Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,370 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chrysler Sebring Convertible Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 16-20/26-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 173HP
2.7L V6 186HP
3.5L V6 235HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible in the top 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible also consider:
Submitted Aug 13, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I have the 2.7 it good power vs economy and get plenty of looks

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
the cabin light on the bottom of the mirror is small I don't know why larger ones were not on the top of the window
the other thing is the seat belts after pulling one out completely the rartchet and cant be pulled out agaiun vut all new cars has this feature

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
I have the soft top and driving top down is great, the weight of the trunk with the top mechanism adds weight and larger gas shock could improve lifting the trunk lid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I love every thing about my Sebring... how it handles in the rain and how nice it is to ride with the top down the only thing that I found was when it rains I can not open the windows on both doors even an inch with out a stream of water falling on my panels for the window and the door locks...

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I do not know if the rain falling on my door locks is just with my car or if others have this as well,,, I have to look into it

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
I enjoy driving my car and I am looking forwards to putting 1,000's mile of driving around Canada learning my country...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 4, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
Best value for the money. Can't find anything to complain about. It's a soft top. 2.7 motor gives big power sound and lots of pep. Much better value than foreign makes. Already have 32,000 miles on it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 19, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
Smooth ride.
Decent performance with the 2.7 6-cylinder.
Great gas mileage and e85 ability.
Will fit 4, even if its a little cramped.
Stereo system is the bomb, with the mygig touch screen.
Get compliments on its looks all the time!!
Very comfortable interior.
Picked up used with 12,000mi. for 14000!!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I would probably opt for the limited, but not sure I would spend the extra money for more motor and 6 speed auto??

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
I tell you.... I still don't see a negative to this car!! Had it one year trouble free, bought it 1 yr. old with 12000mi. for 15000.00!

Great cruiser that turns heads wherever I go! Fits my golf clubs in the trunk with top down and I'm off to the country club in style!! Only trouble is trying to wrestle it away from my wife! I'm sure their are nicer more expensive convertibles, but I'm loving this car for the money!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 15, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
Overall great look in and out, hard top convertible is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I have the limited and paid top $ for it, but does not have my gig system only standard radio/cd. Being a limited also has largest engine and gas mileage is not good compared to my 2004.

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
Overall sharp car, I live on Hawaii and all the rental car companies seem to have them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
*Solid smooth ride.
*Quality audio.
*Remote start and ability to remove the top with remote is awesome.
*Top stores in trunk.
*Price I got mine at a very good price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
*Add memory seats option.
*Redesign center console to be accommodating for a smartphone/mp3 device.
*Use a different type of antenna for the satellite radio.
*Put the trunk release button into the glove compartment. (Won't release when alarm set, however my concern is that people still may try because they see the button in the open.)

2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
This is my second Sebring convertible (1998 JXI). What an upgrade! Fun fun fun car!

I'm amazed at some of the 'expert' reviews that I have read concerning the appearance of the car. I have only owned this car for @ a week however, EVERYONE has commented how 'gorgeous' or 'beautiful' the car is. There is nothing like being at a light and deciding to remove the top and watching the eyes of people around you as the trunk opens, the top drops and off you go. You can see in their eyes WOW and hear kids say 'COOOOL'.

Prayerfully this car will be even more dependable than my last Sebring.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
Very comfortable to drive, even for my height of 6'2".
One touch roof controls.
ABS works great, best I have ever had.
I have the larger v-6 and 6 speed and it is very easy to get into trouble with the law on long trips but love the ride and power available to me.
Large trunk space when roof is up.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
More leg room in the rear seating area.
Lack of trunk space when roof is down.
Large blind area from drivers seat to the right/rear corner that mirrors do not cover.
Rear of body is "high" and hurts rear view.
Better tires from the factory for the power offered would be great.

2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
I drove the 4cyl in 2008 and it was very nice but seemed like the engine rev'ed high at highway speeds and was poor in the "pep" category... Just seemed lacking for its size.

Went to Iraq soon after and purchased the same car, color and all from Chrysler except with the largest V-6 offered and was a surprise how different the V-6, 6 speed is from the 4 cyl, 4 speed. I have to be careful when starting out from lights or stop signs that the tires do not break loose and spin.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 25, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
I love the car, clean look, love the softtop and method of one button response.
Engine is small but mighty - I have the L4. No problem with speed or pickup, don't understand why people complain about speed. Of course I'm not looking for speed anyway.

The car interior is great, good seats, ease of handling, great view, no blind spots with top up or down.

I have only had it for 3 weeks and love it. I'm spoiled.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
More insulation towards engine noise in cockpit.

People complain about room in trunk, however if you're traveling with only 2 people, use the back seat for more space.

2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
Engine noise that you hear in the cockpit is not too bad but a bit disturbing. I have the LX and maybe there is a way to control that problem.

Allover, car is great, looks design, handling, I got it for a great price from a private party therefore no tax in AZ. I hope to keep this car for at least 4 years.

Looking at an after market warranty, but may not be worth the money. List prices are from $1900 to 3000.00, I think I'll bank the money and pay for repairs, if need be..

Ease of reviewing problems with a 4 cylinder engine, lots of room under the hood. I try to fix problems myself.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
- Great styling w/awesome hardtop (QUICK up and down)
- Clean lines
- Great amenities: comfortable leather seats, super MyGig AV system
- Inexpensive maintenance
- Roomy trunk (even w/top down)
- Good compromise performance and handling (i.e., highway and surface, sporty and interior space, performance and efficiency, etc.)
- Lifetime powertrain warranty

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
- More attention to interior detail
- Slightly tighter suspension
- 20 more horsepower

2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
Ignore the lower-priced models and get the Limited hardtop (I tested them all, along with competing VW, Toyota, and Volvo models). This car NEEDS the 3.5L V6 and 6 speed transmission, both of which are excellent, and there is no comparison in drive/ride experience. Early models had roof and electrical problems, all of which have been resolved. I have had NO problems with mine, and I do not baby it. Fit and finish on late 2008's and the 2009's is excellent, and quality control is dramatically improved. Many complain about the use of plastics in the interior, but the Limited interior is very clean and nice, and the surfaces are very easy to keep clean (VERY important for a convertible).

This car is fun to drive and easy to own. If you are looking for a relatively sporty convertible that can still haul the family when needed, this is a fantastic car. It is well-engineered, designed, and built, and a great value. One year and 30k miles after buying mine new, I still love my Limited!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2009

Jeff
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
Nice looking car, comfortable, smooth ride, great hard-top roof, handles well, nice gizmos (stereo, heated seats, etc.) and price.
Trunk space with the top up is huge for a convertible.
Bought a new '08 model in March '09 and got a fantastic price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?
The engine (2.7 V6) lacks some oompf.
The clean look of the interior diminishes upon contact - a bit plasticky.
Leg room in the back is tight.

2008 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
I owned a 2001 Sebring Convertible, which was a terrific car. Never had any problems with it. With all of the incentives out there, I decided to trade it in for a new model. Here's some comparisons:
- 08 model rides much higher, which is nice.
- 01 model had a notably bigger cabin. That's true of both the front seats and (especially) the rear seats. That said, the 08 is still a comfortable, smooth ride.
- The V6 engine in my 01 Sebring had more pick up (and indeed, more horsepower.) The '08 2.7 VJ is adequate, but I can feel the difference in power.
- The 08 model has tighter handling and a better turning radius.

On balance, the 08 Touring model is a tremendous value. It's a sharp looking, comfortable car with a lot of great features.

I might add that I am struck by the hostility expressed in some of expert reviews about the exterior design of the new Sebring convertible. Yes, it could be described as boxy or chunky. You may not like it (I do) but you can't argue it is not a distinctive look. The hostility, however, is mystifying because you don't see such vitriolic statements made about other convertible models. One of the Sebring's closest peers in terms of price and features is the Toyota Camry Solara. It may well be a reliable car with great features. But the design is completely bland and uninspiring. The rear of that car is totally ungainly. But you almost never read a negative word about that -- or of the boring, if not ugly, designs of the Saab, Volvo or VW convertible models on the market.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chrysler Sebring Convertible Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible? 2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chrysler Model Lineup:
2009 300-Series
2009 Aspen
2009 Aspen Hybrid
2009 PT Cruiser
2009 Sebring
2009 Sebring Convertible
2009 Town & Country
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chrysler Sebring Convertible | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise