Log in
5.7 million people served. 14,550 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Explorer Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Ford Explorer

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 13-14/19-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.0L V6 210HP
4.6L V8 292HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Ford Explorer in the top 50% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Ford Explorer in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Ford Explorer also consider:
2008 Ford Explorer Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Ford Explorer
  1. Exterior styling - front design
  2. PowerFold 3rd row
  3. Powerful engine
  4. Quiet ride
  5. Sound system
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Ford Explorer
  1. Improve gas mileage
  2. Inside door handle position
  3. Longer warranty
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. More storage space
Submitted Sep 2, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Explorer?
Plenty of power.

Great sound system. Love the USB and line inputs. Haven't hooked up a bluetooth phone, but can see how great that would be for those that need it.

Good value for the price.

Attractive color and design.

Good mileage (but then I had been driving a 15 year old F150).

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Explorer?
Passenger seat is not power adjust.

I would like to have the front seats fully recline. They only go back about 45 degrees.

Instrument layout is poor. It is difficult to read the gages during the day-almost impossible while wearing sunglasses.

Rear window came tinted. I would have preferred it did not as the tint really reduces visibility while backing up, especially in low light situations like parking garages.

2008 Ford Explorer Review:
Overall, I am happy with the 2008 Explorer. I hate the instrument panel, but I'm sure I will get used to it - eventually.

I have come to love the sound system. The sound is great and I can plug in my iPod and control it from the dash.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 17, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Explorer?
It has a very good ride, you would never really think of a Ford Explorer riding good but it was a very pleasant surprise.

Love the exterior looks, good combination of the color black with the gold trim on the bottom with the Eddie Bauer package.

Controls are simple and pretty straight forward.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Not much MPG difference between the v6 and the v8 models.

Interior fit and finish could be better, not a huge fan of the hard plastics.

2007 Ford Explorer Review:
I love the Explorer Eddie Bauer.

This year we drove all the way from Illinois to Alaska in the Explorer. It performed beautifully and couldn't have asked for a better ride, that good ride really comes in handy on the Alaskan highway. That road is terrible!

I hate that they are going to a car frame in 2011, they say that it will improve the ride. That's a pretty stupid decision on Ford's part for:
1. the ride is fine the way it is, and
2. it loses most of its off road capabilities. Doesn't this kind of defeat the purpose of owning a FORD EXPLORER?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 24, 2012

andy kyriakidis
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Great in the snow & great on long trips.
Great ride & overall quality of this vehicle is outstanding!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Mileage isn't the greatest. 16/25. In the winter the mileage drops to 12/17.

2007 Ford Explorer Review:
Definitely give vehicle overall 2 thumbs up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Ford Explorer?
Looks good.
Drives nice.
Great value.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Ford Explorer?
Took too long to get here after we ordered it.

2011 Ford Explorer Review:
First vehicle we have bought brand new, and we are very happy with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Looks (Interior/Exterior) & Smooth ride! I've bought my 2007 Explorer (4.0) second hand. I have driven a Toyota 4Runner, but it does not come close to the ride of the Explorer. Very very smooth.

Also, I did not feel any strain on the engine when I loaded it full with people and stuff. It just took off with ease. Fuel efficiency cannot be expected as this has a V6 engine and is a very heavy vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Much better User Manual.

2007 Ford Explorer Review:
Smooth Ride!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 16, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Explorer?
We had a ton of snow in the NE this year and it definitely did it's job! Great in the snow and I feel really safe with a baby.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Explorer?
Headrests in the back made it difficult for me to put a baby car seat inside. I wish they were removable or could be pushed down.

2006 Ford Explorer Review:
This car is amazing! My husband just bought this for me and I love it. It high up and with a baby, I feel really safe. It rides smooth and does everything I need in a car/SUV.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 17, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Explorer?
My 2006 Ford Explorer dosent have the 3rd seat because I needed the extra room. Theirs plenty of room for anything that you will normally carry in a SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Explorer?
Steering wheel looks out of place like it dosent belong in the car.

2006 Ford Explorer Review:
I been reading about the explorer for a while now before making my decision and came to find out after all its a really good car for the price. People that were having problems with their Explorer are people that have had the car for more than 6 year or cars with over 70k miles. Any car after that time or miles you will give you problems. The performace is good. Its not a sport car so I'm not specting for the best of it when it comes to speed.The room inside is plenty for my family of 3.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Size
Style
Feel
Easy in/out access

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Explorer?
Better looking dash lighting
better sound system
More standard features (DVD Entertainment package, etc.)
More comfortable seats
Cupholders to fit larger (32 or 44 ounce cups)
Better fuel economy.

2007 Ford Explorer Review:
We like our Explorer, but it has a few nagging problems. The dash lights flicker frequently, engine has weird noises when cold, fuel door needs to have a lock, interior heat needs to have a complete shutoff for drivers feet area (no matter the setting hot air constantly blows out of the lower feet setting). Quality needs to be improved and mileage certainly needs to be addressed through a hybrid or diesel option.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 2, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Explorer?
Ride
Styling
Navigation
Comfort
Turning radius

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Explorer?
Put a small diesel in it and fix the interior door pull location.

2006 Ford Explorer Review:
I am quite pleased with my 2006 Ford Explorer Limited V-8, it handles and rides as well as the 1999 Cadillac Seville I traded in on it. The Interior is well designed and quite comfortable. I am really impressed with the quietness of the ride, the turning radius and the Navigation system. Economy is still an issue, it seems to me that they could have either put a small diesel in it or made it an hybrid. My only real complaint is the interior door pulls, who ever designed them didn't have a clue. They are dangerous at best, several times a high wind has caught the door and caused the door to open uncontrollably due to the location of the interior door pulls. I noticed that the 2007 Explorers corrected the problem at least in the front. With all of the discounts I got it was a good value.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 12, 2008
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Explorer?
I like the way it feels driving and that it has a ton of space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Explorer?
Find a new way to fuel it.

2006 Ford Explorer Review:
Great for somebody who does not need to drive many miles. Who needs a car and does not need to drive though?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Ford Explorer Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Ford Explorer?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Explorer? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Explorer? 2008 Ford Explorer Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Ford Model Lineup:
2008 Econoline
2008 Edge
2008 Escape
2008 Escape Hybrid
2008 Expedition
2008 Explorer
2008 Explorer Sport Trac
2008 F-150
2008 F-250/F-350
2008 Focus
2008 Fusion
2008 Mustang
2008 Ranger
2008 Shelby GT 500
2008 Taurus
2008 Taurus X
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Ford Explorer | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise