so. Thanks Suzuki!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 7, 2013

George B
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Our Suzuki Grand Vitara V6 has been a pleasant owning auto. I generally use it for work, and have put 150,000+ miles on it and had to never service it more than general maintenance. Leather interior and seats were of good quality.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Gas mileage is low compared to some similar autos.
The roof rails could use improvement for actually tying down to.
The rear gate I would have preferred to swing up in lieu of side open.
The stereo speakers/system could be better. Speaker rattle over 23+ vols.

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
Good Car for the money and our maintenance was good, and the car lasted beyond what we were looking for.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 9, 2013

Gary Barrett
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Bought it used with 42,000 Canadian.
Love the color package. Black with beige interior.
Now have 85,000 - replace a couple of tires and some break work done.
Vehicle seems very strong and reliable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
A couple of things, I personally find the controls a little small. Reminds me it was made for small people.
Find it a little slow and mine seems hard on gas but being all wheel I guess goes with the vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
It was not expensive

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
I traded it in on a 2012 Hyundi Santa Fe

2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
Low beam head lights replaced about 12 times in less than four years.
The screws on the latch for the back hatck kept backing out trigering open door light.
The tachometer would sometimes stay high.
The seat belt sensor went on the front passanger seat,the seat would have to be replaced to fix it.You could not get at the sensor.The seat cost almost $900.00 plus instilation and tax.With the sensor gone the air bag
would not work if the car was in a crash.
I had 132,000km on the Grand vitara was less than 4years old.
I contacted Suzuki Canada and was told I had to replace the seat as part of regular maintenance.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
Everything!
I (we) have a 2002 GV and a 2006 GV XL-7. I'm presently looking to upgrade my 2002 to a 2006.
On a 2600 mile trip, the XL-7 gave me 29.8 MPG CDN Gals.
40,000 miles on my tires and good for another year yet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
The tail gate opening from the road side is ok, but I'd like to see a split window like the jeep patriot has.

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
My opinion?... Best vehicle on the road.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 2, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
I LOVE THE WAY IT LOOKS.
IT ALSO DRIVES GREAT.
IT MAY BE SMALL BUT IT HOLDS A LOT. I WENT FROM A CAR TO THE VITARA AND I LOVE IT SO MUCH.
IT ALSO HAS ALL THE SAFETY FEATURES THAT I NEEDED FOR MY KIDS AND WIFE.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
MAYBE BETTER GAS MILEAGE.
AND MAYBE JUST A TAD BIT MORE POWER.
PLUS THE FUSE BOX IS IN A BAD SPOT - I CAN'T GET TO IT UNLESS I LAY ON THE FLOOR TO CHECK THE FUSES.
AND THE SEATS ARE A LITTLE HARD. THEY COULD BE SOFTER.

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
GREAT FOR A FAMILY SUV AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS. SOME PROBLEMS BUT NO CAR OR TRUCK IS PERFECT. THEY ONLY LEARN FROM THEIR DEFECTS, SO HOPEFULLY ONE DAY IT WILL OUT DO ALL.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
I love my Grand Vitara, exterior & interior. Rides real nice.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara?
3/28/2011 The Gas milege needs to improve and the brakes (front & back), mostly back. The first year was great and now, not.
The air bag, mine went bad after the first year, they put a new one in and it was barely over a year when the replacement went bad. I carried my car back and cause of my mileage being over the limited there was nothing they could do. I was told to call Puerto Rico and was treated very nasty. I was told that there is a defect in the passenger side airbag but I was never told that. So now I am driving with NO passenger side airbag. I do not think I was treated fairly, my airbag went bad before my warranty was up and went bad in just little over a year from the replacement. I never heard about airbags going out that bad unless there is a defect. I was also told that they should have replaced it, but to no avail it has not.

Also the oil, for my first year of getting my oil change was ok, until one day I went in and the guy at the service department told me I should be using synthetic oil, it is recommended for Vitaras. I said ok, yes it is expensive but I wanted the best for my car and to last me. So for almost 3 1/2 yrs, I have been using synthetic oil and I was told it was the best. BUT it's NOT! I change my car oil on a normal bases and yet, every month or so I have to keep adding more synthetic oil, snythetic oil here is VERY expensive, $9.00 a bottle (qtr). I told it back to the dealership and they ran their test and can't find out what's the problem. I have no oil leaks, they is not oil drippings in car or on the ground, the oil is evaporating somehow or another. When I used regular oil (good kind) it was fine. So now I am going back to using the regular. Other than that I love my car. Thank you.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Suzuki Grand Vitara Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara? 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Suzuki Model Lineup:
2012 Equator
2012 Grand Vitara
2012 Kizashi
2012 SX4
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact