Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Jeep Commander Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Jeep Commander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 13-14/17-19 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
4.7L V8 235HP
5.7L V8 330HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Jeep Commander in the bottom 26% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
26%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Jeep Commander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Jeep Commander also consider:
2008 Jeep Commander Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Jeep Commander
  1. Nice driving experience
  2. The looks
  3. Roomy and comfortable feel
  4. Big sun roof
  5. Classic interior design
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Jeep Commander
  1. Back seat entrance narrow
  2. Improve gas mileage
  3. Big headrests hinders rear view
  4. Larger cargo space
  5. Engine stalls
Submitted Jun 18, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Commander?
The 4.7 litre engine has plenty of go and it gets great mileage with the 6 speed transmission. The Quadra II requires no interference, and that combined wth the ESP leaves the driver (and passengers) at ease while driving under even the most adverse conditions.
Roomy interior with uncluttered controls. The vehicle rides and handles extremely well and comfortably and even though it has a long w/b it still is a breeze to park. Love the three sunroofs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Commander?
Very few improvements required other than the passenger seat needs to have 6 way power like the drivers to raise it up.
If purchasing another (which I plan on) I would order the auxiliary heating/cooling unit with automatic temp control. The vehicle is BIG and the rear unit would be welcome. Other option that I neglected would be the hands free for the cell phone. Hopefully Jeep can arrange to get a diesel power plant fitted before they end the model line.

2008 Jeep Commander Review:
This is my third Jeep and I have loved every one of them. Hands down better than any overdone Chev or GMC,and has styling that sets it apart from the other generic vehicles in the same class, and in many in the price class above.
Drive one and you will be hooked.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 12, 2014

myers
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Commander?
Rides really smooth plenty of power and a lot of options.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Commander?
Give it another gear for better gas mileage.

2008 Jeep Commander Review:
Great suv really fun to drive and has a great aggressive look to it. I would definitely buy another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Commander?
Looks, performance, exclusivity

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Commander?
More cargo space behind the third seat without making the vehicle any larger

2008 Jeep Commander Review:
I love it, I love it, I love it


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Commander?
Headroom & overall room.
Balcony seating in backseat.
Power (I have the V8).
Handling.
Smooth ride.
Gas mileage.
Looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Commander?
More leg room in the backseat, and the 3rd row not big enough for adults.

2007 Jeep Commander Review:
This Jeep is a tank, it will go through anything! No problem going through major snowstorms in the Adirondacks in upstate NY!

Love the headroom, distance between the driver & passenger seat. You're not sitting on top of another. Plenty of room in the cargo for my Great Dane. My husband is 6'6" and he has plenty of headroom.

This is my 3rd Jeep, had Grand Cherokee's before, but the Commander is heaver & much roomier, and drives smoother. Have the V8, drive 40 miles each day to work & fill my gas tank once a week.. not bad! Back seats recline, nice when on long trips for the kids or Grampa to nap.

GREAT VEHICLE - no complaints here!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 17, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Jeep Commander?
Looks.
Performance.
Gadgets - Nav and audio is great!
This is my 5th Jeep and had 2 Lexus RX and Ford Expedition before this Jeep and I am really happy with this Jeep!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Jeep Commander?
1. Door handle (who the heck thought of that?).
2. Third row is close to useless but the interior dimension are almost identical to a Lexus GX. Third row in any mid-size SUV is useless. The third row in an Expedition is great but the overall truck is just too big. Would like to see a Commander on a Durango frame - would provide more third row space.
3. Center console. Too short. Can't stand up a bottle of water, and if you adjust your seat high enough to see anything the center console arm rest is useless.

2009 Jeep Commander Review:
I was amazed at how similar the interior dimensions are on mid size suv's. Commander provides more headroom than all mid size SUV except the GX and LR4 and more legroom than the GX.

So once you get over the fact that all mid size suv's don't have enough inside space, the Jeep Commander is the most fun and the best value on the market (unless you want to resell it in less than 4 years).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 19, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Jeep Commander?
Power, performance, superb traction on snow, ice, mud, rocks-you decide where to go, it gets you there & back in style & comfort. They've outdone themselves with the Commander's performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Jeep Commander?
3rd row seats are good for kids or 1 adult, eventually I'll remove them & make room for more golf clubs. I'm a pilot, can we put some wings & a turbo prop on this?

2006 Jeep Commander Review:
Rides like a luxury sedan on Pa. roads. Handles superbly and confidently with ample feedback to let you know when you're pushing the envelope. Does a fantastic job in the deep snow & icy roads, with the ELSD's & traction control you have to try real hard to spin the wheels. Couple that with the ESP and you have the most sure footed Jeep on the road today. The Commander isn't intimidated one bit when taken off road & will take you anywhere you equip it to go. The Hemi does a good job for the MPG it serves up, using 89 octane will get you a slight increase in performance & MPG while maintaining the same fuel cost per mile. The equation is simple enough, pony up for the increased cost of a good mid grade fuel, you'll go further on a tank, cost per mile remains the same. I've found BP, Hess & Sunoco give me the best results. A lot of thought went into the front driver & passenger compartment. The 8 way adjustable seat & sound insulated interior quell any fatigue normally encountered on long road trips. The seats are the most comfortable I've ever driven in. The instrument panel is designed in a way that all controls can be easily reached without taking your eyes off the road to look for any of them. I enjoy the many compliments I get from passengers along for the ride both on & off road. Performance, comfort & good old Jeep Guts, I am truly impressed by this machine. I own & operate an auto & light truck repair shop so we see a lot come through here, I've owned "Rovers" & they have nothing on a Jeep Commander (5.7 equipped) except higher operating costs & less reliability. I hear rumors that 09 will be the last year for Commanders, that would be a huge mistake in my opinion. Some better marketing is defiantly needed. With the Hemi package this is the ultimate SUV. It's a Jeep thing, move over Rover.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Jeep Commander?
Very safe vehicle to own. Test vehicle in one and half feet of snow on passenger side and driver wheels on wet road. Punched it and vehicle handled straight. No slipping.
Vehicle rides well.

Never gotten stuck

Love the programmable computer for service intervals and all of the options.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Jeep Commander?
Had to replace catalytic converter one side got crushed on rock. Jeep did not protect it well enough. Also crushed ac lines running the entire length of the vehicle.Insurance company picked up the $3000+ bill for all of the repairs.
Blind spots when back seats are up. Virtually no cargo room when using all seven seats.
Blower fan went out. Replaced it. Cost close to $500.00.
Bought Tow wiring kit Mopar. Requires wiring up to the fuse block under the hood and back to the rear.

Issues with tire low sensor when portable DVD player plugged in.

Tire pressure low sensor goes off when cold temperatures outside. Americas Tire checks and fills them for free.
broken left drivers door handle backing.
Not a lot of aftermarket parts due to limited numbers of Commanders produced vs the Wrangler I had years ago.

2006 Jeep Commander Review:
2006 Jeep Commander Sport 3.7L V6

We have owned ours for over 2 years now. Overall love the vehicle. Would love to have some factory skid plates installed or cross members to protect the cats.

Vehicle is great for going just about anywhere.
Hauls my family of 5 around plus our gear.

Would like to have been able to trade in for a new 2014 Jeep Commander.

Previous Jeep 1999 Wrangler Sport Five Speed Manuel. Enjoyed removing the top and doors.

Will own another Jeep.

As they say "Only in a Jeep".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 9, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Jeep Commander?
Interior and Exterior Styling are pure Jeep - and that's a good thing!

I really like the ergonomics of the controls and the layout of the dash. 3rd Row Seats are great for my two kids (although you wouldn't want a full size adult in the 3rd row).

I have the Saddle Brown leather seats and they are sweet looking - I get compliments every time someone gets in the vehicle.

This is also a very quiet vehicle - much more quiet than the 2004 Grand Cherokee I traded for it.

Overall, I love my Commander and it has been very reliable for me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Jeep Commander?
I have the 4.7L V8 and I live at 6,000ft above sea level in Colorado. Although the gas mileage is not great, if I had to do it over again I may have gotten a HEMI for the additional power. This is a big vehicle and an extra 100 horsepower would be great for the mountain passes. The 4.7L is adequate, but the extra horses would be very nice.

The gas mileage is town is poor but I get about 20-21mpg on the highway as long as I'm not gunning it. I average 17.5mpg with a mix of city and highway driving.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2014

Buck
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Commander?
Great looks
Great Power
Great Handling
Great comfort
Quiet Ride
Great reliability
Love the Theatre Seating for people in the back two rows

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Commander?
Can always ask for better gas mileage
(I've got the 5.7 Hemi and love it... even with the 20mpg it gives me)

2007 Jeep Commander Review:
Good... Good and more Good

I wish they were still making this vehicle!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 4, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Jeep Commander?
1) GREAT POWER!!!!! I have a HEMI and I get almost 17 to 18 on the highway, going 75 to 80... Keep this vehicle 100% stock and you will get this.
2) Off road capabilities- this vehicle can practically go anywhere.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Jeep Commander?
More leg room in the 2nd row seat and in the 3rd row seat...

2007 Jeep Commander Review:
Overall, I am completely in love with this vehicle. I'm coming out of a 2006 F250 Diesel, and I can pull my 6x12 trailer loaded, just as easy with this Jeep and I could with my truck... I have never had any issues with stalling, leaking, or anything........ I guess that I am lucky..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Jeep Commander Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Jeep Commander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Jeep Commander? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Jeep Commander? 2008 Jeep Commander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Jeep Model Lineup:
2008 Commander
2008 Compass
2008 Grand Cherokee
2008 Liberty
2008 Patriot
2008 Wrangler
2008 Wrangler Unlimited
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Jeep Commander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact