Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,983 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select GMC Terrain Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010

2012 GMC Terrain

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $25,560 - $33,010
Invoice: $24,282 - $31,360
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 20-22/29-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 182HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 GMC Terrain in the top 50% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 GMC Terrain in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 GMC Terrain also consider:
Submitted Aug 14, 2013

P.A. Wilson
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 GMC Terrain?
Everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 GMC Terrain?
The plastics on the dash have to go....yet there is soft touch on the arm rests and center console...go figure.

2012 GMC Terrain Review:
Comfortable, smooth and when you climb on the gas acceleration is really good. I traded in an Audi A4 and did a couple of comparison tests in merging... granted the A4 motor was quiet but the speed was not substantially different between the two vehicles! I should also mention that I have driven German made cars for the last number of years and (some people are not going to like this but I am being very objective) I find the GMC Terrain is more comfortable and just as solid feeling.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 9, 2013

terrie
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 GMC Terrain?
Looks good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 GMC Terrain?
Agree with others. Needs rear ac vents.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 3, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 GMC Terrain?
I have a 2010 Terrain V6.
Love the stylish look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 GMC Terrain?
NO REAR A.C. VENTS which causes the vehicle to take longer to cool off the kids in the back seat. Also hearing a noise on the passenger side of vehicle which sounds like it is coming from the undercarriage (kinda like a crunching sound). Seats are not very comfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 4, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Purchased the SLE-2 last week. Love the bold styling of the exterior makes it looks much more masculine than it's Equinox counterpart.

Interior design is fantastic. 8 speaker premium sound is well done, along with the other gadgets and gizmos.

Comfortable seating with adjustable power (and heated) cloth interior. (Prefer this over the leather. Live in a cold Canadian climate so although heating leather is nice, I find my body warms the leather before the heater.)

3/60,000km full warranty, 5//160,000km powertrain warranty and 5 year Roadside Assistance offers a nice piece of mind in purchasing a new model vehicle.

3.0L 6 cylinder at 264HP has plenty of pick up and go although I test drove the 2.4L 4 cyl, and it was more than adequate for performance.

3.0L provides comparable gas mileage to my 3.4L Pontiac Montana minivan in town and chose this engine because I needed the extra towing capacity for my boat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Not really a con, but being a new vehicle, hard to find generic steel rims for this vehicle to add winter tires although the steel rims used on the Buick sedans will fit.

Remote car starter requires you lock the doors once, prior to engaging the starter. (If this is a requirement that the doors be locked, have the starter button lock the vehicle and then engage the remote start.)

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
Overall, I've had this vehicle approx 1 week and it hasn't disappointed me. Handles great for a crossover with a comfortable yet firm ride. I think GM definitely got the interior right with this vehicle and the bold exterior has had several people turn heads.

Look forward to driving it for many more years to come.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 31, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
I like the interior design. It has a modern feel to it.
The standard back-up camera is great.
The estimated gas mileage on the 4 cyl. is impressive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
The back end looks like a minivan.
No home link. :(
The chrome latch on the dash compartment reflects the sun.
I wish it had dual zone air.
Wish I could have added the chrome package to the SLT-1 like is available for the Equinox.

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
I have ordered the SLT-1 Terrain. It has been over a month and they just started to build it this week. I am very excited to get it. (hopefully only a couple more weeks) I ordered the brownstone interior sight unseen and have now seen pictures of it finally. I think I made a mistake there.

I debated between the Terrain and the Equinox, but let my husband decide which he liked better. I was happy to get the extras that the Terrain offers standard over the Equinox.

After driving a Tahoe for the last 8 years, I look forward to getting descent gas mileage on my 80 mile roundtrip drive to work.

We added the DVD entertainment system for my "special needs" son even though no one could tell us anything about it. That is one drawback about ordering a vehicle when it FIRST comes out! (along with picking an interior color you regret)

We looked at all the comparable SUVs and I am expecting to be thrilled with my choice.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
I really like the combo navigation, rearview camera system. It definitely helps my wife on a daily basis.

The gas mileage I get with combined driving is 22mpg. I've got 30+ on the freeway on long drives but only on flat land. Add hills I get about 27mpg.

The leather seats are comfortable. I have the SLT-1 pkge. The ride is smooth for a SUV and my favorite thing is the huge backseat which makes getting a car seat in and out very easy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
The only main cons are the things I've noticed go wrong.
First the paint does chip a little too easily, and in the past 2 months I've noticed a couple.
And the headliner is sagging. I took it to the dealer, they tried to re-glue it, but it didn't work. So they've ordered me a whole new headliner.
It's all covered, but it's a hassle nonetheless.

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
Overall, I'm a fan. I traded in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma for it and am not disappointed. Every car has a hiccup now and again, but I trust this one to carry my newborn. That should say enough.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 6, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Fun ride.
Nothing else has the same look.
Comfortable.
Feels bigger than it is.
Two tone leather with red stitching.
Feel safe driving it.
All the extra features, back up camera, bluetooth, etc.
Plenty of leg room in the back seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Gas mileage not as stated by GM, but is the same as my CR-V.
Needs blind spot alert.

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
Love the bold, modern look of the Terrain! We bought the merlot with brownstone leather SLT2 AWD 4 cylinder and love all the extra features that we did not have in our Honda CR-V EX-L.

The back up camera and bluetooth are a must, love the rear parking assist, power liftgate, chrome package, fog lights, sliding rear seat, red light interior, remote start, memory settings, and onstar! All the things that are not even an option with the CR-V. The Terrain has a bigger feel compared to the CR-V, both inside and outside with a sportier feel that makes it much more fun to drive! All in all, it was a trade up for me!

It's a smooth, comfortable ride with plenty of leg room for everyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:2
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Everything!
It is roomy.
I got the cloth seats, had them replaced with the leather and a seat heater after market for $1200.00 and love them.
I bought the car to replace my Scion xA, my son's legs were getting too long.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
I think the vehicle needs to be test driven more, I have had many issues that cover the entire vehicle.
Or who knows, maybe I got the lemon.

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
I love the vehicle, but mine needs some work. I have owned the vehicle for less than 5 months. I have put 18,000 miles on it. I drive 80 miles one-way to work.

Problems I have experienced include: the windshield wipers motor sticking, the defrosters not working, the brakes making a grinding noise, a chuggin (air in the fuel system) noise when taking off, paint chipping and scratching horribly, the chrome on the rear door bubbling up (like a sticker), and most recently, the malfunction indicator lamp came on.

I am taking my vehicle to a dealership in the next few days. Hopefully everything will be fixed and NOT at my expense. I will return the vehicle if this is the case.

I really like the vehicle despite all the problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 29, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Don't own a Terrain at this time, but drive a friend's.

I've been looking seriously at cars to replace my '99 GMC Jimmy and like the Terrain better than anything else I've seen or driven.

It's the right size vehicle for me and the mileage isn't bad, either. Love the rear vision camera and the feel of the car on the road. Pretty quiet, too.

What's stopping me from buying the Terrain TODAY is the absence of HomeLink, which I had on my Jimmy. Interestingly, the Acadia has Universal Home Remote, so I wonder why GMC wouldn't include it on their Terrain. I thought it may have been an optional feature that my friend didn't select for her car, but no, it's not offered at all on the Terrain. Too bad. I'll wait to see if GMC smartens up and includes Universal Home Remote later this year. It may seem like such a small thing, but not being able to program my door opener (and indoor lights) as I can now, makes it a deal breaker for me. Though I'd love to purchase the Terrain soon, I'll hold off, hoping that GMC smartens up.

But if others don't care about programming their garage door opener and indoor lights to come on with a touch of a button from the car, my advice is to by all means test drive the Terrain. I'm sure you'll be in for a very pleasant surprise! It's too sweet a vehicle to ignore.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 GMC Terrain?
Without a doubt, add Universal Home Remote as standard equipment!

2010 GMC Terrain Review:
Attractive, sporty-looking, smaller SUV that handles nicely on the road. If you're looking for something a little larger, consider looking at the 2010 Acadia. I just saw an ad on TV for the 2011 Acadia Denali. Pretty impressive. Brought me to the GMC website to take a look.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 15, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 GMC Terrain?
The 2011 Terrain is not a "cookie cutter" SUV. It's stylish and handles well. The ride is comfortable...sturdy, without being too truck-like.

Touch screen controls for the radio & nav system are a definite plus, and all controls are easy to reach.

Remote works from a massive distance, and the on-star & my gmc apps are pure genius! Power lift gate a definite bonus!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 GMC Terrain?
-HUGE blind spot in back corner causes a safe concern when backing up or changing lanes.
-Many parts are made of cheap plastic and don't seem very durable.
-Chrome finish is already peeling on vehicle that is less than a year old and hasn't even been through one winter (so it hasn't been exposed to any salt/chemicals)....makes me concerned how well it will hold up over the life of the vehicle
Steering makes squealing noise when turning at slow speed...dealer says this is "normal"??
-Gas mileage nowhere near advertised

2011 GMC Terrain Review:
Overall, I am basically satisfied with my Terrain. While there could be some improvements, nothing is perfect. There are a lot of "user friendly" perks, but some "not-so-user-friendly" downsides as well. I have to be extra-vigilant when changing lanes or backing up because of a huge blind spot, the A/C fan seems to wax/wane based on random circumstances (air doesn't cool as well if you are idling at stop light, on Bluetooth call, etc.), and lock/unlock button for doors is on dash (why???). After owning for less than a year, I'm having a lot of little problems, which makes me wonder if this is going to continue over the life of the car...if so, I'll probably get rid of it sooner rather than later.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select GMC Terrain Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 GMC Terrain?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 GMC Terrain? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 GMC Terrain? 2012 GMC Terrain Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 GMC Model Lineup:
2012 Acadia
2012 Canyon
2012 Savana
2012 Sierra
2012 Sierra HD
2012 Terrain
2012 Yukon
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 GMC Terrain | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise