Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/17-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.3L V6 195HP
4.8L V8 295HP
5.3L V8 315HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 31 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Chevrolet Silverado in the bottom 49% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
49%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado also consider:
2008 Chevrolet Silverado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. XM Radio
  2. Auto folding mirrors
  3. Best fuel economy in class
  4. Daytime lights
  5. Digital MPG readout
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. Exterior & interior design old
  2. Reliability
  3. Side-curtain airbag
  4. Better crash test results
  5. Lumbar adjustment
Submitted Jun 1, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
My Silverado lived up to all my reasons for buying it.

Ride height was perfect for me (6" 2"), no step up required.

Interior well laid out, liked the power folding mirrors, duel climate control and message center, which save my wife with having to deal with a flat tire.

Overall, I enjoyed my 2008 Silverado very much.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Powertrain-when slowing to a stop the rear-end jumps. The powertrain seems unsure as to drop into first or stay in second. No problem if you come to a complete stop.

Rear seats very noisy when folded up.

Ticking noise from rear of engine # 7 or #8 cylinder, usually at idle.

4 speed tranny sucks.

Fuel Management System is nothing but a selling point. Does not work in head wind, have to be going down grade to work. Was not impressed with the system.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
My 2008 CrewCab 1500 Z71 Silverado served its purpose. Anyone who purchases a full size pick-up should not complain about the price of fuel, it's a pick-up. I enjoyed my present Silverado very much but I would not consider purchasing another one until many useful improvements are made.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2017
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
I enjoy the pulling power as far as pulling trailers, the comfort of the ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
I would raise the quality of the front end components (i.e.-A arms, hub assy, tie rods)
I would upgrade the radio speakers ( the cheap 20 dollar stock speakers should be outlawed )

I would have the diagnostic system be better as far as pin pointing exactly what part is malfunctioning instead of guessing and costing the owner thousands of dollars trying to fix their 56000 dollar truck.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
If GMAC would address the guessing game on their diagnostic system since they are making everything electronic and even their system check computer cannot pin point the trouble to just one part that has to be replaced WHAT IS THE POINT EITHER FIX THIS OR LOWER THE PRICE OF THE TRUCKS SO REPAIRS ARE AFFORDABLE


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 7, 2013

Charles DeSantis
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Truck performs well I have the 6.6 diesel crew cab duel rear wheels. Plenty of power and comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
The fuel gauge never works properly I have had it back to the dealer five times they replaced the sensor but now it is on empty with the low fuel light on it did move the last time but not this time. The dealer said I have to get it down to a quarter of a tank in order to examine it again. No fix in sight I guess. Not helpful when towing a 40 ft. trailer to Florida.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Truck is good except for this problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2012

John S Alfano
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great looks, nice riding.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Better quality of parts. Stand behind things that should have been a recall. A canister vent solenoid had to be replaced on my truck and two of my friends also had the same problem.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I have been a customer of yours for over fifty years, but sorry that will change.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 5, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
I bought my 08 Silverado brand new and have over 50k on it and I have no complaints.
Great family truck, comfortable, powerful, good looking and very dependable.
Wouldn't trade it for anything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
It's hard to knit pick a perfect truck. Only thing I can think of is I would like to be able to turn on the cargo light by itself in the bed of the truck without turning on the interior lamps. That's it.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I love this truck. I have the Silverado crew cab LTZ package with the 6.0 vortecmax and love it. Lots of torque and you can feel the power towing. It's lifted with 36" tires and still has the power it did stock. It looks great, runs awesome and is fun to drive. This is my third Chevy and this one I'll never get rid of. I love the compliments I get too.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 6, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great looking truck.
Good ride.
Decent 4wd.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Gear ratio too high 1800 rpm, at 70mph no torque=poor fuel economy in town. My o4 Silverado would smoke the tires any time you wanted, (and I got 20 mpg). This one can't spin (even with tcs off) and I only get 14 mpg.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Ok, it's a truck. Other than mpg, it fits me perfectly and it's a crew cab 4x4 and it's holding its value great. I haven't had any problems with it at all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Exterior looks good.
Road handling is pretty good for a truck.
Has decent leg room in the front.
Got it from dealership with parrot bluetooth car kit, weatherguard toolbox, and bed coating.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
The engine sucks!(v6) Never get better than 17 mpg freeway driving, usually around 15-16 mpg, and that's babying the damn thing. And don't even look like you wanna pull out into traffic unless there's a 1/4 mile gap between you and the oncoming traffic. And passing someone forget about it. The motor is very weak. Which leads into the transmission, it doesn't like to downshift when you need it too, and by the time you let off the accelerator, it decides it's time to down shift. Had the same prob with my 2006 Silverado (which eventually blow the tranny due to a faulty speed sensor). Door seals leak, and have since it was bought brand new, road noise is atrocious. Cab vibration is out of control. Front end is too low in comparison to the rear. These trucks don't have a cabin filter(s), and working in dust and dirt all day, it pointless to clean the interior, because the dust just blows everywhere. The engine is also designed so the plug wires (yes plug wires!) run through the middle of the exhaust manifold piping, and get melted and need replacing. The CEL is constantly on and off for reasons unknown (on-star is a joke for diagnosis by the way, because if the light is off when they send the monthly diagnosis, it doesn't report it.) Front tires wear on the inside for some reason. Constant rotation is a must. Due to the lack of a cabin filter, the cd player wont eject discs due to the dust. I could go on but those are the main problems with this thing.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
If you're gonna buy one, get the v8 models. V6 1500 is a joke. It's a full size truck with a SUV motor.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 7, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Looks, handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Gas Mileage.. I have never gotten more than 15 MPG even on an interstate trip. I've added a Cold air Intake, tried computer adjustments etc.. and nothing has improved the gas mileage. The sticker said 20MPG Highway.. Not even close. I love everything about this truck except this. I owned a 1999 extended cab 4x4 Silverado and got 26mpg on several road trips with the same engine.. It was an awesome truck. What the heck happened?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 26, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great engine (5.3) and chassis.
Handles great for a truck.
Brakes are excellent.
Love the auto 4-wheel drive mode!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Brake pedal is much higher than the gas pedal, requiring you to raise your leg to brake.. Will GM ever get this right?????

4-speed auto is a joke, geared way too high for a 4 speed. 2nd gear is geared way too high. This is a truck GM, not a nascar racer. Shifts to 3rd too easily, does not shift to 1st easy enough.

Interior storage is poor. Many storage compartments that are too small or poorly sized to fit anything. Chevy brags about having 2 glove boxes, but both are too small to hold anything. Would rather have one large one.

They brag about the rear ext-cab doors opening 180 degrees, but it is never needed. The same doors will not stay open in the slightest wind.

Radio and climate control buttons are small and are not ergonomic. Hard to work the climate controls with gloves.

GM....please, please will you make the brake and gas pedals on your vehicles at the same height? My 20 year old Acura puts you to shame with ergonomics.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 20, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Silverado ltz is the best ever truck. I have had pickups all my life, and this is the best yet.

I get 20 mpg on road, and 17 mpg in town.

I really like all the ltz stuff, interior, steering wheel controls, dash etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?
Dual exhausts.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Best truck yet.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Silverado? 2008 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2008 Avalanche
2008 Aveo
2008 Cobalt
2008 Colorado
2008 Corvette
2008 Equinox
2008 Express
2008 HHR
2008 Impala
2008 Malibu
2008 Malibu Hybrid
2008 Silverado
2008 Silverado HD
2008 Suburban
2008 Tahoe
2008 Tahoe Hybrid
2008 TrailBlazer
2008 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Chevrolet Silverado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact