Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,088 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Pontiac Solstice Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Pontiac Solstice

2009 Pontiac Solstice
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sporty Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 19/25-28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 173HP
2.0L I4 260HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 9 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Pontiac Solstice in the bottom 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Pontiac Solstice in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Pontiac Solstice also consider:
2009 Pontiac Solstice Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Pontiac Solstice
  1. Design
  2. Handling
  3. Convertible top
  4. Sound system
  5. Many storage compartments
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Pontiac Solstice
  1. More trunk space
  2. Seat adjustment
  3. More horsepower
  4. Wind noise
  5. Plastic interior
Submitted Apr 14, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
The car is maneuverable, easy to park, very attractive and sporty looking (really turns heads and gets numerous compliments), fun to drive, takes up very little space overall, just a fine looking piece of machinery.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
The trunk space sucks (you can hardly put a brief case in the rear. If they had redesigned the fuel tank, it would allow more space).

No spare tire (not even a small DONUT spare tire. This is pathetic. Again, they could have redesigned the fuel tank configuration to allow a tiny donut tire to be put in trunk for an emergency. GM should be ashamed to put people in danger or delayed and expensive position---just my opinion).

No roll bar in case car flips over (you're dead if the car turns over while driving) --very dangerous and makes me very uncomfortable.

Rag tops are just not secure for valuables kept inside or to prevent car theft or vandalism. Rag tops are also very noisy.

Trunk release mechanism also failed on mine. Could not get into trunk. Fortunately the top was up and not in trunk or I would not have been able to secure the vehicle. Not available in cloth seats for comfort or factory hard top (removable T-top).

Seats can't recline (too small size interior).

Arm rests not padded.

Side visibility is not good and in my opinion dangerous and rear visibility not that good either.

Saturn Sky is basically same car, just modified front, rear, and side vent and few other like alterations.

2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
It's okay but not something to brag about. I would not buy another if they were still making them. But I like the car just the same.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
The overall body shape.

High in the rear and low in the front.

I used to drive a 1997 Jaguar XK8, and this Pontiac that cost thousand less turns as many heads, if not more than the Jag did.

I like the large tires and handling.

The color is mean yellow, and I bought 2-tone black and yellow seat covers and a wind screen for it...now it has an exotic European look about it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
Some wood grain on the dash would have been nice.

Standard brembo brakes with Michelin tires.

An oil pressure and engine temperature gage in the dash.

2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
When Pontiac really started getting it right, they kill the division....(how stupid and sad)...

It's surprising just how many people I've ran into have never seen one of these cars, and had no idea as to what it was....

If nothing else Chevrolet should have picked up this model, and continued it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 20, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
Love this car. It sucks that they are no more... But makes mine a little more special.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
Rearview.. Backing up, Storage, but I didn't really buy it to travel on a 2 week trip so I can't complain.

2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
Awesome car!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 5, 2010

Mick
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
First: love driving the car.
Second: Best looking of all vehicles on the road today, however I do like the Camaro.
Third: I like the performance, I also have a Corvette, I like the Solstice above the Corvette.
Fourth: Washing and Waxing is a breeze.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
First: Interior needs to be a bit more Flashy, to match the exterior appeal.
Second: The arm rest on both sides of the drivers seat need to be padded, in other words the door panel needs to have an arm rest. And the console needs to be raised so as to rest your arm while driving, I have a cushion in place to make it more comfortable.

2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
Overall, I love the car. Too bad it will not be continued in the future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 18, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
I love it.
It's fun to drive, love the looks.
Wish I would have bought it sooner when I could have gotten a GXP loaded.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
Difficult to see backing up.
No storage, but that's not why I bought it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 10, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
The coupe is very nice looking, sleak design, great sound system, comfortable seats, quick but not fast.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice?
Make it a little faster, mirrors suck, very difficult to see rear and side views, the car needs more than one cup holder.

2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
Overall I like the look and feel of the car. We have the coupe and it is difficult to see cars on either side or the rear. The sound system is great. The car is quick, but not fast, it stops on a dime and corners very well. I would buy it again and I may buy another one this week. We got our base coupe last week and I am looking for a coupe with a turbo and 5 speed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 23, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Pontiac Solstice?
As a Senior Aerospace Designer, this car is a beauty! It captures EVERYTHING good into one spectacular design! Sleek body styling, with a "hint" (not too much mind you) of combined GM designs in the Corvette, Camaro/Firebird while incorporating a little European flair in the front end grill!

Unlike the (now) boring styling of Corvette flat back end, there's a very creative flair where three transitional planes (top, side, rear) all converge, intersecting in the unique styling of the back light assembly!

This design is impeccable, so much so that I've recently purchased a 2007 model (Black on Black) with chrome trimwork that enhances its features! I have never owned a vehicle that has as much tasteful creativity as this does for a fraction of the price for its comparable European designs!

The roof easily folds up and tucks away in the trunk to create an exciting driving experience! This car handles like a gem! Tight to the road, precision handling with an amazingly low center of gravity that utilizes the wide girth that only contributes to the handling!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Pontiac Solstice?
I'd make more of them!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 4, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Solstice?
Great Looks.
The 260 HP Turbo Power in the GPX is amazing.
Handles Great for an American car.
And saving the best for last is ... The Pontiac Solstice GPX will become a sort after collectors car in the years to come.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Solstice?
Power Window controls are a bitch to use ..... why didn't they install the switches on the console instead?
Trunk Space with top down is none existing, but this car is a Roadster and I just go joy riding with it. Just don't go shopping with it or on a weekend trip.

2008 Pontiac Solstice Review:
I have my Pontiac Solstice for over a year now and when I take it out for a spin it always turns heads.

Best sports car for the buck and it is very reliable.

Car handles great and the interior is large and roomy for a Roadster.

The 5 speed was a bit tight when it was new but now after about 1,000 miles it shifts like it should.

Gas Mileage on the Highway averages about 35 (No Bull).

Is this Roadster the best on the market? Of course not, but it is American Made and it is made with pride. I LOVE MY PONTIAC SOLSTICE GPX.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 1, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Solstice?
Great looking car.
Cockpit envelops you.
Great acceleration from stop.
Best sports car since my old Vettes.
Very reasonable price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Solstice?
No improvements needed.

2006 Pontiac Solstice Review:
If you can find one-buy it! And schedule time to just look and admire this jem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 4, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Pontiac Solstice?
Love the style lines, the open air, the power, the stick, the "fun" when ever I am on a curvy road, the compliments, the fact that my kids think I am the "coolest Dad EVER", and the reasonable price to bring it home.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Pontiac Solstice?
I can't really even bring groceries home in it... but that's not really why I bought it.

2007 Pontiac Solstice Review:
I love my "new to me Solstice". I have driven all the American Classics and would much rather drive a newer model Solstice than a 60's or 70's "money pit".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Pontiac Solstice Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Pontiac Solstice?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Solstice? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Solstice? 2009 Pontiac Solstice Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2009 G3
2009 G5
2009 G6
2009 G8
2009 Solstice
2009 Torrent
2009 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Pontiac Solstice | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise