Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Impala Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Chevrolet Impala

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 16-19/24-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 211HP
3.9L V6 233HP
5.3L V8 303HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 16 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Impala in the top 42% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
58%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Impala in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Impala also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Impala
  1. Comfortable seats
  2. Powerful engine
  3. Satellite radio
  4. Sound system
  5. Styling
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Impala
  1. Rear wheel drive
  2. Cup holders for various sizes
  3. Torque steer
  4. Better safety features
  5. Cheap interior
Submitted Oct 10, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
I enjoy the comfortable ride with my 2009 Impala LS. it is easy to get into, and vice versa. Being 6'3, and having a longer torso, it makes for a better and more comfortable ride when the lumbar support and the seat work together to provide a back pain free ride. There isn't any shortage of power, when it comes to the 211 HP v-6 3.5L engine. Whether it be flex fuel or just regular gas motors, both have about the same amount of get up and go. I had purchased my car at about 98500 miles and within the short time I've had it I've already rolled it over to 100k. It's a very spacious car with more than enough room to get you to and from. Absolutely ridiculous huge trunk space. Plenty of room for a subwoofer enclosure without sacrificing all your trunk space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
The ABS braking system seems to be hit and miss. It will clamp down on both sides, however it doesn't seem to be doing it equally.
Also, Power steering pumps in these cars tend to go out every couple months, if replaced with a REMAN'ed pump.
Rotors get trashed really easy when the ABS system isn't working properly.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
I feel that this is a very nice car, and worth the amount they still sell for to the general public today. Plenty of room to upgrade and "dress up" the visuals of the car. Aftermarket parts are really cheap as well. Overall, this is a perfect car for those who live out of town, and are looking for a really good gas efficient vehicle that is reliable and dependable when others will be left in the dirt.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 9, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Large comfortable cockpit.
Powerful engine.
Great easily cleaned comfy leather seats.
The car is a great ride.
Great speakers and the low road noise interior.
Trunk space is bigger than it looks.
My model LTZ has wood grain dash look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
19 mpg - terrible gas mileage. Much lower than most experienced.
I found this site while looking for info to repair this problem.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Our LTZ model has a large comfortable cockpit. I am 6' 3' and have an easy time with the floor space and getting to peddles without the console overriding them. Same for the spacious passenger seating front and rear.

The powerful engine has great passing ability. Great at getting up speed onto highways and beyond leaves all the other vehicles in our dust when we want.

Great comfy, easy to clean leather seats.

The car is a wonderful ride whether on the grind to work or long trips.

Full sounding speakers and the low road noise interior makes it an amazing mobile living space.

The large trunk is broad and tall the space is even bigger than it looks.

My model LTZ has all the top add-ons my wife wanted, including wood grain dash look.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2012

John Bush
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Brake issues. Started at about 1000 miles. Had to turn or replace rotors and brakes about every 2 months. Just invested close to $1000 in very best top quality parts, and after a week problems started again. Tried to get GM to replace car after the 9th time. There reply, NO. Will not ever buy or recommend Chevy to anyone. When we bought this we paid 24900. After one year value dropped to high of 9000. Now, that's bad luck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 24, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
The trunk space is great and even more flexible with the fold-down rear seat.
The mileage is spectacular for a large car; 32 miles per gallon on the highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
None. It is a good comfortable family car for the money.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
The 2009 Impala gets good gas mileage and is safe and comfortable. It is not like some of the foreign competitors that make you feel squeezed -in.
The satellite radio, plush seats and side air bags make it a great value.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 14, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Roomy interior.
Nice smooth ride.
Uncluttered cockpit.
Great engine.
Smooth transmission.
Very good MPG.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Hard to gauge distance while backing up due to high profile.
Interior less attractive than a lot of competition.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
I am very pleased with my 2009 Impala with white paint, 6 cylinder engine, and LT package. This car rides great in the city or the highway. It is not a race care nor capable of high performance handling, but for the average family it is a tremendous value. I have been averaging 24.5 MPG which is awesome for a nicely sized car with great power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Excellent handling car and very comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Get some decent gas mileage.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Overall okay.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 10, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Plush seating.
Large trunk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Have never reached the advertised mpg.
Rear wheel drive.
Just received a recall for wipers.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Loaded LT with all the bells and whistles. Bought new.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 31, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
It handles very well -

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
I am only getting 24.2 mpg - I will admit I am traveling at 70 to 75 mph - I have yet to get any where near what others are getting - why is that? I purchased my 2009 LT in Nov of 2008 -


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 25, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
The silver plastic strip on the trunk looks and feels a bit cheap. The gear shift knob has the same silver plastic piece. I wonder if these and other parts will look nice in 3 years. (Warranty is ONLY 3 years).

2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
My dealer sent me home with my new Impala with 3 of the four tires under inflated at 23 pounds. Also, the hood paint job has issues. This was corrected. As 200 miles approached the odometer, I noticed roughness in the handling. Now, at 700 miles odometer, the local Chevy shop determined that the front brake rotors are bad and are being replaced. I wonder if the back brakes are ok and if the brake pads are fine. This car has been carefully driven with no unusual weather. I am suspicious of Chevrolet quality, and I may take advantage of the return offer being presented.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 20, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
This is my second Impala. I had a 2002 for seven years, so with 100,000 plus miles and no problems, I decided it was time for a new one, even though the 02 was in excellent condition. My 09 Impala is an LT, loaded with every extra including leather. There is nothing to dislike, but only to love. The Impala is a pleasure to drive on trips. I travel from Las Vegas to San Francisco once or twice a year and consistently get 31 miles to the gallon. Down the road at 65 mph the tac shows 1600 to 1700 rpm, so it purrs along with no strain. Pity those in smaller four cylinder cars turning up 3000 plus rpms.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala?
Why mess with perfection.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Impala Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Impala?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Impala? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Impala? 2009 Chevrolet Impala Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Impala | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact