Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Liberty Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Jeep Liberty

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 15-16/21-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 48 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Jeep Liberty in the bottom 47% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
47%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Jeep Liberty in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Jeep Liberty also consider:
Submitted Dec 29, 2010

suzette
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Great looking above the past Liberty models.
Lots of compliments on look and color.
Has great storage and coverage in back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Better gas mileage would be nice.
More interior leg room on passenger and driver front ends.
Proper gas cap coverage does not close properly.
Get rid of a ping noise that is not indicated on the electronic dash board for no rhyme or reason. Very hard to show tech as it just happens and not consistent enough especially when heading to the dealer to check the noise.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
I have a lease 2008 that ends in January and had my driver front window collapse on me yesterday when I lowered it a little. Had a Town & Country before and also had electronic problems before the end of three years. Never had those problems with foreign vehicles before switching to locally manufactured cars. Will rethink another Chrysler purchase for my next vehicle, since they seem to have problems before the end of the three years. Hoping Chrysler takes care of the window problem on their dime as it seems to be a defect carried over from the 2006-2007 models into the 2008 model (take it for fix problems as a recall issue).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 19, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Love the changes over the 2003.
The swing-up tailgate.
The improved interior room.
The body shape.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Could use some more power.
Headlights could be brighter.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
Bought this Liberty used with 18,000 miles on it and now 32000 on it 6 month later. Our first trip in it was a 3000 mile round vacation to Florida with 5 people. I was able to put all the luggage in the rear and three girls (17, 14 and 6) in the back seat. It worked great and got 23 mpg. Front seat is very comfortable and I heard no complaints from the rear.

I pull a 6X10 trailer loaded with a ZTR lawnmower and have had no problems but would like a little more power. I have installed the Timbren SES on it, which greatly improved the towing ability of it without changing the ride.

We have only had one snow since owning it and it seemed very capable on the the road.

My previous Jeep was a an 01 Cherokee.

My wife has an 03 Liberty and loves it. So my Pros are just personal preferences.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 6, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
The new exterior look for 2008 is an improvement.
Decent range.
The overall size is about right, not too big yet not too small.
It's a Jeep.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
The defrost is terrible...they should really do a recall on it. When it is cold and icy out, the best it can do on max hot is defrost the center 2/3 of the windshield.
The oil filter is in a ridiculous spot (you can't even see it from above or below).
Dash interferes with legs (too close to shin).
Engine sounds like a diesel and the performance and MPG do not compare well to other SUVs.
Hill-start feature is annoying at best, and certainly not needed on a model that will no longer have a manual transmission option starting in 2009.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
While the 2008 Jeep Liberty was the best option for our family at the time of purchase and its shortcomings are few, the shortcomings it does have are unforgivable. I would not recommend to others unless they fix the defrost and legroom issues. The other cons are annoying but I can live with them and they probably won't bother most.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 3, 2009

dan
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
I love the styling, the manual trans is fun and not too common on SUVs nowadays.
It handles alright and is pretty comfortable as a daily driver.
The interior is really nice, classy and not overdone.
I got the upgraded A/T tires and they were great during a pretty rough winter and pretty good off road. Doesn't feel fragile on bumpy logging roads.
Lots of upgrades available.
Towing capacity seems impressive though I haven't tried hauling yet.
The AC power outlet is nice.
GREAT turning radius.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
I don't know why Chrysler offers the 4.0L on the Nitro but it's not an option for the mechanically identical Liberty. The 3.7L isn't slow but it could use some more kick considering it's pretty heavy. And I know it's a truck-like SUV but I still think gas mileage has room for improvement.

The manual shows how to disable the ESP in 4wd but it would be nice to hav the same option for 2wd. Disabling traction control would be a nice option too. Diff lock would be nice.

Here's a good one, BETTER WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER!! This last winter was cold and with defrost on hot max with A/C it could just barely keep all but the middle of the windsield from freezing. Not impressive.

Very little leg room for driver. Nowhere to rest foot beside clutch or stretch legs on a long drive or to mount a brake controller unit.

The manual transmission isn't the smoothest and unfortunately isn't available on the Limited. Very squeaky clutch pedal, I'm on my second one with only 16,000km. Mine suddenly started making a loud whining noise from the A/C clutch and two dealers already don't care. Chrysler's customer service since the day I bought it has been embarrassing and very disappointing at best.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
Overall I love my liberty. There really isn't much out there quite like it. If only Chrysler would take the time to care and refine this already great and fun truck it would really top the competition. Come on Chrysler, you're so close to having an amazing SUV, you can do it!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 5, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
The seating is comfortable. With the exception of the passenger seat, VERY roomy. Manual trasmission comes with a 6 speed...although I am still nervous when I use the sixth gear because I am alway afraid I will put it in 4th gear instead. Back seats fold down easily to make more room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
My Liberty is a manual trasmission, and I wish there were more room on the left side of the clutch to put my foot. There are 2 cup holders in the center console, which is great...but there is no place for other things like cell phones. The passenger seat is a little less roomy. If you are tall, your knees will hit the grab bar.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
There are really few things I would change about my Liberty. Recently I have had to take it in to the service shop. It seems that the glue they used to secure the wiring in the head liner is conductive and was somehow shorting out to the frame of the car causing my Jeep to drain the battery. Other than that, 4 wheel drive works great, it did supurb on the winter roads, even when we weren't using 4 wheel drive the traction control kicks in when needed. My family of 5 (one a teenage boy) fits great in the Jeep, not cramped at all. Overall, would not trade it for any other vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2014

Brittany
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
It has a sleek look.
The perfect size and has plenty of storage space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
The lights aren't bright enough.
Not enough power, acceleration is terrible.
Awful in snow, ice, or rain.
Wind moves the vehicle far too much.
Brakes are constantly messing up.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
First and last Jeep I will ever own.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 6, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
It's a Jeep!

I had a 2002 Jeep Liberty for 10 years. Loved it!
My 2008 Liberty lacks power and the gas mileage sucks: 16 highway or city.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Gas mileage.
Power.
Get rid of the tire sensors.
The light appear to be on at night. Because the dash lights are on even when the head lights are off. I bet a lot of people have been stopped for this!

Come on Jeep, how could you have gotten it so right in 2002 and so wrong with this next model.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
I want my 2002 back! And it had 170000 miles.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Color and 4x4.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Has a ping noise and I can't figure out where it is coming from.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
Hmmmm, had not had the car long enough.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Room and space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Gas mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 20, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Outside styling.
Sliding Sky Roof.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty?
Seats are not very comfortable.
Electrical problems, one after the other.

2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
The only thing to say, is I would NEVER own another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Jeep Liberty Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Jeep Liberty?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Liberty? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Liberty? 2008 Jeep Liberty Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Jeep Model Lineup:
2008 Commander
2008 Compass
2008 Grand Cherokee
2008 Liberty
2008 Patriot
2008 Wrangler
2008 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Jeep Liberty | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact