Log in
5.8 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Acura TL Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2012 Acura TL

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Luxury Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 17-20/26-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 280HP
3.7L V6 305HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2012 Acura TL in the top 8% of 2012 model year vehicles.
Rank:
92%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2012 Acura TL in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2012 Acura TL also consider:
Submitted Jan 31, 2013

ss
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Acura TL?
Fast.
Soft leather.
Handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Acura TL?
Not as luxurious as Merc.
Needs touchscreen nav.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 30, 2012

Roy Fondse
Performance:5
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Acura TL?
Good handling (Poor tires).
Good fit and finish.
Comfortable seating.
SHAWD is very good.
I currently own an older model (my second one) just cannot get my head around the new ones. Waiting for a redesign to buy one.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Acura TL?
Bulky exterior needs revamping to be more sleek & streamlined like earlier models (still on steroids). Complicated interior dash w/ to many buttons-keep it simple as one has a tendency to take their eyes off the road looking at the dash!
Put on some decent tires as the RSA's are terrible! For a change go to Bridgestones 970's pole position would vastly improve the handling.
Our Canadian dealers will not change the tires to satisfy the customer. It is either their way or the highway attitude which is poor.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 13, 2011

Greg2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Acura TL?
Engine performance.
Handling.
Value per price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Acura TL?
Exterior design.

2012 Acura TL Review:
2012 TL is so much improved compared to the 2011 model. It is simply the best bang for the buck in entry luxury market.

While I still think the appearance can be fine tuned, the new design is leaps and bounds better than the previously hideous pumpkin carving.

I love my TL!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 3, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Acura TL?
I have the Acura TL SH AWD automatic for 2010. This is not my first Acura and it will not be my last.

I know that the Acura TL is one of the finest cars built. It is very upsetting that Acura is not given the recognition it deserves. I have driven Toyota and Lexus and although they are good cars Acura stands out.

The Acura pulls you inside its cabin and holds you as though it was made to fit your body. The drive is spectacular and the turns are amazing for this car. I have always been a person that loves speed and this car corners on a dime.

I love that Acura stepped out of their comfort zone and created this futuristic design. What a chance Acura took and although some people are unsure about the new design I fell in love with it the first time I saw it. This sleek design will have people talking for years to come, some will hate but in the end many will emulate it.

This is my fourth Acura and I still love getting in my car just to drive around the neighborhood at night and listen to the most amazing sound system I have ever heard and enjoy the best ride I have ever felt. I want to thank Acura for their continuing strive for excellence in their product and customer service.

I must admit that Acura owners are of a different breed - we expect more in our car without paying an enormous amount of money.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Acura TL?
I can not think of a thing at this time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 27, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Acura TL?
I have the 2010 TL SH-AWD with 6-speed manual transmission. The major forte of the car is its handling, which is something to behold. It carves up the twisty roads of California like a dream -- almost in Porsche territory. I was choosing between a BMW 335i and the Acura TL SH-AWD (both 6 speed manual), and simply found the Acura to be the better of the two at handling, performance and composure.

The car has a fantastic engine with extraordinary throttle response. It is eager to be driven fast, but is just as easy to be driven in stop and go traffic. This may seem strange, but I almost prefer stop and go traffic, just to be able to work the manual transmission -- it is as smooth as butter.

The interior layout is great as well. Very tastefully done, and has a wonderfully elegant metallic finish rather than the overdone wood or faux wood that are so common. The navigation system, audio system, climate control and trip computer take a few hours to get used to -- once you understand them, they are a breeze to use and totally intuitive. Thankfully, the climate controls have separate buttons, whereas the navigation system and audio system both share the center screen. The trip computer, too, has its own display. It all seems a bit intimidating when you first look at it, but it is very easy to use once you understand the logic behind the design -- a very ergonomic design.

Finally, despite the powerful engine, I've been getting decent gas mileage on the car. After having driven around 2,000 miles in the past 3 weeks, I'm averaging 21.1 mpg on the car in mostly suburban driving (as indicated on the trip computer).

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Acura TL?
The ride could be a touch softer, although that would probably detract a bit from the sporting character of the car. Beyond that, I really don't have much that I dislike about the car.

2010 Acura TL Review:
My last car was a BMW 330, which I was in love with, and I was 90% certain that I would get another BMW. However, after doing a test drive in the BMW 335i, Infiniti G37 and Acura TL SH-AWD (all 6-sp manual) I could not resist going with the Acura TL. It is simply better at handling than the other two.

Furthermore, in my book, this is the best looking car on the road. But I will admit that the looks are polarizing -- half the people I talk to think it looks strange, the other half think it is the coolest looking sedan they've seen. Don't buy this car if you want to blend with the other cars on the road. But if you're looking for a brilliant handling, spirited performance car, that will give you boundless joy in driving, and has outstanding reliability, you really can't do any better than this one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Acura TL?
I traded from a 2005 Mercedes E500 4matic to the 2009 TL SH AWD with HPT. The gas mileage for the Mercedes was horrible and I have been really surprised at how good the gas mileage is on the TL. Better than advertised.
This is one of the better handling cars I have ever driven. It just hugs the road, particularly when you are turning or driving down a winding road.
The acceleration and power is excellent.
Also, what is not to like about the interior of the TL with the tech package. Very luxurious and the driver's seat just hugs you when you are driving. Very comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Acura TL?
The ride of the TL SH AWD is stiff and if you are driving on a rough road you can feel the bumps. I wish you did not have to sacrifice ride for handling.
Also, I wish the TL had rain sensing wipers. The intermittent wipers only work so well.
Finally, it would be nice if it had a power tilt/telescopic steering wheel. While I am sure rain sensing wipers/tilt wheel would add to the cost, it would be worth it.

2009 Acura TL Review:
I really, really like this car. I have been driving my new TL for over a month and it is just a fun car to drive. And despite the criticisms of the appearance, I like it. As my teenage son said, it is "edgy". It is a car that definitely makes a statement.
I love the stereo system and the tech package. I find it hard to get out of the car when I am listening to a high def CD. And I find myself using the real time Doppler weather a lot more than I thought I would.
Also, with teenage kids, the back seat is very roomy.
Compared to the G37x and CTS 4, the TL is a great car for the money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 9, 2015
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Acura TL?
Looks pretty sharp, rides very nice on the highway, seats are comfortable (I'm 6'1") for longer rides, not much road noise, GREAT sound system (I have the NAV package with DVD surround sound), and the MPG were actually pretty good for a V6 although I did a lot of highway driving about 60mi trip each way.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Acura TL?
Started with the brakes.
I bought this car with a Carfax AND Autocheck reports and this car was flawless. Right at 90k miles. The owner had taken it to the same Dealership it's entire life. Understand these reports DO NOT tell you everything. But seeing this is a big plus.
The report said the brakes were done about 1000 miles before I bought it. That didn't take long to need replacing.
Then the Navigation unit needs updating with a $100 disc to do so, and none of the local Dealerships are willing (say they "can't" do it) without the fee.
The Bluetooth ONLY links to phone calls; No music can be played.
The HandsFreeLink randomly stopped working around the 110k mark, so now the Bluetooth is basically worthless without replacing the HFL unit.
Then the Biggie.... The transmission. The previous owner had done everything on schedule AT the dealership I remind you. I went ahead and changed the ATM Fluid about 10k miles ago at another local Dealership. So, bad maintenance is not an issue at all. This car was babied.
The car now sits at a local Transmission shop needing an entire new tranny. Apparently around the 120kish mark, and during this particular design years, Honda and Acura transmissions are known for this. They go out. No notice at all. A number of reasons can cause it, but the most common is the 3rd or 4th gear assembly literally falls apart or becomes damaged. Now I'm sitting on a 8.5k car, now worth 4.5-5.5k, with a 3,600 - 4,200 transmission problem. We all know how this goes...

2005 Acura TL Review:
I really wanted to like this car. It was truly awesome when I first had it. Plus, living in Colorado, they do really well. This car is not the best for snow or bad weather conditions, but it's incredibly safe. If you have true winter tires, say some Blizzaks, you'll be fine if you don't drive like an ass.
This car is a great highway commuter. Pleasant to drive, and has the speed when you need it! But, my story is not unique if you buy these used and plan to have them well over 100k. Which is entirely possible!
I guess not mine, or the plethora of others who run into this transmission problem in both Honda and Acura cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 28, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Acura TL?
Looks
Ride
Interior
Nice Standard Features
Luxury
Acura's Reliability Reputation

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Acura TL?
Rode Noise on Concrete Highways
Occasionally sluggish acceleration

2010 Acura TL Review:
I just bought a Certified 2010 Palladium Silver Acura TL in Dec 2012 with 17K miles. I absolutely love this car. I don't understand the fuss over the looks, it's a Beautiful design...I get's lot's of compliments on it. Two of my friends now want one. I think the 3G Acura's look dated now. I love the looks, smooth firm ride, Sharp Interior and the comfortable seats. I also have a 2002 Camry that I've had 11 yrs and have 200K trouble free miles on, and it's still has a smooth ride and is still going strong. I love that car as well...but there is NOTHING like driving a TL!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 22, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Acura TL?
Love the Navigation.
Great Power.
Good Gas Mileage.
Very Smooth Drive.
Solid Car.
Roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Acura TL?
Better Looking Front Grill.
Down Shift in Automatic.
Homelink feature should be Universal (does not work in most cars).

2007 Acura TL Review:
Far better ride then the BMW or a Merc in its category.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 26, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Acura TL?
Most people don't like the styling of the car, but that is what caught my eye.
The car rides great and is very quick.
The leather seats are comfortable.
The car handles beautifully and is very responsive.
The styling is very aggressive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Acura TL?
It really should have a 6 speed tranny, which is now on the 2012 TL.
The Nav. system could be much easier to use.
Acura should do something about the road noise when driving on cement highways.
Mileage could be better.

2010 Acura TL Review:
Overall a great car - very happy with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Acura TL Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2012 Acura TL?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Acura TL? Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Acura TL? 2012 Acura TL Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2012 Acura Model Lineup:
2012 MDX
2012 RDX
2012 RL
2012 TL
2012 TSX
2012 ZDX
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2016 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2012 Acura TL | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact