Log in
5.7 million people served. 4,720 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Camry Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 7
MPG: 33/34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 192HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid in the top 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid also consider:
2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid
  1. Fuel economy
  2. Engine performance
  3. Quiet interior
  4. Build quality
  5. Unique color choices
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid
  1. Trunk space
  2. Better gas mileage
  3. Simplify display
  4. Interior plastic squeaks
  5. Sound system
Submitted Sep 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Sleek design.
Smooth/silky handling.
Synergistic propulsion.
TOYOTA reputation.
Oh, did I forget the awesome MPG's for a full-size sedan???

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Price and smaller trunk size. If price were more reasonable, I would own two or three of these!
The fine gentleman working as Toyota's engineer who lost his life bringing this car into production; we needed a car like this, but not at the cost of a single life being loss to produce it...
Shame on TOYOTA for practicing "karoshi"

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Wife wanted the MAZDA 6, before the newest model came out. After a single test drive of the TOYOTA CAMRY HYBRID, she was sold on it and would not leave the dealership until she had a fully loaded version. The upgraded sound system in the CAMRY was worth the upgrade and it sounds better than a comparable system in a 2008 BMW 5-series. If you skip it at the dealer, go see AL & ED's, you will not be sorry...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 9, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Car gets up to 43 mpg on the highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
The center of the dashboard rattles on the highway.

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
I plan to trade my 2009 for a 2012 model when available!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 28, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Fuel Economy.
Easy & comfortable to drive.
Fast engine (combine) etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Increase the clearance between car flooring & road.
Make fog lamps as a standard.
Trunk size should be increase.
And increase the total power to 200 to 210 hp.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 9, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Quiet, powerful for passing & on-ramps (like a 6), roomy, lots of headroom, radio is great (powerful, clear reception, no antenna sticking out at car washes, bluetooth for phone hands-free, safety, wife likes seats Backseat roomy for adult kids when we go out. Dark gray color gets lots of head-turns.
My mileage 38 avg, 40 when careful, 35.5 if I am rushing. Love the "engine-off" in frequent NY & DC traffic jams. Great car for a salesman, doesn't look econo, yet "Hybrid" badge gets noticed. Went to Canada for 4 days, snowstorms, ESC Stability control kept car straight and true, Traction control got me out of 8" snow in the morning, Ready for gasoline when it goes to $5/gal, won't be long -:)

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
When temperature hits 32 or lower, cold air blows in from inside door handles. With XM radio, the tuner button on steering wheel does not advance channel, but loses setting completely. Would like to be able to turn on rear reading lights from front to look for items on back seat/floor. Agree with other reveiewer that outside temperature indicator would be better on outside mirror, can't see it without pushing 'Display' button four times (nice feature up north). Snow slides off rear window right into trunk. Console lid is hard, elbow gets sore after a while, ditto the left elbow on the left window ledge. No indicator that side mirror heating is on. Wife didn't want leather, but that means no power passenger seat option. Bottom of soft plastic nose cracked immediately when parking too close to first snow bank and/or curb (whatever happened to 5 mph standards?). Cloth floor mats show dirt, will have to replace after only 6 months, will go to all-weather mats (after recall fixed sliding issue) Wishes: Quiet glass on front-side windows to make it even quieter when trucks pass or stop alongside. Dual exhausts would look great, would pay for option. The knock-out tabs on the lower front hinged compartment have allowed me to put my cell phone in the convenient pockets, but how about a 2" flat-plastic disc with a cable hole on the center of the dash for the portable navigator (instead of the stick-on that comes with the navigator, and the cable running in front of the radio. Maybe they would think that it might cause me not to buy their $2000 navigator option, rather than the $200 portable (that I need anyway when renting cars for business). More trunk space as everyone has said, but I guess that requires the future lithium batteries and/or capacitors. Traction control, while helpful (see above) is not enough to climb steep driveway in 4" snow (you can tell I live in the northeast).
Local Toyota dealerships load up oil change prices with useless additives, "checks" of fluids that get done anywhere. They have also padded the 30,000 check up costs to $700, for what should be a minor tune-up interval. Shame.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Overall, I love it, my favorite car ever, wife loves it too, quiet, comfortable, we feel smug (forgive us Lord) rolling into gas stations. We drive 200 miles each way to visit daughter and 240 each way to vacation home once a month, so the mileage and range (1 tank of gas for whole trip) are pleasures. Has lots of features, sun-roof is a delight. I would buy a 4 wheel drive version if it came out.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Quiet and smooth powertrain.
Super fuel economy for a sedan this size.
Comfortable ride and seating.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
"Smart-key" has failed on 2 occasions; showed "no key detected".

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
This will not be a comprehensive review, just some preliminary observations.
We purchased this 2008 Camry Hybrid ( our first Toyota ever ) on February 5th, 2008.
Since then, we have driven it 2900 kilometers, from Smithers in northcentral British Columbia (home) to Carman, Manitoba.
We have encountered temperatures from plus 5 degrees Centigrade to minus 34 degrees Centigrade.
We have seen conditions on the road ranging from 3 to 4 inches of slush through the Rockies (Jasper Park), to bare dry roads, to blowing snow with drifts reaching across our lane on ice-covered pavement.
This car held the road well, in all these conditions. On the few occasions when we needed to pass a vehicle in slush, and there was some wheel slippage, the only real indication of this slippage was the indicator icon on the instrument panel blinking to let us know that the Traction control / Stability control electronics had intervened.
The brakes are very capable, and with the use of the "B" driving position for slowing down, brake life ought to be excellent.
The motor reaches it's operating temperature quickly, (we did use a block heater at our 3 overnight stops) and the automatic climate control does a superb job.
We found the car easy to adapt to, no bad surprises.
The powertrain is smooth, with adequate power for all lawful driving situations.Our first 3 tanks have yielded a fuel economy reading of 7.2 litres per 100 kilometers, or in Imperial terms, about 37 miles to the Imperial gallon. Not at all bad for a barely broken in car, bucking strong quartering/headwinds most of this trip.
In town, the powertrain performed as advertised, with the I.C.E. shutting down when it was not needed.
At this point the car has met or exceeded our expectations in all areas.
Sincerely, Peter Plug.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 27, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Great MPG Great pickup, smooth transition from electric to gas

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
None at this time

2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Just love it. Only put 400 miles on it so far and averaging 37.4 MPG to and from work. I have a bit of a lead foot on takeoff from redlight which probably is reducing my MPG.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 11, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Luxurious feel inside.
Fuel economy.
Sticker price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
The car looks very small from outside. Almost as big as the Corolla. Maybe I'll get used to the new look.

2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
This new Camry Hybrid is probably the best bang for the buck. Not only the sticker price extremely reasonable, the gas mileage is very good.

And the interior has the luxurious feel that other economy cars do not.

The overall car looks small, but interior is roomy. I guess the new trend is to make the car look small from the outside.

I really appreciate the little details like the wind vortex (from F1 technology).

This is the whole new Toyota, and I like it.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
best car I ever owned I average 40 miles per gallon overall (per tankful)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 28, 2008
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
I think that my Camry Hybrid is perfect. I like everything about it.
Without a doubt, One of the best cars that I have ever owned.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
I would'nt improve a thing. it is already in a state of perfection.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 19, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
mileage, comfort, cd changer produces great sound,after 5k I have no complaints with trunk size

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
none, I really enjoy this car

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
5k miles and average 36.9, great to drive, nice to look at


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Camry Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid? 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Toyota Model Lineup:
2009 4Runner
2009 Avalon
2009 Camry
2009 Camry Hybrid
2009 Corolla
2009 FJ Cruiser
2009 Highlander
2009 Highlander Hybrid
2009 Land Cruiser
2009 Matrix
2009 Prius
2009 RAV4
2009 Sequoia
2009 Sienna
2009 Tacoma
2009 Tundra
2009 Venza
2009 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise