Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Altima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Nissan Altima

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-23/26-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I4 175HP
3.5L V6 270HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 38 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Nissan Altima in the bottom 41% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
41%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Nissan Altima in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Nissan Altima also consider:
2009 Nissan Altima Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Nissan Altima
  1. CVT responsiveness
  2. High-end performance features
  3. Style
  4. Quality interior material
  5. Fuel economy on the 2.5L
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Nissan Altima
  1. Better factory tires
  2. Heated side view mirrors
  3. More space for the driver
  4. Standard ABS brakes
  5. Choices for sound system
Submitted Jan 26, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Push button start.
Big trunk.
Gas mileage.
Cloth seats are pretty comfortable.
My stereo is good (although I have seen some negative comments about this).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
VERY NOISY! Especially in cold weather. It seems like each winter it gets worse. I have had my 2009 Altima since October 2008. It's embarrassing when I have other people in the car and I can't turn my radio up high enough to cover the noise of the engine. Wondering if it really is getting worse or if the dealer will just blow it off.

Also have noticed that their "warning lights" can't always be trusted. Can't tell if something is an emergency or if they are just trying to get you in to spend money. Oil light went off in my car, wasn't due for an oil change (they want you to go every 3k, I usually wait longer than that). Took the car in and they said "oh, that's just a reminder that you are at 3k miles and you need an oil change". NO thank you! I will bring my car in when I want to! Now I can't trust the dealer or the car if a light comes on.

I probably won't ever buy a 4 cylinder again. Not enough pick up and too noisy. My next car will be a 6.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
If the noise issue could be fixed, I would be much happier with this car. I had a 2003 Maxima before this and I miss the quietness, pick up and other amenities of that car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 12, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Push button start.
Stock stereo.
Solid.
Economy mileage in a snappy 4 cylinder.
Subtle downshift going down hills.
Override of auto transmission is fun.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Engine noise on startup. It is true that it is quiet and perky at highway speeds.
Rare to find one with fog lights.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
After reading other reviews - some points.

My stereo does not rattle or vibrate, even at concert level. Superb sound for stock stereo (not Bose).

I had it out every day in the 2010 Feb snow storm - a real test. I got everywhere I needed to go with no problem. My previous Maxima would also go like a tank in the snow - despite wider tires.

Brakes and gas touchy? Seems fine to me but gorillas will not like this car. It's like playing an instrument - not like driving a mac truck, Mac.

AllData shows very few issues or service bulletins - all minor! I am sure there are problem cars - I am also sure that dealers misuse these feedback services.

I love my Altima.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 18, 2015

Dante
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Aesthetically pleasing exterior and interior.
Comfy seats.
Can't lock keys in the car.
Push button start.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
ENGINE NOISE IS HORRIBLE!
But other than that I would say a big problem is you can't coast, one you let go of the gas it slows down fast.
Also the stock Sterio isn't very good I bought aftermarket upgrades.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
Overall a good car I've don't some improving to the sound system but I love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 28, 2014

Billman
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
The car looks great, and the inside has a lot of space. Not to mention, that the sound system is pretty awesome as well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
So I just bought my 09 Altima- about 6 months ago- from the dealership, and I bought it for its gas mileage (8.7L/100km 6.4L/100km), but I have never come close to that. The best I've done for mileage is 11L/100km.

Now you might ask, "well how is your driving habbits" and I would say that I am focused on getting great mileage, so I am not going to drive fast and hard. Plus, I have found out that if I get the Altima between the speeds of 50Km - 100km, I can keep it moving at 5L/100km (based on the on-board re-out display; which I don't trust at all.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
Good car, but I wish the gas mileage was accurate to what the display. But after reading some of these posting, it might only be me having this issue with mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2012

israel
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
The space it has.
Looks.
Love the stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
The only thing I hate is the ticking noise of the engine..
Sounds like the lifters have no oil... Older cars sound better than this one.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
I am happy with my car except the engine noise.. Also I hate it when you drive it too much in the city - kills a lot of gas - but in highway is excellent. Waiting to trade in and get the 2013 Altima - hope it's better :) By the way, my Altima already hit 60k.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
-roomy; big trunk and glove compartment
-comfortable seats
-great sound system
-good gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
-VERY LOUD engine
-poor coasting; slow down while going hills while making loud roaring noise
-poor pick up

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
Owned a 1999 Altima prior to 2009 which I was very happy with for years. Other than updated body style not happy about the way 2009 drives. Dissatisfied with engine performance and noise level.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 21, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Design, push button entry and start.
Large glove compartment and interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Insulate the excessive engine noise, sounds like a cheap truck.
The gas and brake pedal are very sensitive, the brake light comes on during driving, transmission: going downhill the car appears to be slowing down.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
I just bought a Nissan Altima 2.5 SL. I had not driven the car enough to detect the problems until I owned it for a few days. I thought something was wrong with the engine, which could be fixed, but after reading these reviews from others, these are inherent problems with the '09 car. I had a wonderful 2001 Altime GLE loaded that ran like a top, never any problems but I wanted the safety features for my grandchildren and better gas mileage so I bought the '09. I have made a terrible mistake which I'll have to live with, I wish I could get my 2001 back. Nissan's quality went way down after 2001, because this 2009 is very poor quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
It looks great.
I loved the inside.
Handles curves and roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
The engine makes a horrible noise and the brakes grunts. I have been to dealership 3 times for the sound issue.
Hopefully my 3o k (expensive check up) will do it some good.
I had a Nissan Sentra that was over 10 years old run smoother that this one.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
I will not buy another one. I cannot wait to trade.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 16, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Very attractive vehicle.
Gets good gas mileage.
Push button start.
Can't lock keys in car/trunk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Constant vibration (that dealership can't "find") is annoying.
Trunk leaked, now car smells terrible when AC is on (carpet in trunk was changed out).
Speakers "buzz" with any bass in music (have been to dealership 3-4 times now to have more foam put in to absorb vibration but keeps coming back.
Paint chips very easily.
Knocking sound makes it feel it will stop on me.
Tire pressure light takes some getting used to...have to completely IGNORE it during cold weather.
Car insurance went UP $20/month due to "claim experience with 2009 Altima" (I have totally clean driving record).

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
I wish I could trade it in for a different vehicle, but I'm too upside down, so I will have to live with this annoying vehicle for a while longer. :(


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 15, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Roomy cabin, trunk, good finish on interior and exterior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima?
Hate hate hate the engine noise (diesel knocking or sounds like all my valves are hitting with each stroke), hate the grabby brakes that feel cheap and not trustworthy, hate the CVT shifting that feels like a skip in the engine and blows any smooth acceleration. Nissan garage says this is all "normal" for this model...thanks Nissan for making a mechanically unsound car. I expect it to last to the warranty mileage and not one day longer.

2009 Nissan Altima Review:
Not recommended. Mine has 9000 miles on it, and it is awful. Looks good, drives like a garbage truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Altima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Nissan Altima?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Altima? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Altima? 2009 Nissan Altima Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Nissan Model Lineup:
2009 350Z
2009 Altima
2009 Altima Coupe
2009 Altima Hybrid
2009 Armada
2009 cube
2009 Frontier
2009 GT-R
2009 Maxima
2009 Murano
2009 Pathfinder
2009 Quest
2009 Rogue
2009 Sentra
2009 Titan
2009 Versa
2009 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Nissan Altima | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact