Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,673 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Ford Escape

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-24/23-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.3L I4 153HP
3.0L V6 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 41 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Ford Escape in the bottom 50% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Ford Escape in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Ford Escape also consider:
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
Over all, I like it but now my warranty ran out.... Now issues are surfacing. The dealership and service department treat me very well. :)
Customer service at Ford Credit Company are wonderful!
This is my second Escape Limited. The first one was lease and I gave it back just in time. This one was good til 30,000 kms, then went to bad fast. I love the way it handles on the Alberta winter roads.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Extend your powertrain warranty to 90,000 from 60,000 kms.
Finance department did not cancel my 2006 Escape lease to Ford in time (2.5 weeks they had) and I had two truck payments the first month owning this one. All they said to me was, "you have to contact Ford to cancel you monthly payments." In the end, they credited my new term with the money they withdrew from the lease. They have caused me a lot of hassle that could have been avoided.

Tire wear is horrible. Lucky if I got 55,000 kms on original tires. Second set of Michelin lasted to 90,000 kms. Rating was 100,000 kms. Now onto set #3. Moved to Firestone Destination tires and they good so far.

My gauge used to state I could get at least 550 km to a tank. now it reads between 390 - 420 kms. I feel like I'm spending more time fueling up than enjoying driving like I used to.

Heated Seats only heat the bottom of seat not your back.
The rims rust very easy. I had 17" chrome wheels on both escapes and they both started rusting at less than 10000 kms on both vehicles.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
I like it because it is my second limited. I would not get a cloth version. It has a sleek, unique design which is what I liked the most.

My daughter picked this one out. Truthfully I can't wait to cut my ties / losses when I have less owing since it is worth 1/3rd of what I paid for it 2.5 years ago. Good for taking trips with, but not so good when driving short distances.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
I own a Black 2008 v-6.

1. Surprisingly fast SUV. When I see an opening to merge onto I-83...there is no problem with acceleration and control.

2. I have hauled grills, tv's, lumber, yard tools, etc. in it. I have only needed to borrow a truck twice since I have owned it. Once for a crib I didn't want to break down, and another for a free snowblower.

3. Does very well in the snow.

4. I feel safe. I know accidents are all circumstantial, but recently here in PA, we had one get hit by a train, and the people survived. That says something.

5. Easy to zip around parking lots and squeeze into Target's tiny spaces.

6. Does good off road. Being a hunter, there are times when I go up an old farm trail where I have to straddle vehicle crippling ruts and washouts....it climbs them just fine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
1. I don't think I am getting as good gas mileage as I should. I'm no speed racer, and I don't run the AC a lot. The only time I feel I'm getting the best is on a long trip with cruise control on.

2. An occasional rattling when I turn on the heat.

3. Braking is tricky when it rains. Sometimes I would slow down to pull in a parking spot....and it would keep going. No it's not my tires, I have new ones. It almost seems like the ABS kicks in, and I very slowly (2-3 mph) "coast". I hit the brake again and it slam stops us. The dealer didn't believe me.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 21, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
When I purchased the vehicle, I liked the fact that the rear seats folded perfectly flat. Enjoyed the drive, interior and satisfied with the performance for a 4 cylinder vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
For a SUV, and being the owner of a canoe, there are no real tie downs to secure the canoe to the vehicle. Roof rack seems to be more cosmetic than functional - too small.

My key issues are with the workmanship and dealer support. Paint on side trim pieces flaked off and dealership would not cover. Paint on rear hatch hinges starting to do the same. Uneven wear on tires and is starting to sound like a bus when driving highway speeds. Vehicle has been under the dealership's care the whole period and they are not owning up to the problem.

The redesigned windshield washer blades are useless in Canadian "slushy" winters. During one storm, I had to pull over on a multi-lane highway three times to clear the blades. They do not offer a winter version of the blade and they are too new to find an aftermarket brand.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
Though I enjoy driving the vehicle, the issues I have run into with the dealership / Ford standing behind their product is leaving me bitter. We are looking for a new vehicle for my partner and am about to send an email to both Ford and the dealership letting them know that we will not be looking at their product due to the lack of confidence


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
I purchased my 2008 Ford Escape XLT 4 wheel Drive for twelve thousand dollars in cash and I am satisfied with its rugged exterior looks, preety powerful performance and relative interior room and comfort. This SUV was optimistically obtained with 70,000 miles and only one previous owner who took responsibility in assuring the vehicles warranty service schedules and who took personal pride in the quality of handling manuverability and post warranty maintanance. Ford exels in quality marksmanship and I am soon to purchase a second vehicle... The 2013 Ford Escape Hybrid crossover.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Technology that improves stain resistance of the interior cloth design.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
A great compact SUV that is a pleasure to own and drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 11, 2012

Dan
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
1. Great styling inside and out.
2. Powerful 3.0 engine.
3. Cargo space with rear seats down.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
1. Average to low gas mileage.
2. Engine knocks when first started. Ford service manager says that is typical. (Ya right!)
3. Interior parts (eye glass holder) expensive to replace.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
We enjoy our Escape a lot, but wish we had the hybrid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 7, 2012

J Jolliff
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
Roomy.
Comfortable seats.
Good gas mileage.
Peppy 4 cylinder engine.
Dependable performance.
Good maneuverability in tight places.
Good, open, outside vision from the driver's seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Improved cloth seat upholstery (stains easily).
Less road noise from tires.
Another inch between front seats and door posts (sometimes hard to get seat belt latches through the space).
Improved idler pulley position.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
Basically a good mid-size SUV in a 2 wheel drive 4 cylinder vehicle. Economical fuel mileage locally and on the road. Blue in color, and would prefer White. Currently 100300 miles.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 24, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
I like the styling, compared to other small suvs, good ride, gas mileage average 28 mpg.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Better quality parts that last longer.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
Had the vehicle for a year now. Replaced abs tone rings on both front axles, power steering pulley (squealing), the charco canister the gas fumes go into (would not take gas on a fill up) exhaust flex pipe, console bulb light twice, front pads & rotors, serpentine belt. About 1200.00 in repairs.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 25, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
The style and design. THAT IS IT!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Reliability, quality, almost everything but the styling. It's nice looking and that is it!

2008 Ford Escape Review:
I bought my 2008 Escape brand new in March of 2008 trading in my 2006 because of the redesigned version being much nicer. What a mistake. I drive a lot and ALL highway about 200 miles a day 75 miles each way on the NYS thruway and 20 miles on another major 2 lane highway. Needless to say I racked the miles up quickly and by a year and a half I was out of warranty. My heater started only working on high when the car had 40,000 miles on it, the seats stained almost immediately from the sweat of a water bottle, black paint/tape on the doors started peeling after a year, then the major stuff started happening. At 62,000 miles it was dumping transmission fluid by the quart daily. I researched it and found out thousands of others with the same vehicle and the sister cars (Tribute, Mariner) were having the same issue. Clearly it's a manufacturer defect. I called Ford who will do absolutely NOTHING for you. They will tell you that your out of warranty your responsible and it doesn't matter whether or not the issue can kill you. Well that fix was $900 for a 2 year old car. Then I get the truck back and a month and a half later there is loud clunking when turning. I take it to Monro and they find it to be a steering universal joint and guess what surprise dealer only part. Funny thing again I research the problem again which is life threatening as the part can fail and you will have no steering and again thousands of people online complaining that they are having to pay to fix this and again I call Ford and get the same old speech. This repair was $1100 to repair as the steering shaft needs to be replaced as well. I surely think its funny that Ford boasts that it never needed a bailout but is it because they are making money hand over fist due to defect parts going on BRAND NEW cars. I consider myself luck as mine went after 60,000 miles and some people's are failing as early as 40000 miles. STAY AWAY FROM THE ESCAPE. I WOULD HAVE TO SAY IT IS THE MOST UNRELIABLE VEHICLE OUT THERE. DO THE RESEARCH FOR YOURSELF IF YOU FEEL I AM OVER BIASED OR BLOWING OUT OF CONTEXTED. CHECK YOUTUBE FOR ISSUES THEY HAVE VIDEOS. It's crazy that a car company can care less about possibly killing someone with a defective product. Thanks for reading I hope this helps with your decision on purchasing one of these waste of money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2012

Gloria thompson
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
Small enough to easily fit into small parking spaces.
Love how the back seats fold flat to haul things.
V6 is strong enough to tow my trailer with motorcycle or riding mower.
I love my Escape - not had to do anything except general maintenance and I'm at 70,000 miles so far.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Wish gas mileage was a bit better. I average around 21-22 mpg and I'm not a lead foot type of driver.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 27, 2011

brenda young
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
Drives ok.
Inside ok.
Like size.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Longer warr.
Better body, exterior paint rust on body.
Transmission.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
Not too pleased. Does not get best miles on gas for size. Transmission shifts rough. Just hope I didn't make a mistake.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Ford Escape?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape? 2008 Ford Escape Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Ford Model Lineup:
2008 Econoline
2008 Edge
2008 Escape
2008 Escape Hybrid
2008 Expedition
2008 Explorer
2008 Explorer Sport Trac
2008 F-150
2008 F-250/F-350
2008 Focus
2008 Fusion
2008 Mustang
2008 Ranger
2008 Shelby GT 500
2008 Taurus
2008 Taurus X
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Ford Escape | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise