Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Toyota Highlander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-18/23-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 270HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 24 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Toyota Highlander in the bottom 18% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
18%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Toyota Highlander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Toyota Highlander also consider:
2008 Toyota Highlander Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Toyota Highlander
  1. Right size for a growing family
  2. Comfortable ride
  3. Power liftgate
  4. Adequate gas mileage
  5. Keyless entry and anti-theft system
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Toyota Highlander
  1. Build fit and finish
  2. Better factory tires
  3. Interior material quality
  4. More user friendly NAV system
  5. Sound system
Submitted Mar 31, 2012

Star
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Drives like a car.
Very roomy interior.
Quiet ride.
Great for travelling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Gas mileage.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Great xover for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 29, 2012

ss
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Interchangeable center console/middle seat in second row.
Good height for visibility while driving but also easy to get into and out of it.
Reliable.
Fair gas mileage (21-22 mpg).
Very roomy second row.
Lots of cargo space.
Nicely styled dash/controls even on the base model.
Love the body style compared to previous models.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Tires are expensive.
I have a base model with leather interior and wish the power liftgate was standard on this model as it has everything else I need.
A bit noisy on the highway.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
I just put my *first* 100,000 miles on this vehicle and have found it to be very reliable and a pleasure to drive. Except for the tires being expensive (probably not as big a deal if you don't drive as many miles as I do), I have only had to get regularly scheduled maintenance. When the time comes to replace this vehicle, I will definitely get another Highlander.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 19, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Good ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Very poor tires - only 40,000 kms tread life!!!

Rear door motor, blew out at 40.000 kms, replacement part blew again at 60,000 kms.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Nice ride, poor craftsmanship and poor quality materials - and very poor tires OEM.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 26, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Expensive tires that wear out fast.
Poor gas mileage.
Cheap interior materials.
Dash, sunroof, and engine rattle sounds that the dealer can not "replicate".
Navigation disc is expensive to update.
Car must be completely parked to use navigation.
Seat heater does not heat as well as my GMC did.
Not much storage behind the third row.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Regret buying.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2010

gemelas
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Very reliable.
Drives well.
Dependable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
The Toyota that I always heard about and read article on, does NOT exist in my world. The great customer service and relationship is not there. To improve the Highlander you have to first improve the your customer service. Getting the run around is something that I am used to getting from The other companies. I believe that if you put an inferior product on one of your vehicles and claim you are back it up, (DO IT) The tires that came with the Highlander are low grade and I am sure that I paid a high premium for them. Toyota and the maker of the tires claim no responsibility.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 27, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Rides nice.
Parks like a small car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
The tires are terrible. Original tires are not very good in winter snow. Tires are too expensive to replace and there's not much of a choice.

Terrible gas mileage.

I think there are two air filters. You have to go through the glove compartment to change one. I have no idea how to change the other.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Was ripped off by the dealer. Dealer added towing options I didn't even want. When I asked the salesman for an itemized list of what I was buying, he said he couldn't give me one. I should have walked out right then and there. Mea culpa. I used to work for Toyota Motor Sales Inc.(U.S. headquarters) in Torrance, CA. With all the problems Toyota has had recently, I don't think I'll ever buy another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 30, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
The best riding SUV I have ever had. And because I am a sales rep, have owned six suv's. Love everything about it. Consumers Report's top rated SUV every year for a reason.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Improve the leather seats.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 3, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Rides good.
Handles good.
Appearance good.
Ideal for traveling.
Very satisfied with overall design.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Correct engine noise.
Repair engines that have excessive noise.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
I really like the vehicle. But I am concerned that the engine will fail prematurely. I've heard expressions such as piston slap, etc. If there is excess space between the piston and the cylinder wall, that is a problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 28, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
I really like the looks of the vehicle and the split 2nd row seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
For an SUV, this vehicle seems very light in terms of the build...doors especially.
The fit is just OK.
The quality of interior materials is so-so.
I already have rattles in the dash and the vehicle rarely makes it off pavement.
The tires are not good.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
I bought this vehicle from a dealer with about 24,000 miles on it. The tires were already pretty much shot. This is the first Toyota product I've owned since I had a little SR5 pickup about 25 years ago. I must say I'm not impressed with the quality. I've driven Hondas most of my adult life and there is no comparison in terms of the workmanship and quality of interior components. There's nothing wrong with it, I just expected more.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Runs great

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
It should automatically re-route you around traffic when a faster route is available. It should also give voice guidance naming the streets.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Why ruin a great suv with a sub-standard nav system


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Toyota Highlander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander? 2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Toyota Model Lineup:
2008 4Runner
2008 Avalon
2008 Camry
2008 Camry Hybrid
2008 Camry Solara
2008 Corolla
2008 FJ Cruiser
2008 Highlander
2008 Highlander Hybrid
2008 Land Cruiser
2008 Matrix
2008 Prius
2008 RAV4
2008 Sequoia
2008 Sienna
2008 Tacoma
2008 Tundra
2008 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Toyota Highlander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact