Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Silverado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-15/18-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.3L V6 195HP
4.8L V8 295HP
5.3L V8 315HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 11 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Silverado in the top 40% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
60%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Silverado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. XM Radio
  2. Auto folding mirrors
  3. Best fuel economy in class
  4. Daytime lights
  5. Digital MPG readout
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. Exterior & interior design old
  2. Reliability
  3. Side-curtain airbag
  4. Better crash test results
  5. Lumbar adjustment
Submitted Oct 29, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Size.
Interior Room (Crew Cab).
Ride Quality.
6-Speed Transmission.
5.3L AFM/Flex Fuel Motor.
Bluetooth. Factory Remote Start.
Stereo System (Don't have Bose).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Outer Trim Material on Seats (Catches Fuzz from Clothing).

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Bought New about 8-Weeks ago, LOVE IT! Love the Hydraulic Body Mounts on the Crew Cabs make for a fantastic Riding Truck. Love the 6-Speed Transmission and the Range Selection Ability. Really Enjoy how wonderfully the Bluetooth System works.

Put about 6000 miles on the truck so far and haven't reset my AVG. Fuel Economy since the day I pulled out of the dealership, at 17.5. Once I get the first oil change should go up some more but I do drive in the city a lot and on the HWY I'm running 75-80 MPH. But when I get on the back roads running steady for some time between 55 and 65 it starts climbing up...

Overall I love the truck, much nicer ride and power than the 2001 I owned a few years ago.

Already thinking about the next one I'm going to buy!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Rides like a large American car,has proven v6 with locking diff inexpensive fleet parts,gets about the same mpg's as my other truck Ford ranger 2x4 with 3.0 v6.I'm surprised how good it goes with the base engine I don't agree with the naysayers I've towed my 6x12 enclosed with heavy mc no problem just take it easy

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Some small issues like power lock failure, sticking in park,peeling of steering wheel where thumbs go,don't like seat material better in my ranger


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Rides and drives great. A lot of difference from my trusty but rusty 1994 Silverado with 218,000. No drip, no leaks. Just rusted out from the bottom. Thanks Michigan.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Ticking on start up is not a good thing, the colder the longer it ticks. Sounds like lifters to me and that's just what the dealer said. Their response was, according to GM, as long as it goes away when engine reaches normal temperature range, it's fine. hahahaha. I don't believe that one.

Had rear main seal leaking, then back with oil pan leaking.

Trim on all windows came off. That's due to freezing weather on window when putting it up.

Gas gauge malfunction.

The truck seems to coast a long ways after foot off gas pedal, don't know if that is normal? This has happened in the 18 thousand so far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 30, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
It gets great gas mileage, rides good, and looks great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
I brought my truck new in Sep 2009 with 8 miles on the truck. It has been in the shop 7 times. They have replaced the lifters, 2 sets of brakes and still having problems with a ticking noise. The truck only has 15000 miles on it.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Love the truck but hate the problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 3, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Not much. I traded in a 15 year old Ford cash for clunker that ran better. See below.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Only after 200 miles my 09 LTZ started experiencing clunking noises coming from my truck when I would come to a stop (I have found that with most 1500 trucks & Tahoes from 07 to 09, there is a problem with the slip joint which connects to the transmission.) The first time I noticed this I thought I was rear ended at a stop light. It feels like you are being bumped from behind. Their temporary solution at this time or band aid approach is to lube the slip joint which connects to the transmission but after a short time the clunking comes back. I have taken my truck to at least three different dealerships for this temporary fix. This is a well known problem at the dealership level, they told me, that GM is slowly making retro slip joint parts but were not available yet. Frustrated I called GM back east but yet GM tells you that this a normal occurrence for the truck. I then spoke to a district manager in my area & he also was no help. I told them this is a safety hazard but they continue to deny any problem saying that is a normal occurrence. Just found out that my replacement part just became available. Will see if this cures the problem.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Not good.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 24, 2010

dpatten
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Runs good for a v6.
Good looking and very reliable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Better fuel mileage.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
First truck I owned and I feel it is the best truck around.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Good looking truck. It sits high enough to see over other vehicles at an intersection.
Starts up quickly on cold mornings. I bought mine with the locking differential and it's worth the extra money. Does well in snow.
Comfortable ride considering road conditions....it's definitely a stiff suspension. Good economy on open road as long as speed is not 70mph or greater. Engine is quiet and it's easy to change the motor oil without jacking up the vehicle.
Dependable truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
The interior heater flow for warming feet should be a little larger. During the winter it provides heat but if there was a larger vent for both driver and passenger, warming the feet would be much easier. It definitely puts out enough heat for the cab but the venting for the floor area should be improved.

Customized paint stripes along the length of the vehicle would greatly improved the sporty appearance.

2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Very good truck for the money. The 4.3 V6 is almost indestructible.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 24, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Size.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
I have had an issue with my truck producing white smoke in the morning on cold starts. The dealership is replacing the lifters.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 25, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great looks inside and out.
Love the 2 tone cloth seats.
Plenty of room (crew cab).
Drives great, plenty of power for a family truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?
Fueling is a problem, cannot put in more than a gallon without nozzle tripping even on lowest setting. Takes me 30 minutes to fill up. Since I don't see any other comments like this on the sites I have visited, it might be a defect on my truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 22, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
Bold exterior.
Clean line interior.
Extended cab room (have 3 kids).
Gas mileage: 24mpg @ 55mph & 19mpg @ 75mph.
True work truck w/ luxury.
5.3 litre powerful engine.
Dark tint.
Bed liner.
Step bars.
170 degree rear doors.
Fold up rear seats.
Remote start.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado?
More airbags.
Park assist.
Rear view camera.
Premium cloth.
Bigger wheels.
Free Onstar.
Navigation screen.
Turn signal mirrors.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I bought this truck used with 58,600. An older gentleman owned it before trading it in. It is in mint condition with only highway miles for $19,500. I believe it was the truck for me. The granite blue metallic, 5.3 engine and the added factory options makes it the truck I was looking for. The sticker price was still in the glove box. I wanted a leather crew cab but I could not pass up this truck for the price! I have 3 kids and it is and will be a great family ride.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Silverado? 2009 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Silverado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact