Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,724 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Kia Spectra Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Kia Spectra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 23/30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 138HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Kia Spectra in the bottom 50% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Kia Spectra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Kia Spectra also consider:
Submitted Aug 3, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Kia Spectra?
The shield under engine convenient to catch oil and filter when I change it.
Also I like tire wear in front lasted 40,000 miles before separating.
I also like getting down into and getting up out of the spec/5.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Kia Spectra?
Driver's seat ratchets up and forward instead of up, also doesn't slide back enough.
With key bob unlocking will, re -lock soon after.
Down shift to first is so slow, if you don't come to a stop.
Driving lights should be option with out headlights.
Battery cell cap not removable.
Radio #%@!**.
Pull up to dim headlights?

2008 Kia Spectra Review:
Buy AMERICAN!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 19, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Kia Spectra?
Good pickup-and-go if I need to get out of way.
Plenty of leg room in the back seat.
Nice sound system and it is awesome it came with the AUX jack for my MP3 player.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Kia Spectra?
A sunroof is all I think I would love to have.
It is a very good car.

2008 Kia Spectra Review:
I like how runs. Nice and quiet. It is a great car overall. Very easy to wash and a great warranty to boot. I would recommend anyone to get a KIA.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 9, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Kia Spectra?
It's sporty but has cargo room and doesn't suck gas.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Kia Spectra?
A more reliable car under the hood.

2008 Kia Spectra Review:
About a month after I bought the car, it started falling apart mechanically, the warranty covers the parts, but not my inconvenience.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Kia Spectra?
Good Acceleration, Amazing Sound Quality, Fair Price, Helluva Warranty, Easy to use controls

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Kia Spectra?
Would LOVE a sunroof... that's really it... I love my Kia Spectra5!

2008 Kia Spectra Review:
I initally said "I am never gonna buy a Kia" I retracted that statement after I test drove one. It outhandled and outdrove every other "SportWagon" on the market. I was completely satisfied with the fair price and the awesome warranty that came with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 25, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Kia Spectra?
Safety features, look, comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Kia Spectra?
Change colours used for the instrument panel - matt silver on black just does not work and makes it very hard to read especially the speedometer.

2009 Kia Spectra Review:
This is my second Spectra5. I loved my 2006 Spectra5 and felt it was reliable, comfortable, easy to drive and had good safety features so much so that I gave it to my son for his first car after getting his license and replaced mine with the new 2009 model. Pretty much seems the same except - and this to me is a big design flaw - the instrument panel now has a black background with silver needles and on the speedometer, a matt silver ring inside of which, on the black background are the MPH figures. With this colour combination it makes it very hard to read (unless illuminated) and impossible if you are wearing sunglasses - essential eye wear in the Arizona summer. I emailed my concerns to Kia and their response left, on my answering machine, was "change your sunglasses"! Did they not think that would be the first thing I would try? Made no difference anyway. I used to recommend this little car to everyone, not any more though.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 5, 2013

ckanaan
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Spectra?
The very reasonable price, the super warranty and the fact that this car just never breaks down!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Spectra?
Not too much I can say for improvement; the car is well worth what I paid for it and it has served me well after 270,000km! Oh, one big improvement that Kia could do is to start using timing chains instead of a timing belt. It's a real pain for a backyard mechanic to replace one of these.

2006 Kia Spectra Review:
This is truly the best car I have every owned. It has pulled me through thick and thin. I am getting very close to 280,000km now with routine maintenance. But nothing major...just things like oil changes and other fluids, tires, headlights (very few), never had to work on the exhaust. I would absolutely buy another Kia...matter of fact I am in the market for a new Optima or Forte right now.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 24, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Spectra?
It's the best car I ever owned.

I've got close to 200,000 km and it's still running like a dream. Of course, maintenance is very important. One little drawback was replacing the timing belt...no easy task, so the backyard mechanic may have a bit of a hard time doing it..better take it to a regular mechanic for that.

My particular model is the spectra 5. It has the power windows, a/c, cruise, auto tranny and hatchback. Lots of room, lots of power. Absolutely no problems with the exhaust either; must be made of stainless.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Spectra?
Not much I can say here...I've had zero problems with it so why change a good thing??

2006 Kia Spectra Review:
If you have the chance to buy one of these cars, I highly doubt that you are making a mistake.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 8, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Spectra?
I have the basic Spectra Ex - no power seats, fog lights or cruise control. It currently has 28,000 miles - I drive a lot in the course of my job. I live in Western Washington and travel frequently over two mountain passes that can present some challenges in the winter. The car handles them without a problem - and has made me a supporter of Goodyear tires. It holds it's speed going up hills, has plenty of power when passing other vehicles and gets 35 to 40 mpg depending on how I'm driving it. I'm a short person - 5'- and find the car adapts readily to my shorter height. It is also roomy and comfortable for my daughter-in-law - all 6'2" of her. I'm also an avid sea kayaker and transport my kayak on my car. I have the traditional roof mount system to carry the kayak and for additional safety secure it front and rear to the undercarriage of my car. The car handles this additional "package" very well. I get minimal wind effects from passing 18 wheelers, and never have any concern about them blowing my kayak of the car. I would highly recommend this car to anyone looking for comfort, good mileage and a classy looking car at a reasonable price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Spectra?
I can't offer any suggestions. I still find it hard to believe that I have a car that handles as well as this one does.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 4, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Spectra?
its fun to drive, sporty 5 door looks, drives great, road nois very low

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Spectra?
bigger wheels, high rpm on highway

2006 Kia Spectra Review:
great car!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 20, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Kia Spectra?
runs very quite,minimal highway noise,good takeoff

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Kia Spectra?
interior&a blind spot on drivers side


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Kia Spectra Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Kia Spectra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Kia Spectra? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Kia Spectra? 2008 Kia Spectra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Kia Model Lineup:
2008 Amanti
2008 Optima
2008 Rio
2008 Rondo
2008 Sedona
2008 Sorento
2008 Spectra
2008 Sportage
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Kia Spectra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise