Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Chevrolet Silverado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 13-20/18-23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.3L V6 195HP
4.8L V8 302HP
6.0L V8 332HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2012 Chevrolet Silverado in the top 39% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
61%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado also consider:
2012 Chevrolet Silverado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. XM Radio
  2. Auto folding mirrors
  3. Best fuel economy in class
  4. Daytime lights
  5. Digital MPG readout
Top 5 Cons of the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. Exterior & interior design old
  2. Reliability
  3. Side-curtain airbag
  4. Better crash test results
  5. Lumbar adjustment
Be the first to review 2012 Chevrolet Silverado!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 22, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
Bold exterior.
Clean line interior.
Extended cab room (have 3 kids).
Gas mileage: 24mpg @ 55mph & 19mpg @ 75mph.
True work truck w/ luxury.
5.3 litre powerful engine.
Dark tint.
Bed liner.
Step bars.
170 degree rear doors.
Fold up rear seats.
Remote start.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
More airbags.
Park assist.
Rear view camera.
Premium cloth.
Bigger wheels.
Free Onstar.
Navigation screen.
Turn signal mirrors.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I bought this truck used with 58,600. An older gentleman owned it before trading it in. It is in mint condition with only highway miles for $19,500. I believe it was the truck for me. The granite blue metallic, 5.3 engine and the added factory options makes it the truck I was looking for. The sticker price was still in the glove box. I wanted a leather crew cab but I could not pass up this truck for the price! I have 3 kids and it is and will be a great family ride.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 1, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
My Silverado lived up to all my reasons for buying it.

Ride height was perfect for me (6" 2"), no step up required.

Interior well laid out, liked the power folding mirrors, duel climate control and message center, which save my wife with having to deal with a flat tire.

Overall, I enjoyed my 2008 Silverado very much.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Powertrain-when slowing to a stop the rear-end jumps. The powertrain seems unsure as to drop into first or stay in second. No problem if you come to a complete stop.

Rear seats very noisy when folded up.

Ticking noise from rear of engine # 7 or #8 cylinder, usually at idle.

4 speed tranny sucks.

Fuel Management System is nothing but a selling point. Does not work in head wind, have to be going down grade to work. Was not impressed with the system.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
My 2008 CrewCab 1500 Z71 Silverado served its purpose. Anyone who purchases a full size pick-up should not complain about the price of fuel, it's a pick-up. I enjoyed my present Silverado very much but I would not consider purchasing another one until many useful improvements are made.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 20, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
I love the exterior... SHARP! I have no molding down the sides, no stickers, signage, nor emblems except for the Bowtie on the center of grill. It is just clean looking. Paint is a gold/tan with trim such as door handles and tailgate trim in black along with barely legal dark window tint and the smoke vent shades on the windows and deflector on the hood.

I love the way the rear seat fold up to open up all that floor space to haul things that don't need to be in the bed.

A/C is COLD COLD COLD! I love it!

I put a little larger tire in height and width and man did it give it a better look at stock ride height.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
I have the 40/20/40 front seat and I'm kind of a big guy (6'7" 300 lbs). I kind of have to lean the seat back a little bit to be comfortable but then my arm isn't comfortable because of the back of the center seat. I wish the center would either lay down like a console or was easy to remove to put in a large floor mounted console.

I also wish the front seats would lean back a lot further than approx 45 degrees for when I have to take a quick nap on long trips. I just cannot get commfy enough to doze when I need a little refresher.

But I love everything else about the interior including the way the rear seat fold up to open up all that floor space to haul things that don't need to be in the bed.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I have the '07 Classic WT ext cab 2wd, the 4.3 V6 motor w/ auto trans, because it was a killer deal.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 17, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great price.
Fantastic value and fuel economy.
Responsive brakes.
Responsive steering.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Silverado?
Interior ergonomics and storage need way too much improvement.

The WT dash has many cubby holes that are useless and too small for even a cell phone.

Both glove boxes are too tiny to hold even the owners manuals.

Sharp corners on both the drivers side interior Work Truck handles cut into your leg, even through denim.

And finally, the wiper controls could be independent of the turn signal and much easier to use.

2010 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I own a new 2010 Silverado WT and it was a super buy.

Overall the truck seems to be a very capable piece of equipment. However, my previous vehicle was a Dodge Ram and I must say that GM should invest much more effort in the interior details for the occupants... more like they do for the basic mechanics and equipment reliability.

My previous Dodge Ram was totally unreliable mechanically, but it was worlds ahead of Silverado on driver ergonomics and comfort.

GM engineers should spend some time riding in a Dodge ram for better ideas.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 29, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Size.
Interior Room (Crew Cab).
Ride Quality.
6-Speed Transmission.
5.3L AFM/Flex Fuel Motor.
Bluetooth. Factory Remote Start.
Stereo System (Don't have Bose).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Outer Trim Material on Seats (Catches Fuzz from Clothing).

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Bought New about 8-Weeks ago, LOVE IT! Love the Hydraulic Body Mounts on the Crew Cabs make for a fantastic Riding Truck. Love the 6-Speed Transmission and the Range Selection Ability. Really Enjoy how wonderfully the Bluetooth System works.

Put about 6000 miles on the truck so far and haven't reset my AVG. Fuel Economy since the day I pulled out of the dealership, at 17.5. Once I get the first oil change should go up some more but I do drive in the city a lot and on the HWY I'm running 75-80 MPH. But when I get on the back roads running steady for some time between 55 and 65 it starts climbing up...

Overall I love the truck, much nicer ride and power than the 2001 I owned a few years ago.

Already thinking about the next one I'm going to buy!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2017

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Has never given me a single problem or left me stranded anywhere.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2017
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
I enjoy the pulling power as far as pulling trailers, the comfort of the ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
I would raise the quality of the front end components (i.e.-A arms, hub assy, tie rods)
I would upgrade the radio speakers ( the cheap 20 dollar stock speakers should be outlawed )

I would have the diagnostic system be better as far as pin pointing exactly what part is malfunctioning instead of guessing and costing the owner thousands of dollars trying to fix their 56000 dollar truck.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
If GMAC would address the guessing game on their diagnostic system since they are making everything electronic and even their system check computer cannot pin point the trouble to just one part that has to be replaced WHAT IS THE POINT EITHER FIX THIS OR LOWER THE PRICE OF THE TRUCKS SO REPAIRS ARE AFFORDABLE


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 29, 2016

callie seed
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
I like the style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Needs better shocks - rides bad.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
All in all, I love the truck - never had a problem with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 24, 2015

Mel H.
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Glad I got the last of sharp looking Chevy's. Solid, looks good and runs great. The newer ones looks funky...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Change the air intake system to a Volant, use expandable an
hose from the box to the lower front of engine to let in cool air.
Truck runs unbelievable, lots of power.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Should have stuck to the old style body.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2015

Taylor
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Silverado?
I bought the truck new and rarely drive it has the 326HP 5.3 and 6spd auto and 342gears and I only average 11.7mpg the truck is terrible on fuel I wouldn't recommend the truck to anyone!!!!! I can't think of one thing I like the is a piece of junk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Silverado?
Put a small diesel motor in it like Dodges eco diesel.

2013 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Gas guzzling piece of underpowered junk!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Chevrolet Silverado? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Chevrolet Silverado? 2012 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2012 Avalanche
2012 Camaro
2012 Colorado
2012 Corvette
2012 Cruze
2012 Equinox
2012 Express
2012 Impala
2012 Malibu
2012 Silverado
2012 Silverado HD
2012 Sonic
2012 Suburban
2012 Tahoe
2012 Traverse
2012 Volt
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Chevrolet Silverado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact