Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,478 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Patriot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2008 Jeep Patriot

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-23/27-28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 172HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 31 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Jeep Patriot in the bottom 50% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Jeep Patriot in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Jeep Patriot also consider:
2008 Jeep Patriot Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Jeep Patriot
  1. Traditional boxy Jeep style
  2. Good gas mileage
  3. CVT
  4. Roomy interior
  5. Road handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Jeep Patriot
  1. Beefier engine
  2. Engine and road noise
  3. Good price
  4. Nicer interior material
  5. Longer warranty
Submitted May 19, 2013

Warren D
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Great looks.
Good gas mileage.
Tremendous traction in snow.
I like the CVT.
Power is good.
My patriot limited is now over 5 years old. Had the usual leaky sunroof problem but the cause is known and fixable. Handles well. Other than sunroof issue have had no other problems, big or small.
Roomy for tall drivers.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Rear view mirror can seriously block visibility.
Avoid sunroof models.
Plastic interior finish is hard and cheap.
Headliner material stains easily.
Road and engine noise level is excessive.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
I have a 2.4 Patriot Ltd 4wd +cvt. Only have 30,000 miles on it - need to reach 100,000 miles for a meaningful review.

Not sure I would buy another Jeep as my other car is a Hyundai XG350 (best car ever made, anywhere, at any price, in every respect) and I am spoiled!

Too many negative reviews from Patriot owners doesn't inspire me with confidence. However, my own experience is very acceptable so far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 27, 2013

deborah langford
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Bought the vehicle a year ago used (2nd owner) liked the body style great for work travel and hauling horse feed on weekneds.... BUT FOR THE CONS

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
FORGET THIS CVT!!!! From all that I am reading it seems to be a common problem...I have just hit 1 year ownership and the vehicle is DOA...transmission is shot and will be going to the dealer next week!!!!!!! From what I am reading the cost of repair is astronomical!!!!!!!!!! Chrysler knows it is faulty and continues to let the consumer foot the bill??????...I told everyone how much I liked the vehicle and highly recommended it....my son bought one and a friend bought a brand new one.....now I will be doing exactly the opposite!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2013

megan
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Gas mileage is the only good part about this vehicle!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Suspension.
Tire size.
Road noise.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
Suspension is horrible! Had mine for just over 2 years. Had 80k miles on it and after the first year I had to place almost the entire front suspension and parts on the back. Now my sway bars are junk. Tire size is very hard to find for a reasonable price. Not an easy to fix yourself vehicle and my fiancÚ is a mechanic, what does that have to say for jeep.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2013

ncfsl
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Cute little SUV.
Happy with gas Mileage-I use for work travel every week.
It has done a great job for me. Hauls what I need to haul.
When I lived on the mountain, it had no problems going up...but it could not get through 2.5 feet of snow...but neither could the 2-wheel drives.
I have loved this car, best car I have ever had.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Now, in 2013, have 120K miles on the 2008 Patriot. Have what sounds similar to a tranny whine under 2000 rpm...no other issue. Any suggestions?

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
This has been the best vehicle for my lifestyle...travel for work-in any weather- and dogs on weekends and can haul cattle feed on weekends, too. Apparently I have been very lucky with the tranny until now.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 29, 2012

RivRat
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
I enjoyed the gas mileage and the overall interior of the Patriot. However....

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
I bought this vehicle with 19k miles on it and I am currently at 70k and what do ya know?... The Transmission kicks the bucket. Not only did it kick the bucket, it is a whopping $4,800 to repair the darn thing. That price tag does NOT include labor costs. Even after I read numerous claims of how bad the CVT is in others Patriots, Daimler/Chrysler fails to recall this problem. Rather, yet they stick us with the hefty repair costs. So, to answer the question on "how would I improve the 2008 Jeep Patriot?" I would install an automatic transmission (No CVT), or make it stock manual.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
Disgusted with the longevity of this vehicle!! It's a 2008 for cryin' out loud!!! What happened to QUALITY made in the USA??!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2012
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
None really......

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
The tranny is terrible - been told it needs replacement
It's absolutely gutless up hill, in fact it will NOT drive over 40 mph uphill now. I spent almost $2,000 on trying to fix the problem, fixed all kinds of things.....but it still doesn't drive over hills. It's unsafe - I will not go anywhere with my children in the car. I have replaced the front ball joints, a solenoid valve in the engine, a leaky windshield, fuel pump, some wiring harness and still can't drive it appropriately. It's a piece of crap & out of warranty of course. The pleather seating is worn and torn and it's only 4 years old. I did not buy it new, the dealer got it off auction....gee I wonder why someone wanted to get rid of it?!

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
Horrible experience with the vehicle. Previously only a 2007 Dodge 1500 Sport Package pickup (loved it), 2005 Dodge Magnum ( has a few kinds in it but the dealer handled those for me). This vehicle is crap - owe a ton of money on it, it's worth nothing & I certainly can't afford to replace the transmission!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 22, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
The only pro with this model was that I wanted a mid size SUV. It's interior is spacious.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
The Jeep Patriot needs a stronger engine. Wait to you get to 50,000 miles and the problems get big. I had to have my transmission replaced. WOW, if that isn't poor performance I don't know what is. My steering wheel is loose, it no longer locks when car is off. I have brought in my Patriot 3 times for the shift getting stuck in "park." I still have the problem, the shift will not move until I take off a cap by the passengers front seat and move a small white lever forward. I had to have the window motors replaced after only 2 yrs. The Patriot is only 3 years old and I replaced shocks, front ball joints, transmission, tires, gear shift and window motors. Most of my mileage is I-95 mileage from NY to FL. Patriot never really had enough power for getting on highway. Engine is too small for model.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
This has been the first Jeep I have ever purchased. Either they failed trying to make a smaller SUV or their latest products don't stand up to older Jeep models. I am very disappointed in my Patriot with numerous problems after only 3 years, either I brought a lemon or they just aren't making them like they use to make Jeep models. I can't see myself buying another Jeep product after this disaster.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 18, 2011

Debbie754
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
It is nice looking and the interior seems comfortable. Hopefully it will hold up to Jeep reputation as in the old 'Willeys' and last for more than 10 years covering all aspects being; tough rugged reliable low maintenance.

My sister owns a 2008 4.0 automatic 4-dr w hatch back for rear storage space (trunk area) SUV Patriot.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Who designed and what is the purpose of the
CVT tranny? (Don't know if I am using the correct terms.) I do not like the way the tranny shifts, it feels like it does not catch up to the engine, like it drags. Doesn't seem to have much power. It takes a min to build it up even on a straight run. It doesn't seem to get good gas mileage either. Hopefully that is all of the negatives of the performance, engine & tranny.

And the idiot lights in the dash - are they dependable in that, they DON'T come on when it is too late, & do come on for preventative maintenance.

The luggage rack on top doesn't have a rim in front or back just on the sides.

Just driving it for 2days up here in Mt Shasta, CA I personally would not buy one of these. I wouldn't want to get stuck out in the woods if the tranny failed, in which it feels like it would just by driving this vehicle on the streets and Freeway here.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
1st of all, I would buy a 4wheel dr with a 5 speed manual transmission. Like I commented in the CON section, I don't like the tranny in this vehicle - the way it runs & don't trust its reliability. Trannys are way too expensive to replace, repair &/or maintain. The engine seems sluggish not enough ump to it, this may be due to the 4 cyl instead of a 6. So why make a 4 with no guts?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 10, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Love the 'Classic' Jeep look.
Drives very well. I love how the Patriot handles, I am quite impressed with the overall performance of this vehicle for the value.
Parks easy, maneuvers very well. It's an SUV that drives like a car.
Solid & Safe.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
I would absolutely prefer a Manual Transmission. I'm not a fan of the Auto/Stick as I accidentally switch from Auto to manual all too easily.

The leaking and tranny problems worry me, although I've had ZERO problems with my 2008 Patriot.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
Overall, this is a GREAT little SUV. You get a lot of bang for your buck, and most importantly, it feels solid and safe!

I'm very happy with my Patriot.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Looks like a Jeep.
Decent offroad ability with Trail Rated package.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot?
Leaked like a sieve.
TERRIBLE dealer service and parts availability.

2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
My Pat leaked like a sieve. Water would pour through the front dome light after heavy rains, soaking me and dumping all over the electronics. Dealer had the car multiple times, kept it weeks, never fixed the leak and damaged the roof liner and sunroof while they had the car. They then put it back together with no wind deflector in the sunroof! Parts availability was terrible and the service dept was always backed up. Even though I had a service plan, warranty, and the car was less than 18 months old, I finally gave up and traded in. No more Jeeps for me, ever.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Jeep Patriot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Jeep Patriot?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Patriot? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Patriot? 2008 Jeep Patriot Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Jeep Model Lineup:
2008 Commander
2008 Compass
2008 Grand Cherokee
2008 Liberty
2008 Patriot
2008 Wrangler
2008 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Jeep Patriot | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise