Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Nissan Sentra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 21-25/29-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 140HP
2.5L I4 177HP
2.5L I4 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Nissan Sentra in the top 11% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
89%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Nissan Sentra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Nissan Sentra also consider:
2009 Nissan Sentra Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Nissan Sentra
  1. Exterior style
  2. Gas mileage
  3. CVT
  4. Interior layout
  5. Safety features
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Nissan Sentra
  1. Tighter steering
  2. Standard ABS
  3. Engine noise
  4. More solid trunk and door closing
  5. Insulation
Submitted Dec 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Mileage is great for the roominess.

Very roomy.

Corners good, very little roll. Great family car/40 miles one way to work car. Great for trips, can put a TON of stuff in the trunk. Hidden compartment is great for spare stroller stowage! (More below)

More on brakes in my review. Engine is 2.2, you want mileage, you wont be doing 7 second 1/4 miles, but then again, if you like 25 bucks a week for gas, this is your car! We are easily getting 400+ miles on a fill up.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Okay, look, Nissan, pay attention, I'm only going to say this once:

MAKE YOUR SIDE FLIP OUT SUNGLASS/GLASSES HOLDER BIG ENOUGH TO PUT AN EYEGLASS CASE IN FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. Good grief another 1/4 inch and it's perfect!

Stupid speed controlled junk radio. For anyone else, you can shut that off under speed sensor "Audio options". Totally stupid.

Radio jack hookup for Mp3/whatever, hey, 2 wires down to the center console (Like they did with the Scion Xa) and my radio wont look like it's growing a tentacle across to the passenger seat. Jack in the middle! (But thanks for the extra power socket!)

2009 Nissan Sentra Review:
We just crashed the 2008 Sentra with S trim with just a few thousand miles on it. We now a month later have a 2009, so we were able to jump out of one into a near exact replica, with some improvements.

1. The seats have that plush material on them vs the fabric whatever on the 08, definite plus. Radio is the same, Hands Free Bluetooth is an absolute deal breaker, IF you don't have it on the car. I picked my 09 on that basis alone, which left few options for colors lol. (Silver, Blue, or White). There's no side body moldings, so the doors look kind of naked, but you can put them on yourself from dealer (55 bucks a side, well worth it), plus get a front bra from dealer (115 bucks well spent), and a rear spoiler (not the racing kind just a low profile one), and the ONLY thing different on this year vs 2008, was the auto-dimming mirror (2009 didn't have it, bummer!) BUT, remember if you are going to tint the windows (we are), then the auto-dim might veritably leave you near blind to headlights when coupled with tint. Just a thought.

Now, the engine, same engine, transmission always feels a little slippery, but I guess that's the CVT working and SOP. Also the brakes, on our 2008 model, one tiny tap and you were screeching to a halt. WAY too sensitive. This year, ahhhh, just perfect. No worries.

Since my wife is not a road demon, she sips gas, and we have stretched mileage up to 37 mpg highway, that's exactly what we got in that tiny Scion Xa!

Room, talk about room, check this out, I put FIVE (5 gallon) water bottles in the trunk, standing straight up, 4 in a row, one in front of that, with plenty of room to spare. That's without opening the hidden compartment either! WOW. Duly impressed, haven't had that much room since my Chevy Long Bed.

Plus, whoever designed that "fit a BBQ inside" glove box, THANK YOU.

Handles great, drives great, brakes great, quiet on the road, cocoon effect is dangerous but can be remedied with loud radio or conversation on the hands free Bluetooth, which shuts radio off and answers a call for you, no more missed calls on the road, YEAH!

Bravo Nissan! (And thanks for trading in my Chevy!)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 26, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this car. Great in every way. AWESOME ON GAS MILEAGE.

Drives great. Love the room and trunk area. Love the back seats folding down to offer even more space. Price was also good. Looks sporty as well for a gas saver. Blue tooth is a god send also.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Not good at all on ice or snow. None of them are great but this is absolutely awful. Maybe it's the tires that they put on it. Have an Altima too and it is like driving on ice cube on ice and snow. HORRIBLE. Again maybe the tires. Did they make these in the deep south or what.

2009 Nissan Sentra Review:
Would buy another Sentra in a heart beat.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Great riding car and very quiet & great on trips. Much better than my former mid sized Chrysler.
Gas mileage is fairly good after owning a very thirsty 4 cyl. Chrysler.
Interior materials are far better than the new Corolla.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Build quality is not so good anymore. Building it south of the border is a mistake, needs to return to Tennessee build quality. Doors, trunk. hood and even trunk air dam are not lined up perfectly.
Front arm rest is useless, too short. Big bumps in the road let you know this is a smaller car...ouch!!!
On windy days, hold on tight, you will rock and roll like a boat.

2009 Nissan Sentra Review:
Overall a great car for the money, needs some better build quality, not up to previous 90's Nissan quality standards.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
MPG.
Appearance(SR pkg).
Features(iPod hookup).
Ease of maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
Acceleration.

2010 Nissan Sentra Review:
We bought this Sentra new in June '10 and 1 year later it has 26,000+ miles.

This car is great. Awesome mpg. Just took it on a 1500 mile trip and got 34mpg on the Interstate with a/c running. Very comfortable car and quiet inside. The engine gets plenty of power for a 4cyl and the cvt transmission is acceptable.

The only reason I gave it a 4 for performance was it lacks in quick acceleration (ie, passing a car or getting on the interstate.)

This car (as you can tell) is a daily driver and primary family car. Not much room in the back for long-legged adults, but plenty for kids.

As far as maintenance, I do all the work myself on my vehicles and this car is a dream to work on. Oil filter is easily accessible from top, bottom, side and the engine bay is large enough to house a small v8 (just saying).

We opted for the SR model of the Sentra series and I'm glad we did. The appearance package makes it stand out from the million other Sentras on the road and coupled with the Super Black paint, it looks great and gets plenty of compliments.

Overall, this is a GREAT car for a small family or couple with lots of miles to cover. I see this car staying in our family for long time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 4, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Gas mileage is good for a small car made after 2000. I had a 96 Sentra that was rated at 30 city 40 highway and this one is 24 and 31. My 97 never averaged below 35 and I got almost 60 in it on a road trip and that was with 269k miles on it.
But the new engines are more powerful, they can get up a hill without being floored and sounding like a weedeater like the 96. So I will take a drop in my mpgs for this because it is safer when getting on highway (I average 27 in 06).

Interior is a little plain but makes for less to break. Front seats are comfy. Rear is too small to be for many.

Trunk has lots of room.

Quiet operation and lots of city power for small sedan.

Engine compartment is spacious in 1.8 engine cars. I don't know about 2.5 versions.

Console is laid out good and special edition look is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Wheels without hub caps (as in full rims) standard, not steel wheels (not a big deal; those just look better to me).

Better paint (scratches rather easy, heard they fixed this in 07).

More room in rear.

Better fuel pump (can make for hard starts, but only every now and then).

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Great investment. I have had 2 Nissans before and never had major issues with them. Nissan in my opinion makes best cars on road and you should be served great if you buy one. All my complaints are minor and don't keep me from loving my little sedan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 17, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Nissan Sentra?
Excellent mix of features, options, and performance for the money. Picked up a new super black SR Special Edition for $16499 (Dirito bros. Concord Nissan Sean Driver). I love the following: Ipod connection, Aux In connection, Moonroof, Navigation, XM with Navtraffic, Nice Alloy Wheels, Bluetooth for up to 5 phones with custom voice command, and the cargo net in the trunk. CVT makes cruising speed very quiet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Nissan Sentra?
CVT tuning needs to be a little more aggressive. Maybe just a bit less slip on the CVT would be perfect (change the drive pulley roller weights or change the clutch pulley roller weights, or change the drive belt for more acceleration). Giving interior a 4 because plastic panel behind passenger interior door handle is falling off (poor quality control). And the car is slightly pulling to the left. Seems to be incorrect alignment from factory (poor quality control). The car should come standard with an auto dimming rear view mirror. I ended up buying an OEM auto dimming mirror on Ebay for $80 and installed it myself. It is a must have. Offer HID headlights as an option. I picked up a set of Bi-Xenon HIDs on ebay for $60 and installed them myself. Nissan should offer these on all of their cars as options.

2012 Nissan Sentra Review:
So far I've put 1500 miles on it with 4 tanks of gas. It is an excellent around town car. I was putting over $260 a month in gas into my nissan titan (lifted, huge tires). So it is cheaper to pay for this thing than for gas, maintenance, and tires for my truck (tires alone are $1650). Wife shares this car with me and saves on gas as well. She also has a huge SUV ( Nissan Armada ). She shares a portion of the gas costs and car payment. Everyone that rides in it likes it a lot. They say it is serene when at speed on the road or highway. The CVT takes some getting used to. It does not work like a fixed gear transmission, so you cannot floor it and chirp tires. If you may notice most people who do not like the drive train on the vehicle are younger ( teenagers and 20 somethings ). They want to show off and try to race at stop lights but this car is not made for that nonsense. It has enough acceleration to get on the highway just fine. The majority of people will agree this is a very good car. Just compare it with a comparable toyota, honda, and hyundai and you will see the performance and value.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 26, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Nissan Sentra?
Really like the specs and great price for what you get.
Also love how quite the car is and how smooth on any road surface.
Good audio system.
Seat was very nice and soft - not too hard like many other car makers.
Was able to get 42 mpg going to work if you take it really easy around 60 mph. I generally get 33 overall city and highway.
Love the cup holder location, large trunk and glove dept. and love the looks of the sr model which has more features at the same price as the s model.
Nice that they added lots of abs and stability control features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Nissan Sentra?
Cons would be the location of the ipod connection.
Back view is not that great with the pillars.
Takes a while to get off the line and get the revs up with the cvt.
No button to get in to the trunk unless you have the convenience package and I would recommend getting it.

2011 Nissan Sentra Review:
I was looking for a cheap lease and this car could not be beat for 139 month and very little down on sr model. Had tons of features and was great for the family and going to work. Not a car for performance but more for practical driving. Very happy with purchase, can't wait to see what they come up with for 2013. Hope it is even better.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2010

Steven209
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Nissan Sentra?
Steering, engine power and fuel efficiency are excellent for city driving.
Also Everything is very accessible for cleaning and maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Nissan Sentra?
Huge blind spots at each pillars where the windows are and the frame makes the driver nearly impossible to judge if the car is straight especially when you're backing up slowly.

Also the new ABS system they came up with 2011 model takes a while to get used to. It basically increases the strength of brakes exponentently and electrically releases itself as "anti skid" while I'm just stopping at red lights normally.

2011 Nissan Sentra Review:
I am used to driving old military trucks, a minivan and parents' cars and by far this is the best car that I have driven performance wise.

The exterior is actually descent looking and very easy to clean/wax. For its size it has a lot of blindspots but since I'm used to it I personally have no problem but the brakes always feel weird.

I recommend this car for experienced drivers, the new drivers who seldom check the blindspots should stay away from it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 5, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Nissan Sentra?
Everything: the comfort, the look, the gas mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
I get over 34 miles per gallon on the highway with the air conditioner on! Its a really nice car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Engine noise, but you get used to it.

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I would buy another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Nissan Sentra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Sentra? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Sentra? 2009 Nissan Sentra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Nissan Model Lineup:
2009 350Z
2009 Altima
2009 Altima Coupe
2009 Altima Hybrid
2009 Armada
2009 cube
2009 Frontier
2009 GT-R
2009 Maxima
2009 Murano
2009 Pathfinder
2009 Quest
2009 Rogue
2009 Sentra
2009 Titan
2009 Versa
2009 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Nissan Sentra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact