Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,237 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2011 Chevrolet Aveo

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 27/35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.6L I4 108HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2011 Chevrolet Aveo in the top 50% of 2011 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2011 Chevrolet Aveo in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2011 Chevrolet Aveo also consider:
Submitted Nov 20, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo?
Everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo?
It's good the way it is!!

2011 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Good little car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jan 2, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
DIY routine maintenance (oil changes, etc.) appears to be easy and accessible, and that's a very important deciding factor for me in what I buy.

The stainless steel exhaust is much preferred for longevity. As far as I know the other competitors' models don't come with a stainless exhaust system.

The interior is well designed with logical, easy to read controls and dash layout, with analog gauges. It's very easy to get in and out of.

Driving it feels like an American car; apparently the interior was designed by Chevy.

The seats feel solid, supportive, and are very adjustable. The basic driving position seems to favor people with relatively long arms or relatively short legs. You might find yourself hold the steering wheel by those two lower spokes – but that's neither uncomfortable nor undesirable.

Seating is high up and visibility is excellent. The ride is firm, but not hard, unless you are on washboard pavement.

Acceleration is adequate - not phenomenal, but it was much better than I expected for an econo-box.

Exterior fit and finish are excellent – unexpectedly so for an inexpensive car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
The engine is a bit noisy, but the 6 speaker, standard radio (which GM typically seems to have built the entire dash around) will drown out road noise.

There is VERY little glove box and interior storage space. (And there is no center console storage bin.) On the hatchback there really is no trunk to speak of, but cargo room becomes large with the rear seats folded down. (Tip: a plastic milk crate will hook exactly onto one of three safety securing brackets at the very rear of the trunk space to provide a handy storage box to keep items in the trunk area from tossing about.)

The rear hatch has no remote release, unless you buy the power window package (which we didn't). I find it annoying to have to lock and unlock the hatch with a key from the outside, which is the only way it can be done. The non-remote, standard transponder car keys cost $150 per key to duplicate. (That's a very sophisticated and expensive approach to anti-theft for an inexpensive car.)

The Kumho tires seem noisy and are rated lousy as tires go – but they will wear out in 20K miles and then you can buy superior tires.

The plastic wheel covers are tacky looking.

Local (city) gas mileage is disappointing to many Aveo owners. For a car this small, everyone expects it to get better mpg in city use. We're getting about 24 MPG in all suburban driving. Apparently they revised the EPA city figure downward from 27 to 25 mpg.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
On cars of this size and shape the Koreans are competing with the Japanese, and GM is playing "me too" in selling Daewoo cars as Chevys. I compared the Aveo5 to the Yaris, which is almost identical in many ways. I'm a Toyota enthusiast (we also own a Toyota), but I found the Yaris' interior to be absolutely absurd, (with the speedometer in the center of the dash and virtually no gauges), so weird that I didn't like it. The Aveo seemed far more comfortable and easier to drive. The Aveo feels like a bigger car than it is. The body carriage sits very high off the ground: ground clearance is about 8", which is much more than the Honda Fit and the others that ride much lower to the pavement. I bought the Aveo for my wife for her local commuting to work without her having seen it or driven it beforehand. She absolutely LOVES the car! It's cute and it's fun to drive.

Don't judge the Aveo by what the (usually negative) "experts" reviews alone say. There appears to be more negative bias toward this car than deserved. Test drive one and compare it to the Yaris, Fit, Rio, etc. for yourself. You may not need or want certain features others may offer.

This was the right car for us, considering what we expect from it. In buying it as a leftover 2009 model we got it for less than the dealer invoice price, plus there was an additional total cash incentive of $2000 – and the total price was too good to pass up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Aveo?
Small/easy to park.
Great city commuter.
Sufficient acceleration.
Good for do-it-yourself maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Aveo?
Reliability seems to be an issue for mine.
Also very noisy (from idling engine noise, to road noise to accelerating).
Mileage not great (25mpg average for my 2 hour per day commute).

Repaired under warranty: valve seating defect (new cylinder head), throttle position sensor (new throttle body), timing belt idler bearing (new timing belt idler).

Repaired outside of warranty - heavy braking vibration (new front rotors and pads at 25,000 miles), loud braking noise/vibration (new rear drums, shoes, parking brake balancer at 30,000 miles), radiator fan resistor, trans fluid flush (25,000 miles), lubricate front suspension bushings (popping noise over bumps).

2007 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Ok car - but the reliability has got me down. Have only owned it a year and a half, and the check engine light seems to come on every 6 months to identify a new serious issue - in fact, it came on while driving into work today.

Also mileage could be much better (it is ok on the highway where I get up to 35, but 25 in the city driving to work ... really???)

Doesn't hold its resale value well here, so I am stuck with it.... At least the drivetrain warranty/roadside assistance is there for 5 years.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
So far good, bought mine with 60,000 miles on it, and I drive about five hundred miles a week.

The comment about using 89 octane fuel is correct. I gained five miles per gallon, and now average 35 mpg.

I LOVE the size of the windshield........plenty of visual.

I drive about 95% highway miles and for what I need it satisfies my requirements.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
The suspension needs work, it runs tight, but after a lube there are plenty of creaks, and groans, but handles nicely.

Radio leaves a lot to be desired, but acceptable........AM reception is lacking, FM is fine.

The "baby" tires (as my wife likes to call them) seem okay, I look forward how they will stand up to highway miles.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Overall a fun little auto, with a few difficulties, but you aren't buying a Packard, or La Fayette are you?

Good solid transportation, probably the last vehicle I will own, I retire in two years:+)...........

I give it two thumbs up, since buying my first brand new Chevy in 1963 for $2800, car payments of $49 a month! I have been with Chevrolet for a long time, and Chevrolet has treated me well over the years........

Satisfied customer!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I love my little Aveo.
It's the perfect size, seeing as how I'm short, for me,
lots of room, little to no road noise, heat and air both work fantastically, even when they're off.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
It tends to "hick up" a lot, and it doesn't speed up too well, it's more of a slow cruiser. And if you have a standard, like I do, going into 5 can be a little tricky some times.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
All in all, I love this car.
I grew up on Chevys and have never had any major problems with them.
They're fantastic, durable cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Interior is spacious, visibility is great and very easy to drive and park.
A/C and heating works much better than other cars I drove (including Chevy Impala).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
More leg room. Although I don't find it uncomfortable, but I would feel better with a bit more room.
The engine temperature gage stopped working at one point of time so the whole dash had to be replaced. I would be interested into price but thankfully it was within warranty period :).

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Excellent car. I like it very much. Other than the engine temperature gage I did not have any problems with it. I would consider buying it again if in market for a car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 8, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Gas Mileage.
Surprisingly roomy.
Our Aveo has all the goodies - power locks and windows, keyless entry, cruise control, radio with cd and aux input for i pods and mp3 players, and an a/c that will freeze your butt off!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I don't like the location of the cup holders but it's really not an issue if the car is in drive...

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Great Great Great car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 22, 2010

Greg21
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Gas millage :), my 4 dr. sedan SVM cost $9,290 brand new.

I have 77,000 miles on it and it still runs like new with the exception of making sharp turns to merge onto the highway - seems to stop the fuel from flowing to the engine momentary.

I'm 6'2 and have plenty of leg and head room in the car. The ride is surprisingly quiet and smooth. Test drove a much nicer Honda Civic and guess what, my car was still quieter, the Honda win all the other categories.

My next small car will be the Toyota Yaris but until then I love everything about my Aveo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Nothing, you get what you pay for. But standard anti lock brakes and stability control is much needed on a car this small.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Stick with the basics when buying this car, i.e. 5sp manual trans no cruse no air. If you can't live without those options, than buy a Honda Civic or Toyota Yaris.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 22, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
The gas mileage, I bought it to drive to work and parked my Chevy Blazer. I like how you can zip to any where you want to go. I have taken my Aveo up North and back several times and just love how I get the best gas mileage out of everyone I know.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I would make the console bigger, and the front windshield smaller.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
I love my car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Handles wonderfully, fits myself and three kids with all our baggage. The split rear seats can be "rolled" out of the way making a lot more space when I need to haul cargo. And of course the gas mileage, took it from Golden to Victoria for a work related conference the return trip through a mountain pass with snow and fog, two semi trucks off road, one trailer riding atop the cement blocks meant to keep traffic on the road not down the side of the mountain, and another semi crashed on fire, but my lil Aveo made the trip without a hitch!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Rear defrost isn't working yet. The light in the dash still works. Only one cup holder for the backseat passengers.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Very pleased overall.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2011 Chevrolet Aveo?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo? Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo? 2011 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2011 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2011 Avalanche
2011 Aveo
2011 Camaro
2011 Colorado
2011 Corvette
2011 Cruze
2011 Equinox
2011 Express
2011 HHR
2011 Impala
2011 Malibu
2011 Silverado
2011 Silverado HD
2011 Suburban
2011 Tahoe
2011 Traverse
2011 Volt
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2011 Chevrolet Aveo | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise