Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,477 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Accord Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Honda Accord

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 19-22/29-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 177HP
2.4L I4 190HP
3.5L V6 271HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 45 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Honda Accord in the top 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Honda Accord in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Honda Accord also consider:
2009 Honda Accord Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Honda Accord
  1. Smooth and powerful engine
  2. Spacious interior room
  3. Sporty handling
  4. Clean exterior styling
  5. Build quality
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Honda Accord
  1. Ergonomics
  2. Interior material quality
  3. Sound proofing
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Better audio system
Submitted Jul 22, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
Interior and exterior styling are best ever for this car.
The audio input is nice.
The 190hp four is good but I can tell I should have bought the six cylinder.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Better sound dampening as there is too much road noise.
The rattles from the front driver's side door and the back deck covering the speakers and the trunk are not what I was expecting from a Honda in 2009.

I may not buy another Honda if these things can't be fixed.

Also have a problem with the dash swelling in the middle at the top by the windshield. It's going to the shop for all the interior issues tonight. I hope they can fix them.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
Good car but with the quality issues from the interior I would definitely agree with other people that Honda is taking advantage of years being ranked high in quality and reliability to cut corners in building slightly lower quality cars.

I'm still happy with my car but at times I'm really disappointed with the rattles, fit and finish. I ask Honda to do better or I'll buy a Sonata with my money next time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
The interior styling.
Ergonomics.
Technology (except no USB interface).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Several different rattles.
Wind noise is too loud at highway speeds.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I've had my car to the dealer a few times for rattles. Some were fixed, some were not.

The wind noise at highway speeds isn't loud enough to make conversation difficult, but it is too loud for a car that costs this much.

I do like the ergonomics for most of the controls. EXCEPT, the auxiliary port is inside the center console, under a removable tray, and behind a spring loaded cover. You cannot plug in your MP3 player to this port safely while driving as you can't clearly see what you're doing, and you need two hands due to the spring loaded cover; poor location.

The technology items (Bluetooth, navigation, voice recognition) all work well, with no major glitches. No Homelink available except in the V6 package, which is pretty ridiculous.

The car rides decent, but can be a little harsh over some bumps. The rattles are sometimes terrible. At one point when going over certain bumps, I could hear rattles coming from no less than six different locations. This has been an issue identified by some owners on a couple of Honda forums.

The stereo sounds decent. Automatic climate control works well; just set it and forget it.

Overall this is a nice car, but has some problems. I haven't had to replace the brake pads yet, but I only have 7000 miles on the car. Having to replace the brake pads at around 15-20,000 miles seems to be a recurring problem with owners.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 23, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
I have a LX-P model and I love the exterior style.
Very nice handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Couple things:

1- Seats are really uncomfortable. My suggestion is before planing to buy an accord make a contract with a chiropractor.

2- Wind Noise & Engine Noise. The noise is killing me. You can't even talk to someone in your car when you driving down the highway. It's like one of the windows is open and all the wind noise comes inside the car. Even when you driving very slow steel you hearing the engine noise very loud. Basically this is the only sedan that I drove so far that makes sound like truck inside the cabin.

3- Air comes inside the car. I don't know it's my car issue or all the Accords are like this but when I drive my car in cold weather all cold air comes inside the car from the dashboard and specially around the string wheel. God my hands freezing.

4- Noise from every corner of the car. Specially from the center console around the shift knob and from the doors. Every morning I hear a new noise in my car. I took my car to the dealer and before anything they asked me what kind of car did you drive before this car? and when I answered why they told me because this noise are normal in Honda. NORMAL IN HONDA!!!!! NORMAL, I couldn't believe it.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I know and I think everybody believes nothing is perfect. Even when you buy a very luxury car you can find some issue on it. Because everybody is different with different taste. But also I know some times fixing small things can make huge differences. In my case if I had choice I would definitely return my car and get my money back.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
- Exterior and interior looks
- Wide variety of features
- Manual transmission available
- Interior room

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
***The rear brake pads wear far too quickly. Less than 5000 kms and the brakes are squealing like crazy. Honda is aware of the issue (although they claim it's regular wear and tear), but are not doing anything to resolve the issue***

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I fell in love with the new design. It looks great and drives well. I purchased the 4-door EX-L model in a manual transmission. I did a large amount of research before purchasing this car and found that it was really the best car for the price. The Honda Accord has always been a leader in its class for many reasons: reliability, performance and value.

All of this to say, I am extremely disappointed in my vehicle purchase. Apparently I should have done just a bit more research. The squealing brakes after less than 5000 kms (about 3000 miles) are completely unacceptable. I would never recommend purchasing this 2009 (or the 2008 model which has the exact same issue) model to anyone. It is not worth the hassle of having your pads/rotors replaced every 10,000 kms.

Honda has disappointed hundreds, if not thousands, of people by creating, marketing and selling such a product. Not only is the product disappointing, but so is Honda's response (or lack thereof) to the issue. Just because you have years of reliability behind you, does not mean it's ok to slack off and ignore the copious amounts of complaints you receive.

My advice: Do not buy this vehicle until Honda decides to issue a recall and fix this problem that cannot be ignored.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2012

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
The smooth ride and handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Interior layout of console is not practical.
Rattling noise in right front panel and near back speakers on bumpy roads.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
Bought an 09 certified. I am also missing the valet key and the key code strip. Also the driver Map light is not working. Hopefully it isn't a fuse issue. A certified car should have its maps lights working. Otherwise, I like the ride and the interior feels roomy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 26, 2011

whos
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
The steering is about as good as it gets.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Rear brakes wear out far too early.
Front seats are incredibly uncomfortable.
Head rest/restraint is angled too far forwards and can cause neck pain if you're taller than 5'2".
Rear deck rattles due to utilizing cheap plastic to connect the deck to the metal frame with no buffering.
Road noise is quite excessive.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
Honda seems to be relying entirely on their reputation of the past and using that to create a very cheaply made car and selling it for much more than the quality of the car would dictate.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 27, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
It is a beautiful car.
Like the larger size of the 2009 Honda.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Protect the lower part of the inside of doors with a softer material so the doors do not get marred when you exit the Honda.

Improve the interior materials totally. 2009 Honda is not the quality I am used to seeing. I have been driving Honda Accords since 1980 and am disappointed in quality of the interior.

Interior has RATTLES. Honda seems to be relying on its past. Go back to the quality we expect. It will be worth it to Honda or you will lose future customers.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
We could always rely on the quality workmanship of Honda Accords.

This does not seem to be true now and it makes me very sad.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 16, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
Contemporary styling inside and out.
Spacious and comfortable.
Low cost of insurance.
Fuel economy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Edgy styling of the "bulbous" front headlamps.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I cannot believe what I'm reading from other Accord owners. This is our first Japanese car after umpteen GM vehicles and I am truly delighted with the car.

It has tight, precise handling and little or no exterior noise in the cabin -- even at highway speeds.

I've had my EX-L since July 12, 2009 and it has yet to be in the shop for anything other than normal maintenance.

I'm absolutely delighted.

I've heard about the rear brake issue but that has yet to be a problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2010

AUBTIN
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
Lots of space.
Like the illumination on the inside.
The exterior is very sleek and stylish.
Large trunk has good power for a 4 cylinder.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Steering wheel shimmy at speeds over 50-km/h really bad at speeds of over 90-km !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gets undesirable to drive.
Blower motor too noisy has been replaced two times.
Sub-woofer rattles trunk when listening to good tunes.
Have troubles with sunroof wind noise when closing from tilt mode, have to open sunroof completely and close it to get rid of wind noise.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I've owned this car from day 1 (June 2009). It has given me a lot of problems, beginning with the brakes, steering wheel vibration, blower motor noise, wind noise from sun roof, trunk rattling because of the sub-woofer.

I have been to the dealership a lot of times and they have fixed some of the defects, But there seems to be no cure for the harsh vibration in the steering wheel at high speeds, I'm told that this is normal in all Accords and most HONDA'S by the service manager at the dealership. I was shocked !!! when I heard that. I was also told by him that the rattling in the trunk because of the sub-woofer was normal, what a shocking surprise. I did not expect this from HONDA, I've owned a 93 Accord before this and never had an issue with it, guess I made a bad choice from upgrading to a new one.

I really wish I could have test driven the car more throughly before purchasing it. I expect a lot more quality and value out of a $ 36,000 HONDA.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 20, 2010

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
Body Style.
Fuel Economy.
Large Interior.
V6 power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Poorly made.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I truly regret purchasing this car. I understand that it's not most expensive car but when you purchase a top of the line accord, you are having to fork up 30k to own one of these rides. I've had this car for less than a year and currently at 12k miles. The first problem I've noticed was when it hit around 6k.. not sure of the cause but the car started to vibrated while driving. I had to pull over to side and stop and start the car. Second, when it had about 10k miles.. I had to replace my brake pads. At 10K miles! I've heard they use cheap factory made brake pads and even today.. it still makes noises when I slow down. Third, as of today.. my car's AC started to act up. The air is not cold. It's either no one makes the car like they used to or I've wasted my money on this sharp looking piece of junk. I understand that it could be this one vehicle but due to my bad experience, I won't never ever ever ever buy another Honda.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Honda Accord Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Honda Accord?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord? 2009 Honda Accord Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Honda Model Lineup:
2009 Accord
2009 Accord Coupe
2009 Civic
2009 Civic Coupe
2009 Civic Hybrid
2009 Civic Si
2009 Civic Si Sedan
2009 Clarity
2009 CR-V
2009 Element
2009 Fit
2009 Odyssey
2009 Pilot
2009 Ridgeline
2009 S2000
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Honda Accord | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise