Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,751 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Tacoma Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-20/19-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.7L I4 159HP
4.0L V6 236HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Toyota Tacoma in the top 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Toyota Tacoma in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Toyota Tacoma also consider:
2009 Toyota Tacoma Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Toyota Tacoma
  1. Style
  2. Storage space
  3. Excellent power
  4. Build quality
  5. Great gas mileage
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Toyota Tacoma
  1. Better sound system
  2. Optional moon roof
  3. Optional leather a la carte
  4. Hide the antenna
  5. Stronger brakes
Submitted Jan 11, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
The performance from the 4.0 Liter engine is more than adequate. I have 20' travel trailer and was worried it wouldnt have enough power to pull it...it does and then some.

The suspension is great, the right ground clearance and can easily be lifted a couple more if stock is not enough. I live in the Pacific NW and use 4whl dr. often so far it has worked flawlessly and has tremendous low range power.

Toyota service blows away American service (unfortunatley but true).. I had engine light come on (air sensor failure) and service center got it in right away and returned it next day.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
The only issue I have with it is an interior issue, the radio posistion for one thing is exposed to direct sunlight a little to much for my liking.

Plus the display for the radio and compass can be difficult to see during sunny daylight hours.

One other thing is the tailgate camera needs to either be discontinued/switched to proximity alarm or greatly improved its basically worthless as it is now.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
I have had since June 09, I was impressed with it when I bought it and still impressed and very satisfied.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 14, 2011

Maverick166
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
I've had my 2009 Tacoma since January 09 and I love it!!!!
It handles like a car and has loads of power.
It pulls my boat very well, and the on demand 4x4 is handy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
The engine is a bit noisy on start up, but once it warms up it calms down.
The only real complaint I have is the fan motor is very noisy. I've had my truck in 3 times to fix it but I think all they do is lube it up and send it back to me. Usually 2-3 months after i get it back it starts up again, I think it's just my dealer screwing me around.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
Overall I think this truck is a must buy, it gets the job done and it looks good doing it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
High clearance.
Towing capability.
Heaviness of body.
Variety of folding options for rear seat.
Power in four wheel (which I use a lot).
Great gas milage as compared to our other trucks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
I understand there is a rust issue - there shouldn't be for such an expensive vehicle. I bought it because I keep vehicles till they die but we would buy several more for work if the rust issue was taken care of. How about a longer bed for the crew cab?

2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
It's a fantastic truck for the variety of purposes I use it for. Why not advertise it as a "Great truck for a working man and an awesome truck for an industrial woman!!!!"


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
I LIKE THE QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, RESALE VALUE AND SERVICE AFTER THE SALE FROM TOYOTA DEALERS. THE TRUCK(2010 4X4) FEELS STURDY AND SAFE. MY 2003 TACOMA LACKED THE QUALITY OF MY 2010 AND IT LOOKS BETTER AND RIDES MUCH BETTER THAN MY 2003.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
ADD POWER SEATS AND RUNNING LIGHTS ALONG WITH A LEATHER OPTION.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
OVERALL GREAT TRUCK WITH OUTSTANDING RESALE VALUE, QUALITY AND PERFORMANCE AT A REASONABLE PRICE.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 10, 2009
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
Commenting good about a vehicle that doesn't feel safe on the highway & slugs back and forth around town is not possible. (I wish I could say good.) The swaying motion is enough to make me drive my old car, and I have 5 years of payments. (I'm in jail it feels like.)

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
One day after towing my boat a swaying sensation & hesitation in turning, truck leans left when you make a right turn or vice-versa. the truck hasn't ran the same since!!!

2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
I owned the same truck 07 but traded it in for the same reason thought the 09 would give me better luck. It took 2 years with the 07 for this to happen & the dealer said it was in my head but the fear for my safety is not in my head.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 30, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
Always known for quality.
Nice precision made vehicles.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma?
Get American upper management out of the North American operations. They are ruining the Toyotas. Get back the Japanese precision it was known for. All Americans are good at is outsourcing parts to be made. Manifolds made in India come back cracked etc. Lets bring back what Toyotas were known for quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted May 8, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Tacoma?
All the same as the rest of the owners posted here.
Plus rattle free quiet ride.
Comfortable Sport seats on my Sport model.
Composite bed and tie down system great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Tacoma?
High step in height. Same con's as other postings.
Brakes seem to be a week point on early Tundra's and Tacoma's.
Air Conditioning is erratic. Doesn't blow cold all the time ??? A common problem with the Tacoma's. Dealers have no answers.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Review:
Cured most of the shortcomings with the Tacoma. Added power retractable running boards for short people like me. Fixed the lack of low end power by adding duel exhausts & cold air intake. Runs & sounds like a small V8 now. Surprised more than a few full sized trucks and a Titan or two. Eats Dakota's for breakfast........ These mods also helped the fuel economy. Picked up about 1 to 1.5 MPG. 19 mpg suburban, 24, 26 highway. A win win situation. The bed cover helped with mpg also.

Added a Kennwood 6980 stereo with Blue tooth, iPod connection, kick ass sound, Navigation and back up camera. Made this truck what is should have been from the factory.

Upgraded the brakes with a rear disc brake conversion and slotted and drilled front rotors and ceramic pads

That pretty much fixes the Tacoma's shortcomings.

Don't have an upgrade for the AC. Wait.....give me time!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 4, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Tacoma?
Good ride and driving experience.
Comfortable seats.
Everything is easy to use; nothing overly complicated.
Great quality.
Haven't had ANY problems at all.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Tacoma?
It's a guys vehicle; not so much for girls.
The high step-in height on my pre-runner model isn't for short people.
The painted fender flares on my truck have a textured finish that gives them a less than good finish appearance, detracting from the looks of the truck.

2013 Toyota Tacoma Review:
MUCH easier to drive around town and park than my old full size truck.
It's still a truck. That's why I bought it. If you want a family vehicle with stuff like lighted cup holders, go buy a SUV or car instead.
Very happy/ satisfied with the purchase.
Would definitely buy again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 30, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Tacoma?
The engine and brakes are just amazing.
Handling is quite good, though I think the steering is a little slow.
Interior storage is quite good, though there are some things I'd change.
The rear seat (Access Cab) work great when folded flat...for storing gym bags and odds & ends. I've had adults in it once...thankfully, they were quite small, and the distance short, but I didn't buy it to haul four.
Frankly, I would have been happy with another GMC or Chevy, if I could have gotten a manual transmission.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Tacoma?
Three cup holders for the front seats is one too many. The multiple round-thing holders in the door panels make no sense to me at all. What are they good for? The rear door storage bins makes sense.

The bucket seats need some work, but I've driven mine from Seattle to Tucson and Seattle to Edmonton...twice each. The lumbar adjustment won't hold at maximum, and maximum is just adequate. The seat bottom pinches the butt cheeks...and I'm not that broad in the beam. Lateral support needs to be on the thighs, not the rump.

Road noise is significant and needs some work. The stereo is pretty good for a stock setup, with 6-pack CD changer, but the radio antenna could maybe use some improvement.

The 6 speed manual gearbox would be nicer if it shifted a bit quicker. I learned NEVER to enter a freeway in 2nd gear. It accelerates so quick in 2nd that you're all done and searching for any higher gear. Third is the one to hit the freeway in.

There are some control buttons on the dash that don't have lights, but should. They are the 4wd selector, the clutch start cancel, and a few others, I think. It's not that easy to find them in the dark.

Our last winter got me missing the block heater on my '97 GMC. I asked at the dealer's parts dept., and they didn't think there was one available.

I have mixed emotions about the electric rear axle locker on my TRD 4x4. My last truck had limited slip, and generally, I liked that better. I asked if I could get limited slip installed in my Tacoma, and the dealer said it was not available...yet the higher trim level has it. I don't understand that.

The gas door needs to be secured with a remote release. No locking gas cap is available from Toyota. Against the dealer's advise, I bought one from NAPA, and it functioned fine until it fell apart. I'll buy another locking cap, or figure out how to put a remote on it. With the price of gas, this is just WRONG!

2006 Toyota Tacoma Review:
I got the 4 liter V-6 and 6 speed manual gearbox, Access Cab and TRD 4x4 trim level. The 6 speed is close ratio, and with the very flexible powerband, there are usually two or three gear choices that will work well enough. A good thing, because the 6 speed is a slow shifting unit, very truck-like. I also got the trailer towing final drive ratios. It makes it very easy to drive in the city, and highway driving is just as easy. It will accelerate decently in 6th from 50mph, and is happy enough at 40 in 6th. At freeway speed, shifting out of 6th is seldom required. If I lived in a flatter area, I would consider the standard final drive ratio, but with as many hills and mountains as we have, the trailer gearing works fine. Idaho has a 75mph speed limit, and Utah has a bit of 80mph...I'm ok with 75, but wasn't that interested in cruising at 80, though I have done it. It's ok, though. I have seen 120mph on the speedometer... just getting into 5th, passing two trucks. I'd kinda like to know how fast it will go, but I don't care to actually do it. It was very well behaved; 120 wasn't as exciting as you might think. It didn't take very long to get there, which is the point. The EPA MPG ratings are about right, if you're halfway trying to get good mileage. It's very possible to get much less. This engine is wonderful! Nice truck!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2013

Dan
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Tacoma?
Love it! First Toyota ever owned. 2006 double cab 4x4 TRD 6 cyl. Second owner and I have had to do nothing to this truck except regular service. Haul fire wood, tow a 5000 lb 29' camper, and use it with our local volunteer fire dept. Proven to be a tough little outfit during natural disasters. Yes I would buy another one. Just rolled up 105,000 miles. Like I said, done nothing but regular service.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Tacoma?
Center console can be improved.
Heated mirrors would be nice living in northern NY.
Factory installed transmission cooler.
Better MPG...Hey Toyota try a 6 cyl. turbo diesel.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Review:
Overall a great little truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Tacoma Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Toyota Tacoma?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Tacoma? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Tacoma? 2009 Toyota Tacoma Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Toyota Model Lineup:
2009 4Runner
2009 Avalon
2009 Camry
2009 Camry Hybrid
2009 Corolla
2009 FJ Cruiser
2009 Highlander
2009 Highlander Hybrid
2009 Land Cruiser
2009 Matrix
2009 Prius
2009 RAV4
2009 Sequoia
2009 Sienna
2009 Tacoma
2009 Tundra
2009 Venza
2009 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Toyota Tacoma | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise