Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,614 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Subaru Outback Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Subaru Outback

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 17-20/24-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L H4 170HP
2.5L H4 243HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Subaru Outback in the bottom 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Subaru Outback in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Subaru Outback also consider:
Be the first to review 2009 Subaru Outback!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 6, 2008

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Subaru Outback?
Smooth transmission.
Comfortable ride.
Good suspension.
Great interior.
Stylish design.
All-wheel drive.
Moderate off-road capability.
Respectable gas mileage.
More cargo space than a sedan.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Subaru Outback?
Too little torque (and, generally, a complete lack of sportiness).
Rear seat is too cramped for tall people.
Less cargo space than most station wagons.

2008 Subaru Outback Review:
The 2008 Subaru Outback is a very practical car. It's easy and comfortable to drive, relatively affordable, competent in poor weather conditions, capable off-road and obtains respectable gas millage (28 mpg highway). Despite this utilitarian image, it also offers several luxury amenities. The basic audio system sounds great, all the parts, both inside and outside, are well joined, and (if you're willing to pay a little extra) the leather seats are top notch. It is certainly a well-built car. Not even the smallest details have been overlooked in its design and manufacturing.

If anything negative can be said about the Outback as an every-day kind of car, it's that it sacrifices some interior room to accommodate its trendy, swooping figure. Boxier cars like the Volvo XC70 (The Subaru's closest competitor) offer more cargo and passenger space, despite having similar exterior dimensions.

As far as many people are concerned, it's the perfect upscale, do-it-all car, but it may leave others wanting more. The outback is a great off-road performer as far as station wagons go, and a comfortable touring car too, but, be warned, it is no sports car. So, if you're looking for a fun-to-drive car, you may as well look elsewhere.

Several car magazines have found it to be one of the slowest new cars on the road and the transmission, while perfect for leisurely commuting, is incapable of providing more than a trickle of excitement. It is simply too docile. Even taking manual control of the gear selection proves frustrating. The car's computer has been programmed to automatically up-shifts just before reaching its red line. Try to up-shift manually too late, and you'll end up skipping a gear, which kills the torque you've been building up.

Speaking of torque, this car has very little, which makes finding that head-jerking spot on the tachometer quite a challenge. From a dead stop the car is reluctant to hustle, requiring 11 seconds to reach 60 mph and only really picking up the pace after the engine reaches 4,000 rpm.

In all, the 2008 Subaru Outback is a fine choice for anyone interested in an attractive and practical car. It handles every-day chores with grace and civility, and is even comfortable in poor traction conditions, thanks to it's beautifully engineered all-wheel drive system. As far as most are concerned, that's all that really matters in a car, but, unfortunately, others may find the Outback's lack of performance a real let-down. If you're one of those people, you'd be better off looking into the large selection of sporty hatchbacks currently on the market, like the Mazdaspeed 3 or the Volkswagen GTI (both of which are nearly twice as quick to 60 mph). Or, if you really have your heart set on the Outback, consider one of the two pricier engines that Subaru offers.

Most people considering the Outback won't be at all put off by it's mediocre performance, but it's worth mentioning for those who will. Test drive one at your local dealer and you'll know for sure.


FINAL VERDICT: practical by all measures, fashionable on the street, and boring in the driver's seat.

Reviewed by Trevor
- Santa Barbara, CA


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Subaru Outback?
I love the smooth ride. I love that I have the handle of a car but the performance and the height of a crossover. I love the comfortable seats and the plentiful cargo space. I have driven 6K miles in the last 5 months. I have been driving from NC to PA in most of those miles and I have been getting 28-30 MPG on the highway and 25-27 in the city. I also have back troubles and I have to say that My Outback IS the most comfortable ride I have experienced.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Subaru Outback?
At this time I have nothing to improve.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 15, 2012

CSanders
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Subaru Outback?
Very good gas mileage.
Plenty of power with just a 4 cylinder.
Love the manual mode and paddle shifters when I drive on windy, hilly roads.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Subaru Outback?
Fix the fuel filling problem.

2012 Subaru Outback Review:
I have a problem fill the car with gas at most gas stations. At the few stations it works ok but only on the slowest pump setting. I've taken to the dealer 3 times and they have yet to figure out the problem. Apparently the it works ok at the station they take it to, but that's about 20 miles from where I live & I almost never go that way. I can tolerate the problem when the weather is ok but it drives me nuts in bad weather. If I take it in one more time before I've had it for a year and they can't fix it, it's eligible for replace according to state lemon laws. Which is a really shame for an otherwise great vehicle. Other people I know with the same car don't seem to have this problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 6, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Subaru Outback?
Looks, loadability and mileage aren't bad for all wheel drive.
Heat, air and heated seats work great and add to comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Subaru Outback?
Some interior rattles.
IPOD connectivity would have been nice.
Driver headrest inhibits visibility.
European style suspension would add to overall impression of durability.

2006 Subaru Outback Review:
Only 30000 miles and CV boots need replacing. Out of warranty and expensive. Dealer maintenance charges a bit on the high side.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Subaru Outback?
I have my second Outback. It is a 2006. I Love like I love my other one. It's there for me. I live in SD so I need all wheel drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Subaru Outback?
We have an Outback 2.5 XT, with 250 HP and 250 pound feet of torque. It's a fantastic car! It comes as close to being a "jack of all trades, MASTER of all trades" as any vehicle out there! It's a sports car, a family wagon and the all-wheel drive makes it as "go anywhere" as most SUVs on the road today. It's fun, tossable, and practical. I love it!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Subaru Outback?
I'd probably like the seats to be a bit less firm, with a little more padding, and a six-speed manual might be nice, although the five-speed is good.

2006 Subaru Outback Review:
It's the best all-around, all-weather vehicle I've ever owned!! Although I probably would still have gotten my BMW M3 convertible if this Subaru had been available back in 2002, I certainly wouldn't have felt the pressing need to do so.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 6, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Subaru Outback?
good fuel mileage
all wheel drive
style
size
handling

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Subaru Outback?
It has been a money pit...4 headlights have burned out.. 2 struts gone this year @$800 each.......just replaced brakes for 3rd time in 95,000 miles Pint on trim iside car is cheap. has worn off in many spots....interior lights and back up light always burning out, can't keep in bulbs. .... air conditioning went out at about 47K
my SECOND AND LAST NEW OUTBACK.

2005 Subaru Outback Review:
move on...buy something else. Maintenance will break you

No, I don't go off-roading......I maintain and service the car faithfully !!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Subaru Outback?
AWD
Handling
Off Road Ability
Fun to Drive

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Subaru Outback?
Diesel Engine

2007 Subaru Outback Review:
Fun car to drive. Great in Snow and Ice.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 4, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Subaru Outback?
Solid, quiet & goes where you point it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Subaru Outback?
Needs to be a little wider.

2008 Subaru Outback Review:
AWD is real AWD all wheels are engaged all the time as opposed to other designs.Quality for this price range is excellent, interiors are made of high quality materials compared to others in the price range. Not a cheap light car very substancial sheet metal, fit & finish excellent, Paint is above average.I think yo need to compare this vehicle to cars in a much higher price range. Drove a Honda CRV before buying, did not compare.The car is green and meets PZEV standards.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 12, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Subaru Outback?
itsd not a honda

2007 Subaru Outback Review:
I love my O6 she loves to embaras sports cars off the light


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Subaru Outback Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Subaru Outback?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Subaru Outback? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Subaru Outback? 2009 Subaru Outback Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Subaru Model Lineup:
2009 Forester
2009 Impreza
2009 Legacy
2009 Outback
2009 Tribeca
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Subaru Outback | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise