Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Liberty Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Jeep Liberty

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 15-16/21-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2012 Jeep Liberty in the bottom 1% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
1%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Jeep Liberty in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Jeep Liberty also consider:
Submitted Feb 27, 2014
Performance:4
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Jeep Liberty?
It can tow really good and is reliable on wet and icy roads.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Jeep Liberty?
Everything. The ride is stiff and uncomfortable. Terrible gas mileage. Do not buy!!!

2012 Jeep Liberty Review:
A Regretful Jeep Owner

Jeep is company who boasts loyalty and encompasses the American image of superior service and quality over all their foreign and domestic competitors. Jeep declares they are award winning for their legendary lineup of durable vehicles. Jeep also declares they are a proud supporter of the US Military and veterans.

This is the image I envisioned of the Jeep brand when the Jeep salesman proclaimed all this to me. Even my mother swears by the Jeep name and my family and friends who have purchased many Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep products through the years have had good service.

Yet when I purchased my first Jeep I quickly found out that I bought into a falsely hyped up dream. I bought a Jeep Liberty 2012 Limited edition which was my first mistake, yes, even after reading all the negative reviews on the internet about the Liberty. I believed that if Jeep says they only make a superior product they must mean it, and all the Jeep critics are just wrong. Why should I yield to the Jeep critics warning when this reputable company has me believing their vision?

My second mistake was believing Jeep would fix my vehicle with their customer friendly manufacture warranty. When the Jeep salesman was selling me my vehicle and confidently bragging about how Jeeps never breakdown, and if they did, Jeep always puts the customer first. Please know right now I feel like I am in last place.

At this moment I have a problem with my vehicle and the funny thing is this very small problem is turning into a very large problem. I have a perforated hole in the driver side seat and another perforated hole in the passenger seat caused by the seat belt latch that sit in the entrance ways of my vehicle. Every time I or someone else gets into the vehicle there is a possibility of getting stabbed in the back along with puncturing another hole in the seat, trust me I should know itís happened to me plenty of times. The seat belt latch catches you when entering into the vehicle and when you sit back thatís when it gets you, like a bee sting, it really hurts. I actually have received a bruise from the latch.

I reported this issue to a Jeep dealership and they submitted photos to Jeep Headquarters (HQ) and after waiting a week I was informed this problem is not covered by the warranty because the holes in the seats was caused by an ďoutside influenceĒ and is not considered a manufacturing defect nor a workmanship issue. I quickly appealed their decision, waited another week and got the same results. I even stressed to Jeep HQ that Iím getting injured by the seat belt latch. Jeep HQ did not care or show the slightest sympathy. There is no resolve from Jeep and now the holes are getting bigger.

I told a Jeep HQ representative that I no longer want the vehicle since they are not interested in me or honoring their warranty. I informed Jeep they are losing a customer, a US veteran that believed in their cause and campaign to support the troops. Iíve quickly come to realize Jeepís boasting and campaigning is nothing more than a hollow advertisement tool to have you believe they are there for you, sadly they are not.

I told Jeep that I am willing to work with them to fix this problem, I even proposed a solution but they did not want to hear it. The cost to fix this problem is a grand total of $750.48. This cost to Jeep is mere pennies to them and they would rather lose a customer, the customerís friends and family, and anyone who understands my situation and hears me.

I should have listened to the critics, followed the reviews, and not purchased the vehicle. I have learned a very expensive lesson.

For the Jeep enthusiasts I would like to sincerely apologize if I offended you, that is not my intention. I know Jeep has made many good products and I am happy they support our military members. I just do not believe in their commitment and loyalty to the customer. Please know you cannot understand my position until your go through it yourself.

Thank you Jeep, I understand itís just business.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 9, 2013

Mary Crews
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Jeep Liberty?
I love being up high and not feeling like I'm sitting on the road.
I also love the appearance of my Jeep Liberty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Jeep Liberty?
Gas mileage for sure, but my main concern is that the front windshield defroster does not defrost the 6-8 inches from the left and the right. Seems the defrost is not wide enough for the windshield. This is a concern to me because the 6-8 inches on the left side is the viewing area of the driver. Seems the defrost would defrost the whole windshield and not just the center part.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted May 25, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
Smooth ride, not too bad on gas, I like the feeling of being high off the road.

Looks good from all angles, great back door that swings open, remote to open back window (swings up).

Plenty of cargo space, enough leg room for my son who is six feet tall.

It's easy to reach the sunroof for cleaning by stepping up on the sides i.e. can hang on to roof rack and stretch enough to clean the outside of the window (and I am only 5 ft 4 in. tall).

Leather seats are comfortable although I bought mine used and there is a slight crack on the driver's side.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
I am not sure how to improve this vehicle as I think it is great!

2007 Jeep Liberty Review:
I am in love with my Jeep Liberty. I bought a five year old used Liberty (Rocky Mountain Edition) and it's even greater than my old Jeep Cherokee.

I haven't tested the four wheel drive yet as it's still summer and I normally use that in the winter when we get lots of snow.

The only thing I may do to it before winter is get some rustproofing (undercoat) to protect the undercarriage as this SUV was registered in Quebec where they use a lot of salt on the roads.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2011

Mark248
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Jeep Liberty?
I love the comfort of driving on the road and the flexibility of driving on dirt trails. It handles extremely well and I have hardly ever felt like it would tip over. The little bit of play in the steering wheel makes it more comfortable to drive on rough roads because the wheel doesn't want to jerk out of my hands when I hit little bumps.

The seats are comfortable for long trips.

I really like the fact that there is a lot of room in the engine compartment to perform your own maintenance if desired. There aren't too many vehicles like that anymore!

The ground clearance (9.4") is amazing for an off the shelf vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Jeep Liberty?
I would upgrade the transmission. It's not smooth at lower speeds and at 40 mph it tends to not know whether to shift up or stay in the lower gear.

I would also like to see more power output, somewhere between 235 and 255 hp, and 260 lbs of torque. The 210hp/235lbs of torque 3.7L V6 has a nice kick, but when loaded to full capacity (1,150lbs), it does tend to lag.

I would also like to see a higher cargo carrying capability. You can't have full passengers with luggage in the back.

I am a little uncomfortable about the fact that there isn't an inline fuel filter that you can change out. The only one they have is in the fuel pump itself which can result in a costly repair if you happen to get bad gas (which does happen).

2006 Jeep Liberty Review:
All in all, it is an amazing vehicle. The versatility of it makes it a perfect choice for city driving and off-road trail riding.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 5, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
The seating is comfortable. With the exception of the passenger seat, VERY roomy. Manual trasmission comes with a 6 speed...although I am still nervous when I use the sixth gear because I am alway afraid I will put it in 4th gear instead. Back seats fold down easily to make more room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
My Liberty is a manual trasmission, and I wish there were more room on the left side of the clutch to put my foot. There are 2 cup holders in the center console, which is great...but there is no place for other things like cell phones. The passenger seat is a little less roomy. If you are tall, your knees will hit the grab bar.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
There are really few things I would change about my Liberty. Recently I have had to take it in to the service shop. It seems that the glue they used to secure the wiring in the head liner is conductive and was somehow shorting out to the frame of the car causing my Jeep to drain the battery. Other than that, 4 wheel drive works great, it did supurb on the winter roads, even when we weren't using 4 wheel drive the traction control kicks in when needed. My family of 5 (one a teenage boy) fits great in the Jeep, not cramped at all. Overall, would not trade it for any other vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 2, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
Power.
Ample space for occupants and minor cargo.
Smooth ride.
Nice array of factory options.
Low base price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
No fold down front seat for longer items.
Cabin lights and bells stay on when back hatch window is open.
Chintzy base tire and wheel package for base models.
Window controls are in the middle console instead of near the window.
Spare tire is on the back gate.

2007 Jeep Liberty Review:
Not only is the standard 3.7L V-6 powerful the value to performance ratio exceeds most if not all others in it's class. I put several small SUV's to the task including the Kia, which looks nice but when compared to Jeep was underpowered. The Liberty provides 210 horse power which in more than enough to run with many heavier and larger vehicles.

I opted for the six speed manual transmission which shifts as smooth as one can expect from a truck, it's no sports car but it does the job. For those that like to be in control of the power curve for best exceleration the six speed is the way to go on the Liberty.

The ride is smooth and not too bouncy as one might expect from a Jeep vehicle, it has almost the feel of the Grand Cherokee of just a short few years ago. The wind noise at speed is very minimal, Chrysler has done an excellent job of the fit and finish in almost every respect.

The interior is roomy enough for four adults and headroom is very ample. This coming from a 6'3" guy, so it can't be anything but roomy. But then again I saw a bigger guy than me "roll" out of a 1976 Corvette the other day so I guess if you want to fit you will. In any case, most won't have a problem with seating. The same holds true in the cargo area, although it won't hold a six foor ladder without the rear seats folded down and the front seats pushed to the frontal limit. It's anyone's guess of the carnage that would ensue if the airbag deployed on the driver in that precarious position.

The Jeep is a great runabout and will handle light to medium duty hauling for soccer moms and contractors alike. My model came with the electronic skid control that cuts power when the wheels break loose from the pavement. This system is a passive one which cuts power to the engine rather than engaging in any sort of multi wheel drive regalia.

Remember that I'm talking the 2007 here, the 2008 is not a cute ute,,it's been turned into a box which may hurt the Liberty's appeal. I also must make mention of the high seat back which iwll support your neck in a rear end situation. My 2000 Grand Cherokee did not have the high seat backs which was a constant complaint of mine. Credit Chrysler for that.

Of all the things I enjoy about this Jeep I do wish it came with a Genie in a bottle so I could make some quick changes. The passenger fromt seat reclines but it does not fold flat for additional long object space. Remember the 6 ft. ladder I spoke of? The rear glass does open seperate from the side swinging tailgate which is the only way to accomodate this ladder if you still want to drive the vehicle. Secondarily, if the glass is open the blinding interior cabin lights remain on and you have to hear annoying dings of warning. If Jeep understood that these things might sometimes be used by contractors or other than just a grocery getter it would serve them well.

I can't wait for Good Year Wrangler tires to wear out so I can get some real tires. The Wrangler is a good tire but they put the skinniest tires available on this thing at the factory, not very Jeepish if you ask me.

The dash material is just ok, I'm neutral on that, it's a Jeep whatcha gonna do?

I opted for the six speed to control the revs better as the automatic can be sluggish off the line. Of course this is an SUV not a race car, but feeling the power is still fun.

As you can see my negatives are on the short list. I have had two Grand Cherokee's and it's every bit as good as those vehicles were just in a smaller package.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 9, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Jeep Liberty?
Sporty feel.

Rides and handles well in town and on the highway.

Does a great job off road. Handles snow and mud very well.
Climbs over berms, drop offs and washed out roads very well. Plenty of power in town and off road.

I like the confidence that I can ride to my off road spots in comfort and tackle medium to rough off road trails with ease and then drive home in comfort again. :)

Just a good all around small SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Jeep Liberty?
I would definitely add a different transmission.

A 5 speed auto would be much better than the 4 speed and it probably would get the vehicle another 2+ mpg.

The ability to add a 1" to 2" bigger sized tire without doing too much conversion.

While ground clearance is OK...another inch or so clearance would be nice.

2010 Jeep Liberty Review:
Overall I think this is a great vehicle and would recommend it to anyone looking for a small SUV that wants to mix city and backwoods into their lifestyle. Beware! If you live in snow country you will not be able to use the excuse you are stuck and cant make it to work or school. :)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 28, 2011

Red629
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Jeep Liberty?
The drive, feels smooth and solid, wheelbase = cornering off road.
The low end, fast get up and go.
Looks are more appealing than the new ones and a nice change from the classic box that has been Jeep forever.
Mileage so far so good, did expect higher mileage with a diesel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Jeep Liberty?
Plastic - front bumper, back bumper, wheel flares and rockers, very disappointing - it's not a neon you might actually use it off road.
Diesel stink bad enough to be discomforting.
Interior stains an embarrassment to have anyone ride with you.
No function dash / glovebox.
Cup holder placement and console too far back to be used as an armrest.
Seems to be absolutely no structural support in the roof.

2006 Jeep Liberty Review:
Seems a fair compromise for size, 4X4, performance, and mileage.

A different lifestyle owning a Jeep after having a truck. Seems that towing may not be a problem, but no cargo space to speak of, definitely not a family vehicle if you are traveling with gear, and not for long trips either.

But all things considered, a quality vehicle - except the rear passenger window that doesn't work.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 19, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Love the changes over the 2003.
The swing-up tailgate.
The improved interior room.
The body shape.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Could use some more power.
Headlights could be brighter.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
Bought this Liberty used with 18,000 miles on it and now 32000 on it 6 month later. Our first trip in it was a 3000 mile round vacation to Florida with 5 people. I was able to put all the luggage in the rear and three girls (17, 14 and 6) in the back seat. It worked great and got 23 mpg. Front seat is very comfortable and I heard no complaints from the rear.

I pull a 6X10 trailer loaded with a ZTR lawnmower and have had no problems but would like a little more power. I have installed the Timbren SES on it, which greatly improved the towing ability of it without changing the ride.

We have only had one snow since owning it and it seemed very capable on the the road.

My previous Jeep was a an 01 Cherokee.

My wife has an 03 Liberty and loves it. So my Pros are just personal preferences.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 13, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
This little Jeep is king of the road in snow and ice. I have owned mine in Montana since 08/07, 3 years now and she has functioned flawlessly.

The suspension and transmision are of obvious high quality and make hard, fast turns safe and controlled.

I brake with my transmission predominately and it is tough!

The 2007 style was beautiful and unique. I can't help but look at them when they drive by (even before I owned).

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Liberty?
Seriously?? A compass and trip computer couldn't be basic equipment?! How can the builders of the Grand Cherokee not demand an updated interior?

Also, mine, as many others has a window that binds going upward in cold weather. Very minor if you can reach over as I can.

Better design and materials to withstand dirt in the feet areas would have been helpful. Something easy to clean instead of all the carpet.

2007 Jeep Liberty Review:
I highly recommend my 2007 Jeep Liberty sport. Fantastic to drive, runs strong, feels strong and precise.

The electronic slip (ESD) is somewhat bizarre when first encountered but predictable and repeatable in behavior and a well engineered component. It can be conveniently switched off when some rear-end drift is desired.

I drive her 8000 miles a year (-30 degrees to 115), I feel like she is going to run reliably for a long time. The 2nd owner gets the best bargain!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Jeep Liberty Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Jeep Liberty?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Jeep Liberty? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Jeep Liberty? 2012 Jeep Liberty Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Jeep Model Lineup:
2012 Compass
2012 Grand Cherokee
2012 Liberty
2012 Patriot
2012 Wrangler
2012 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Jeep Liberty | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact