Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,885 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Kia Sorento Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2011 Kia Sorento

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-21/25-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 175HP
3.5L V6 276HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 47 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2011 Kia Sorento in the top 50% of 2011 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2011 Kia Sorento in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2011 Kia Sorento also consider:
Submitted May 13, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Styling- it looks great. And I am really picky.
Size- for the number of passengers it holds, it is not too big on the outside.
Power- it has a good amount of power for an SUV, and it handles well. There is a downside to the power though (see cons).
Options- great choices. They offered the ones I really wanted in one package, which included the backup assist, backup camera, roof rails, heated seats and 3rd row seats with a V6.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
I have had my Sorento for almost a year, and there are a few minor complaints I have:
1. This is my biggest complaint. The stereo SUCKS! Turn it up anything over 10 and there is MAJOR distortion. I am a self proclaimed audiophile, and KIA seriously needs to do something about the stereo. If I had known about it, I would have gotten the Infinity system.
2. It does not handle the power well- if you accelerate hard it pulls really bad. I know FWD vehicles do this, however I had a Maxima that was so much better.
3. The seat fabric- it shows EVERYTHING. And I mean everything. I have a 9 month old, and his bottle has spilled in the backseat. It looks awful. I also wear dark jeans and it shows where the dye has rubbed onto the seat. NEVER happened in any other car I have had.
4. Cargo space with 3rd row up is non-existent. Forget taking luggage on a trip with the seat up unless you have roof rails.
5. And not related to the Sorento really, but I had to go to 3 Kia dealerships before I found a decant one. The first two were schmoozers. I drove 4 hours to buy my Kia, and the dealership I went to assured me they had exactly what I wanted in stock. When we got there, there was not anything like what I had asked for. They tried to sell me a more optioned one, but I knew what I wanted. I walked. Oh, and did I mention that I was 8 months pregnant, and it was literally 100 degrees out? To make matters worse, the A/C in the car I was trading had gone out on the drive over. So needless to say, I was highly irritated. Fortunately, the third dealership redeemed Kia. Now I am stuck with the crappy one here in town.

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
There is really only a couple of other points I wanted to make about the Sorento: Parts are cheap! Everybody that is anti-foreign car has warned me about how hard it will be to get parts and how expensive it will be. Not so! I had a little incident with a guardrail last month and ended up having to replace all the plastic on the passenger side to include the lower front bumper portion, the rear bumper portion, AND the rim. Yikes, I know. But the parts were $638, and were coming from the US (or Korea? Not sure) so not hard to get (and note, it is pretty hard to get Japanese parts right now because of the tsunami). And my last point is this: the Kia is rated really high on NTHSA. So I feel safe in it.

Overall, I would recommend the Sorento to anyone. It is a good, solid car. Kia doesn't have a great reputation yet, but I think they will if they keep up the great design work, and get better dealerships.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 5, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
- Quiet ride (guess I am not as sensitive as others regarding road noise).
- Comfortable interior.
- Good initial build quality (no issues in 30 days / 2k miles).
- Panoramic roof (worth the extra $$).
- Decent performance - quick for a X-over, as promised mileage.
- Great value for $$.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
- Stereo: Sirius is constantly losing the sat signal. Am thinking about putting windshield module back in from a prior car (did not have such issues).
- Nav system short on features and has no clock (to calc time of arrival for example).

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
I purchased a 2011 EX AWD V6 in late March, and so far, I have been very happy with it.

My complaints are relatively minor, with the exception of the Sirius radio problem. It literally cuts out if there is a tree within 25 yards of the vehicle. I am going to have Kia check for issues with the antenna, but I know my windshield modules have not had these problems in the past.

Otherwise, great value for the money IMHO.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 4, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
You need to throw out everything you think you know about KIA! The 2011 KIA Sorento is a vehicle that KIA started with a fresh sheet of paper with, and completely started over designing a brand new from the ground up unibody CUC/SUV.

It is state of the design and engineering art, and whereas the old KIA's sold themselves based solely on the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty to most people...now the KIA Sorento is great enough to sell itself based solely on itself!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
We've had this SX model for several months, and 3000 miles later we are still totally impressed with it. No issues, no regrets, no problems.

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
This KIA (and we are ardent Ford fans!), is by far the best vehicle of any brand we've ever owned. And we've had new Toyota's, Honda's, Dodges, Chevrolets, etc.

The assembly quality, craftsmanship, care and pride with which is was built by the American workers at the brand new KIA plant in West Point Georgia really is impressive.

And the standard equipment levels at this price are truly astonishing! The only options on the Sorento SX is the huge panoramic glass sunroof and heated window washers!
The ammenities are way beyond other brands of SUV's...no matter what price range.

We compared the KIA Sorento to SUV's costing up to $20,000.00 more that didn't have the power, nice little extra's, fuel mileage, interior room, style and quality...plus the real icing on the cake...the 100,000 mile 10 year powertrain warranty and 5 year bumper to bumper warranty.

The keywords here are quality, value, surprising performance and handling, and Made in the USA.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 30, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
1) Unbelievable value!
2) MADE IN THE USA!
3) Style and substance...looks great and has the stuff to back it up!
4) Quality of the assembly and components are excellent.
5) Performance exceeded our expectations...mileage, handling, powerful aluminum dual cam V6 with 276 hp...and a KIA made superb 6 speed automatic is world class!
6) Side by side comparisons with the competition (including some luxury SUV's like Lexus, Acura, BMW) shows you that the KIA Sorento has standard and optional features that are either unavailable or a LOT of extra money!
7) The 10 year, 100,000 mile powertrain warranty is just icing on the cake!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
2000 miles later (we bought it in Feb. 2011), not a single issue, we couldn't even find any flaws! And we tried!

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
The 2011 KIA Sorento accomplished the unheard of...by gaining sales at a record pace, and becoming #3 best selling SUV in 2011!

In the year since the all new 2011 KIA Sorento has been introduced, it has passed the sales of the competition, including 15,723 sold in the month of February alone! Since its introduction, the 2011 KIA Sorento has passed the sales figures of the Chevrolet Equinox, Toyota RAV4, Nissan Rouge, Ford Edge, Chevy Traverse, Toyota Highlander, GMC Acadia, GMC Terrain, Subaru Forester, Lexus RX350, Cadillac SRX, Nissan Murano and Buick Enclave!

Only the Honda CRV and the Ford Escape sold more. KIA reports that well over 100,000 2011 KIA Sorentos have been built and sold since the introduction last year, and the new billion dollar KIA manufacturing plant in West Point Georgia has added a 3rd shift to keep up with the demand!

We bought our 2011 Kia Sorento SX in Peal White Snow with all the options doing some pretty extensive shopping with most brands of "CUVs" from all the brands available. Side by side comparisons, browsing reviews and ratings, talking to real owners and test driving all of them!

We had not considered the KIA...until we saw one on a dealer lot. We test drove a EX and loved it. We again went home and compared the KIA with all the others that we were looking at.

The KIA met our requirements that it be made in the USA (West Point, Georgia!), be good on gas, be well made, a better than average warranty (It has a 100,000 mile warranty!), all the safety stuff that technology can provide, be good looking and not an common, average and boring Honda/Toyota, and a bunch of features and extras.

KIA was all of the above and more!

We were, to say in the least..impressed! The V-6 engine is the superb 100% designed by KIA V-6 "Theta" engine...used by several brands of cars in the world. Probably the most modern engine on the globe! Efficient, powerful and reliable. And it's mated to the best 6 speed automatic that I've ever tried...and it's also built by KIA in their West Point factory!

This engine gets up and GOES! What acceleration! With with a roar of power and you're thrust back in your seat! I could see myself getting into trouble with this thing! Yet driven carefully, the dash has a green "eco" light to help you achieve an honest 26 mpg on the highway...my wife can do it..I can't!

The interior is a rich and unexpected surprise, real leather seats with cooling AND heating in the front! Deeply recessed instruments with red lighting, easy to see white numbers, a big navigation screen with voice of touch control and a cool Sirius satellite Radio, am/fm cd and IPod connections, USB port and micro jack for a MP3 player...all integrated with blue tooth, and a built in back up camera! And a 10 speaker Infinity 550 watt system! Dual zone air conditioner and heating, and the middle and 3rd row seats get their own vents! And more!

The exterior was designed by the same German Designer that was responsible for some best selling cars such as the VW New Beetle and the Audi TT! Different and better looking than any other CUV, just the right curves and lines, tasteful...with a new Corporate KIA front grill and flowing headlights that are remarkably BRIGHT! And LED stop lights that cause the drivers behind you to wince when they come on!

I have gone over this Sorento with a fine tooth comb, looking for defects or poor workmanship. NOTHING! Absolutely perfect..the paint job is the best I've seen (the pearl white snow is awesome!), the engine compartment is well laid out, neat and easy access, everything where it should be. The hood is help open by hydraulic struts...not "prop-rods"! And the interior is nicely done, black leather is of high quality, stitching is white, and the instrument panel pod over the dials is black leather with white stitching too. Nice touch! And the 3rd row is doable by kids or Adults for short jaunts around town. The 2nd and 3rd rows fold flat for huge cargo space.

And my wife really likes the giant full black glass roof includes a big power sun roof...makes the back seat a very bright "vista liner" experience!

The frosting on this cake is the 100,000 mile KIA warranty and the 5 years of roadside service! This vehicle is a real deal...and in just short of 1 year has broken sales records with over 100,000 sold, and the West Point Georgia factory working all 3 shifts to keep up!

Can you say "This KIA CUV is a winner."


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 6, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
1) A whole lot of CUV/SUV for the money...excellent value!
2) Made in the USA at a new $1 Billion factory in West Point Georgia!
3) Excellent assembly quality, nothing amiss, perfect paint, all the seams line up, no "oops!"
4) 10 year 100,000 mile warranty on the engine and driveline, 5 years on the other stuff. Free 5 year roadside assist (flats, towing, ket service, gasoline).
5) It's a darn good looking vehicle...not a clone of anything else. Two brilliant designers, Design Director Peter Schreyer (formerly from VW/Audi) and Tom Kearns from KIA's North American Design Center in Irvine California, have worked literal miracles with the KIA new cars...moving into a direction that moves KIA into competition with the Worlds best!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
The KIA new vehicles are truly great Cars and SUV's...but the dealers for the most part are still stuck in the past. I found that all 3 KIA dealers near me here in Orange County, Calif were either out of brochures or had only a few for models that were not selling well. The showrooms were likely last updated in the 1970's, which was likely the last time they were actually dusted and mopped! Seriously!

I even called the KIA North American headquarters and Design Center here in Irvine, Orange County to complain. Then I went down to the KIA headquarters (very very impressive compound, by the way! HUGE!) and picked up a brochure for each KIA vehicle.. and even saw in their lobby a Hybrid Forte and a Sky Blue special edition Soul!

The 2011 KIA Sorento will shortly have a all new 4 cylinder turbo direct injection model, with plenty of power and no loss of fuel efficiency!

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
My wife and I spent months test driving, comparing, researching, poking inside of a whole lot of vehicles! We wanted a CUV/SUV and preferred a 3rd row seat. Chevy, Ford, RAV4, Pilot, Suzuki, Mitsubishi, you get the idea. Lots!

My wife had an almost typical view of Hyundai/Kia..they were cheap and ugly cars. I tried to convince her that they were in fact, reliable and well made. I finally dragged her down to the Garden Grove Kia dealer, and was she ever shocked! The all new Optima, and the beautiful new 2011 Kia Sorento! After she sat in one, and test drove it...she was very interested! When we compared all the features that were standard on the Sorento, and then added in the SX packages...it literally blew the other brands into the background!

Then you factor in the superb handling and ride, the high quality fit and finish, the comfortable interior and the styling..."is this really a Kia" kept popping into our heads! Then the 100,000 mile warranty, and the fact that Kia has broken records outselling other CUV's over the past 11 months!

Plus a 5 star crash rating, Consumer Reports rates it in the top 10 2011 best buys, Consumer Digests Best buy award, the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety's Top safety pick and the US World and News Reports Best New Car of 2011! Terrific!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 3, 2010

Lou M
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
V6 engine.
Third row seat.
Exterior design.
Interior layout.
Built in America.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Better dealer.
Long-term reliability reputation.

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
This new Sorento is THE ideal package for family buyers.

It has nice design in and out, and the V6 engine has plenty of power.

The third row seat is the best feature out of all. Whenever we have out of town guests (in-laws), we had to rent a car. No longer! And the third rows are actually not as uncomfortable as Toyota RAV4's. We actually considered Honda CR-V, but not having the third row was the deal breaker.

One great thing about the Sorento is that it is built in America. Kia did the right thing to build a brand new plant and hire American workers to build this great looking SUV.

Now, as long as the long-term reliability works out, Kia just won over a Toyota buyer. I can't wait till we take a road trip in the summer time.

So far, everyone in the family is happy with the SUV.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 16, 2013

andy
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Looks. Leather inserts.
4 wheel disc breaks, anti skid.
6 speed tranny.
Ride height and roomy.
Drivability.
Safety.
10 yr warranty.
Also, after a year of driving, I still keep noticing options I didn't even know I had!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
For $22k drive out, I got a steal lol fully loaded 2.4L.
For the fully loaded they wanted $32k.
That's insane high for a Kia...

So new emblem that hides the name would be nice, since it looks and drives nothing like a Kia. lol

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
Wish I had the money and bought the V-6 fully loaded. But at least I saved some $ on gas. :)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Satellite radio, though if you don't keep an eye on them, they start to overcharge for service.
Roomy interior.
AWD is always nice.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Poor acceleration.
Rough when hitting bumps.
Occasional loud bang on start up.
Perpetual low tire dummy light on.
AC is inconsistent.
Gas mileage nowhere near as advertised. 22mpg max.

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
When I bought this vehicle, there weren't many appealing wagon options around, so I opted for a CUV, but in hindsight I should have bought a loaner and waited until the newer Volvo XC70 came out and gotten myself a nicer vehicle. Short story; I have buyer's remorse. The vehicle probably isn't too bad, I've just grown picky about it's short comings and the Sorento just isn't for me.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 4, 2012

dale gavan
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Styling.
Panoramic sunroof.
Leather heated seats.
V6 performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
Better sound system.

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
Definitely would buy another.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento?
1) Somewhat the value pertaining to the options (ours was an EX V6, sunroof); 2) When driving on highway, smooth comfortable ride; 3) Ease of changing oil filter; 4) V6 power was impressive; 5) smooth shifting transmission

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento?
1) Most of all, there is a rattle coming from under the right front suspension, whenever car is driven on rough road, such as gravel, railroad tracks, or just rough road. This existed since day one, and has never gone away, and no dealer (three different ones have tried) has explained what it is or what is wrong (all three test drove it & acknowledged rattle); 2) Sunroof rattled when opening & closing. Dealer had to replace entire mechanism, including glass (this was after the 4th month of owning car; 3) left rear shock broke somehow and needed to be replaced. Dealer replaced both rear shocks at same time (this s after the 9th month of owning car; 4) At some point during 2nd year of owning car, the headlights (when on at night) would randomly flicker, as if a short existed in the wiring; 5) This vehicle NEVER drove straight down the road on highway, as if being out-of-aligned. It always pulled to right at highway speeds. Dealer aligned car twice during the first year of owning, but alignment never changed; 6) During 22nd month of owning car, I noticed a very small nick/scratch in paint on rear hatch, just below 'KIA' emblem. Even though very small, I ONLY noticed it because of the rust contained within scratch; 7) Warranty is best in business, but ONLY if customer brings car in to dealer periodically and pays for 'dealer checkup', which is expensive; 8) Car had IPOD connectivity, but ONLY if you buy KIA's specific USB cord, which was a shame to find out after you buy the car; 9) The tires that came with our KIA did not last the full two years we owned it (replaced all four during 20th month of owning car). They were a cheaper brand (not a name brand that you find on most any other new vehicle).

2011 Kia Sorento Review:
My wife & I just literally traded our 2011 Sorento (bought Jan. 2010) in for a new Toyota. Based on all our 'Cons' of this car, we were, to say the least, very disappointed with KIA and this car. It is a crying shame to invest in any new car and experience the problems that we have endured & documented. To be honest, if it weren't for the warranty offered on KIAs, we would have never bought car. But I never would have expected to experience all of those Cons during the 1st two years of this car's existence. Unbelievable! I talked my wife into starting over by trading this car in and buying something of quality, peace of mind, and reliability. Getting rid of this KIA Sorento has relieved such a burden off our shoulders, because of the bad taste it gave us while owning it. Obviously, this one Sorento will forever cement our dislike for ever buying any KIA or recommending one to others.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Kia Sorento Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2011 Kia Sorento?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sorento? Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sorento? 2011 Kia Sorento Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2011 Kia Model Lineup:
2011 Forte
2011 Optima
2011 Rio
2011 Sedona
2011 Sorento
2011 Soul
2011 Sportage
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2011 Kia Sorento | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise