Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,824 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Civic Si Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2012 Honda Civic Si

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $22,205 - $23,905
Invoice: NA - NA
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 22/31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 201HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Honda Civic Si in the top 50% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Honda Civic Si in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Honda Civic Si also consider:
Submitted May 21, 2011

Larry P
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic Si?
Exceptional performance!

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic Si?
Better interior material.

2012 Honda Civic Si Review:
Best bang for the buck! True sports car in a Civic form.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 1, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
1.) Performance for the $$$$
2.) Gas Mileage (21-25 mpg's)
3.) Exterior Looks
4.) 8,200 RPM shifting (fun to listen to the motor with windows down)
5.) Lightweight
6.) Shifting is smooth as butter
7.) Offers the most FPG's (fun per gallon) than any car I've owned.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
1.) Add Xenon Headlamps
2.) Optional Turbo or SuperCharger from HFP or Honda
3.) Needs a bit more torque
4.) Needs more factory aftermarket tuning options from the dealerships.
5.) On the Black cars, the paint quality needs to be improved a bit (Swirls)
6.) Needs a bit more power to keep up with the MS3's and Cobalt SS's of the world.

2008 Honda Civic Si Review:
Before I bought this car my choices were the Cobalt SS and the MS3. But this car fit my budget better. I paid about 22K for it, including TTL. Here is my overall take, and I hope it helps some people out there.

This car is a Honda, so the quality and the sturdiness are there. I have 27 thousand miles already on my 08 Si and I have not had one issue with anything. The trouble free ownership has been great and all it needs are oil changes at regular intervals and you're good to go. This all being said, it has 197 HP and lacks some serious torque. Don't expect to beat Cobalt SS's or the MS3's of the world. It ain't gonna happen.

Also, I bought the Nighthawk Black Pearl and I must say that Honda's paint quality on the cars is not up to par. What I mean is that it swirls rather easily. If I were any of you, I'd buy a Taffetta White or Galaxy Grey. Easier to maintain the paint. Owning a black Si has been a joy in of itself. But when it's all nice and waxed, it's well worth the looks you get from it.

Expect to be shifting a lot, expect to be yelled at by your girlfriends or wives for hitting VTEC too much. In terms of being a Daily Driver, I would say it's great if you're a bachelor... LOL

Lastly, if I could do it all over again, as much as I like coupes, I would get a 4 door. Having to bring the seats back all the time to have people get back there is a chore. But people fit there quite well. So, overall I'm VERY happy with the car and eagerly await the 2010 European Civic Si to come stateside with more power and a redefined look. Hope this review helps someone out there. Oh, and 21-25 MPG's is not bad as well. :)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Civic Si?
Style, timeless look, no others has the spoilers as sexy as the si...

Si command respects on the road, even though it's much slower than its competitors (Mazda Speed, Colbalt SS, and GTI).

But let's go back to the drawing board... when was the last time you hear someone complaining about the electrical problems on Honda in general? When was the last time anyone has to bring their si in for minor issue? Not that many..

I know that they corrected the trans for 09 model and up... So, as long as i m not whipping the trans.. mine can go up to quarter million miles. ;)

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Civic Si?
Better paint job.

More torque.

Better trans - I have no problem with mine, but I noticed that the gears felt like it's being slammed into when everything is warmed up... I do take good care of my car and never whipped it...but still felt like the trans is not up for the high reeving engine. Better trans is a must.

For those who wished Honda put a turbo in it.. I think different.. There are people out there still like their vehicle to be bolt on performance. So am I, but I don't like to spend an extra 3g every 120k, if lucky, to replace the turbo. Or 600 bucks to rebuild the turbo myself and still might have to bring it to dealer for fine tune... But that's just my opinion.. I could be wrong.

2009 Honda Civic Si Review:
Overall, great car, if you don't whipped it like those kids around my way. I know a kid who went through 3 trans on an 08 Si - he whipped the sh*t out of it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 31, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Civic Si?
Very sporty.
Good acceleration.
Good power for a 4 cylinder engine.
Good grip on dry road and cornering is great. Even on wet road, it has good grip and good feedback.
Nice design - dash is nice because it's different and it's simple which is a plus.
Very easy to upgrade to better performance and look of car.
Gear shifting is effortless and clutch is fantastic, very precise engineering by Honda.
Comfortable ride, great seats, but not exactly a Cadillac.
And of course, the reliability and resale value of the Civic.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Civic Si?
Better sound dampening.
An 8 way power driver seat at least.
Better clips for the front bumper attached to the fender, hit anything from the front and the bumper comes off from the corner fender( very hard to fix).
The firewall could be better to reduce engine noise.
The cup holder area can be improved by making the driver feel separated from the passenger like the new Ford Taurus and BMW's. I feel like I'm rubbing elbows with my wife fighting for the armrest.
Stronger front end parts. Let's face it - is a front wheel drive, so it needs strong and quality parts around the engine.

2009 Honda Civic Si Review:
Overall, it is the best investment I made buying a Civic si.

I am very happy with it and I am gong to keep it and upgrade to some race parts. It's not a Porshe, but it's also not 80,000 bucks. For 23,000, almost 200 horsepower sedan, very reliable and best resale value in its class.

Honda did an exceptional job with this car. I just wish their customer service and repair shop was just as great.

Thank you, MY awesome blue Honda Civic si.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Have had my Red 2008 SI coupe for little over two months now. Almost 4,000 miles on it so far.

Very attractive exterior IMO, especially if you keep it nice and clean like I try to do, wash it almost every week.

Handling is great and the engine sounds beautiful in the higher RPM's. It's pretty quick but could use some more power IMO.

The interior is very stylish, love the black and red theme.

Fuel economy hasn't been too good, but then again I tend to drive it pretty hard most of the time. Haven't done the math but I get around 230-250 or so miles per tank, I reset the trip meter every time I fill up.

Car also has ample storage area's up front, I like the whole cupholder tray with the little garage door there, kinda neat.

Love that it has the audio jack, don't need my stupid FM transmitter anymore to play my ipod. Love the steering wheel and the audio controls on it.

Seats are very comfy, I love the main material used for them, don't think I have ever seen that in a car but it feels very nice, also the seats hug you very nicely.

Sound system seems pretty decent, I tend to keep the base down though, my sound system in my previous car got pretty shot, so I am trying not to ruin my speakers right off the bat. Although I often prefer just listening to the engine over music.

Also, another thing to be noted is I love the shifter, the red stitching in the leather, and red lettering and all makes it look very nice. Although when left out in the sun it gets pretty damn hot when you go to drive again haha.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Wish it came with a little more power, but for the price you can't complain I guess, fun car regardless.

Not too crazy about the suede surfaces of the interior, especially the center arm rest, always have my arm on there while holding the shifter, and already after only 2 months its starting to get faded and kinda gross and worn out where my arm is resting. Not sure how easy it is to clean, but would have went with a different material for that part.

Another small thing; I wish the headlights were aimed a little higher when on the regular beams, I feel like it just lights up the road but nothing above it. I live in a country/wooded area so I always have to be on the lookout for deer and other animals and obstacles. It's fine when the highbeams are on though.

Also, think it should come with fog lights, don't see why they put the sockets for them there and then just put plastic covers over them... why not just include them???

2008 Honda Civic Si Review:
Great car overall, would definitely buy again. I am really enjoying driving it and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a sporty car that is still practical. If you're looking for pure performance I would look elsewhere, but IMO you can't beat the performance for the price. Car looks amazing, very fun to drive, has Honda's reliability, and the pro's definitely outweigh the con's. Great car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
The amazing sound of engine!
Factory sound system!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Add turbo.

2008 Honda Civic Si Review:
Amazing car, love it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 1, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Almost everything. I bought mine with ony .4 miles on it. And I broke the engine properly; i.e. no over 4000 revs for the first 10,000 miles.
I got great mileage out of the stock tires too!!
Over 26,000 miles before needed to even begin to look for new tires.
I LOVE MY LITTLE SI.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
BETTER TOP END, BUT FOR WHAT IT IS, I SAY HELL YEAH.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 24, 2011

i<3Honda
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Not the slowest car.
Great on gas.
Good on cornering.
Sounds good stock.
Interior almost bucket seats.
Redline at 8.2 which is great.
Short shifter, applying an aftermarket short shifter adapter makes it even shorter.
Has potential.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
The floor mats should be rubber - cleaning the carpet is a pain.
The seats are also a pain if something is spilled.
No lights in the sunvisor.
Needs more torque and power.
Should come with more options.

2008 Honda Civic Si Review:
Honda = gas sufficient > STI = boooost.
Since now a days gas is crazy high, well si is good on gas unless you VTEC everywhere.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Civic Si?
I love the way it looks and drives.
It can be a fast car when you want it to or it can be somewhat of a luxury (I'm talking about the 4 door).
I only owned Hondas, and so far I have never regretted it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda Civic Si?
Factory turbo would be nice.
And I think all si models should come with the navigation system.

2007 Honda Civic Si Review:
Best car I have owned so far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 10, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
Drives great and turns a lot of heads when I'm driving it.
The audio system is pretty good and it handles nice on good weather days.

Also the engine does sound incredible and people are always coming up and commenting on how awesome it is.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic Si?
I drove it today and it snowed and it had a terrible time getting traction.

Also the interior could be made with better quality materials and I wish the floor mats were rubber so you could wash them at the car wash. Carpet floor mats wear out faster and get dirty easy.

2008 Honda Civic Si Review:
To sum it up, I am in my car 6-10 hours a day and I deliver pizza and let me tell you I was really tired of doing it till I bought this car. Now I love my job again.

It's a blast to drive. It's great on gas, which is good for me and I would recommend this car to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda Civic Si Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Honda Civic Si?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic Si? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic Si? 2012 Honda Civic Si Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Honda Model Lineup:
2012 Accord
2012 Accord Coupe
2012 Accord Crosstour
2012 Civic
2012 Civic Coupe
2012 Civic Hybrid
2012 Civic Si
2012 Civic Si Sedan
2012 Clarity
2012 CR-V
2012 CR-Z
2012 Fit
2012 Insight
2012 Odyssey
2012 Pilot
2012 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Honda Civic Si | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise