Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Grand Cherokee Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 11-15/14-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
4.7L V8 305HP
5.7L V8 330HP
6.1L V8 420HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee in the bottom 1% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
1%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee also consider:
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee
  1. Design and styling
  2. Great performance
  3. Classic SUV
  4. Off-road capability
  5. Functional interior
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee
  1. More choices of tires
  2. Updated dash board
  3. More cargo space
  4. Back seat comfort
  5. Larger nav screen
Submitted Jul 13, 2014
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Only thing I like about my jeep is that I'm off the ground. And that's it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
More room and less road noise in the back. The air does not circulate at all in the back. Find a way for it to circulate.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
If I could afford it I would take my jeep back to the dealer and tell them to shove it. I hate this vehicle. It is the worst car I have ever owned. It's a 2008 and it now does not even run. And it's a problem I have read over 300 people are having with it with just a quick little search and the people that specialize in the jeeps don't know what is wrong with it. Do not by a jeep. I always wanted a jeep growing up and I finally had the chance to own one and now it was the worst thing I did!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 18, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Roomy in front seat.
Great Stereo.
ummmmmmm That's about all I liked about this.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
This vehicle has been nothing but a money pit from day 1. If it can fail in a vehicle, it did in this vehicle. The brand of Grand Cherokee LTD is very deceiving.
Main computer failed, and I got hit with a $2700.00 bill for that.
Air conditioner never really got cold, so it was in the dealership 3 times for this. Never did get it working properly. Last time it was worked on there was something plugging a line and it leaked terribly under the passenger seat. Dealer was supposed to replace carpet in the vehicle as their mechanic cut the rug right back to the passenger seat and folded it back to find the problem. Replaced a small area of the front carpet, but PAINTED the rest of it. Had the car detailed, and when they tried to clean the carpet the paint lifted off and left a huge mess in the vehicle. Now we have no interior lights as there is a problem in the wiring. Quoted 3-4 thousand dollars to re-wire the vehicle. Self dimming rear view mirror never worked, nor did the driver mirror.
I am leaving this vehicle parked at the curb with the keys in the ignition, and wish the poor fool that takes this vehicle better luck than we have had with it.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
Why these vehicles are even allowed on the road is beyond me. I will never ever buy another Chrysler, or Dodge product again.
I think they call this a Jeep, because this supposedly separates this vehicle from the problems that Dodge is having.
I guess it's live and learn.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 6, 2009

Area D Dave
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
The body style is great. No complaints there.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Start from scratch!

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
My 2008 Jeep transmission popped out of drive as I was approaching I-95. It was towed to the dealer at my expense ($128.00). They have had it for 4 days now, and have not come up with any answer about the tranny. The GPS also failed/rebooted itself, and the volume is way too loud. The bluetooth also failed..I cannot hear the person I call & they cannot hear me. All this has occurred within 7,300 miles. I had the dealership call their regional headquarters for approval of a loaner - which they did....for 2 days. The dealership was closed on that 2nd day, so I had to keep the loaner for the 3rd day. The service manager was nice enough to cover that day, as my Jeep problems are still being diagnosed.

I also called their customer service at the regional level....and for 4 days....still no response. I do believe this is my last Chrysler I will ever purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
The seats are comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Sell the rights to Ford or Chevrolet, and let them make it, Daimler-Chysler has sub-par quality in their vehicles. Owned other Chrysler vehicle years ago, and said I would never buy another one, I guess time makes you forget, I shouldn't have given them a second chance.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
Very disappointed in this vehicle, would never buy another Jeep or Daimler- Chrylser product. Bought new, after two weeks, a very small ding from a car door made the paint pop off all around ding in a much larger area. Air conditioner quit at about 8,000 miles, and had to be fixed. Luckily under warranty. At approx. 35,000 miles, the driver window broke, wouldn't roll up or down, and had to be replaced, about $400.00. One year later, we were out of town, and all of a sudden, we shut the door, and the other window started sliding down wouldn't roll up or down, had to be replaced too, another 400.00. We are scared to death to go out of town again. Brakes were terrible at approx. 20,000 miles, when we first had to get the rotors turned, it would shake terribly when brakes were applied, rotors turned again at approx. 30,000 miles, very upset, called to see if there was a recall, they said there was a problem with them, but the time limit had expired on getting those fixed, (how convenient) I guess it was a class action suit or something. They were very rude and abrupt at the Sikeston, MO dealership, when I called. Guess what, brakes are shaking terribly again, back to the shop for more repair bills. Interior console lid broke after about 35,000 miles. The Jeep would not pull a simple pop-up camper, acted like it was going to sling us off the road, had to sell it, (even after I asked the salesman at the dealership if it would pull that weight, he said "no problem" LOL. With the previous Ford Expedtion we owned, you never knew the pop-up camper was back there. The thing I will say I like, are the seats, they are very comfortable, but absolutely don't make up for all the crap we have had to put up with with this vehicle. The Ford Expedition we owned previously, never any problems, we sold it to my mom at 60,000 miles, it is still going strong at 130,000 miles, hardly any shop time, until lately. Much better made than this 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. We will NEVER step foot on another Daimler/Chrylsler-Jeep dealership lot again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 25, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
1. Sharp exterior design and incredible feeling of security in bad weather (heavy rain, snow) and superior forward lighting at night. Handles superior to our 01 Jeep GC, much more comfortable on highway trips.
2. Towing performance with 4.7L 300+ ft lbs of torque to pull our boat/trailer.
3. Interior is practical. X package great value with remote start, leather power front seats (would have preferred NO sunroof for tall driver to get 2 more in headroom however but not an option).

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
1. More rear legroom and comfort of seats. 3 adults is tight.
2. Improve mpg. E85 really not worth it even in midwest; no improvement since lose 20% mpg. However on side roads @ 60mph can easily get 22-24mpg w/reg gas, compared to 19-20mpg at 70mph freeway speeds. So Drive the speed limit & save, and be safer!

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
We have owned our 07 Jeep new since Oct 07 and are quite happy with it delivering what we needed. We typically have 2 adults occupying the heated leather front seats and pull our mid size boat 35 miles to the lake in the summer every other weekend.

In the winter we are dealing with frequent snow/ice on back country blacktop MN roads. The Jeep handles it all very well.

Other pros/cons are mentioned in those sections.

Be prepared to pay for extra gas on the small 4.7L V8 but it's worth it only slightly worse mpg than the V6 and 20% better around town than the 5.7L Hemi.

Quality so far has been very good with only one minor power window auto-up function requiring service in 23,000 miles. Jeeps do require frequent expensive differential & transfer case service on their rather old design drivetrain, important if you have the lifetime warranty options offered in 07-09 (dropped in 2010 models) - be prepared for $100 x 2 for the differentials at least every 30,000 miles IF you don't do water fording offroading and $300 more for the tranny/transaxle at 40,000 miles. These vehicles are tough and dependable however, and lately they have very attractive incentives on price.

Note a new design appears in 2011 but only an improved V6 and the hemi V8 are left for engines, pricing TBD.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 11, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
I love the versatility..The highway miles go by smootly and quickly!. Mine is a Hemi with every option except DVD which I think is a waste of money....The power is insane for a vehicle this size...The stereo is great (I work in the recording industry). But the amazing thing is the off road capabilities... Beyond the normal dirt roads is where this SUV comes into its own with Q-Drive 2...and DSC

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
The interior could be better... I wish there was less hard plastic (which the 09s finally adressed.... The seats are ALMOST really good... but the manual lumbar seems a step back from the previous incarnation... The passenger seat has less controls than the previous version.....

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
I bought out the lease on this car today for cash... I couldn't find anything that could match it. Some cars like the new VW tiguan are REALLY a lot of cash for what you get...and it's half the size...and it's no off roader like the Jeep . I have been lucky .. I have the Jeep that those of you out there that have lemons wished you had... this one has never had a problem!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
We bought it April 2008 with 27K and I have it serviced on time. I have the limited with the HEMI.
I get 20+ at 65 mph, about 18 at 75mph when in Arizona.
I will never go back to other brands. I have no problems and I did buy the additional lifetime drivetrain warranty.
I enjoy using all of the electronic features (no DVD).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
I would add a 6th gear to lower freeway rpm.
I replaced the original tires with Firestone Destination AT. These are great in snow and mud. They are fine on the Highway (30K+). Still have 1/2 tread left.
Back seat is too low for longer trips (leg fatigue).
Around town mileage is 11 mpg.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
I like to drive fast, but I still want the OFF-ROAD capability (no SRT8). Looks Great and still hauls the gear. Quadradrive II is amazing. (I got stuck easily in other brands of 4X4.) I have added 35K miles in almost 2 years of enjoyment. Best nightime feature: The LIGHTS! Lastly, the brakes are easy to modulate.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Love the styling.
The way it drives.
Really good off roading.
Great for kayaking.
Hiking.
Camping.
Plenty of room for gear lower roof is helpful for loading kayak and other gear.
Great handling in snow and in muddy terrain.
Very stable.
Good horse power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Hard to see when making turns - the side impact airbag right inline of vision.
Whatever material they use for seats stains way too easy - even water stains the seats but simple fix ....seat covers .....
Gas cap light keeps coming on

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
Love Jeeps. Never had a problem with them. This is my 5th one. Will def always drive Jeeps. I've had other suv's and the Grand Cherokee is the best for the type of outdoor adventures I'm into. Few of my friends have Grand Cherokees and they also have no major problems with them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Looks,spare location,cbin lightys.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
There is a loud wind noise when traveling over 45 mph coming from top side.Like your in a wind tunnel test.Nothing is leaking yet it has this noise.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Maneuverability
Appearance
Price for the value
Agility
Size.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Better rims
Built in running boards (I am only 5"2").

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
I buy a new car every three years, and cannot see spending +/- $60K for a vehicle I cannot drive any longer. I have the V8 Hemi with all options and for the money don't think there is another SUV that can hold a candle to it. I have owned five Jeeps before this and will buy another one in 18 months.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Jeep Grand Cherokee Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee? 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Jeep Model Lineup:
2008 Commander
2008 Compass
2008 Grand Cherokee
2008 Liberty
2008 Patriot
2008 Wrangler
2008 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact