Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 15/19-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.8L V6 202HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in the top 43% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
57%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited also consider:
2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
  1. 4 doors
  2. Great style inside and out
  3. Handling and maneuverability
  4. Off-road capability
  5. Quiet and comfortable ride
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
  1. Add diesel engine option
  2. More powerful engine
  3. Ergonomic seat adjustment
  4. Leaky Freedom Top
  5. Higher quality interior material
Submitted Oct 1, 2012

andrew schrock
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
The look, handling, gas mileage, and the versatility of the vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Better material on the seats.

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
Awesome vehicle. No complaints with the overall of this vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 7, 2009

Sammy
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Off-road capability.
True Jeep gene behind it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Interior is definitely week. Even with the rugged image, Jeep designers can fit in highly sophisticated technology into rugged reliable format.

The roof leaked a few times. It is usually ok, which tells me we didn't put it back on correctly. BTW, it's not one man's job to put it on and off.

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
Wrangler Unlimited is the only true "Jeep" remaining. All the others have become city driving cars. Unlimited is really designed to drive off-road.

This is not for everyone. You should get one only if you are going off-road. Or care about your image of a H1 driver, but can no longer buy one anymore.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 16, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
The look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Visibility.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 2, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I like the looks and style of the 2011 Wrangler. The matching 3 piece hardtop is nicer than the black of previous years. It just looks classier matching the body color.

I really like the comfort of the ride and option of the stop soft during nicer weather and the feeling of confidence with regards to where I can travel in the horrible Canadian winter months.

I could have purchased any vehicle out there but my first choice was the Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. I purchased the automatic and have not found it lacking in power at all. It does the job for me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I am disappointed with the Canadian version of the "Mojave" Edition as it is not at all like what is shown in all the ads on the internet. No Lizards, no black vinyl on hood, no lizards embossed into the seats, no Jeep stitched into the head rests. Does have the Mojave on the front driver's fender flare. Jeep logo embossed into the seat backs.

Also, for the price it should have "auto" headlights. There is no indication of this on the lever, although the owners manual shows it. Will have to talk to the Dealership about it as have only had the vehicle 4 days and still working through figuring it all out.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 3, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
(Obviously being a woman,) I fell in love w/ my 2010 but had to trade up after I saw the great changes in interior in the 2011. Still Jeep, but slightly more sophisticated.

I liked the colors cherry red & orange. The cute little Jeep in the corner of the windshield was an awesome touch. I think it'd be cooler if it were a bigger since you can barely see it & the bottom of the windshield looked rocky all the way across.

I like the change to the hardtop, the storage in the back & the utility mat, less road noise...

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I think sport models should come w/ Rubicon tires... hence SPORT model, I would like to see a bigger V6 engine. I traded a Ram w/ a hemi on my 1st Jeep that might be too much power for a Jeep.

I'd also like to see the dark blue color again. I loved it in 2010 & was really sad not to see it in 2011. The orange color could also use a touch more red in the paint like a sunburst.

I didn't like the chrome features on the inside, WAY too city nice for Sahara, but not sport. It should be brushed or grey like the vents.

I like shifter in 2010 better...

Sales person said Jeep was now waterproof up to mid door don't know, but that'd be great if it was.

Boston speakers not infinity... They really don't sound that great.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
I love my JEEP, my daughter & my husband love it. I traded down from an 07 Ram & this pickup girl is a Jeep girl now, no turning back.

Life is good in a Jeep!

SO THE ULTIMATE IMPROVEMENT would be for Jeep to offer an OWNER LOYALTY bonus for JEEP owners upgrading or buying another; what a way to appreciate return customers because you already know they'll be back & we'll tell our friends! :0)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 19, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Everything. I have a sport trail rated unlimited, 2011, and love it.

It looks great, and has everything I want. That means Jeep. I don't want fancy electronics, heavy power windows and such in the woods when the doors are off.

It is fully functional, and does its job perfectly. It is comfortable and attractive too!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
It could come with a soft top boot to keep the dirt off when down, but that is available for purchase, or be available with half doors.

Other than that, no problem at all.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
This is what it is... a Jeep. The best off road vehicle of them all.

I do hear people complain about the power (3.8) being weak, but hold on guys... it is 200+ hp of low end torque, not a 1000 HP Bugatti. If you want pulling, pushing, and climbing power, well, you got it. If you want to race what did you buy a Jeep for?? A bulldozer or a tractor have 50 or 60 hp most of the time. Problem? Just remember what it's designed for. Great 4x4 that will gain acceptance even with the die hard 2 door peeps as time goes on.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 14, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I think the colour (Rescue Green) is very sharp. I am impressed that my Jeep Wrangler 4 door Sahara Unlimited seems to better on gas than my 06 Grand Caravan.

Handles great everywhere I take it, on or off road, great media/audio centre is very user friendly and performs very well with the hard top on or off.

Removal of the hard top was said to be a pain in the butt, but I did it and found it took 30 minutes on and off including removal of the complete soft top.

Great heater and very comfortable leather seating make driving this machine a great pleasure.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
More bottom end torque.

I would improve on the windshield defrost that must run on high most of the winter when on defrost.

All jeeps should come standard with HID headlights and fog lights, eliminating the need for large, expensive after market lights. I don't know why they just don't put everything on at the factory (light protectors, HID and LED lighting all around inside and out,insulation package, tub mats, tow package) you know ready to go in the bush, and call it a day, this would eliminate all the shopping around. Honestly, I would have paid the extra.

I don't like that the hood rattles when meeting a tractor trailer on the highway.

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
Overall I love my 2010 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited and will never, NEVER sell this Jeep. It is a great source of family fun young and old.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 21, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
The interior is nice but not too nice. It's still a Jeep!

The seats are amazingly comfortable for longer trips. My 2008 Wrangler was not nearly as comfy.

The arm rests on the doors are a big improvement as well as the center console height which was a problem on other Wranglers.

I also like that the seat height can be raised and lowered for us short people!

Also, the road noise on the soft top version is improved over the 2008.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I would like to see larger wheels than 17' on the Sport Unlimited model. There is clearly enough room in the wheel well to do so.

The only other item I wish were improved are the back seats. They fold forward for storage space but do not recline at all. This makes them feel too erect and not as comfortable as they could be. Just a 3 inch give to the back would make them perfect.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
I absolutely love this vehicle. I have driven SUV's, sedans, crossovers and a 2008 Wrangler 2 door and this is my favorite vehicle to drive so far.

The handling is sporty, which I like but not uncomfortable.

The 4 door makes it perfect for a family but the suspension, 4-wheel drive and the convertible top makes it fun and cool too. True Jeep enthusiasts from way back don't respect the 4-door model and say they are for "soccer mom's" but I don't care. It suits my lifestyle, my family and my likes! It essentially is a convertable SUV because of the space available and the removable top.

LOVE it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I have 950 miles on my new 2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport, it is a four door.
I like the firm ride and seating positioning and comfort.
I am over six foot two inches and find nice room inside.
I like the looks, the boxed solid frame and over all quality of assembly from the factory.
I like the QA paint marks on all the bolts showing someone cared.
I had a Ford Explorer before, I like the ride and feel from the Jeep better. I like that the Jeep feels solid and capable off road. I was amazed how steep the Jeep could go in the dirt with the factory stock highway tires.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
I did not like the view out the back window, the third brake light and the spare tire got in the way of my vision. I fixed that problem by removing the spare and brake light. Now I have a vent on the door that looks awful, but I used a hood scoop to hide it and filled the holes with bolts to make it look cool.
I do not like the radio, hard to figure out what station with hard to read buttons. I do not like the volume controls on the back of the steering wheel.
I do not like that the center console does not have a light at night to see what gear you are in.
I do not like the rear windshield wiper motor blocking my vision out the back window.
I do not like the roll up window knob in my knees.
I do not like the light controls, just a simple on off switch would be so much nicer.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
The Jeep is very capable off road. I was amazed where I could go.

The wind noise on the highway is not fun with the windows down, but after triple sealing with rubber molding, the inside is very quiet with the windows up.

The engine runs smooth, I like the 2011 engine exhaust system better than the 2012, at least my catalysts are not in the engine compartment. I also do not care for the exhaust loop that the 2012 has added, I am glad that I got the 2011 for that reason.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 5, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
Much improved interior, especially compared to the 1997 Wrangler Sport I owned many years ago.

The 3.8L V-6 is an improvement over the I-6 in terms of fuel economy. I averaged 20 mpg on a tank in mixed driving (including about 50 miles on a 4WD road). Don't think I ever broke 17 mpg with my 4.0L I-6.

The 3.8L is a capable off-road and around-town powerplant, but not so much on uphill grades on the freeway/highway. Glad I insisted on a 6-speed manual transmission instead of the prehistoric 4-speed auto.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?
The 3.8L engine is an anemic slug on even the slightest uphill grades, and that's with my 160-lb body as the only cargo. It's impossible to maintain a 75-mph speed limit, even after downshifting to 5th and flooring it. Torque and horsepower in the higher gears at cruising speed is sorely lacking. Next time, I'll try 4th and push the revs up to 3000 rpm.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
It's a great vehicle for what it is - a Jeep. It's a great hunting, fishing, camping and off-the-beaten-path utilitarian tool, with enough civility to serve as a daily driver.

While not a gas-sipper, it's reasonably fuel efficient if you use sensible driving habits and shift points. 22-24 mpg isn't out of reach.

My only gripe so far is the wimpiness of the 3.8L engine at cruising speed. Maybe Chrysler will have addressed this with the new 3.6L engine in the 2012 models.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited? 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Jeep Model Lineup:
2009 Commander
2009 Compass
2009 Grand Cherokee
2009 Liberty
2009 Patriot
2009 Wrangler
2009 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact