Log in
5.7 million people served. 4,858 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Civic Si Sedan Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $22,405 - $23,905
Invoice: NA - NA
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 22/31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 201HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 1 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan in the top 50% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan also consider:
Be the first to review 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 19, 2012

claude
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Excellent driving capability; super fun with an adrenaline rush, excellent stereo, sometimes so loud, I can't hear the engine to engage the clutch for take off, so have to go on the "feel" of it.

Love the ergonomics, very comfortable seating and superb fit and finish.

Must put winter tires for safety and handling in the northern climes.

The shifting is oh so sweet.

I've been driving this car for 4 years now, and not even a creak or a rattle to be heard. Love driving it hard on occasion' very zippy; point it to where you want to go and it takes off.... can't complain about gas mileage either!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
For some reason, there must be a blind spot at the front A pillars on both sides; I've been close to hitting someone walking in front a couple of times by not seeing them cross the street in front while rolling through an intersection (Important: make a full stop before proceeding!!).

Perhaps, an all wheel drive might be good, rather than just front wheel.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
The power and ability to maneuver through freeway traffic is impressive. I love the look on driver's faces when I "out gun" them, for the sole purpose of gaining a better or safer lane position.

The interior provides enough space so as to give the impression you're driving a midsized sedan
and not a sports car.

The instrument panel and controls are well laid out and easy to reach requiring no effort.

The stereo system is superb, allowing the hardest Rock to the finest Jazz to come back at you with the utmost clarity.

Well done Honda!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
It perhaps would not be a bad idea for Honda to share what it has learned from the Mugen Si and pass it on to future Si generations. In short, I feel the stock suspension leaves a great deal to be desired. I can't help but believe that the SI should have come with Eibach prokit springs or like spring rates, along with improved sway bars to make a truly great machine. These are likely my next upgrades which I'm hoping will make the car meet my expectations.

Also, the styling does not exactly move me. Mitsu's Lancer has better styling cues, but is by far an inferior car...hence I'm in the SI.

2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Overall, how can anyone really complain about the 2009 SI? With today's fuel prices and what the car offers consumers in pricing, reliability, and the standard features included, it more than overcomes its few shortcomings.

Would I buy another? Well if I did not love my FR cars
(rear wheel drive, for those of you in the know) then the Civic Si gets my vote.

BTW this is my first Honda...now I know what all the fuss is about!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
The engine, mostly. It's got gobs of power - but only over a very limited range of RPM. This car MUST have a six-speed gearbox, so that you can keep the engine in that limited 6800-8000 RPM range for power if you need it. On the other hand, below 6800 RPM, this is really the first Honda Si engine that had enough torque to be a daily driver.

Handling - dead-flat. You cannot make this car lean in corners, which is fabulous. The steering is VERY quick, although very numb.

Transmission - in the one hour I drove it, the trans was easy to get used to, and the clutch easy to modulate.

Interior space. You will never know you're in a compact car if you sit in those back seats. My mid-sized Accord doesn't have that kind of legroom! Seriously, if you sit in the rear seat and place your feet on the floor, there's a full six inches between your toes and the back of the front seats. I test drove the Civic Si after testing a much larger and heavier Infiniti G37, and the Honda's interior accommodations seem MUCH larger than the Infiniti's.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Steering - it has no feel whatsoever. This is unforgivable in a "sports" car and is 90% of the reason why I knocked the performance all the way from 5 to 3. In a sports car, you should be able to tell through your fingertips what kind of road surface you're on. This steering feels like it was designed for your grandmother to drive it.

Dashboard. Garish/bizarre. What the heck where they thinking? A digital speedo in a hotrod? Digital speedos came and went in the 1980s...a terrible human interface device. And that split-level dashboard...what's up with that? Please, give us a real speedo, and place it next to the tach, not above it and a foot further away.

Exterior. The i-Vtec logo and Si logo look like they were bought at KMart and pasted on. I plan to buy one of these cars, and hope they're removable. Regrettably, the trashy cheap looking spoiler can only be removed if you like holes in the trunk. You cannot get this car without a sunroof, and Honda sunroofs LOVE to leak water into the trunk. Please make this liability an option.

Exhaust - honest, it doesn't have to be this loud.

Radio/heater controls. Too busy. Not logical, like the old Civics.

2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
The overall feel of the car is that it has a lot of substance. But it also can "get away from you". Be careful pushing on the throttle. When the 2.0L engine hits 6800 RPM, the action is much more dramatic than a turbo charged car. An easy-to-control power source, it is not. The suspension is quirky, too...it doesn't "fit" with itself. It hammers you, because it's so stiff, and you accept that as the compromise for the gorgeous flat handling. But the steering almost feels disconnected from the wheels, it's so numb.

This is a compromise car. For the MPG, it's fast. For a car that fits 5 adults well and has great rear legroom, it handles like it's on rails. But the "driver experience" is not one of driver involvement, due to the lack of steering wheel feel...it's as if you're just issuing commands to a computer and the car follows.

I'd buy a WRX instead, except that I am not impressed with Subie reliability. I'd buy an Infinite G37 instead, except that I do haul around rear seat passengers, and it's insulting to them. Also, the G37's suspension is a bit floaty by comparison with the Si.

The Si has always meant "weird, goofy boy-racer" since we first saw the designation on the 1985 CRX Si. And that's still what it means.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
It is a very sharp looking car. For starts, it handles like a dream. It has the power when needed and the gas mileage is great depending how you drive it. You can drive this car in two ways - slow and easy or hard and fast - both ways this car is wonderful.

I have never owned a Honda or for that matter any foreign car. I have owned many Fords, Chevys and Chryslers and this car exceeds them all. I am 42 years old so I am speaking out of experience with a lot of makes and models of many different cars I have owned.

I had to write this review even though I never wrote one before, because of how impressed I really am, so if you're looking for a great car, then this is for you. Young or old, the Civic si has a place for all, and one more thing this car is a lot of fun to drive. I find myself looking for a reason to take a ride, I want to thank Honda for making a sedan which is the one I bought.

This car is a winner hands down...

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
I Really Love the car, just like it is, and I would change nothing.

2007 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
OK, where do I start? This car is, first of all, the most fun car I have ever driven. I am 42 years old and have owned many different cars. I have never owned a foreign car so this is a first. You can drive this car 2 different ways, slow and easy or hard and fast, and it does both wonderfully. The handling on this car is remarkable, like a dream.

I find myself looking for a reason to drive it. The looks of the car is really sharp. It gets great gas mileage - I am getting 32 highway 27 city and I like to drive it a little on the hard side.

I really am impressed and I want to thank Honda for making such a high performance car at such a reasonable price. This car is for all old or young or right in the middle like me. I never wrote a review before but this car I had to write about because I am so happy with it. Buy it, enjoy it. This car will not let you down, plus it has won all kind of safety awards rated #1 and now I see why. I hope this review helps. Good luck and have fun, with this car fun is its nature.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 4, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Although the low-end torque is a bit weak (and the only reason I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5 for Performance), the car handles like a dream. The car's clutch and shifter are by far the best in any car I've ever driven. Steering is tight and responsive, and for a sporty car the suspension is pretty forgiving, making day-to-day driving a lot of fun. The seats are excellent and very supportive. While the dash seemed a bit odd at first -- especially the two-level cockpit section -- I got used to it very quickly and now realize how incredibly well-designed and intuitive it is, with very easy-to-reach controls.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Boost the low-end torque. Improve the stereo (it's ok, but not great -- and has only a single CD instead of an in-dash 6-disc changer).

2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Overall this is a great car and, at about $21K (without nav), a tremendous deal. The handling is incredible, the gearbox is incredibly smooth, the interior well-designed and very comfortable, and the styling is great. My biggest complaint is that the low-end torque is a bit on the weak side for what's billed as a performance car -- although since I'm not a pedal-to-the-metal driver (rarely topping 4,500 RPM), this really isn't much of an issue for me. Someone who really wants a rocket in this price range might do better with a MazdaSpeed3 -- although that car doesn't offer a sunroof, has worse gas mileage, is a little more expensive and, in my opinion, doesn't handle as well as the Civic Si. Also, the Si stereo is only average.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 7, 2013

Jeff
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Fun to drive.
30 MPG outside of winter.
Good looking car inside and out.
It is a sensible car to own yet you can have some fun and run it hard if you want to.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Improve gear sets. That's the only problem I had.....3rd gear was grinding, I received no recall or bulletin from Honda even though this was a rampant problem. I had it fixed under warranty but I should have been told about it.
It also seems to use quite a bit of oil but I need to investigate that more.

2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Great car, I have 76,000 miles on mine and I will run it until it's dead.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 28, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Transmission is nice.
Handling is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Put it up against cars with superchargers and turbos, it only gives you the illusion of performance as the other cars walk away from you.
Heated seats would be nice.

2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Even though I'm critical of the performance, it's still a blast to drive and gets great gas mileage. It's a lot of fun for a grocery getter.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 16, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Gear box is amazing. I love the engine note as you quickly rev through the gears.
I also like the gauge cluster location and great sounding 350 watt system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Nothing. It is what it is. I would include maybe the areo kit as stock rather than aftermarket/expensive factor upgrade.

2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Great car which is fun to drive. I had quicker cars (WRX, Ralliart) but this one is by far funner.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 22, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
High-revving engine.
Silky-smooth 6-speed transmission.
Excellent handling.
Nicely-bolstered seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
An increase in low-end torque would be welcome.
Fuel economy is mediocre and could be improved.
Audio system should have finer tone controls (at least a 5-band EQ).
iPod interface could be improved.
Exterior decals appeal mostly to adolescents and should be an option (not standard equipment).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2011

S Grant
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
I love pretty much everything about the car. Well except it has to use premium unleaded gas. Other than that I love the way it handles, love the design (exterior and interior) and I am very happy I purchased it. I found a great deal on one that had only 15k miles on it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan?
Take regular unleaded gas...
Offer leather with heated seats...
Make navigation standard instead of optional...
Lights for the visor mirrors...

2008 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
Recommend this car highly.... Especially if you get one with low miles....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Honda Civic Si Sedan Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan? 2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Honda Model Lineup:
2012 Accord
2012 Accord Coupe
2012 Accord Crosstour
2012 Civic
2012 Civic Coupe
2012 Civic Hybrid
2012 Civic Si
2012 Civic Si Sedan
2012 Clarity
2012 CR-V
2012 CR-Z
2012 Fit
2012 Insight
2012 Odyssey
2012 Pilot
2012 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Honda Civic Si Sedan | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise