Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Yaris Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2008 Toyota Yaris

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 29/35-36 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.5L I4 106HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 11 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Toyota Yaris in the bottom 24% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
24%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Toyota Yaris in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Toyota Yaris also consider:
2008 Toyota Yaris Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Toyota Yaris
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Cute exterior design
  3. Plenty of head room
  4. Nimble handling
  5. Flat folding seats
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Toyota Yaris
  1. More power
  2. Sportier suspension
  3. More comfortable back seats
  4. More airbags
  5. Better factory tires
Submitted Mar 13, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Good gas mileage.
Nimble handling.
Responsive off the line compared to my 92 Camry.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
While the price tag and fuel economy offered by the Toyota Yaris may be very attractive, the car itself is quite dangerous. The '07-'08 four door model only received a three star NHTSA rating for side-crash tests as well as a poor rating from the IIHS. To make things even more dangerous, the car handles very poorly in emergency situations as the car is quite tail-happy causing drivers to easily lose control of the vehicle.
*The '08-'09 models now come standard with side impact airbags and have now receive a good rating.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
Very sparse interior, bleak is a good word for it, the plastics look cheap and scratch easily and though the steering wheel does not telescope, I found it just fine.
Though not fond of the center dash, it is ok. I wish the fuel gauge was closer to me though.
Seats definitely not as comfortable as my aged Camry, not comfortable on long trips.
Interior noise no big deal on the highway.
Gets pricey if you wanted certain options that are standard on other models.
The fact the base model doesn't even come with a stock back wiper is a deliberate attempt to force you trade up to a more expensive model.
If you were to get the rs you have spent as much, very close the cost of a compact car, one class above it. Simply put the Yaris is over priced when you add on the features.
The abs harness and sensor corrode over (2 each of them) in bad winter snow and salt conditions and will always need to be replaced .$450 a side.
The car as never been approved by Consumer Reports because of its poor accident avoidance rating -- too tail happy to be safe, heaven forbid I have to avoid a deer on the highway late at night with it, an easy task for my old 85 prelude to dispatch with (done it before, even took the long way around the deer because I was confident in the car's handling on a seconds notice ).
But it is a Toyota and should last for years. You can get all the features you like much cheaper by buying used.
It has a chain instead of a timing belt so less maintenance.
15 inch wheels are a must, the 14's don't have enough grip in rain in cornering.
Why do both back seats fold down only on the r.s. model only ?
09 and 10 Yaris hatchbacks come stock with 15 inch wheels on all models.
All models 06 -08 only the r.s. model has 15 inch wheels
I don't like the fact I can't rely on the nimble handling of the Yaris to get me out of trouble because of the tail wag it can induce, I'll just have to rely on my reflexes to get me out of the 1st possible accident when it occurs to find myself having to avoid another due to tail wag.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 21, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Awesome gas mileage.
Great price.
Comfortable even if you're fairly tall.
Smooth ride.
Great in snow.
Nice handling.
A perfect commuter and small family car!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
I would have preferred to be able to get side curtain airbags and ABS even though I did not want power windows and locks (I am awful about locking myself out of the car while it's running so I hate power locks.) But I can live without the ABS so I still love this car.

The only other thing that's not perfect is that on the interstate you can hear more outside noise than I like but it's not too bad- just not total silence.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
I do A LOT of driving and I absolutely love this car. It's roomy and comfortable, and it still gets the absolute best mileage in it's class.

You also get a lot for the price, which is good because I put so many miles on cars that I can't keep them forever so it's nice to have a reliable car that isn't a huge investment.

It's a nice looking car and seems to be very sturdy. I've had it for two years and have put 200k miles on it and have not had a single issue, not even any rust which is surprising with all the salt on the roads. It even drives very well in snow and other unpleasant conditions.

By the way, to the person whose car spun around- Get off your phone and pay attention to the road! Then you won't have any issues.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 18, 2014

Jeff Bates
Performance:2
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
I think it has a lot of zip for a small car.
Not a bad stereo for this type of car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Get rid of it, never buy a Toyota again, and spread the word to everyone I can.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
Let me start with I was looking to buy a new small commuter car in 2008. I bought a 2008 4 door Yaris with power package. Where should I start. The drivers side rug hook broke 3 times and finally I was told they did not know how to fix it. Then my A/C recirc knob was stuck. When I went in I was told by the dealer that if involved a plastic part it was not included in the extended 100,000 mile warranty I purchased. I informed them that this plastic knob was a part of the A/C system for its function so it had to be fixed. I had to call a complaint line to get it fixed. I also noticed immediately that the rear drum/e-brake made a clunk sound when you went in reverse. I was told this is normal. I work in an automotive assembly plant and know a lot of things about cars. I then noticed the ABS pump would cycle on and off for no reason. I was told this was normal. Oh by the way I no longer have anti-lock brakes. I had two serious accidents and a near one near miss on slick surfaces due to the lack of the anti-lock brakes. At 40,000 the alternator went out. At 50,000 the water pump went out. Now for the good old AC system again. I can not get the AC to circulate (knobs were OK). Took it to the dealer and was told the cable inside the AC had snapped, major repair. It then did the exact same thing 6 months later. Here is the insult to injury. Before I took my car into the dealer, I cleaned and detailed the inside like you would not believe. My car was a bit messy so I was embarrassed. I washed and vacuumed every square inch of that car. The AC cable require a removal of the instrument panel. When I get my car back the lower trim inside just below the glove box was cracked. I complained and was told that is what the technician already found before his repair. What are you going to do? The fuel gauge no longer works. At about 1/4 of a tank you run, I know. Then the kick panel as you come in the drivers door came off and the drivers side A pillar cover came off.
As far as design; are you kidding me? They put hard unforgiving seats that was made to be a commuter type car. And why and the heck would you put the drink holder right in from of the vent on each side of the instrument panel. If I drink coffee in the summer I cools very nicely if I run the air conditioner. If I drink a soda in the winter it becomes very warm. And am at 123,000 and just placed the starter. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 8, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Roomy
Zippy with manual transmission
Easy to handle
Great looks
Great gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
A little noisy but as mentioned already, a little music remedies that issue

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
I love this car! Comfortable, great pickup with manual transmission, and to be redundant, excellent gas mileage. This car heats quickly for winter driving and cools quickly for summer driving. I am very satisfied with the performance and handling around turns and mobility in small spaces. My boyfriend is just as comfy as I am (I am 5'1 110lbs, he is 5'10 260lbs).


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 28, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
The mileage.
Interior roomy.
Great features such as auxiliary jack for mp3.
Fold down seats in back.
Great body shape.
Love the dash in middle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Little sway in the ice and snow.
No cruise control feature.
Noise on freeway.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
I have had my car for almost three years - bought it new for 16,49.99 cash.
It had many of the upgrade features but no cruise control. I miss that. But I would not trade my car for any other. It is great, comfortable inside, great seats for road trips, easy to handle and great mileage.
If you're looking for a economic and easy to drive car, buy one of these.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
For a small car you can put a six footer in the back seat with comfort.

I like the gas mileage and the get up and go it has for a small motor.

I took it over the road on a 450 mile trip with my adult daughter. She was very surprised at the way it handled on the highway and how comfortable it was.

I think this is a good value in a small car. The hatch back is very nice for getting stuff in and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
I got all the options offered, but cruse control was not offered and I might get an after market put on.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
Overall I have been impressed with the gas mileage. The car has more than met my expectations.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 31, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Gas mileage.
Handling.
Size.
Interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
Less road noise.

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
I bought my 2008 Toyota Yaris hatchback six months ago (certified used).

I absolutely love it. It's great on gas (I sometimes get 45-50 miles to one bar of gas), easy to park and actually picks up quicker than I thought when getting on highways and switching lanes. I also have no problem passing people.

The road noise is a little bothersome, but a little music will fix that.

I love the interior. It's surprisingly a lot roomier than I expected. I've tried out the back seats a couple of times and there's ample space for passengers. The hatch is also quite spacious for a little car.

I haven't had any problems with my Yaris and I get compliments all of the time. If you're looking for a great first car or commuting car, look into the Yaris.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 24, 2009

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris?
reasonable price and good mileage

2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
I had bad experience with toyota yaris 2008. My car spun 3-4 times and went off the road. The dealer and service people could not find the reason for it. While my car was spinning my two tires got punctured and one rim broke. I am scared to drive this car. Customer service also could not help me in this and all the expense has come on me only. Everybody is washing their hands off.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 20, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Yaris?
Everything in the most part.
Great gas mileage.
Had it for 1 1/2 yrs, no problems at all.
One of my favorite cars soooo far.
The Interior is nice compared to some other new make/models.
Easy to find a good small parking.
I have everything power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Yaris?
It does tend to shake if you're on a highway going over 70mph.
No sunroof.
Would like it to show est miles left on the gas.
But other than that, it's perfect.

2007 Toyota Yaris Review:
I recommended to anyone, good first car, and for small families.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 2, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Yaris?
Everything!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Yaris?
I wounldn't it's perfect!

2007 Toyota Yaris Review:
I Love everything about the Yaris! This car is one awesome car. Its great on gas milage, so easy to do u turns!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Yaris Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Toyota Yaris?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Yaris? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Yaris? 2008 Toyota Yaris Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Toyota Model Lineup:
2008 4Runner
2008 Avalon
2008 Camry
2008 Camry Hybrid
2008 Camry Solara
2008 Corolla
2008 FJ Cruiser
2008 Highlander
2008 Highlander Hybrid
2008 Land Cruiser
2008 Matrix
2008 Prius
2008 RAV4
2008 Sequoia
2008 Sienna
2008 Tacoma
2008 Tundra
2008 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Toyota Yaris | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact