Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Toyota Prius

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 48/45 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.5L I4 110HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 67 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Toyota Prius in the top 43% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
57%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Toyota Prius in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Toyota Prius also consider:
2008 Toyota Prius Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Toyota Prius
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Spacious interior room
  3. Fun to drive
  4. Cargo space
  5. Value
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Toyota Prius
  1. Lumbar support
  2. Improved upholstery
  3. Simplify display
  4. OnStar-like system
  5. More adjustable front seats
Submitted Feb 11, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
I like the gas mileage and love the back-up camera.
The size is nice, and access to the back end of the car is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
1) Fix the brakes.
2) Redesign the steering.
3) Extend the upper lip of the dashboard to shield the light.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
1) I have a 2008 Prius, and can easily recreate the braking problem on the street where I live. It's very consistent, where the car begins to skate when the brake is applied on a washboard/potholed road.
2) The Prius also has steering issues, where the hyper-sensitive steering constitutes an extreme hazard in a mild wind gust, in a rutted road situation, or any time "over-correcting" might come into play.
3) Further, there is a very dangerous reflection on the inside of the windshield when driving on a dark road at night; it is a green line that goes straight across my line of vision. It's very distracting.

Toyota knows about these things. I'm waiting for my car to be recalled. I'd get rid of it in a heartbeat if I could get a fair price for it. This is a huge purchase for me and one that I made very carefully. I feel totally burned by Toyota. I would not let anyone I cared about buy one of these.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 10, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
MPG
Comfort
HYBRID System
Touch Display
Steering Wheel Controls
Cargo Space

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Poor Tire Wear
Small Gas Tank
Better Quality Interior (Materials)
Better Location of AUX Connection
Cruise Control Resume

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Very reliable. Great MPG even when not focusing on getting better MPG. I carry two bikes on the roof (THULE) at times, and I still get 45 plus MPG. Surprising power at highway speed. The rear hatch doesn't always latch correctly. It's been aligned, but it still has issues unless it's firmly closed. Tire wear could be better. Better quality materials for the dash and other parts of the interior would make it easier to keep looking new. Overall the car is better than I expected. very roomy, which was a surprise.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Love the gas mileage and low fuel costs!
Very Comfortable on long trips for my 6 ft 5 inch frame.
Very quiet! I can hold Blue Tooth Cell phone conversations at highway speed.
I like the fold down rear seats for cargo. I've even carried a 9 ft long banana board. (No front seat passenger of course) - Honda Civic Hybrid does not have fold down seats.
Love the small car maneuverability after years of driving a Dodge Grand
Caravan. Very quick steering and short turn radius.
Love the styling - except for the front end which looks 'Mickey Mouse'. Great aerodynamics though! Thats what really counts.
Very good passing acceleration on Highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
1 - Improve the gas gauge - Make it larger and with eye catching warning when low fuel is sensed.
2 - Add engine gauges - RPM, Temp, Oil Pressure.
3 - Allow the the EV button on American models. Many times I need to repark the car in driveway and engine doesn't need to fire up then.
4 - Relocate rear view mirror so it doesn't block view of tall drivers.
5 - Off-the-line acceleration is poor until the engine powers up. Never try to beat traffic from a standing start!

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Bought a 2008 Prius about a year ago and have driven close to 18000 reliable miles. I average 47-49 MPG usually. About 5mpg less in rainy weather. Last summer I built up a box trailer using a Habor freight 1100 lb GW chassis. With load and cargo box I was pulling 750 lbs. Traveled from Calif to Indiana & return - 5000 miles at 36mph average. No probs except for the time I ran it out of gas. Power ramped down and when I pulled over every light on dash lit up like an XMAS tree! Thought I had ruined it. On restarting the engine came on and we were able to return to a gas station a few miles back at 45-50 mph. This is an undocumented feature of the Prius. Now I religiously monitor the fuel gauge and refuel when it gets down to 3 of 10 bars! Dealer said it's very expensive to completely run dry as the fuel pump is ruined and very expensive!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 11, 2012
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
The car if very comfortable! That is the only positive thing I have to say about the 2008 Toyota Prius Touring Model.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
This car brakes down all the time. The hybrid battery drains to near dead when going up hills, running the AC when you are not moving and if there are not enough down hill areas to charge it. When the battery is drained the car loses acceleration ability and the interior electronic components go out. I have got this looked at through 3 Toyota dealerships and I have talked to corporate about it. They all seem to think that because they cant get a diagnostic code of an error, that the car must be fine!!

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Stay away from this car!!! Toyota apparently does not know enough about their own hybrid car to fix the problems. Very costly and not worth it!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 16, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
We went from driving a Honda Odyssey to a Prius in 2008. We liked the Odyssey very much but decided our daughter who has four children needed it more that we did and so we decided to try the Prius.

We are retired and wanted better gas mileage. We average 50 mpg overall driving but driving to run errands which requires stopping and starting drops the mpg about 2 miles per gallon.

Had to replace the tires at about 40,00 miles.

Had one major problem on a trip to Florida. After driving there the next morning when my husband started the car, fuel poured out under the car. Our son in law who was standing near by saw the fuel pouring out and warned my husband. After cutting off the car he got under the car and put the fuel ine back together and then we took it to the Toyota dealer who supposedly fixed it. After returning home our local Toyota dealer ordered the correct part and it has not given us anymore trouble. Needless to say, I have them check it everytime I go in for an oil change. Has anyone else had this problem? Sometimes I think the mechanic who put on our new tires may have caused the problem but we will never know.

Have 62,000 miles on our Prius and hope it keeps on keeping on. As of now I plan to replace it later on.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Better car upholstery material. Ours is tan and shows dirt on the armrests and console. Maybe a subtle design instead of solid color. Our car is blue and we couldn't get a different color of fabric at the time of purchase.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Love the gas mileage. It is comfortable with plenty of leg and head room. My husband has had 2 knee replacements but this car works fine for him. Before we always bought a van. Prius sits up high enough that getting in and out of the car is no problem. Also like the fold down seats. Makes for more room when you need it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 7, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Fuel consumption is excellent, getting roughly 45-50 in the city, highway is about 40 at 75mph..

Plenty of cabin room even with the front seats all the way back, very easy to drive..

Brakes are the best I've experienced in any car to date.

Sound system is top of the line, doesn't vibrate the speakers at all..

Mine is fully loaded with sat-nav, and HID lights.. Excellent vehicle so far..good tyre wear, I've put 30000 on mine and they don't need replacing yet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Annoying rattle coming from the driver's seat belt anchor in the door pillar, by my ear.

Rear view mirror need better repositioning for tall drivers.
Rear spoiler could be relocated to the roof, as, rear view is bad with the spoiler in the way.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
All round an excellent vehicle to purchase used, just make sure the batteries are ok.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 15, 2011

Osc
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Gas Mileage.
Smooth ride.
Quiet engine.
Nice room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Gauges.
Over sensitive steering system.
Braking system.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
I purchased my Prius used and have been very impressed with the performance, although the steering and braking systems are very sensitive. I used to get 7 miles per gallon with my Truck and now get 45 with my Prius. Nice 17" rims and a window tint do wonders for the look! Bought these with all the money I saved in Gas the first month!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 8, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:1
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Great driving car, with great gas mileage and plenty of room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
This may be one of the most disgusting looking vehicles ever! The exterior of the car looks like a train wreck...thank goodness the interior and engine pick up the slack!

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
I have been very surprised by the Prius...it rides much better than I thought it would, and has much more room than expected. The gas mileage has been fine (mid-high 40's) and overall I have been very pleased. I would change the exterior design for the upcoming years so that it wouldn't prompt people to throw up in their mouthes, or near the vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 3, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Roomy.
Gas mileage avg 38 to 46mpg.
Rear Windows roll all the way down.
Oil change is a breeze with great accessibility.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
No need for annoying beep "inside" the car; might be good for the exterior to warn others.
Bright dash lights make night visibility terrible.
Front and rear blind spots.
Battery runs dead quickly when running ac.
Poor braking in rain and bumpy roads or pot holes.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Overall there are good features but a lot of simple improvements need to be made. I'm disappointed in how cheaply slopped together the car is...it would be a great family car if more sturdy parts were used and safety was a top priority.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
I like the way it drives effort free. It is comfortable and very quiet.
Of course, the best feature is the gas mileage.
I bought it used, I've had it for 2 months and I am getting 48mpg average.
Another great feature is the sound is very pleasing, I can listen to hard rock and get the bass and also get the separation when listening to classical music.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Not really sure, I suppose a more flashy dash with some woodgrain.

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
I love it overall.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Toyota Prius?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius? 2008 Toyota Prius Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Toyota Model Lineup:
2008 4Runner
2008 Avalon
2008 Camry
2008 Camry Hybrid
2008 Camry Solara
2008 Corolla
2008 FJ Cruiser
2008 Highlander
2008 Highlander Hybrid
2008 Land Cruiser
2008 Matrix
2008 Prius
2008 RAV4
2008 Sequoia
2008 Sienna
2008 Tacoma
2008 Tundra
2008 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Toyota Prius | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact