Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Equinox

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-17/24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
3.6L V6 264HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Equinox in the bottom 49% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
49%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Plenty of room
  2. Sound system
  3. Style
  4. Comfortable driver seat
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Cheap interior material
  3. Better seat cushions
  4. Noise
  5. Turning radius
Submitted Apr 29, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Equinox?
Good value for price
Sliding rear seat
Good acceleration
18.9 MPH in town - only have 340 miles on odometer.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Equinox?
Get rid of the Japanese tilt wheel design and go back to the good GM design from years past!!!!

2009 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
We looked at and liked the HHR but felt this was better value for a little more money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jan 1, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Finally a state of the art offering from GM in the segment. The best gas mileage in the segment, huge backseat legroom, dead quiet and as many amenities as you care to choose.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
If you order one to meet your needs, you'll find very little to wish for. Chevy dealers can't get enough to meet demand. To get a great deal, you'd better be good.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
The Equinox drives and rides like a much larger and more expensive SUV. GM chose NOT to skimp on sound proofing, including thicker glass for the sake of better mileage.

That said, it still leads the segment with 32 mpg highway. BTW, I averaged 30 mpg on the way home from the dealership. I purchased the loaded LTZ with leather, sun roof, nav, etc, and it's a REALLY great ride. In-town mileage is good, highway is already over 30, although the motor isn't nearly broken in.

The 4 cyl direct injected motor is more than adequate around town, and cruises effortlessly at 75 mph plus.

BTW, handling is top-notch. I drove the RAV4 and Honda CRV, and this car is in a different class, any way you can measure. Drive the competition, then drive the Equinox, you'll probably buy one before you leave the dealership.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
264HP V6 power.

Interior styling is top notch, very Acura looking and feeling!

Plenty of torque!

Put it in Manual mode and it's like a race car. I've drove V8 mustangs that didn't feel this strong.

Great looking!

Comfort is 10++.

Back up camera, helps blind spots wile backing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Check engine light came on after 2000 miles due to a bad sensor for the throttle position control, whatever that is. Did not effect the performance at all, just makes you feel bad that a brand new car had a check engine light on. But seems to be very isolated.

Fuel economy on the V6 is below average, but a great trade off for the extra power. We average between 20 and 22MPG according to the on board computer.

It kept the name of equinox. They should of renamed it, when I tell people that I own an Equinox they think of the old clunky ones.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
We own a 2LT 264hp V6.

This car is extremely fun to drive, when I can pull it away from my wife. The comfort and styling makes me feel like I'm in a luxury CUV costing in the range of $50,000.00 or so. Let me make a statement that I am not a fan of the old Equinox at all. I never liked the look inside or out. This 2010 total blew me away and reshaped my opinion. For a midsize CUV this thing will shag on down the road with the best of them. Put the thing in manual and rev it about 7,000 rpm in 2nd gear with the 264HP V6 and you'll see what I'm saying total fun, totally powerful for a CUV, although my wife only let me do that once or twice. Now I'm not talking Camaro or Corvette fast but defiantly BMW X5 fast feeling at least. But going past the motor, it's full of features and gadgets. The Pioneer Premium sound system sounds very accurate and the bass is very beefy. The highs could be a little higher, but I'm probably a little tone def because of my growing up with loud music. The seats sit great, after a 2 hour drive I'm not stiff at all. I could drive this to California with out getting up, well maybe to sleep, but you get my point. The IPod control is excellent, love that feature. The Bluetooth phone hook up is perfect and worked with our old phones. The review camera helps with blind spots wile backing, love that. I'm now the biggest On-Star fan ever, love that feature.

We test drove the 4 cylinder version of the same car and it felt ok in power. I slammed that one to 7,000 RPMs and it kicked a little. For a I4 motor pretty powerful. Extremely quiet! You have to look at the RPM gage to know if the motor was still running. The v6 on the other hand you hear, but the sound is beefy, especially at 4,000 to 7,000 RPMs. I was more impressed with the V6 than the I4, as far as power goes. It has a little race inspired sound to it. But if you want fuel economy the I4 does not lack power. It has only 82 less horse power, which is a lot but not too much less. You get the same great car with just a small eco friendly motor. We probably would have got the I4 but I like to get the biggest motors in what ever I get, I'm a teen at heart I guess. I also like the dual chrome exhaust on the V6.

But all in all for driving like my wife does, very family oriented, and very comfortable, with a little something for the big kid in the husband. I've driven many sports cars and I rate this in the powerful category, not drag strip ready but defiantly fast whether you agree or not.

In conclusion all in all the best quality to price of any car in the world. I really feel that this could help GMs rep along with the 2010 Camaro! A lot of bang for the buck!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
Backup camera in rearview mirror.
Heated leather seats.
Tinted Sun Roof/Air hatch.
Nice Dash Display.
Great Gas Mileage.
Solid drive & did not have to sacrifice much on power to get better gas mileage, even in the 4 cyl.
Roooomy rear seating and trunk area, transitions nicely from "Family Car" to "Night-on-the-Town Car"

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?
* Did not like that the radio volume adjusts automatically with your speed. Had to turn that off (took a while to figure it out).
* Wish the charger ports would work while the car is turned off.
* I still have a difficult time figuring out how to unlock the doors, which lock automatically when car is in drive & they put that feature on the dash instead of on the doors (??? why?).
* It is a little difficult to see out of... because of the height of the rear window, ... SO GLAD they added the backup Camera, 'cause without it this would have been even more of a "Con".
* The dash alerts for relatively minor issues like "low Tire pressure" take over your screen, so you can't use digital speedometer until corrected.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall, I really like this car. Solid Handling. Nice exterior lines. Chevy packed it full of nice "luxury" features and kept the price reasonably affordable. I think they got it right.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 2, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Style.
Extra roomy interior--every time someone rides in the back seat they remark on it.
Height from ground.
Leather seats.
Love, love, love! the open space between the front bucket seats and the armrest/storage bin that folds up out of the way (perfect for stashing my purse, storing books on tape, and hiding smaller shopping bags when I leave the car).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Visibility really sucks due to over-sized posts on either side of the windshield.
Need option to fold down head rests on rear seats to help rear visibility when rear seats are vacant.
Improve gas mileage.
Noisy ride--have to keep the sound system cranked up to hear it.
Cheap looking plastic interior, paint chipping from radio knobs.
The "?running boards?" that jut out on either side of the car. My legs ALWAYS hit them getting in/out of the car so I end up with dirt, salt, or mud on whatever I'm wearing.

The 2nd year the car went through a period of refusing to start. It was totally dead--no clicking or signs of life at all. I'd tow to the dealership and it would start fine for them. They could never find anything wrong. I think they finally got fed up with me and replaced the ignition. So far so good.

Now in year 4, I'm having a problem with the key getting stuck in the ignition. I'm not talking jiggle the steering wheel and it will slide out stuck. I'm talking I had to flag down two men in a parking lot to help me stuck. One yanked on the steering wheel while pulling on the key and the other laid on his stomach across the passenger seat pressing on the brake pedal with his hands. Somehow they got the key out. Two weeks later it happened again after dark and when I was alone. I tried the same moves they did and after several minutes the key very reluctantly and with much effort came out. I ruined my key chain I was pulling so hard. Now I'm careful to pull the key out very slowly so I can stop pulling when I feel it binding up.

The newest problems are some noises while driving especially on highway exit ramps.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I never thought I needed or wanted an SUV until I was recovering from hip surgery. I had two requirements: the driver's seat needed to be the proper height from the ground plus I needed the slipperiness of leather seats to ease entry/exit to the car. Turns out the Equinox was the perfect height plus I could get leather seats in a reasonably priced vehicle. No more stress and strain on already painful joints. Of course, it didn't hurt I liked the look of the Equinox!

Overall, this car has worked out well for me and I'm glad I bought it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 19, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Its sharp looking.
Handles great.
Roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Radio button paint wearing off.
Stains on interior from getting in car when raining.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
This is the best car I have ever owned and I plan to trade it in for a newer Equinox in a few years. It gives me a headache to see people complaining about things that have nothing to do with the car.

If your kid broke a cup holder that's your fault. If you get dents and dings that's not the car doing it, having touch ups done on the paint isn't the car's fault, how many cup holders do you really need? It has five.

No it's not that great on gas, it's an SUV. Why do you want to turn off day running lights that's a safety feature? If you're replacing breaks often you're breaking too hard and driving too fast.

Oh and the check engine light comes on because you need to reset the internal computer after you get an oil change, read your manual when you get the oil changed most likely the people you take it to don't know how to do it, look it up.

In short stop complaining about stuff that you would get from a car, you bought an SUV.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 25, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Very comfortable interior.
Nice sound system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
TERRIBLE BLIND SPOTS!!!
Location of the cupholders.
The center console near the floor- if something falls between the seats and the console, good luck getting it out.
Brakes- I had them fixed first for making the car shake when I used them. Now I've had them fixed four times because they're making an awful tapping noise, and an almost scary grinding noise when in reverse, especially if you're on a hill.
Driver's side door- first the door latch mechenisim went out (that's over $400), now the works sometimes and sometimes goes down and won't come back up.
Also, it could use lighted mirrors (maybe other people have them- mine didn't).
The covers on the vanity mirrors break far too easily. When I bought it, they were both broken. The local dealership fixed them (after a long argument) and now one is broken again, not even a year after getting them fixed.
Location of the cigarette lighter is inconvenient. I use mine to plug in my iPod transmitter or GPS and it's too low. It wouldn't hurt to add an extra one on the side of the console or something. My old car had two up front and I didn't realize how helpful that was until I was cut down to one.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall I like my "'Nox." There are some things Chevy could do that would definitely improve upon it, though.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 18, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Power, accelerates well.
Styling.
Decent sound system.
Overall I like the Equinox.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Better turning radius.
Better gas mileage.
Better seat covers, (stain easily with only water).
Relocate the window controls to the doors.
Move the parking brake to the floor where it belongs.
Redesign the center console.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall I like the Equinox. However, Chevrolet has much work to do. The center light in the rear hatch visor was falling out so I removed the visor to reinstall the screws that were laying in the visor. Now, the weatherstrip hangs up on the body when you try to open the hatch. The visor screw holes are not such that you can adjust the visor position. The weather striping on the door windows does not adhere well nor does it even make contact with the glass. Poorly designed center console. Parking brake should be on the floor. Window buttons should be on the doors. Gas mileage not good for a vehicle of it's size. 36,000 miles and the alternator bearings are making noise. Ventilation controls do not always work correctly; when you select dash vents, air continues to blow through the defroster. Sometimes starter continues to runs briefly, after you release the key. Seats stain easily even if all that gets on them is water. Noisy brakes. Excessive road noise. Poor turning radius.

We had to have some minor body work done after it was hit while parked. While in the body shop, we were provided with a Hyundai Santa Fe. The Hyundai, with the exception of the sound system was a far superior vehicle.

We have also been provided with a Nissan Pathfinder Armada when we had to return to the body shop. Again, the Nissan was a much better vehicle.

I have said that I like the Equinox, but I would not buy another if Chevrolet did not make the changes I thought it needed to. Also if you want an Equinox LT (ours is the LS) I strongly suggest you look at the Nissans, Toyotas and Hyundais. Now that GM is owned by the government, I won't buy another GM period. I've alway been a GM person. Now? I'd buy a Ford first! However, if I want an American car, (our Equinox was built in Ontario, Canada while my Dad's '05 Nissan Titan was built in Tennessee) I'll buy a Nissan, Honda or Toyota.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
I think it is very comfortable and I love the room it has.
Contrary to what others say I think it is great on gas, to be an SUV.
I love the buttons on the steering wheel.
Five cupholders is probably my favorite things.
I love almost everything about it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
I would make the radio and temperature buttons out of something where the paint won't come off.
Install some handles above the doors.
Have duel climate control.
Make the buttons on the steering wheel so they don't stick when it is cold outside.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I love my equinox and when the time comes to trade I will get another one. All of the things like brakes and other repairs people are complaining about are common with any car and has nothing to do with the way the car was built.

In 2004 I decided it was time to trade my ten year old Monte Carlo and I began looking around for another car. I saw on the Chevy website that they were coming out with the Equinox the next March, so I decided after reading up on it that Equinox would be my next car and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made and was well worth the wait.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 13, 2015

Amanda
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Equinox?
LTZ perks, SunRoof and DVD amenities. Decent storage compartments and the simple utility of small SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Equinox?
The power band of the 4 cylinder engine is very weak or has an inadequate transmission for the AWD system. We test drove other 4-cylinder engines from other competitors and they had so much more engine power.

Fix the foul odor smell from the ventilation system. According to the Internet this has been an issue for over 10 years now and still no fix. Be glad if you own an Equinox and have not been exposed to the obnoxious odor from the vents. The Internet also shows that it has effected other GM products and even other makes and model of vehicles.

2013 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Come on GM fix the ventilation system on these models that have the odor issues. It's been a long time issue and no person(s) are dying so it's not a big deal. If someone would collect all the information about these ventilation vent odors it adds up to a very large problem. Do the right thing, fix them and please do not turn a deaf ear to your customers!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Equinox?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Equinox? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Equinox? 2009 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Equinox | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact