Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 11-15/15-21 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.3L V8 320HP
5.3L V8 310HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche in the bottom 34% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
34%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Avalanche Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Versatility and features
  2. Looks
  3. Powerful engine performance
  4. Solid fit and finish
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Torque and low RPM performance
  2. Better transmission
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More storage spaces
  5. Remote start range
Submitted Apr 14, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
I like all of my Avalanche.
Pick up.
Locking tail gate.
Remote start.
Back up camera.
Covered bed.
Sat. phone.
GPS.
OnStar.
Bluetooth.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Fuel MPG. Come on Chevy, let's work on it. You can do it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 12, 2009

Tom Broadbent
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Versatility, and smooth ride for a Pick Up type vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Remote Start will not activate the Heater on Manual Mode, only Auto Mode.
Result is Double the Idle/Running time to Defrost my windows in order to safely Drive away.
I asked GM to re-program the BCM, so that I can choose manual mode and save on my Gas bill, and the ENVIRONMENT.
I have only received an offer for a Free Oil change to off set my discontent.
So now I have to go out into the Cold, put the Key in the ignition to start and allow for manual Defrosting mode.
{So I ask,,, Why do I need a GM Remote Start ??}
I was sternly warned not to put an after market remote start system in, because it could void my warranty.
Sincerely,
Frozen Cold In Alberta.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 22, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Its feature is nice. Active Fuel Management system. Avalanche layout is also good like Four-Wheel-Drive or an All-Wheel-Drive, 4 to 6 passenger, four-door truck. Some of the accessories include, backup camera, dual-zone climate control, navigational system, a remote starting system, rain-sensing wipers. In terms of performance it's good, 10-way adjustable power seats. Directions and Connections plan is free of cost for one year.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 10, 2009
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
All around fit , feel and ride.
Coming from an 01 excab pick-up, love the four doors and locking tailgate.
If I keep my foot out of it, 16-16.5 MPG all around driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Hate the transmission. Pulling out of a side street into traffic, it will and has shifted two gears leaving you way outside the power band after the turn. Love the shifts using the Tow/hal switch but not the down shifts or not having overdrive. It's hard to find the 310hp.
Change the shift points to hold it in 1st and 2nd longer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 6, 2016
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The Avalanche is an excellent truck, it's the first truck I've ever personally owned and I think I've made the perfect choice. With its very comfortable and drives incredibly well and easy to maneuver around town, especially for a truck. I don't spend a lot of time hauling stuff so the short box is nice, but what's even nicer is the ability to make it into a long box when I need to, along with having the 3 piece hard top to keep out weather and thieves

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The biggest complaint I have about the Avalanche is the gas mileage, 13-14 in town and 17 to 18 on the high, but what can you expect? It weighs nearly 6000 pounds and only has a 5.3 liter in it. Another problem I have is a relatively low payload capacity of only about 1400 pounds, although for short trip it shouldn't be too bad to overload this slightly, I've had about 1700 in there before with no noticeable damage.

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
The Avalanche is an excellent vehicle, it's comfortable and has a very nice interior. It has a nice towing capacity and drives amazingly. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a useful truck that doesn't always need a long box.


Rate this review:
1
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 27, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
It's a shame it's being taken out of production now, especially when it stands alone in the pickup/suv market. It's well built, versatile, and one of the most safe trucks on the market. Not any other vehicle made fits the overall usefulness of this truck.

The ride is as good as you can get in any SUV. Seats 4 to 5 adults with comfort. Has the luxury of an Escalade, and had the unmatched cargo space that is easily transformed from a safe travel vehicle a place to put your luggage out of site locked up out of the weather and away from theft.

Easily converted to a unit that will hall full 4 x 8 sheets of plywood and still not be exposed to the weather. Or in two minutes, remove the top from the bed and haul a refrigerator or bed. At the same time, tow a large trailer like no car/van can do. All the while looking sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
One thing I have always wished is for more power with better fuel economy. But don't we always want more for less.

Consider this. Not one vehicle out there provides a complete package for the family, young or old. This one truck may not get 25 miles / gal., but this one vehicle serves the purpose of 3, therefore, not bad when you consider that you will only need this one truck for all of your needs.

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Though this truck is being discontinued, it is worth your time to consider getting one now. GM had to cut models fell through the cracks. However having put over 300,000 miles of the past two Avalanche trucks I owned. I went to purchase another top of the line model last month while the selection was still available.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2013

Don Nesbitt
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I am extremely pleased with my 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche and only wished the gas mileage was better. The first trip was 20.3 MPG Canadian. I recognize the vehicle was new. I enjoyed driving it on the highway more than my 2013 Lexus RX350. The vehicle was very tight and comfortable to ride in. I believe I made a good decision in purchasing the Avalanche. Entry and exit were very comfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 12, 2009

facebook user
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?
4 wheel drive

Cons: How would you improve your 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Breaks are screwed up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the look i have red. i like the ride it is grate .this is my fist truck thanks chevy/

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
i added my on litte flava.i wish u could see it ladies love it

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I love my truck HELLOW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
style ride

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
more mpg

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
nice ride, good off road, good on beach, nice tow veh.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche? 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact