Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 24/34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.6L I4 103HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 12 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Aveo in the bottom 35% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
35%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Aveo Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Good gas mileage
  2. Neat exterior style
  3. Value for the money
  4. Easy to drive
  5. MP3 player
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Road noise
  2. Better sound system
  3. More comfortable seats
  4. Engine power
  5. Trunk space
Submitted Jul 11, 2015

Bernard Scott
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
Exterior design:
- attractive. This is subjective but I find the Aveo shape attractive. It is far better than the truly ugly Toyota Yaris.
- excellent fit and finish.
- very nice paint.

Interior:
- attractive well designed dash with logical placement of controls.
- easy to read, accurate analog gauges.
-comfortable seats. Once had an expensive Saturn with horrible seats.
- good head room (I'm 6'1")
- plenty of leg room
- interior space. Amazing how four adults in such a tiny car can all have enough leg and head room to be comfortable on short to medium rides.
- very nice 6 speaker stereo with aux jack
- logical easy to read and use radio and temp controls.
- Goldilocks ride - not too harsh, not too soft. Just right.
- great commuter car
- easy to park, small, excellent turning radius.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
- better gas mileage. For a small car gas mileage is only decent. I'm getting 27 mpg in combined city/highway driving with an automatic transmission.
- better tires/soundproofing. On certain surfaces stock tires generate quite a bit of road noise. Better aftermarket tires are quieter.
- improved quality control. By 2009 Chevy/Daewoo corrected the major more serious past quality issues such as the timing belts and thermostat housings. But minor usually easily fixed quality issues continue to pop up such as the driver's door lock coming loose and falling into the door (one time fix) or chrome peeling off the inside door handles ($20 each to replace).

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Despite these minor annoyances, overall the car delivers a lot of value for the money. It is unfair to compare it to stripped versions of more expensive cars in its class such as the Honda Fit. Every Honda Fit I looked at with similar options was $3,000 to $4,000 more. $4,000 pays for a lot of gas and/or necessary repairs over the years. There are many very happy Aveo owners with over 200,000 trouble free miles who still have that $4,000 in the bank.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
DIY routine maintenance (oil changes, etc.) appears to be easy and accessible, and that's a very important deciding factor for me in what I buy.

The stainless steel exhaust is much preferred for longevity. As far as I know the other competitors' models don't come with a stainless exhaust system.

The interior is well designed with logical, easy to read controls and dash layout, with analog gauges. It's very easy to get in and out of.

Driving it feels like an American car; apparently the interior was designed by Chevy.

The seats feel solid, supportive, and are very adjustable. The basic driving position seems to favor people with relatively long arms or relatively short legs. You might find yourself hold the steering wheel by those two lower spokes – but that's neither uncomfortable nor undesirable.

Seating is high up and visibility is excellent. The ride is firm, but not hard, unless you are on washboard pavement.

Acceleration is adequate - not phenomenal, but it was much better than I expected for an econo-box.

Exterior fit and finish are excellent – unexpectedly so for an inexpensive car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
The engine is a bit noisy, but the 6 speaker, standard radio (which GM typically seems to have built the entire dash around) will drown out road noise.

There is VERY little glove box and interior storage space. (And there is no center console storage bin.) On the hatchback there really is no trunk to speak of, but cargo room becomes large with the rear seats folded down. (Tip: a plastic milk crate will hook exactly onto one of three safety securing brackets at the very rear of the trunk space to provide a handy storage box to keep items in the trunk area from tossing about.)

The rear hatch has no remote release, unless you buy the power window package (which we didn't). I find it annoying to have to lock and unlock the hatch with a key from the outside, which is the only way it can be done. The non-remote, standard transponder car keys cost $150 per key to duplicate. (That's a very sophisticated and expensive approach to anti-theft for an inexpensive car.)

The Kumho tires seem noisy and are rated lousy as tires go – but they will wear out in 20K miles and then you can buy superior tires.

The plastic wheel covers are tacky looking.

Local (city) gas mileage is disappointing to many Aveo owners. For a car this small, everyone expects it to get better mpg in city use. We're getting about 24 MPG in all suburban driving. Apparently they revised the EPA city figure downward from 27 to 25 mpg.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
On cars of this size and shape the Koreans are competing with the Japanese, and GM is playing "me too" in selling Daewoo cars as Chevys. I compared the Aveo5 to the Yaris, which is almost identical in many ways. I'm a Toyota enthusiast (we also own a Toyota), but I found the Yaris' interior to be absolutely absurd, (with the speedometer in the center of the dash and virtually no gauges), so weird that I didn't like it. The Aveo seemed far more comfortable and easier to drive. The Aveo feels like a bigger car than it is. The body carriage sits very high off the ground: ground clearance is about 8", which is much more than the Honda Fit and the others that ride much lower to the pavement. I bought the Aveo for my wife for her local commuting to work without her having seen it or driven it beforehand. She absolutely LOVES the car! It's cute and it's fun to drive.

Don't judge the Aveo by what the (usually negative) "experts" reviews alone say. There appears to be more negative bias toward this car than deserved. Test drive one and compare it to the Yaris, Fit, Rio, etc. for yourself. You may not need or want certain features others may offer.

This was the right car for us, considering what we expect from it. In buying it as a leftover 2009 model we got it for less than the dealer invoice price, plus there was an additional total cash incentive of $2000 – and the total price was too good to pass up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 17, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
The seats are firm and high with good head rests if rear-ended.
Transmission is easy and is needed as a manual. Automatic one would be a slug!!
Good sound system.
Much more car than I expected for the price.
Lights are good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
Bigger wheels are needed and better quality factory tires, bald at 25,000 km.!! Not the same performance vehicle as my BMW Z4 or my 1600 cc Yamaha bike [funny-same size as Aveo engine].

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Very pleased with purchase. Check engine light came on so got service free under 3 year plan--broken thermostat. Put in storage in May and comes out in October for winter use---now has 4 rugged snow tires.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 4, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:1
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
It's really a good running car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
The car needs a different design for the rear fenders around the back doors. Rocks and gravel and sand has taken the paint off of mine and it's rusting. I have only had it 4 months and 7000 miles on it. Very disappointed. Not a good car for high speed travel, over 60. Good city driving car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2009

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
Exterior design.
Gas Mileage.
Price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?
Unstable at high speed - need better tires and suspension?

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
It woks very well as a local driving car. Trips to groceries and kids activities are great. I would not recommend this for high-speed freeway driving.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Aveo?
Small/easy to park.
Great city commuter.
Sufficient acceleration.
Good for do-it-yourself maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Aveo?
Reliability seems to be an issue for mine.
Also very noisy (from idling engine noise, to road noise to accelerating).
Mileage not great (25mpg average for my 2 hour per day commute).

Repaired under warranty: valve seating defect (new cylinder head), throttle position sensor (new throttle body), timing belt idler bearing (new timing belt idler).

Repaired outside of warranty - heavy braking vibration (new front rotors and pads at 25,000 miles), loud braking noise/vibration (new rear drums, shoes, parking brake balancer at 30,000 miles), radiator fan resistor, trans fluid flush (25,000 miles), lubricate front suspension bushings (popping noise over bumps).

2007 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Ok car - but the reliability has got me down. Have only owned it a year and a half, and the check engine light seems to come on every 6 months to identify a new serious issue - in fact, it came on while driving into work today.

Also mileage could be much better (it is ok on the highway where I get up to 35, but 25 in the city driving to work ... really???)

Doesn't hold its resale value well here, so I am stuck with it.... At least the drivetrain warranty/roadside assistance is there for 5 years.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
So far good, bought mine with 60,000 miles on it, and I drive about five hundred miles a week.

The comment about using 89 octane fuel is correct. I gained five miles per gallon, and now average 35 mpg.

I LOVE the size of the windshield........plenty of visual.

I drive about 95% highway miles and for what I need it satisfies my requirements.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
The suspension needs work, it runs tight, but after a lube there are plenty of creaks, and groans, but handles nicely.

Radio leaves a lot to be desired, but acceptable........AM reception is lacking, FM is fine.

The "baby" tires (as my wife likes to call them) seem okay, I look forward how they will stand up to highway miles.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Overall a fun little auto, with a few difficulties, but you aren't buying a Packard, or La Fayette are you?

Good solid transportation, probably the last vehicle I will own, I retire in two years:+)...........

I give it two thumbs up, since buying my first brand new Chevy in 1963 for $2800, car payments of $49 a month! I have been with Chevrolet for a long time, and Chevrolet has treated me well over the years........

Satisfied customer!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 20, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo?
Everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Chevrolet Aveo?
It's good the way it is!!

2011 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Good little car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I love my little Aveo.
It's the perfect size, seeing as how I'm short, for me,
lots of room, little to no road noise, heat and air both work fantastically, even when they're off.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
It tends to "hick up" a lot, and it doesn't speed up too well, it's more of a slow cruiser. And if you have a standard, like I do, going into 5 can be a little tricky some times.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
All in all, I love this car.
I grew up on Chevys and have never had any major problems with them.
They're fantastic, durable cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Interior is spacious, visibility is great and very easy to drive and park.
A/C and heating works much better than other cars I drove (including Chevy Impala).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
More leg room. Although I don't find it uncomfortable, but I would feel better with a bit more room.
The engine temperature gage stopped working at one point of time so the whole dash had to be replaced. I would be interested into price but thankfully it was within warranty period :).

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Excellent car. I like it very much. Other than the engine temperature gage I did not have any problems with it. I would consider buying it again if in market for a car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Aveo? 2009 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Aveo | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact