Log in
5.7 million people served. 6,143 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Buick LaCrosse Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Buick LaCrosse

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 16-17/24-28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.8L V6 200HP
5.3L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Buick LaCrosse in the bottom 50% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Buick LaCrosse in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Buick LaCrosse also consider:
2009 Buick LaCrosse Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Buick LaCrosse
  1. Quiet ride
  2. Handling
  3. V6 3800 engine
  4. Excellent highway MPG
  5. Remote starter
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Buick LaCrosse
  1. Rear seat leg room
  2. Reliability
  3. Peeling paint
  4. Cup holder location
  5. Smoother transmission
Submitted Feb 15, 2013
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Buick LaCrosse?
Sleek.
Loaded.
Nice ride.
Stylish.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Buick LaCrosse?
Make it STOP STALLING ALL THE TIME.

2009 Buick LaCrosse Review:
I bought this car new, and have kept it very well-maintained. In June of 2010 it started shutting down - no warning, no pattern, just shuts off. Had it to the original dealer many, many times, several independent garages, a second GM dealer several times, and filed a lemon lawsuit (which of course, I lost). No one can fix this, but it happens all the time, no matter what speed, weather, gas.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 20, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Buick LaCrosse?
I like my Buick lacrosse except had problems with stalling and loosing power. This happen to me in three occasions once on the hwy. Has anybody else have same problem?

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Buick LaCrosse?
Once this problem is solved, I would not change anything about it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 19, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Great Interior.
Great styling.
Heads-Up Display.
Much better than expected stereo.
Comfortable leather seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
The control to move the seat back to its position (when using easy exit) is in the door handle and doesn't alway work unless you pull the handle really hard.

No bluetooth phonebook, but dealer says there will be a software update to fix that.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
After having my Lacrosse CXS for a week, I still love it. Yes, it has a blind spot, but not too much worse than other cars I have had, and certainly not enough for me to want anything else.

I have a long commute and the seats are comfortable. The hard drive for music is great. The nav is great, but it should have a qwerty keyboard for input instead of alpha order.

It is much more responsive than I expected. People wrote that it doesn't downshift quick enough, but I haven't noticed that, it has plenty of power whenever I need it.

The cooled seats actually work, had them in other cars and they did nothing.

The steering is also much better than I was led to believe. Easy to steer but much less over-powered than the Lexus.

I'm driving it to Vegas (from CA) tomorrow so that will be a good test and I'll get to try out the cruise control for the first time. Any questions from potential buyers, feel free to ask.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 20, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Very stylish with a lot of pick up and go.
Comfort and amenities.
Never had a car with HUD but but now I'm not sure I can ever do without it. It is the coolest thing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
XM/Navigation resets at least 4 times a week. I loose all my XM presets, the clock resets for January 1, 2006 but then recalibrates but is 5 hours fast; I can't erase any of the trips in the Navigation system nor can I add anything to my address book. I get the "we did some tests but couldn't find anything wrong" from the dealer.

Voice recognition system is totally useless...none of the authorized commands seem to be understood.

Blind spot is no joke. I think it is just a matter of time before I pull out in front of someone.

It is easier to open the trunk with the key fob than it is to use the hands free.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Despite the issues, I still love this car. I'd recommend it to anyone even after 2 years. Hopefully issues are being addressed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
The car is lovely, super comfortable, and extremely stylish both inside and out. Love the blue lights at night. They simply did a terrific job with the entire look.

We have the biggest engine and most of the add on features. We did buy the nav, and I've not had problems with anything to do with it, other than the interface is clugy. But I love having the rear view mirror. Really encourage if you're on the fence, to get that. I also have the blind spot detection which I love.

However...

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Three times now, the electronics have "rebooted" meaning the lights flash, and the dials go to zero and back up and the display runs through its start routine, as though you're just starting the car. I didn't lose power as some have noted, but it was in 5 lanes of interstate traffic on all three occasions and freaked me out. Of course the dealer could find nothing wrong - well, ma'am, we've not heard of that before. I also get false indicators where it will tell me something needs to be looked at, but then when I turn the car off and back on, the warning is gone. So, the electronics are flawed.

Second, like others are reporting, there are SERIOUS issues in shifting and acceleration. The person who noted 3 seconds sometimes to shift when trying to accelerate is correct. What's the purpose of the big engine if you can't go when you need to go. We've also experienced a loss of power momentarily when going slow around a corner near our house, so I guess I have had power issues, but it wasn't coincided with the electronics and it didn't die, just sputtered.

I agree the trunk latch is goofy. You slide your hand underneath until you hit the sweet spot to make it open.

Also, the location for the seat memory, is about 2 inches below the seat itself, so when you're getting out, it's easy to hit those buttons which resets the memory.

I can live with the little problems, and I do love the car, but the electronics and mechanics worry me a lot. I've had it less than 2 years and worry what will happen with time.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Beautiful car with issues.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 6, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I have to tell the truth, if Ford had not cancelled the Grand Marquis I probably wouldn't have introduced myself to my LaCrosse....but, they did, and I did....and I haven't looked back.

My Buick is great, from its ride, to handling, to comfort, to its get-up-and-go V6, and the 3.0 litre engine, it's pleasing me in many ways....and the RED I chose gets raves.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
My biggest concern about the car is its blind spots... especially the left front windshield post... don't know why they had to make it so wide... it sits there and makes a great blocker of my view at the most importune times.... same with the other side, I have to turn my head this way and that to avoid possible dangers.

One other complaint..... I have the beginnings of a pain in the left hip, when exiting the car that hard surface the seat is affixed to just grates on my left side. I realize the controls for the seat have to be in such a surface but why not bring the seat over to the edge and give the material some thickness to absorb the driver's weight.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
I rate my Buick high....but then, my last three Grand Marquis's also made me one proud owner. Maybe the Buick will grow on me and Ford can go whistle Dixie before I buy another of their brand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I have owned the 2010 Buick LaCrosse CX for three months now and I like the following:
- smooth ride
- XM Satellite Radio
- interior very roomy
- I like the way the steering handles while turning corners.
- Console easy to understand.
- Quiet cabin
- Onstar is great. Gives an update of my vehicle maintenance i.e. tire pressure, oil changes, battery life. The navigation through Onstar is great!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I would improve this vehicle in the following ways:
- The trunk fixture are of poor quality. It is just hard plastic. When I brought it home the first time the trunk use to lift automatically when I pressed the button on my key. It doesn't do that anymore. Per the Service Department, they said they do not know why it is doing that and will order a part for it. It has been almost two weeks and no parts have come in yet. No follow-up calls from Service Department or nothing. The Service Department need training in customer satisfaction.
- There is a major blind side to this vehicle that I almost had an accident the first time I drove it.
- The black rubber or lining is not adhering on the corner at the bottom of the doors.
- Gas mileage is not that good, just fair.
- No Bluetooth.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
My teenage daughters loves the style of this vehicle and how it drives. So I would say this car does appeal to younger drivers. It looks just like a Lexus. Overall, it is a great car thus far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Buick LaCrosse?
Low profile.
Driver controls in close reach.
Outer style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Buick LaCrosse?
I'm on my second Lacrosse and I love it, but the car's tranny has been unreliable in both of my cars.
The wheel bearings constantly need to be replaced and there are problems with the radiator that needs to be serviced every other week because the heat stops working.
The car could use an RDS as well and a 6spd tranny. Once a Nissan Murano outperformed this car on the expressway--that was a double black-eye on GM's face and mine.
Heat in the back seat for the kids would be good, too.
Perhaps better fuel economy could help the wallet for a 3.6 sedan (because of wheel bearings that keep going out).
My door recently stopped closing shut (WTF, right).

2006 Buick LaCrosse Review:
I love the car but GM needs to go back to the drawing board and come up with something that can actually compete with a German/Japanese/Korean sedan. They've got two years to stack reliability and performance on this car.

I love the styling of the car--they should've left this alone on the '10 LaCrosse. I hope the new one is better but I think I will wait to see what people say before I buy the new model LaCrosse.

I would not recommend this model to someone who is looking for a reliable car--you're better off getting a BMW, Mercedes, Lexus, or Acura.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Buick LaCrosse?
Great design lines. Powerful, with V-8,handles well, amenities such as remote start, lumbar support, and standard heated seats are great. I have the Super version.
Horsepower, refined for an American made automobile.
Standard heated seats, remote start standard, review mirror adjusts for night driving, heated rear view mirrors.
The wheels are larger than other Buicks, as are front brakes.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Buick LaCrosse?
Add blue tooth, provide better air vents to back seat area, provide data as to when the engine goes from 8 cylinder to 4 cylinder.
Poor gas mileage in town.

2008 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Looks great, good paint, smooth ride, strong motor, handles well. Very little body roll.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Buick LaCrosse?
impressive styling and exceptional ride and comfort. 4.6 DOHC provides plenty of power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Buick LaCrosse?
Improve quality of some of the interior parts. Use real wood trim instead of the cheap plastic. Chrome exhaust tips from the factory on the CXS. Blue tooth technology. Make the car rear wheel drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Buick LaCrosse Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Buick LaCrosse?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Buick LaCrosse? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Buick LaCrosse? 2009 Buick LaCrosse Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Buick Model Lineup:
2009 Enclave
2009 LaCrosse
2009 Lucerne
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Buick LaCrosse | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise