Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,919 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Civic Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2012 Honda Civic

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $15,805 - $23,455
Invoice: NA - NA
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 28/36-39 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 140HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Honda Civic in the top 50% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Honda Civic in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Honda Civic also consider:
Submitted Oct 14, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic?
IT HAS GOOD PEP TO IT.
I LIKE THE WAY THAT THE DASH OF THE CAR FACES ME, THE DRIVER.
I LOVE THE GAS MILEAGE ON THIS CAR. I'M GETTING 29 MPG IN THE CITY & 39MPG ON THE HIGHWAY.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic?
BEFORE BUYING, I TEST DROVE THE FOCUS, ELANTRA, FIESTA, COROLLA, & THE CRUZE. THE 2012 CIVIC LX THAT I BOUGHT HAS, BY FAR, THE LOUDEST ROAD NOISE OF ALL. THE CRUZE WAS THE MOST QUIET, FOLLOWED BY THE FOCUS. HONDA SEEMS TO PUT FORTH A LOT OF EFFORT TO DECREASE ENGINE NOISE, BUT DOES NOTHING TO REDUCE ROAD NOISE AT ALL!!!!!!

2012 Honda Civic Review:
OUT OF ALL THE CARS THAT I TEST DROVE, I LIKED THE INTERIOR & EXTERIOR DESIGN OF THE 2012 CIVIC LX THE BEST, BUT BECAUSE OF THE AGGRAVATING LOUD ROAD NOISE, IF I HAD MY TIME TO GO OVER AGAIN, I'D GET THE FOCUS INSTEAD BECAUSE IT'S A LOT MORE QUIET!!!!!!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2012 Honda Civic Review:
Awesome car. Excellent performance. Good space and beautiful interior. Planning to buy at the end of next month.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic?
The exterior is stylish and has a crisp clean line.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic?
More soft touch plastics would be nice for the interior.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 3, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic?
Bang for the buck.
Fuel efficiency.
Exterior and interior design.
Large front windshield.
Steering wheel design and feel.
Dashboard & instruments.
FULL SET OF AIRBAGS.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic?
Move the freakin hand brake so it doesn't nail me in the knee!!!
Sound system is very marginal - don't make it an integral part of the car so we can replace it if we want to.
There is a serious blind spot over the left shoulder of the driver.
Make the seats more comfortable and a bit more leg room in the back seats.
Trunk release on the remote entry key.
Levels for engine noise is good, but wind noise could be better.
More options available on the LX model.

2006 Honda Civic Review:
If you read my comments on the likes/dislikes section, that pretty much sums it up. Fabulous bang for the buck. Handles very well, a bit sporty in the way of the suspension. You will feel a lot of the highway bumps - even the small ones. The interior and exterior design is way cool.

Several major complaints... Move the freakin parking brake handle!! It bumps into my knee cap. Why they put it there I will never know. Not all Honda owners are going to be the frame size of a small Asian woman. Next, there is a serious blind spot over the left shoulder of the driver to the point of being dangerous. Owners need to know about this and be seriously aware that it is there.

The fuel efficiency - no surprise here - is superb. The radio is a real disappointment. Any one with half a good ear will hear a fairly muddy quality to the sound. I am hoping a replacement set of Alpine speakers will help. Honda, don't integrate the stereo into the dashboard if you are going to sell us a sucky sound system. At least that way we can replace it with something of quality. The seats are a bit tough - I like their ergonomics but they could stand to be a bit softer. I bought this as a commuter car and for what it is, it is hard to beat.

Not my dream car, but certainly a great car for the dollar.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 1, 2008
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Civic?
Styling inside and out.
Gas mileage--averaging 33 mpg mixed driving mostly freeway.
Precise handling--very sporty response.
Steering very tight.
For a four cylinder lively acceleration..no barn burner but more than enough pick up when you need it.
Very happy--getting 50% better mpg than my 6 cyl Taurus.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Civic?
Radio is a bit wimpy.
The E-brake handle does hit your leg, but padded it with some pipe insulation and solved the issue.

2008 Honda Civic Review:
This Civic in my opinion is the best car for under 20K. You have the reputation of Honda quality, very nice performance, superior MPG, great looking car. People who complain that their mileage is not good are probably accelerating too aggressively. Drive conservatively and the car will reward you with great MPGs. Drive it aggressively and MPGs go down. Have tried both ways--big difference when you take it easy off the line.

People who complain about the air conditioning should try turning the air vents toward their overheated bodies. I personally think the AC works very well.

If you are looking for a nice, affordable, high MPG car, get a Civic. Nuf said.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 6, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic?
Great gas mileage. Got 40 mpg from Florida to North Carolina with 4 adult passengers and luggage.
Nice looking car.
Fairly roomy for a compact sedan.

Wife loves this car and now that car is in shop, is crying daily for her car back. She doesn't like my Mercedes Benz as well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic?
Suspension in rear ruins tires. Certain tires will cup over time and create terrible tire noise. Mechanic doing alignment says there is no adjustment for camber in rear suspension.

Hand brake needs to be better placed. I have to use a pillow against the lever so my knee is more comfortable.

White paint on this car shows too much dirt too easily. Factory paint job is not the best.

Having issue with gauge module that requires part being shipped to California to get the odometer reading out of it (2006 and older). 2007 and newer models can have odometer reading pulled by dealer when this part fails, which is rare but expensive.

2006 Honda Civic Review:
This car gets the best gas mileage for a non hybrid vehicle on the road. Biggest issue is the rear suspension ruining tires in a short time due to no adjustment for camber.

Other than a few minor adjustments, my wife loves this car. I am a little too big in size for car but can manage, after all it is a compact.

If you buy a light colored or white car, be prepared to clean car often. The paint on this car seems to attract more dirt than most.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic?
I loved the new styling both exterior and interior. The interior styling is futuristic and more refined, reflective of higher end cars without the inflated price tag.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic?
I've had issues with the interior rattles, and able to solve a major rattle issue, which had to do with tightening the glove box latch. Still get minor rattles, especially when going over rough pavement.

Stereo is adequate, again given the price tag of the car. I think Honda designed the integrated in-dash stereo system, to minimize the break-ins that Hondas had developed a reputation of having. Not sure if they're able to upgrade to the 360 watt system they put into the Civic SIs - with the sub-woofer.

Had to replace the tires at 22k miles, even though I had stringently maintained the car and rotated the tires every other oil change. Although I've read it has something to do with an alignment defect, I also wonder if it has to do with the low-end tires that comes with the car upon the initial purchase.

2006 Honda Civic Review:
I've had my LX just over 4 years, and have almost 30k miles on it (short commutes). I'm a bit OCD when it comes to the care of my vehicles, which is why I still receive compliments on how clean and "new" my car looks, both inside and out, as well as the rolling of the eyes from the service department when I bring it in for oil changes sooner than the manufacturer suggests (I don't let the oil-life get below 50%). I purchased the Galaxy Grey which does a pretty good job at camouflaging the paint nicks. The mileage in the beginning wasn't what was on the EPA sticker 30/city 40/highway, though it has improved with the "breaking-in" of the engine and associated parts. I've gotten 46.6 mpg, with the a/c on and cruise control set at 65mph, and average 27/30 city/highway mix and around 23 strict city driving. And even with the occasional 80 mph, still managed to get 36/39 mpg. I bought the car with the gas mileage being the primary factor, and am pleased with the mpg, without having the incurred the price tag of a hybrid.

If I were to do the purchase transaction again, I think I would upgrade to the EX model, not so much for the sunroof (fair skin/red head = sunburn), but to acquire the trunk release on the remote, more variable speed options on the wipers, having the 40/60 split seat option, have a center arm rest for rear seat passengers. Now, I did do some upgrades with my LX, I upgraded to the EX rims (which again had I purchased the EX model would have been included in the purchase price), added a real spoil (with the encased tail-light), and fog lamps (received a reduction on my insurance policy for adding that feature). Those add-ons really sport the look of the car, without the Civic SI price tag.

I like that fact that items locked in the trunk are truly secured, in that if someone breaks into the car, they aren't able to access the trunk by pulling a nob located on the top of the rear seats, as in previous models - though I've read the complaints of the opposite.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 12, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Civic?
This car drives like a dream come true. I have tried other makes and the Civic is head & shoulders above the rest.

The engine (1.8 l) performs better than higher displacement engine and still comes in with very impressive economy numbers.

The interior dash is top notch; Honda really out-did themselves with the dual design. To really know what I'm talking about you should check one out for your self.

The visibility is excellent and the cab forward design allows you to see ahead without the hood.

Braking is also superior, I almost hit a deer last year, the amazing braking stopped me from 80 kph to 0 in short order. I missed a stationary deer by less than 1 meter (3 feet).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Civic?
Some quality control issues with the 2007-2008 models; engine oil leaks, manual transmission failure.

The steering takes some getting-used-to and pull to one side with very uneven roads, but after all the sport does have 16" rims which add to the excellent road feel.

I would include A/C, which is an important option in the southern states.

The manual can shift odd and also does taking a little getting-used-to.

But these are small issues compared to Honda's outstanding history.

2009 Honda Civic Review:
I would recommend the Honda Civic to anyone. Assuming you don't have any of the cons listed above. The drive/handling is superior, the engine is a superior balance between power and economy. I can't say enough about the styling of this car.

Love it...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 25, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic?
Just about everything. I drive my car for a living and have over 210,000 - Yes, 210,000 miles - on my 2006 Honda Civic. I have only had one issue with it and the manufacturer took care of that problem at no charge to me. As long the car is maintained properly, I cannot see why it would not go another 200,000 miles! The interior is fairly roomy for a compact car and I love the placement of the digital mph gage. It has all kinds of cubby holes so I can keep things organized. It gets about 34 mpgs when not using the air conditioner and 31 when using it. I drive mostly suburban miles, not quite city, but not highway. When I take highway trips, I get about 37-40 mpgs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic?
I have a couple of larger friends that have a problem getting in and out of my car. They are over 6'3 and about 240 pounds. They like the idea of my car but they just don't fit in it!

2006 Honda Civic Review:
I love my Civic. I have had no real problems with it because I keep it maintained. I would recommend this car to anyone under 6'3" and 240 pounds.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 29, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic?
Great gas mileage.
Two-tier dash with digital displays.
Futuristic styling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic?
Re-locate emergency brake handle.
Better interior plastics.
Better sound systems.
Tighten up persistent squeaks and rattles that plague this car.
Correct rear suspension problems.

2006 Honda Civic Review:
Overall a great gas saver if you have a daily long distance commute. Nice exterior styling. However, my car did not get the gas mileage as advertised. I was getting 25 city/ 34 hwy on my Civic LX coupe. This car eats tires because of rear-suspension problems. As previously mentioned, numerous squeaks and rattles throughout. Difficulty with some cold-morning starts. Suspension squeaks. Low front end of car scrapes parking barriers and steeper inclined streets. Should make vent shades standard above each window due to the fact rain collected in roof-line will pour into car when you crack the window open. Interior plastics scratch and mark seemingly just by looking at them. White type number and letter print wore off of radio buttons and headlight/windshield wiper stalks. Paint quality poor; numerous chips and nicks in areas not attributable to normal road debris. Paint also easily etched by rain drying on car. Very poor traction in the snow even with upgraded tires. The gas mileage claim is the main selling point of this car, but you get what you pay for. Many other areas of the car are lacking. However, I had recently traded mine and received decent compensation for resale value. I went back to an American car. I needed something a bit larger than a go cart with regular-sized tires...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda Civic Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Honda Civic?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Civic? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Civic? 2012 Honda Civic Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Honda Model Lineup:
2012 Accord
2012 Accord Coupe
2012 Accord Crosstour
2012 Civic
2012 Civic Coupe
2012 Civic Hybrid
2012 Civic Si
2012 Civic Si Sedan
2012 Clarity
2012 CR-V
2012 CR-Z
2012 Fit
2012 Insight
2012 Odyssey
2012 Pilot
2012 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Honda Civic | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise