Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Toyota Matrix

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 25-26/31-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 126HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Toyota Matrix in the bottom 45% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
45%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Toyota Matrix in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Toyota Matrix also consider:
2008 Toyota Matrix Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Toyota Matrix
  1. Folding seats
  2. Fuel economy
  3. All around airbags
  4. High seating
  5. Cargo area with tie down hooks
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Toyota Matrix
  1. Bigger side mirrors
  2. Better cargo cover
  3. More power
  4. Wider sunvisors
  5. Standard power mirrors
Submitted Dec 16, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Exterior appeal.
Hatchback with operable window.
Cargo area.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Needs larger side/rear mirrors.
Blind spots sides/rear (still a problem in 2010 model).
Terrible seats cause lumbar/sciatic injury (still a problem in 2010 model).
Rattles, road noise too loud.

2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
I purchased this vehicle with 28k miles used. Good price point. Within 3,000 miles of driving, my back required medical treatment! Toyota Corporation (Toyota.com) refused to acknowledge the blind spot issues or the uncomfortable seats. Poor customer service from Toyota Corporation and Dallas area dealership to remedy these problems (I didn't even ask them to pay for remedy, just to recommend remedies)!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 8, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Comfortable on long rides, decent gas mileage, economical and easy to drive. Great crossover. Picked up a small chest freezer and brought it home--saved me $40.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Roof Rack, definitely. I'm also not a fan of the aerial in the middle of the roof--gets in the way of the kayak/canoe.

2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
We've had the Matrix for 2 years now and find it to be an outstanding car. Drove it from WI through the Rockies in December, didn't end up in a ditch and didn't feel very stiff getting in and out of the car. An easy long-distance ride.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 14, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
great substitute for a
SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
more thigh support (longer)

2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
In today's world situation, this is the right car. The more I use the car, the more I like it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 25, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Looks, rides nice and a lot of car for not a lot of money.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix?
Needs factory roof rack, needs more storage up front... I would have bigger sun visors... have tinted windows like some of the other vehicles that Toyota has. We have a Sienna in the family and it came standard with tinted windows.

2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
I had looked at the Subaru Impreza, the Nissan Versa, the Scion XB and the Matrix. Got the best price on the Matrix and ultimately the other decider was the looks of the car. I wanted a vehicle that served multiple purposes, a vehicle that could haul stuff and a vehicle that was sporty.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 5, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
The 1.8 L fwd automatic is great on gas.
Lots of interior room especially with the rear seats folding down.
Low maintenance, high reliability.
I love the way the car looks inside and out. Much nicer looking then the Corolla.
I love the hatchback.
Love the power locks and huge glove box.
Great value for the price.
Heater is great and defrosts windows and gets you in the comfort zone quickly.
Oil only needs to be changed every 6 months or 8000 km.
I really like the big storage box located between the driver and passenger.
Great functional car for point A to point B driving.
Great cargo space.
Probably the nicest looking wagon ever made.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
Lots of road noise. You can feel every little bump in the road which I guess you would expect from such a small car.
The seat belt alarm is very annoying.
Poor armrests or lack of a middle armrest.
Cheap front cup holders.
Power window switch hurts your fingers.
Cheap plastic interior and it marks up easily.
Stereo sounds too bassy and the speakers buzz and rattle.
Engine noise.
Seats could be more comfortable.
Lots of small chips in the paint.
A little bit under powered but makes up for it in gas mileage.
Doors sound cheap and tinny when closing.
Lots of blind spots especially in the back with the tiny back window.
I'm a little concerned about the transmission... passenger could easily bump it sending it into another gear.
Not really fun or inspiring to drive.

2010 Toyota Matrix Review:
It's a nice looking, reliable, functional car that is good on gas and has great cargo space. If you can live with the noise and a bit of a bumpy ride with a few blind spots, it is a great car for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Utility is great, folding front seat.
It has the shortest turning radius in its class so it's easy to park.
Gas mileage is great now, but not at first. Gas mileage gets better after engine & transmission are broken in around 15 - 20K.
It has plenty of head room for four six foot adults.
It's easy to work on and repair which shows good engineering.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I would like a higher center console that blends into dash (i.e. the 2010 Matrix).
The addition of two DC outlets in the rear storage compartment.
Maybe a splash of color the the interior.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
Overall the Matrix is a wonderful little economy car that reaches that good blend between function and fun.

I had considered the Ford Escape/Mazda Tribute but found they ride firmer more like trucks. And the gas mileage for both wasn't close to the Matrix.

I traded in my Ford Explorer for the Matrix and I love it. I now have 48K on my Matrix and haven't had any problems with it (which is more than I can say about other new cars I have purchased in the past). With regular maintenance, most of which I do, I see no problem with getting 150 - 200k out of this car easy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 22, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
I find that TOYOTA(Cambridge) makes a great car.
I love everything about it....refined looks inside and out.
Excellent fit and finish throughout.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
The so called bag hooks in the rear are basically useless.

2013 Toyota Matrix Review:
This is my second Toyota...the1st being a 2003 corolla le which in 10 years never even had a burnt out light bulb. So I didn't hesitate to go with a Matrix...you just can't go wrong with a Toyota.


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 19, 2013

Tyrone
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
It drives smooth for an econo box.
Engine fairly quiet after you get it up to your speed, solid feel, smooth transmission.
Why mess with a good thing, great fuel economy, not as good as my Yards, but makes up for it with space and comfort on long runs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Matrix?
Improving would mean adding more weight, which defeats the purpose and the goal of the vehicle to begin with. cant have it all.

If you want a LEXUS buy a Lexus. I guess the only thing I would Improve on it is swapping out the electronic accelerator with the Japanese version which I had in my Yaris, has a better feel, and feed back.

2013 Toyota Matrix Review:
Great vehicle all around. the Dual VVTI engine feels strong, and positive, even though its my first North American built Toyota product, I am Happy with it. As I said before I did not buy a Lexus, so I don't expect it to perform and built like a Lexus. Its a down to earth vehicle does the job with a quality body, No smoke and Mirror technology here , its the real deal.......


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2012

Ginette
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
It's a great little car.
Gas mileage is great.
It has lots of room inside and the outer design is smart looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Matrix?
Fix the blind spots. Reversing into a parking spot is tricky.
The head rests are some of the biggest I have ever seen.

2010 Toyota Matrix Review:
It is a nice little car. I love mine.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 25, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
JUST ABOUT EVERY THING.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Matrix?
MORE COMFORTABLE SEATS.
CUSTOMERS WHEN GETTING THEIR SERVICE SHOULD HAVE THE OPTION OF BEING WITH THERE CAR WHILE IT IS BEING SERVICED.
I PAID FOR IT SO WHY AM I NOT ABLE TO SEE WHAT IS BEING DONE?
HOW WOULD I KNOW THAT SERVICE ATTENDANT DID THE WORK REQUIRED????????????? I HAVE TO PAY FOR SERVICE AND PARTS SIGHT UNSEEN.

TRUST SHOULD WORK BOTH WAYS FOR THE CUSTOMER AND THE DEALER.

2012 Toyota Matrix Review:
SEATS TOO FIRM FOR LONG TRIPS.
BUT I LIKE ITS HANDLING AND DEPENDABILITY.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Toyota Matrix?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Matrix? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Matrix? 2008 Toyota Matrix Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Toyota Model Lineup:
2008 4Runner
2008 Avalon
2008 Camry
2008 Camry Hybrid
2008 Camry Solara
2008 Corolla
2008 FJ Cruiser
2008 Highlander
2008 Highlander Hybrid
2008 Land Cruiser
2008 Matrix
2008 Prius
2008 RAV4
2008 Sequoia
2008 Sienna
2008 Tacoma
2008 Tundra
2008 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Toyota Matrix | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact