Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Camry Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 7
MPG: 33/34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 192HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 26 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid in the top 43% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
57%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid also consider:
2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid
  1. Fuel economy
  2. Engine performance
  3. Quiet interior
  4. Build quality
  5. Unique color choices
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid
  1. Trunk space
  2. Better gas mileage
  3. Simplify display
  4. Interior plastic squeaks
  5. Sound system
Submitted Feb 16, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Quiet and smooth powertrain.
Super fuel economy for a sedan this size.
Comfortable ride and seating.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
"Smart-key" has failed on 2 occasions; showed "no key detected".

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
This will not be a comprehensive review, just some preliminary observations.
We purchased this 2008 Camry Hybrid ( our first Toyota ever ) on February 5th, 2008.
Since then, we have driven it 2900 kilometers, from Smithers in northcentral British Columbia (home) to Carman, Manitoba.
We have encountered temperatures from plus 5 degrees Centigrade to minus 34 degrees Centigrade.
We have seen conditions on the road ranging from 3 to 4 inches of slush through the Rockies (Jasper Park), to bare dry roads, to blowing snow with drifts reaching across our lane on ice-covered pavement.
This car held the road well, in all these conditions. On the few occasions when we needed to pass a vehicle in slush, and there was some wheel slippage, the only real indication of this slippage was the indicator icon on the instrument panel blinking to let us know that the Traction control / Stability control electronics had intervened.
The brakes are very capable, and with the use of the "B" driving position for slowing down, brake life ought to be excellent.
The motor reaches it's operating temperature quickly, (we did use a block heater at our 3 overnight stops) and the automatic climate control does a superb job.
We found the car easy to adapt to, no bad surprises.
The powertrain is smooth, with adequate power for all lawful driving situations.Our first 3 tanks have yielded a fuel economy reading of 7.2 litres per 100 kilometers, or in Imperial terms, about 37 miles to the Imperial gallon. Not at all bad for a barely broken in car, bucking strong quartering/headwinds most of this trip.
In town, the powertrain performed as advertised, with the I.C.E. shutting down when it was not needed.
At this point the car has met or exceeded our expectations in all areas.
Sincerely, Peter Plug.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 9, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Quiet, powerful for passing & on-ramps (like a 6), roomy, lots of headroom, radio is great (powerful, clear reception, no antenna sticking out at car washes, bluetooth for phone hands-free, safety, wife likes seats Backseat roomy for adult kids when we go out. Dark gray color gets lots of head-turns.
My mileage 38 avg, 40 when careful, 35.5 if I am rushing. Love the "engine-off" in frequent NY & DC traffic jams. Great car for a salesman, doesn't look econo, yet "Hybrid" badge gets noticed. Went to Canada for 4 days, snowstorms, ESC Stability control kept car straight and true, Traction control got me out of 8" snow in the morning, Ready for gasoline when it goes to $5/gal, won't be long -:)

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
When temperature hits 32 or lower, cold air blows in from inside door handles. With XM radio, the tuner button on steering wheel does not advance channel, but loses setting completely. Would like to be able to turn on rear reading lights from front to look for items on back seat/floor. Agree with other reveiewer that outside temperature indicator would be better on outside mirror, can't see it without pushing 'Display' button four times (nice feature up north). Snow slides off rear window right into trunk. Console lid is hard, elbow gets sore after a while, ditto the left elbow on the left window ledge. No indicator that side mirror heating is on. Wife didn't want leather, but that means no power passenger seat option. Bottom of soft plastic nose cracked immediately when parking too close to first snow bank and/or curb (whatever happened to 5 mph standards?). Cloth floor mats show dirt, will have to replace after only 6 months, will go to all-weather mats (after recall fixed sliding issue) Wishes: Quiet glass on front-side windows to make it even quieter when trucks pass or stop alongside. Dual exhausts would look great, would pay for option. The knock-out tabs on the lower front hinged compartment have allowed me to put my cell phone in the convenient pockets, but how about a 2" flat-plastic disc with a cable hole on the center of the dash for the portable navigator (instead of the stick-on that comes with the navigator, and the cable running in front of the radio. Maybe they would think that it might cause me not to buy their $2000 navigator option, rather than the $200 portable (that I need anyway when renting cars for business). More trunk space as everyone has said, but I guess that requires the future lithium batteries and/or capacitors. Traction control, while helpful (see above) is not enough to climb steep driveway in 4" snow (you can tell I live in the northeast).
Local Toyota dealerships load up oil change prices with useless additives, "checks" of fluids that get done anywhere. They have also padded the 30,000 check up costs to $700, for what should be a minor tune-up interval. Shame.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Overall, I love it, my favorite car ever, wife loves it too, quiet, comfortable, we feel smug (forgive us Lord) rolling into gas stations. We drive 200 miles each way to visit daughter and 240 each way to vacation home once a month, so the mileage and range (1 tank of gas for whole trip) are pleasures. Has lots of features, sun-roof is a delight. I would buy a 4 wheel drive version if it came out.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 21, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Have only had it a month, but I love it.

It's got a classic kind of body style. I Have a Barcelona Red Camry, and I put silver pinstripe down the side to match interior and tinted the windows, and the look is classy.

The mileage is fabulous at about 330 miles to a tank in town. I live in Las Vegas and traffic lights are very long, between the stop and go, stop and go.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
There is a slight hesitation in acceleration from a stop, changing from the not running mode to the gas mode. It has nice pick up though, I just don't like the hesitation. I have to accel very slowly, for it to be a smooth take off. Sometimes people honk.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Aside from the hesitation, it's a great car. Easy to handle nice size, looks expensive but isn't.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Fuel economy for the size of the vehicle is good.
Comfortable for 4 adults.
Good acceleration.
No maintenance problems.
Nice size vehicle, decent interior and exterior styling.
Good safety ratings.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Elbows get sore, no good resting spots, console is a little low.
No traction control off button.
Body style not sporty enough, I added a ground effects kit similar to the SE.
Suspension is very soft, more body roll than I like.
Fog lights not a factory option.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Averaging 38-40 MPG, fuel economy good for the size of the vehicle, relatively comfortable, decent looks, good acceleration, handles fair in the snow/ice, snow tires would probably help, good value for the money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 4, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Good mileage, quiet car and good power (187 HP).

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Poor traction and braking on snow. Car performs badly in snow situation. Big minus for Toyota Camry Hybrid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
best car I ever owned I average 40 miles per gallon overall (per tankful)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 19, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
mileage, comfort, cd changer produces great sound,after 5k I have no complaints with trunk size

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
none, I really enjoy this car

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
5k miles and average 36.9, great to drive, nice to look at


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 9, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
Gets 40 miles per gallon in highway driving with cruise on

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
bigger trunk

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
Well rounded perfomance- handles well, stable, comfortable, quite.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 14, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
the fuel economy is great as long as you're not in a rush. You can drive the car with little pressure on the accelerator and keep the car running on electric power only for a few minutes here and there. My mileage ranges from 31 when rushing to 42 when driving in an unusally relaxed fashion, folowing most speed limits(trust me, this generally increses fuel economy). I usually average around 37mpg. The acceleration is fine, as 8.3 sec 0-60 is faster than the V-6 average of about 8.8 was 6 years ago. The JBL audio system is fine, and the styling is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
The trunk is reduced by the hybrid battery but is a trade off for the fuel sipping ability. I have noticed some interior squeaks and rattles, and the interior looks cheap next to the Saturn Aura and even Hyundai Sonata(which has possibly the best interior in it class). Cabin storage is moderate but sufficient, and acceleration under 15 mph is 4-cyl-esque but the car uses unusually low engine revs at 50 mph (about 1300). The engine sounds raspy once it exceed 5000 rpm, but I'v only used that much power twice. The 187 HP rating feels guite underrated between 20 and 50 mph, probably due to the 199 lb-ft of torque from the electric motor, along with the 138 from the gas engine, giving the car brief diesel-like pull.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
I own a 2007 Camry Hybrid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
I love the way it looks and the awesome gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?
The leather interior is not as nice as my 2001 Olds Aurora.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
I have only owned 1 week but so far, I love it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Camry Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid? 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Toyota Model Lineup:
2008 4Runner
2008 Avalon
2008 Camry
2008 Camry Hybrid
2008 Camry Solara
2008 Corolla
2008 FJ Cruiser
2008 Highlander
2008 Highlander Hybrid
2008 Land Cruiser
2008 Matrix
2008 Prius
2008 RAV4
2008 Sequoia
2008 Sienna
2008 Tacoma
2008 Tundra
2008 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact