Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,150 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ram 2500/3500 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2012 Ram 2500/3500

2012 Ram 2500/3500
Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $28,660 - $59,245
Invoice: $26,580 - $54,226
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: N/A (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.7L V8 383HP
6.7L I6 350HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2012 Ram 2500/3500 in the top 10% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Ram 2500/3500 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Ram 2500/3500 also consider:
Submitted Aug 4, 2012

Truk
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
Mine is a 2012 Cab & Chassis with a CM Hauler bed.
I like the styling on this truck.
The interior comfort is good with bucket seats.
Controls are laid out well.
Ride is better than you would expect.
Rear leg room is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
When parked in my drive, the doors won't stay open - numerous ankles and children's finger's pinched. My drive has a slight grade to it - the doors do not stay open. My other truck the Chevy has no issues.

The exhuast brake barley makes a difference.

4:10 ratio is the only choice - way too low.

Terrible fuel mileage compared to the Chevy Duramax 13 Ram / 17 Chevy.

The storage compartment under the rear seat hold almost nothing and use up floor space, so you cannot put a tool box under the seat.

Front axle travel off road is about 3 to 4" bumps axle stops all the time.

Won't pull with a Duramax with the stock settings.

2012 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
This was my first Ram. I really like the look of it, but would buy Chevy or GMC again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2013
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
Styling, ride quality

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
Been in the shop 54 days and counting!!!!!!! Missed lemon law in Washington by 1200 miles. Dodge has only offered a 3year/36000 extended warrenty. What good is that if the truck is in the shop? LEMON!!! If you like seeing your check engine light on, then by all means purchase one. Then you can have the service manager call to tell you they have no idea what is wrong, and your truck will sit for weeks at a time as you continue to make payments. Traded in my Duramax.....for this pile. Now forced to purchase a new one just so I can take family snowmobiling/boating. How would you like to see TENS of thousands of dollars invested in toys sit unused?

2012 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
STAY AWAY FROM RAM PICKUP!!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 21, 2013

jamey
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
4x4 works great.
Pulling 12,000 lb is like nothing behind.
Great features.
Little road noise.
Back up camera is great.
100,000 mi warranty better than Ford.
Loaded 4000 lbs in bed-no problem.
Second cummins/ram truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
Tailgate needs to be reduced in size.

2012 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
We use my truck, no complaints with trailer 8 hours on hwy, 80 mph up hills, very satisfied. 3.73 gears crew cab with 8 ft bed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 20, 2012

lift man
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ram 2500/3500?
Well built truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 18, 2010

Wayne Bartlett
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ram 2500/3500?
3500 dual wheel 4x4 diesel automatic laramie.
Acceptable ride.
Excellent noise level inside.
Transmission and exhaust brake in combo are top notch in mountains with 8000 lb trailer.
Driving empty truck is comparable to a gas engine in performance.
However: see cons.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ram 2500/3500?
I replaced a 2005 3500 dodge 5.9 dually SLT standard shift 2wd with this truck, empty mpg 24 to 26 on the 05, loaded 15 to 17. The 2010 (5500 miles so far) 14mpg empty, 11.5 loaded. This is with the same exact load over the same exact roads at mostly the same speeds (65mph). I drive like your grandma. So much for technology.

2005, better (harder) paint, 2010 chips and scraps easy.

Interior plastic, my jury is still out, seems to be fading out very quickly.

2010 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
I believe Dodge needs to stop following the pack and start thinking for themselves in the 2500/3500 small truck segment. 90% of the buyers don't want or need 400 horsepower 600 lbs of torque. Offer a detune option to increase economy.

For generations Dodge trucks have been noted to have crap for springs, my 2010 right rear is already sagged 2" in 5500 miles, (yes, I do haul a 3500lb overhead camper) but they have had 40 years to figure this out, and can't do it. Look at the Kelderman rear suspension design, how come the manufacturers cannot do this setup in house.

Most buyers of 1 ton trucks will usually pull a fifthwheel or gooseneck trailer, so why not build crossmembers in the frame to accept the hitches. All manufacturers provide jacks that are useless for these trucks, wheres Dodge's lead the pack capabilities on this small issue.

I compared Dodge, Chevrolet, Ford when buying this time, and did the same as in political elections, went with the lesser of the three evils.

I own an RV storage facility and have lots of interaction with customers on their tow trucks, my observation:
Dodge - best engine;
Chevrolet - best transmission;
Ford - best body and frame.

General comments from customers - the 2010/11 Dodge 3500 will get a very in depth look for their next purchase as no one manufacturer seems to be ahead of the others.

Loaded Dodges in Houston run about $10,000.00 less than Ford or GM, that's a lot of diesel.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 10, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ram 2500/3500?
Cummins POWER, can cause understeer whenever I want.
Rides really nice.
Transmission seems to perform well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ram 2500/3500?
Doesn't come standard with "anti-spin" rear or front diff.
Inside is cheap, but I'm comfortable.
Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) really sucks the life out engine and will clog up causing error codes and loss of power if not resolved.
Warranty-after the initial 3y/36K is done the 5y/100K warranty only covers the engine, not the trans/transfer case or differentials.

2007 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Overall, I love this truck. After reading many reviews I realized I am very lucky and I have not had to take my truck in to be repaired in the 2 yrs I've owned.

After about 1 yr I started having DPF alarms going off, which scared the crap out of me that the engine was going to have serious problems. I however proceeded to drive the truck like a demon and I don't have those issues anymore. My truck has always done what I've asked it to do.

Mileage is much worse than my '06 5.9 and I think the get-up from a stop is a little less.

Was going to trade it in on 2010, but I've decided I really like this truck and will keep it for while.

Oh, I had an anti-spin rear diff put in after 1 yr, 1 tire is just not enough traction for this beast.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 25, 2012

Jim
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ram 2500/3500?
Great power (5.9 diesel).
Extremely reliable.
Quite comfortable.
Awesome looks.
Pulling capacity.
Fit and finish.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ram 2500/3500?
Ride quality.

2007 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
This is a great truck with the 5.9 cummins. Nuff said.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 15, 2012

jason
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ram 2500/3500?
Lots of power.
Like the 6 speed transmission.
A good ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ram 2500/3500?
Put a flywheel in it that won't wear and make the pickup shake.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 14, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2010 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Ford - overpriced.
Chevy - I owned a 2008 that gave me more problems then my ex-wife.
I've had a 2010 Ram 2500 for over a year now with no complaints.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 11, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ram 2500/3500?
The 5.9 Cummings engine is the best and the 6 speed man trans.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ram 2500/3500?
Bigger tires but not too big.

2006 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
It always starts and has a lot of power. Also it has very good rust proofing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Ram 2500/3500 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Ram 2500/3500?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ram 2500/3500? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ram 2500/3500? 2012 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Ram Model Lineup:
2012 1500
2012 2500/3500
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Ram 2500/3500 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise