Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Patriot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2009 Jeep Patriot

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-23/27-28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 172HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 12 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Jeep Patriot in the top 47% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
53%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Jeep Patriot in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Jeep Patriot also consider:
2009 Jeep Patriot Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Jeep Patriot
  1. Traditional boxy Jeep style
  2. Good gas mileage
  3. CVT
  4. Roomy interior
  5. Road handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Jeep Patriot
  1. Beefier engine
  2. Engine and road noise
  3. Good price
  4. Nicer interior material
  5. Longer warranty
Submitted Feb 5, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Deep Sea Blue w/ gray white interior. Even looks patriotic when the lights are on.
Great mileage. Cut my fuel bill in half.
Handles very well.
Road trips are fun, it's roomy, and it seats the family comfortably.
I'm 4'10" and everything fits, even the seat belt shoulder straps.
Great jeep quality inside and out.
Easy to clean fabric.
Ample cargo space.
5 speed shifts easily and it sort of crawls in 1st and 2nd gear, reducing clutch use in heavy traffic and parking lots.
Great for off road terrain.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Reduce compression noise when the windows are cracked.
ESP braking is clunky when driving on icy roads, but I didn't slide so I guess it did what it was suppose to do.

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
Definitely a good buy for the money. Some of the colors aren't so hot. Body parts are inexpensive. I got hit in the front door shortly after I bought it. New door skin, less than $100.00. Wish I could say the same for the paint and labor.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 21, 2012

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Comfortable interior and pretty smooth ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Gas tank needs to be bigger...

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
Overall I have been very happy with my Patriot. I travel a lot of miles for work and it has not let me down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 2, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
I love My Jeep Patriot!!! The Family and I went on a road trip and there was lots of room for everyone, including the trunk. When we went through the mountains we found it handled well with all the turns. We found going up hill it seem to be better when you are in 4th gear.

I love the color!!! Red

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
When the back windows are open it is very noisy!

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
The price was what sold us and for what you get, we couldn't have been happier!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 3, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
The radio and cd, with the Boston speaker system, is awesome with the rear hatch drop down speakers.
The sun roof, when opened and windows crack opened, lets fresh air through cool car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Find out why front end sounds like the wheels ripping off and banging when you hit a small bump or manhole covers?
The rails that the seat move on are bad. The rails stick out. When you get in I have scraped leg on and cut the back of my leg.
The seat belt needs to be put in a different place - hard to lock belt.
Back window keeps going down by itself.
I am handicapped. I have a walker the cargo space is small. I had no trouble with Pacifica.

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
I will look back to see if there is any come backs. Thank you, a 2009 Jeep Patriot Buyer..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Quality for price is outstanding.
Safety Ratings are also outstanding.
Road holding.
Gas mileage.
Traditional Jeep styling.
It's a modern Station Wagon that can go Off Road.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Make U-connect standard on all models, for hands free cell phones, to convert aftermarket costs a lot.
Move cruise controls away from steering wheel radio controls.

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
An overall stylish, economical vehicle for everybody, we just trader a 2007 Nitro for a Rocky Mountain Patriot and can't believe the gas savings and comfort. North American car buyers should be Patriotic and buy more "Jeep Patriots".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
I like the color (black).
The gas mileage.
Heated seats.
Lighting.
Radio.
Compartments.
Roomy trunk area.
Electric start.
Rides smoothly.
Roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
When you drive on the highway with the back windows down, the ceiling shakes pretty significantly. A friend of ours just bought a Patriot and he said his does the same thing. Since we have a DVD player in the ceiling, we are worried that it might shake so much it ruins part of the player. Bottom line: the kids aren't allowed to roll down their windows on the highway. Also, I don't like the headrest cut-outs, it's uncomfortable for the passenger (me sometimes), if you're laying back and trying to relax.

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
This was a gift for my 20th wedding anniversary. I would have picked a different color, but the black is growing on me now. Overall I love it, but the shaking ceiling...not so much.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 31, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Just got back from a 3000 mile trip to Michigan and had a great time with the car. Gas mileage was around 28mpg, and was great to drive. Total mileage on car is about 4200 now, and we really like it. We bought ltd with a extended bumper to bumper warranty. Great radio, and a sun roof. Leather int, and super seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Damm, put a full time 12 volt outlet in for Cell Phone.

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
So far great car. We really enjoyed the trip of 3000 miles. Good gas mileage, and good power. Really get up and goes after about 4000rpm. Great lifetime power-train warranty (standard), with a avail extended lifetime bumper to bumper warranty for about $1800-2500. Not cheap, but a good deal if you plan to keep the car for any time. We bought it and am glad we did. Car is fun to drive, and actually handles really good. Lots of room for stuff in the car cuz of the design. The auto tranny is really great and fun!!!!!!! 6 speeds plus OD... and it works!!! I really checked it out on the Internet before buying, comparing it to Chevy HHR, Ford Escort and Escape. The Patriot was such a better deal, with lots more fun things. The other cars were good, but the Jeep is really a better deal all the way around. The engine and tranny work really good together, interior works well, fit and finish seem to be really good also. 4 wheel disc breaks, great sound system all at a better price than the others.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 19, 2008
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
4/w drive at a reasonable price
Awesome safety ratings
ESP and ERM, seems to limit body roll to that of a sports car
Good styling and appearance
Adequate gas mileage
Heated seats and safety features (side curtain airbags, tire pressure monitoring, etc.)

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot?
Headrests should not curve inward (noticeable forward slouch when driving)
Hood shakes and moves at highway speeds
Slight shoddy crafstmanship and body noise (moldings, air seals, etc.)

2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
An overall stylish, functional, and fun to drive SUV (I call it a Hummer wannabe). Bought for my wife, and she loves it. Price is actualy very fair for what you get. Handling and cornering is highly-rated. Any flaws are modest and minor, and it is truly a Jeep inside and out (frame and transmission components appear to be rugged). We bought the extended, lifetime, $0 deductible warranty for an additional $2200, a good buy for a newer vehicle, if you plan on keeping it for a long time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 16, 2012

Dave
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Jeep Patriot?
GOOD GAS MILEAGE.
GREAT LOOKS.
GREAT PRICE.
DECENT WARRANTY.
FUN AND EASY TO DRIVE.
DECENT AMOUNT OF STORAGE SPACE.

It is a Sport 4X4 CVT 2.4L. I'm glad I got the 26A Package and the Power Value Group. I put a Wood Dash Kit in it and it looks GREAT! I put a K & N air filter in it (no alterations just replaces the OEM filter). Gets 20.5mpg in the city and 27 on the highway using the cruise control and no a/c (speeds no higher than 65mph).

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Jeep Patriot?
More insulation and sound proofing to keep noise out of the cabin (I undercoated with 6 cans of good undercoating and it helped lower the noise in the cabin).
More padding for the rear seat.
Have the 2.4L tweaked up to 190 HP, this would help acceleration from a dead start.

2012 Jeep Patriot Review:
Fantastic car for the money, the standard 4X4 is excellent in the snow but not enough to be called a good off roader (off road package will be a lot better).
Decent gas mileage if driven correctly.
Easy to see outside and drive.
Can be made a looker for a little money.
A must compare if you're looking at a small SUV or Crossover.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 5, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Patriot?
First saw Patriot at 2007 Toronto Auto Show (Courtesy GM) impressed by head and leg room roominess, front and rear. Purchased showroom Jeep Limited Model May 2007 and have driven 78K with no major problems.
Still original Firestone OWL tires and brakes.
4x4 travels deepest winter snowstorms in south central Ontario. 2.4 litre (with factory trailer hitch - will pull up to 2,000lb) handles my 14 ft. 1500lb hard top tent trailer pulled twice a year for camping up North (using clamp-on extended mirrors).
Boston acoustic sound with satellite a joy, especially up north.
Leather heated seats great.
Classic Jeep design now carried over to other Jeep models.
No problems with power sunroof on this showroom model.
Only small SUV with real truck door hinges compared to other small SUV makes.
Solidly designed and assembled vehicle.
CUV drive train is sealed maintenance free for over 100K.
Good fuel economy, especially at 1100 RPM or below.
Driver lumber leather heated (front) seats that fold flat, including front passenger seat nice touches. Driver seat height adjustment helps driving beside step grades.
Tire pressure, fuel mileage, double trip odometer, time elapsed, directional compass, steering wheel radio controls, cruise, alarm and thermometer displays standard with the Limited Patriot are nice touches and make driving a pleasure.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Patriot?
Make heated rear seats available, as they are great on the front.
Added small convex spots to side view mirrors to cover blind spots.
Relocate center-mount rear cup holder which forces middle passenger to straddle holder.
Make high beam headlight selector less sensitive as slight pull on the signal direction control may cause you to go high as you select your turn.
Offer diesel option which is available on the UK version Patriot.
Security blind for rear storage had handle break off from blind. Replaced first on warranty. Repaired second time myself by drilling through handle and securing clamshell plastic pull handle with small machine screws and nuts.
Replace rechargeable dome/flashlight with Lithium Ion batteries in place of NICAD's currently used.

2007 Jeep Patriot Review:
Even though a few minor cons, I have previously owned both GM and Ford vehicles for over 22 years, I consider the Patriot to be the best vehicle I've ever owned. Even though I purchased extended bumper to bumper warranty for 5 year - 100K, after over 3 years and 78K the Jeeps has had no major problems. The 4x4 warranty requires that oil be changed every 5K, and rotate tires every 10K which may account for the even tire wear on the original Firestone factory touring tires. CVT transmission not only gives better mileage, but combined with Traction Control you can feel the wheels grab the road on wet or snow covered surfaces. Engine and chassis have been proven on the Dodge Caliber and Compass. Reliability and price make it the best 4x4 in its class on the market. The 2.4L 4 is OK. Would like to see the diesel option in North America. Perhaps the speed freak crazies would like the 400HP Turbo 2.4L option offered with the Caliber SXT, but if you want that why buy a jeep? With the break from Daimler and now merger with Fiat, I hope Chrysler will continue the Jeep Patriot. Submitted June 5, 2011 three years and a month ownership, having driven 78,000Km on both highway and city roads.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Jeep Patriot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Jeep Patriot?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Patriot? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Patriot? 2009 Jeep Patriot Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Jeep Model Lineup:
2009 Commander
2009 Compass
2009 Grand Cherokee
2009 Liberty
2009 Patriot
2009 Wrangler
2009 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Jeep Patriot | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact