Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Frontier Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Nissan Frontier

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-19/19-23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I4 152HP
4.0L V6 261HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Nissan Frontier in the top 18% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
82%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Nissan Frontier in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Nissan Frontier also consider:
2009 Nissan Frontier Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Nissan Frontier
  1. Price
  2. Bedliner
  3. Utili Track
  4. Dual glove compartment
  5. Performance
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Nissan Frontier
  1. Plastic feel interior
  2. Small back seats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Nav/DVD for Crew Cab
Submitted Dec 25, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
Great!!! I like the whole darn thing other than the mpg. Nissan should try to improve this. Though I had a Pontiac before this the truck gets only about 40-60 miles less in a tank of gas so not to bad.

I have had too many of the others was never satisfied with them, I am now with my Nissan.

I have had it 1 1/2 mos so we will see for the future, I hope this will be my last for awhile.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
MPG without losing horsepower.

Better radio system, speakers, sort of ancient for the times.

Good other than these things.

2009 Nissan Frontier Review:
Great little truck and it offered more than all the others combined for the price I paid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 22, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
The frontier is not under powered like most other small trucks, and is very off road capable. With spraying bed liner standard with the crew cab models.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
Slight noise in the front suspension.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
Powertrain, looks o.k., just purchased my fifth one, owned 1986, 1998, 2001, 2003 and 2010.

The improvement from my 2003 sc king cab to the 2010 crew cab se was surprising! I hope this one will be as dependable, only have 900+ miles.

Replaced starter on 1986 at 80,000+ miles, I have had no other problems with the other models. Just do maintenance and drive.

Have had one Tacoma 1997 that I traded after about 6 mo. Had six Chevys, I have been all Nissans since 1998. Very satisfied!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Frontier?
Interior materials O.K. for truck use but not nearly as nice as the exterior for me.

Service cost too high on all late models, all brands!

Next improvement should be more mpg, Please!!! Please do not take us back to underpowered days in the process.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted May 17, 2009

d
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Nissan Frontier?
I have the SE Crew Cab 4x4 Automatic.
Driving position and leg room (I am 6 foot).
Utili Track system and bed extender.
Highway ride.
I can reach all of the controls on the dash very easily.
I like the storage compartments with the nets under the rear seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Nissan Frontier?
Gas mileage could be improved, but this is a 4x4 truck with a strong V6 under the hood.
Nissan should include the manual lumbar support in the SE.

2007 Nissan Frontier Review:
I considered a Honda Ridgeline. Really liked some of it's features, but I just could not get comfortable behind the wheel. Had not considered a Frontier, until one on a dealership lift caught my attention. Sitting behind the wheel of the Frontier and it felt like a good fit. All of the controls are with in easy reach. The bed is low enough to be able to get to the cargo without having to climb in it. Although I have not been able to use the 4wd, I like being able to lock in 4HI on the fly and the ability to lock in 4LO. Kids riding in the rear seat of the Crew Cab say the seat is comfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
Great power.
Super ride.
Lots of power when you need it.
Shifts good and 4 wd is great.
With this v-6 who needs a v-8?
Best pick up I've ever had.
The original tires held up for 60,000 miles!
A friend of mine has the Japans popular competitor. Not much competition......

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
I'm not nuts about the cloth seats. They get dirty fast (I'm a fanatic on upkeep).
Tire air pressure warning light is always on in spite of a couple dealer checks.
I did have a problem with fuel gage. It went up really slow after I filled it. It was at 45,000 miles or so. Dealer replaced it as well as fuel pump...came in one assembly.
And last but not least...replacing the oil filter is a pain!! Literally!

2006 Nissan Frontier Review:
I'd buy another one without question. In fact, I leased mine and bought it after the lease was done. Why look around? These are worth the $$$. I got mine with 16 miles on it from the Nissan dealer. I have about 64,000 on it now and it runs the same as when I bought it. No comparison to the 2000 Nissan I had. This is a whole different animal. Everyone I know really likes this thing....even die hard Chevy & Ford guys.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 25, 2016

Joe_Polanco
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Frontier?
Like the way it looks, ride and size. I get a lot of compliments on the street. Mine is the 2005 Nismo crew cab. 202400 miles and runs like new. My second frontier now.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Frontier?
Gas mileage could be better but it does have 265 hp. Leg room in the back and could do better with the storage under the rear seats.

2005 Nissan Frontier Review:
This is my second Frontier and I love it! I would buy another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 13, 2012

big bill
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
I have crew cab Nismo. It is just a solid truck.
Strong engine, good brakes, and very good handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
Turn radius is long.

2006 Nissan Frontier Review:
Buy crew cab - great truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
Engine power.
Looks.
Cargo capacity.
Driving comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Frontier?
Better MPG.
Better interior finish.

2006 Nissan Frontier Review:
I bought this truck with 39xxx miles and now have 80xxx in two years. No problems whatsoever.

I think that this is a better truck then its main competitor the Tacoma. A much better value and more reliable. I will buy another once this truck is run into the ground.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 1, 2012

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Frontier?
Power.
Looks.
Front seat comfort only.
Good off road capability.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Frontier?
Poor gas mileage.
Power steering not that great/harder to turn than most vehicles.
Turn radius.
Back seat is small/cramped.

2008 Nissan Frontier Review:
Been really happy with my frontier. This truck fits my life style (Occasional 4x4ing, dump runs, bark dust runs, and camping trips). Have two younger boys and back seat is okay for now, but when they get older they will notice the discomfort. I feel like I'm driving a car, but it handles like a true truck.

I love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 20, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Nissan Frontier?
Great Truck, I guess I am the only owner who uses it for non city use though. I hear lots of complaints about the plastic interior. The plastic is so much easier to get mud and dead animal blood off of. I use mine as a hunting and fishing machine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Nissan Frontier?
Poor gas mileage.
Poor turning radius. (Not made for parking lots which I am ok with.)

2007 Nissan Frontier Review:
I have added a lot of "extras" to mine. The only issue I have had was the evaporative canister off of the fuel tank has an air hose going into the frame and with the off road use it gets dirty causing the check engine light to come on. Easy to clean out but a minor headache to take off.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Nissan Frontier Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Nissan Frontier?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Frontier? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Frontier? 2009 Nissan Frontier Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Nissan Model Lineup:
2009 350Z
2009 Altima
2009 Altima Coupe
2009 Altima Hybrid
2009 Armada
2009 cube
2009 Frontier
2009 GT-R
2009 Maxima
2009 Murano
2009 Pathfinder
2009 Quest
2009 Rogue
2009 Sentra
2009 Titan
2009 Versa
2009 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Nissan Frontier | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact