Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 20-22/29-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 182HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 36 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2010 Chevrolet Equinox in the top 36% of 2010 model year vehicles.
Rank:
64%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox also consider:
Submitted Mar 23, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Backup camera in rearview mirror.
Heated leather seats.
Tinted Sun Roof/Air hatch.
Nice Dash Display.
Great Gas Mileage.
Solid drive & did not have to sacrifice much on power to get better gas mileage, even in the 4 cyl.
Roooomy rear seating and trunk area, transitions nicely from "Family Car" to "Night-on-the-Town Car"

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
* Did not like that the radio volume adjusts automatically with your speed. Had to turn that off (took a while to figure it out).
* Wish the charger ports would work while the car is turned off.
* I still have a difficult time figuring out how to unlock the doors, which lock automatically when car is in drive & they put that feature on the dash instead of on the doors (??? why?).
* It is a little difficult to see out of... because of the height of the rear window, ... SO GLAD they added the backup Camera, 'cause without it this would have been even more of a "Con".
* The dash alerts for relatively minor issues like "low Tire pressure" take over your screen, so you can't use digital speedometer until corrected.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall, I really like this car. Solid Handling. Nice exterior lines. Chevy packed it full of nice "luxury" features and kept the price reasonably affordable. I think they got it right.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 1, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Finally a state of the art offering from GM in the segment. The best gas mileage in the segment, huge backseat legroom, dead quiet and as many amenities as you care to choose.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
If you order one to meet your needs, you'll find very little to wish for. Chevy dealers can't get enough to meet demand. To get a great deal, you'd better be good.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
The Equinox drives and rides like a much larger and more expensive SUV. GM chose NOT to skimp on sound proofing, including thicker glass for the sake of better mileage.

That said, it still leads the segment with 32 mpg highway. BTW, I averaged 30 mpg on the way home from the dealership. I purchased the loaded LTZ with leather, sun roof, nav, etc, and it's a REALLY great ride. In-town mileage is good, highway is already over 30, although the motor isn't nearly broken in.

The 4 cyl direct injected motor is more than adequate around town, and cruises effortlessly at 75 mph plus.

BTW, handling is top-notch. I drove the RAV4 and Honda CRV, and this car is in a different class, any way you can measure. Drive the competition, then drive the Equinox, you'll probably buy one before you leave the dealership.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
264HP V6 power.

Interior styling is top notch, very Acura looking and feeling!

Plenty of torque!

Put it in Manual mode and it's like a race car. I've drove V8 mustangs that didn't feel this strong.

Great looking!

Comfort is 10++.

Back up camera, helps blind spots wile backing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Check engine light came on after 2000 miles due to a bad sensor for the throttle position control, whatever that is. Did not effect the performance at all, just makes you feel bad that a brand new car had a check engine light on. But seems to be very isolated.

Fuel economy on the V6 is below average, but a great trade off for the extra power. We average between 20 and 22MPG according to the on board computer.

It kept the name of equinox. They should of renamed it, when I tell people that I own an Equinox they think of the old clunky ones.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
We own a 2LT 264hp V6.

This car is extremely fun to drive, when I can pull it away from my wife. The comfort and styling makes me feel like I'm in a luxury CUV costing in the range of $50,000.00 or so. Let me make a statement that I am not a fan of the old Equinox at all. I never liked the look inside or out. This 2010 total blew me away and reshaped my opinion. For a midsize CUV this thing will shag on down the road with the best of them. Put the thing in manual and rev it about 7,000 rpm in 2nd gear with the 264HP V6 and you'll see what I'm saying total fun, totally powerful for a CUV, although my wife only let me do that once or twice. Now I'm not talking Camaro or Corvette fast but defiantly BMW X5 fast feeling at least. But going past the motor, it's full of features and gadgets. The Pioneer Premium sound system sounds very accurate and the bass is very beefy. The highs could be a little higher, but I'm probably a little tone def because of my growing up with loud music. The seats sit great, after a 2 hour drive I'm not stiff at all. I could drive this to California with out getting up, well maybe to sleep, but you get my point. The IPod control is excellent, love that feature. The Bluetooth phone hook up is perfect and worked with our old phones. The review camera helps with blind spots wile backing, love that. I'm now the biggest On-Star fan ever, love that feature.

We test drove the 4 cylinder version of the same car and it felt ok in power. I slammed that one to 7,000 RPMs and it kicked a little. For a I4 motor pretty powerful. Extremely quiet! You have to look at the RPM gage to know if the motor was still running. The v6 on the other hand you hear, but the sound is beefy, especially at 4,000 to 7,000 RPMs. I was more impressed with the V6 than the I4, as far as power goes. It has a little race inspired sound to it. But if you want fuel economy the I4 does not lack power. It has only 82 less horse power, which is a lot but not too much less. You get the same great car with just a small eco friendly motor. We probably would have got the I4 but I like to get the biggest motors in what ever I get, I'm a teen at heart I guess. I also like the dual chrome exhaust on the V6.

But all in all for driving like my wife does, very family oriented, and very comfortable, with a little something for the big kid in the husband. I've driven many sports cars and I rate this in the powerful category, not drag strip ready but defiantly fast whether you agree or not.

In conclusion all in all the best quality to price of any car in the world. I really feel that this could help GMs rep along with the 2010 Camaro! A lot of bang for the buck!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
I like the new design, exterior and interior; especially the new material the seats are made of (cloth).
The vehicle handles well and gets great fuel mileage on the highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
The 6 speed transmission is a little tricky at times, so I would improve on that.
The cabin is something I would take a look at to keep some of the road noise out.
Another thing I would look at is the position of the cup holders in the front doors.
The oil filter is another thing I would change. The position is tight and the oil filter itself doesn't hold much oil, which means you are changing oil often.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall, it is a good vehicle but I have a few problems already.
First the tire pressure gauge comes on at any given time while driving and stays on even after you clear the screen.
The next and most important issue is; at 75,000 miles the "engine reduced power" indicator is coming on when you are driving, the vehicle is stalling out, after that happens, you can pull off the road for about 10 minutes and it will start back up and it may be another day of so before it will happen again. I took it to the dealership and they have not found the problem. I changed the mass air control sensor but it did not fix the problem. I need HELP.....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 26, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
*My average 28 mpg, which is below the advertised average mpg, but still good for an SUV.
*Cargo room is good.
*Body style.
*Safer size vehicle.
*Purchase price.
*Backup camera.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
*Too many items needing repairs.
*Rough ride.
*Poor Visibility for backup.
*Nitro Fill tires (pointless-don't need).
*No good GPS provided - not a fan of navigation system.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
My biggest complaint is all of the times I have needed to take my car in for repairs. I have had the car in the shop at least 6 times during first 1 1/2 years. Way too much for a new car. I purchased because it had good gas mileage, American made, and I hoped would be dependable and reliable. After all the problems, it makes me want to return to my Toyota car I owned prior to this! I may buy Toyota next time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 10, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
This car is VERY dangerous when you are not familiar with the blind sides of the front window. Even after driving this car for 1 and 1/2 years, I have had a few close calls.. My daughter will not drive it... She has a tracker 2000.. There have been a few close calls with pedestrians. The design is too wide from window to door.

I strongly urge a change in design....I have a 2000 Blazer and this was not an issue.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Firstly I would appreciate a response to my concern... Then I would be more than willing to give you my positive remarks.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 21, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Overall styling, excellent handling in all weather conditions, great fuel economy; (9.1 L/100 km avg. -4 cyl.) which is half of what my previous Grand Cherokee achieved with the same amount of horsepower!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Softer instrument panel material.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
My Equinox is good on fuel, performs well under all conditions, and I feel great driving it because it is safe for my kids and it turns a lot of heads.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 30, 2010

Dave Hutcheon
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
4 cylinder LT is good basic transportation.
My wife feels it has a luxurious feel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Fuel economy is poor, 20-30% below advertised.
Side vision is poor as well.
Wanted another Golf TDI Comfortline but VW wouldn't budge on the price. It gets great mileage and there are no major blind spot issues. I should have swallowed my pride and paid the extra four grand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 25, 2010

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Nice to drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
I have now had it in the shop 7!! times for the same problem.. rich fuel and gas in the oil. They tell me that "this does no long term damage" and yet here I am again this morning... 13 months after my purchase and the light is back on and the onstar telling me that I have "rich fuel and the engine should be serviced". I am beyond frustrated!

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Good luck getting it fixed.. my car has spent a total of 33 days in the garage and still hasn't fixed the initial problem. And all when attempting to exchange/complain.. They say "we are sorry but I am sure this time we have the problem solved".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Looks good, rides as I expected.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Very poor mileage.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
My 2010 Equinox LT1 AWD sucks gas. It's rated in Canadian Imperial gallons (160 oz.) at 28 mpg city and 41 mpg hwy. The best the GM Chev dealer service manager could get is 18.5 city. GM customer relations "talker" said that is with in the GM limits but didn't say what the low end of the limit is. She said GM may make 1 or 2 cars that meet the rated mileage. Other manufacturers don't have that problem. GM still has no credibility and I will never buy another GM.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox? Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox? 2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2010 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2010 Avalanche
2010 Aveo
2010 Camaro
2010 Cobalt
2010 Colorado
2010 Corvette
2010 Equinox
2010 Express
2010 HHR
2010 Impala
2010 Malibu
2010 Silverado
2010 Silverado HD
2010 Suburban
2010 Tahoe
2010 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2010 Chevrolet Equinox | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact