Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,586 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2011 Ford Focus

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 25/34-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 140HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2011 Ford Focus in the top 50% of 2011 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2011 Ford Focus in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2011 Ford Focus also consider:
Be the first to review 2011 Ford Focus!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 17, 2012

Tracy
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Everything. Bought it in 2006 with 16K miles. I am now at 150K six years later. Never ever a major problem outside of the regular wear and tear.

I love this car.

The first on in my 27 years of driving that I paid off and refused to trade in on a new car! I am keeping this gem!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Some of the factory components wear out too quick. The knob to the air vents to switch from what vents it blows air out of has wore out and it is stuck on one setting but I will get that fixed easily.

Vibrations.......ugh. BUT, I can deal with that. It's not major yet and I am working on fixing that.

The seats stain easily. Even with just water. I would put in a different interior but it is easily to clean the seats but time consuming.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
I would buy another Ford Focus! It has been a joy driving. It is my everyday commuter car. I drive 80 miles plus round trip daily and it is great!! It's sporty and I LOVE the trunk space and how the back seats lay down for more storage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ford Focus?
Styling.
European Handling.
Fuel economy.
Sync with phone.
Smooth ride.
Good quality.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ford Focus?
- The transmission feels like it's slipping when learning driving habits, doesn't feel natural.
- When at a stop even in drive you tend to roll back very easily. Be careful at lights or in parking lots. Don't like how you have to give it more gas to get over a speed bump at slow speeds or it will roll back.
- Trunk cannot be opened unless the car is turned off and keys are out of ignition. Very annoying.
- No place to put change, cup holders in awkward location.
- Touch screen not always responsive, glitches in computer, black screen, unresponsive, can't change radio manually, needs updates at dealer. Would not recommend Computer Nav system. It's as if it doesn't have enough speed in the computer to keep up with the features.
- No lumbar adjustment.

2012 Ford Focus Review:
Overall I love my Focus. I have the Titanium model, which is beautiful, but there are a few things Ford needs to resolve.

I would not recommend the full computer model. There are a lot of glitches. I have already had to bring it in once for computer updates. It's slow to respond and freezes where you can't change anything. Can be scary as it can affect cruise control and transmission.

If they fix these problems, it'd be a 5 for sure.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ford Focus?
Styling inside and out.
Ride quality/handling.
Fuel economy.
Performance in general.
Versatility.
SYNC system/stock audio.
Options.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ford Focus?
Off the line performance.
Transmission learning habits.
Upper interior trim pieces and headliner.
Needs more storage and cupholders.
Tailpipe.

2012 Ford Focus Review:
I love the styling inside and out especially with the added aesthetics of the Sports Package. I really appreciate Ford's added attention to quality/certain details with this Focus. An example would be the addition of integrated blind-spot mirrors.

The only real exterior design goof with such a well done look is the boring tailpipe. It just seems like an afterthought the way it droops slightly from underneath the bumper and isn't finished in chrome or polished stainless like the competition. I just feel like it needed to be better detailed and integrated into the look of the car or hidden altogether rather than being an eye-sore.

One odd gripe I have is that the interior is black and gray with some silver accents but Ford decided to randomly make all of the upper trim pieces (A-pillar, B-pillar, C-pillar) and the headliner a light gray color that seems kind of cheap and out of place. This is even more off-putting in my black car. I would liked to have seen these pieces in black or a gray that matched the seats and door/dash trim.

Also could use a couple more cubbies and cupholders as it has very little storage space for the driver/front seat passenger and no cupholders in the rear.

The ride quality/handling and steering is superb, especially turning thanks to the new torque vectoring technology. The fuel economy is great. I get better than advertised numbers unless I get a little spirited or have a lot in the car weighing it down. The performance is pretty nice for a stock four cylinder (just wish the compression ratio was more turbo friendly). I would like to see a little more off the line performance though, as it finds it's torque pretty high up the curve and isn't as peppy from a stop as some competitors.

The Power-Shift is a great transmission in all three modes. I offers great economy in Drive. It offers more spirited/performance-geared shifting in Sport mode without too much of an effect on economy. And Select-Shift mode where you manually select your gears is precise and fun, like a manual without messing with a clutch pedal or lifting off the gas. Also took a while for the computer-controlled dual-clutch transmission to learn my habits and shift as smoothly as it finally does after 1500+ miles of learning.

I love the versatility of the hatchback design as well.

The SYNC system is pretty nice without MyFord Touch. Sometimes though it seems to have blonde moments where it forgets my commands and preferences or just chooses not to listen to them. The sound system is pretty nice for a base six speaker set-up. The volume increments on the radio are a little wide though. My car's speed compensation for the volume doesn't seem to work as it should most of the time.

Really the only things holding this car back from being a perfect 5 in all areas are the little things, and the current lack of aftermarket parts/accessories doesn't help. I'm sure Ford will release updates soon enough to fix performance/programming issues and earn its 5 there.

And my 4 for interior only requires some color changes and some storage additions to improve. But even though it didn't get the perfect 5 it still beat out every competitor in it's class for me overall. Others had their pluses and minuses and even beat the Focus in some areas, but as a total package the Focus is my top pick. I love this car and would highly recommend it to anyone in the market for a compact.

The Fiesta is awesome too if you don't need more than subcompact space. But I needed a little more room. The new Ford is definitely moving up in the world as a whole and beginning to beat the competitors at their own games.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2011

Terry296
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ford Focus?
Finally an American car that can compete!

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ford Focus?
MPG.
Fit and finish.
Simpler interior.

2012 Ford Focus Review:
After comparing the Focus with the new Civic and Elantra, we decided on the Focus.

The Civic's ride was a bit too stiff and noisy. The Elantra's exterior was too much.

While the Focus struck a good balance, it could improve on a few things to really compete and win over hands down.

In order to win over the Elantra, the MPG can improve. I am sure American engineers can figure that out.

The fit and finish also lags behind the Civic and Elantra. Perhaps the interior is too complicated. If the designers can clean it up and make it simpler, it would be easier for the factory workers to build it tighter.

We also worry about the "infotainment" system. We love the system - the Sony and bluetooth - but we read about some complaints on the system's reliability and complexity. We'll see how that goes.

Overall, we are happy. Now, the reliability is going to be the deciding factor for our next purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 12, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Focus?
Inexpensive.
Durable.
Good gas mileage (27/34).
Superior handling in severe winter driving with snow tires.
Repair parts are inexpensive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Focus?
The engine and road noise are a bit louder than what I desire. I understand the noise level was improved in all subsequent model years.
The OEM tires were very poor.

2007 Ford Focus Review:
A very reliable and inexpensive car.

I have 80,000 miles on my 2007 Focus with a third of those miles in severe winter driving (western Michigan adjacent to Lake Michigan). Half of those miles were city driving.

The only repair required was to a bearing in the front suspension when I hit a huge pothole.

I was also hit from the rear by a large SUV while parked at a traffic light. I thought the whole rear end must have caved in. I took the Focus into my Ford dealer to assess the damage. The Focus had only very little superficial damage. Amazing!

My wife has a 2010 Toyota Corolla so I drive both cars. The Toyota has less interior room (my wife is 5'0" and I am 6'2") and the Focus has a little better acceleration. Both cars have a four-speed automatic transmission. Over the same route and driving conditions, the Corolla gets better gas mileage by a ratio of 2.0/1.8, which is the ratio of the engine displacements.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 11, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Focus?
Good engine power (don't have to rev high to get going).
Fun to drive especially in corners!
Sound system is nice for a stock car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Focus?
Could use more rear cup holders.
Had the tailgate latch go bad twice since I bought the car new in 06.
Would like to see less plastic on the inside, but it is only an economy car and Ford had to cut corners somewhere.

2007 Ford Focus Review:
I bought this 07 Focus zx3 se with 2.0 I4, 5 speed new in June 06 and currently have over 93,000 on it.

If you only consider one review please let it be mine. Unlike most reviews I have a college degree in diesel/auto mechanics, factory trained, 7 years of work exp, currently holding a full time position as a mechanic in a fleet. now if that is not qualifying enough for you, then buzz off. for those of you that care I am very satisfied with my focus.

I found the inline 4 cylinder engine to have more then substantial power for most situations.

Brakes have always felt strong and responsive (I don't have ABS).

Handling was great when I first bought it but now only good. Note: needed shocks, sway arm bushings and tires, all problems are minor wear items.

Interior is comfortable for me but not my wife on long trips due to her short height and the headrest angle.

MPG for me seems to be 32 highway and 29 city.

I would not have a problem buying another focus but with four doors for the kids next time around.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 6, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Focus?
Sync.
Gas mileage.
Design.
Performance.
Room.
Reliability.
Style.
Seats.
NICE!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Focus?
Leather wrap the E-Brake instead of plastic.
Tilt wheel instead of tilt column.
Make the vanity mirrors stay in place.

2008 Ford Focus Review:
I am 16 years old and got this as my first car... It is a Black SES model, and I absolutely love it.

Perfect for a highschooler, for things such as the Sync system for iPods and phones (which parents will love because of the safe text feature), gets terrific gas mileage (averaging 27 in a crowded college town.), not a fast car, but can zip around and can certainly maneuver into tight parallel parking spots.

Absolutely the most reliable car conceivable, easy for someone with a lack of car knowledge like me to change the fluids, due to the easily identifiable and accessible yellow caps that designate essential items such as oil, wiper fluid, etc.

The four door sedan is perfect for friends to get in and out of and is surprisingly roomy in the back even for me (6'2'').

The trunk in the back is great for many backpacks and could easily transport even the biggest of suitcases multiple times. (Also great if you have a teen who wants a subwoofer, allows plenty of space and best buy hooked one up with a breeze).

Also, the safety features should really impress parents on this. Side curtain, frontal, and even torso airbags, along with a rigid/collapsible body style, this car is truly one of America's safest.

I love it and would recommend to anyone!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Bought a 2005 ST dealer certified pre-owned and have had very little problems with it.

Had to replace the alternator at 65K and now the stereo initializes by itself every few days. Trying to figure out what the low battery message on the stereo means.

Put some strut braces on and handling was improved, but still needs to be lowered about an inch or so. Overall, an excellent little car that is fun to drive. Have taken it on quite a few long road trips and seats are surprisingly comfortable on long drive times.

The young kids with their tricked out Hondas and Toyotas are quite surprised when I scratch the tires in second gear!! Nice power range and good handling for a factory stock.

Keep your standard maintenance up and you shouldn't have very many problems.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Trunk lid doesn't pop enough with the electronic lock, have to click and pull up at the same time.

Does wear out tires and have to keep it perfectly balanced and aligned constantly.

Needs a better clutch, I notice a bit of lag from third to fourth under hard acceleration.

The fuel pump is very loud when I first turn the key and the fuel pressure doesn't build up for almost a second. Looking to replace that as soon as possible.

Had to replace the rear brakes after only 20K miles, have never had to do that before. My mechanic said the factory rear pads were made with very cheap materials.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Overall, in my opinion, an excellent little sports sedan that is fun to drive and sturdy enough to be an everyday driver.

Nice looks and just different enough from the standard Foci to get a notice. Have to admit that I love the exhaust note with the standard aluminium exhaust. Can definitely tell that it's not a standard Focus! The red ST badge looks cool too!

Comfortable interior and excellent stereo sound. All electrics and mechanicals work fine and surprisingly don't require very much attention. The factory parts do wear out pretty quick, but with good replacement parts things work fine. The handling is actually great for a boxy little sedan.

Again, overall a great little car!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 1, 2009

FordGuyForever
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Focus?
Awesome handling, great appearance, all the conveniences I could want - 6-disk MP3 CD Changer, Power Moon Roof, Heated Seats, Traction Control, very efficient A/C system, very good road noise for small car.

Regular driving habits give me 43 mpg highway and a steady 39 mpg overall - pretty good! (That's with the smaller engine and a 5-speed.)

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Focus?
I would make the 16" low profile aluminum performance rims and tires optional. I didn't really want them, but they were part of the SEL package. Look great, but replacement tires are EXPENSIVE and 2 rims were damaged by craters in the road last winter - repair of the bent rims wasn't cheap.

Redesign the cup-holders - front ones aren't convenient, and only 1 in the back for 3 people.

That's about all I would change, and it isn't much for an entire vehicle.

2007 Ford Focus Review:
Overall, the best little car on the market - for any reasonable price, as far as I'm concerned. I guess if I threw 20 more bills out I might get a bit more, but then it would hardly be an 'economy car' would it?

I've driven the offerings from GM, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Hyundai, Dodge, Kia... no thanks to any of them. Either price is in the ballpark and quality is in the tank, or quality is in the ballpark and price is over the top.

Focus gives the best combination of price, performance and equipment on the market today.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2009

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Focus?
This is the SES edition of the Ford Focus 2008 Vista Blue.

I liked it for about 5,000 miles then winter came.

Right off the bat there were some problems... Including Paint and Carpet when I purchased the vehicle. Noticed after washing it and cleaning for the first time.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Focus?
During the winter, paint all over the surface of the car was scratched down to a white layer. I am guessing this is the primer, I work for the Milan plant where we make the fascias of the car, and there are paint issues directly in the factory. Which are usually ignored and then sent to the customer anyway.

I would suggest saving your money and not leasing this car like I did. Now I'm stuck with a car that has several problems, from the carpet coming up on the passenger side, which was replaced by the dealership to look even worse.

Poor Trim on the Dashboard, plastic cuts in the dash with extra plastic sticking up.

Rattles everywhere in the car, it sounds like there is a turkey in my car in the rear of it while driving. Which Ford dealers apparently can't locate.

The tires are already bald, I've rotated them 6 times. At 30,000 miles they were almost completely bald.

Fuel pump Issue - I can hear the pump giving out. I just replaced the filter awhile ago. Now the pump is making this loud squeal noise.

Rattles in the Dashboard, everywhere there are rattles in this car, the doors, the dash, the control cluster... Even where sync is situated I can hear it rattling.

2008 Ford Focus Review:
Since Ford will not fix my problems, and I work for the company. Is this because I purchased the car under the A Plan?

When I had a 2003 Honda Civic Hybrid, I never. Never had any issues with paint or anything and it had 300,000 miles on it and it was still great for a car!

Now I'm stuck buying this car, and I'll have to take a loss on it.

So I'll buy it for the $15,500 from the dealer even though according to everyone else it is only worth...

Used Car Blue Book Suggested Retail (dealer): $13,665.00

Used Car Blue Book Private Party (owned): $11,815.00

Horrible resale value.

I will never buy a Ford Again, where is the Ford Quality, and the Promise to fix.

With the paint scratched all over the roof, the trunk, the front bumper not lining up right, the solvent pops in the door. The whole thing would be better off scrapped and then sold for metal I think it would be worth more.

As they say "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me."


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2011 Ford Focus?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Ford Focus? Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Ford Focus? 2011 Ford Focus Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2011 Ford Model Lineup:
2011 Econoline
2011 Edge
2011 Escape
2011 Escape Hybrid
2011 Expedition
2011 Explorer
2011 F-150
2011 F-250/F-350
2011 Fiesta
2011 Flex
2011 Focus
2011 Fusion
2011 Fusion Hybrid
2011 Mustang
2011 Ranger
2011 Shelby GT 500
2011 Taurus
2011 Transit Connect
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2011 Ford Focus | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise