Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2010 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22/30-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 169HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 36 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2010 Chevrolet Malibu in the top 38% of 2010 model year vehicles.
Rank:
62%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
2010 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Remote starting
  3. Roomy inside
  4. Quiet and comfortable ride
  5. Powerful engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Better interior
  2. Include floor mats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. Center console too far back
  5. Low quality gas gauge
Submitted Mar 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Good Mileage (have seen 30+ mpg, typically 27-29 on mostly highway driving).
2. Low Noise.
3. Interior & Exterior styling.
4. Good legroom in the back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Bigger gas tank (good mileage, but want to more range).
2. A few more HP...would be willing to give up a little mpg, but not enough for the V6...maybe consider the 4-cyl Turbo from the Regal (but only if the gas tank gets bigger).
3. Wider ... hard to squeeze three in the back even for short trips.
4. More headroom in the back.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
22K miles, mostly long commutes and business trips. Overall happy with it.

When I'm driving colleagues out to lunch, most of whom are my size, (6+ ft. tall), the interior feels small. No way to get three in the back. Just an inch wider and an inch taller in back would make a big difference.

Have a long commute, and a bigger tank would be a plus.

Will get 380-420 miles on a tank (without sweating it too much). Was able to get 500+ in my old Altima.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 28, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Sold my 1994 Pontiac Bonneville with 3.8 engine in April and replaced it with a 2010 Malibu 2LT. We have put 8400 miles on it, including a 3000 mile trip, so we know it pretty well. While it's no Bonneville, it is a good car that I would buy again.
1. Decent acceleration with the four cylinder and six speed trans
2. Highway mileage almost as advertised at 30 to 33 mpg
3. Interior is comfortable
4. Handles well
5. Looks good, even received compliment from stranger
6. Fold down rear seats allow us to carry skis inside the car
7. Bluetooth makes it very easy to use the cell phone in the car

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Hard to get in and out
2. Steering wheel buttons too small
3. Transmission/gas pedal way too slow to respond after coasting
4. City gas mileage is terrible, less than my V8 Oldsmobile Aurora
5. Tilt steering wheel needs to actually tilt up out of the way
6. Center console not comfortable

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The 2010 Malibu is a very good car. Though it isn't perfect, it compares very well against the Fusion, Camry and Accords that I have rented on business trips and I believe it is the superior car. It is great for an around town car even though the around town gas mileage is way lower than expected. It is also surprisingly comfortable and peppy on the highway. I would buy it again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I just bought this car a few days ago and it took all of 24 hours for me to fall in love with it!

I love the redesign of the Malibu from it's boxier predecessor, and it has one of the smoothest rides I have experienced in a while.

It handles extremely well - I love the electronic power steering, though it does take a bit to get used to.

This is by far my favorite of the many cars I have purchased over the years.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I agree with the others that the trunk is somewhat awkward, but it is still very roomy.

I wish they would have moved the power jack over a bit, it seems to get in the way of the gear shift when the car is in park.

Also - I think the 33 mpg highway that Chevy proclaims may be stretching it a little, but it is all in how you drive the car.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall - I really do love my Malibu. My husband swears by his Accord, but I think the Malibu definitely has him beat in styling and handling. I think the gas mileage of the Accord is probably a little better, but that is the only thing!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Sporty looking.
2. Doors and trunk sound solid and tight when closing.
3. Easy to manage radio controls.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Buttons on the steering wheel too small and can be distracting to the driver.
2. Trunk is difficult when loading an unloading.
3. The interior is a snap and fit - feel like I am in a model scale car.
4. Gas mileage is not what is expected.
5. The noise on bumps are somewhat loud.
6. Hard to balance the front and rear speakers.
7. A spoiler would make the trunk easier to open.
8. The turn signal sounds like a game show.
9. Hard to look over to see cars in blind spot.
10. Hard to look over seats when backing up into a lane.
11. Cloth seats show water marks easily.
12. Second back cup holder is smaller and difficult to put another cup in because of the center armrest.
13. Roof sound like a tin can in a car wash.
14. The oil cap area inside the engine needs to be wiped out from the remaining oil with a rag.
15. Steering wheel adjustment does not let the wheel go high enough up.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Chevrolet Malibu LS.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Styling is very fresh with an understated look. Others have had issues with the tail lights, but I think they look great--especially the LTZ. Thank God they didn't put red plastic all over the back end like older Impalas.

Very quiet at cruising speeds. Comfortable seats.

4-cyl has plenty of smoothly delivered power and great gas mileage. (6 speed automatic is a must, however--the 4-speed transmission is rough shifting.)

Body very solid. Braking is excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Standard Goodyear Eagle LS2 tires are AWFUL. Replaced them with Hankook Optoma's at 6,000 miles. What a difference in handling and ride!

Electric power steering with 4 cylinder engine feels numb (like most American cars).

Trunk opening is too small, and lip too high. Difficult to get anything larger than a valet case in.

Rattle in the trunk area drove me nuts until I discovered there are two recesses in the wheel well cover than fit over two tabs at the rear of the trunk causing the lid to buzz whenever any irregularity in pavement was crossed. Bad design--even the dealer couldn't find out what was causing the problem. Only my own perseverance saved the day. Buzz now gone.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
A winner for GM! Far from perfect, but better in most respects than either Camry or Accord. Priced somewhat higher than comparable imports, but substantial discounts from list make it more than competitive. This one's a keeper!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 3, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
The vehicle looks very sporty for a "Family Sedan" especially the LTZ model with its well styled 18" wheels.

The ride is very smooth, quiet and comfortable seats are a big plus.

A nice dash/cockpit layout enhanced by the excellent two tone interior and leather seating surfaces give the Malibu LTZ an air of refined sophistication.

The 2.4 ltr. engine gives the car good pep and the paddle shifter on the column adds a bit of zoom when needed.

The care handles really well almost too well due to a bit of over-steer, but is very responsive to any situation.

Test drove the Accord but decided on the Malibu due to its better interior design, roominess and overall looks of the Malibu LTZ compared with the much smaller Accord.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
As the other reviewer said the rear could be better designed, and by that only a change in the tail lights, not the shape of the rear is needed.

The car has a low opening and taller folks find it a bit difficult to enter the vehicle.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Malibu LTZ is by far an outstanding car, many double takes are noticed while driving and the car couldn't be more comfortable. Great gas mileage makes one think they have a sort of "green vehicle" averaging up to 36 miles per gallon highway traveling at 70 mph.

Chevy has a real winner in the Malibu!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2012

dave moraga
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Good ride, like the sound system, very comfortable.
I have had mine a little over two years & have 77,000 miles on it - still going strong!!
Getting about 30-32 mpg., drops down quite a bit around town driving 24-24 mpg.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Get rid of the chrome wheel covers, they rattle quite a bit, you can't buy replacement nuts, unless you buy the wheel covers, not good.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I would consider buying a new one when the time comes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 3, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
LOVE THE CAR.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I DON'T LIKE THE FAKE CHROME WHEEL, WHICH IS ONLY WHEEL COVERS.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 13, 2012

Karl
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Style and appearance, comfort, serviceability.
Layout of gauges, dash and switches are easily accessible and ergonomic.
4 Cyl very responsive and performs well on all highway conditions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Fuel mileage, fuel mileage, fuel mileage for my 2010 4 cyl Malibu 2LT!!!!! Mine comes nowhere near the advertised rating. I do well to get 10 litres per 100 kilometers on the highway (That's 31 MPG Canadian) driving 100/110 KPH and based on a 12000 km trip!!!! Worse than that for combined town and highway. It appears that more research and development does not improve products' fuel economy. Going back my 1969 Ford Fairlane 302 V8 gave 26 MPG and my 1996 Chev Lumina consistently gave 38-42 MPG on the highway.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 10, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Make the trunk opening larger to accommodate putting in an ice chest.
Get rid of the door chimes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu? 2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2010 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2010 Avalanche
2010 Aveo
2010 Camaro
2010 Cobalt
2010 Colorado
2010 Corvette
2010 Equinox
2010 Express
2010 HHR
2010 Impala
2010 Malibu
2010 Silverado
2010 Silverado HD
2010 Suburban
2010 Tahoe
2010 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2010 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact