Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Chevrolet Colorado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-20/22-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.9L I4 185HP
3.7L I5 242HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 18 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Chevrolet Colorado in the bottom 27% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
27%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Chevrolet Colorado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Chevrolet Colorado also consider:
2008 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Solid build
  2. Simplicity of interior
  3. Sturdy feel
  4. Practical layout
  5. Bang for the buck
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Engine performance
  2. More interior sizzle
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Blend design
Submitted Jul 9, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Ours is an 4WD extended cab work truck with 3.7 engine and auto transmission.

This truck has loads of leg room as I'm 6'4" tall and the Colorado's leg room sold me.

I pull an aluminum trailer with two 500 lb. 4 wheelers and the Colorado does this easily.

We have already gotten 23 mpg which I consider good.

The 3.7 liter engine will get you to highway speed easily when merging on the on ramps.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Somewhat noisy in the cab, and the seats could use a bit more padding, but the seat angle is comfortable.

I'm not real pleased with GM and the financial problems and THAT alone would keep me from buying again though I like the Colorado.

The location of the oil filter just above the cross member leaves oil spilling all over the area and necessitates the removal of the skid plate when changing oil to get at the filter and to clean the mess.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
I have not had any of the problems I have read about with the Colorado/Canyon trucks. I'm pleased with the generous leg room, but would like a telescoping steering column.

The days of having a truck that gets 14-18mpg is over for me and the increased gas mileage is appreciated.

All in all this is a fairly nice truck for less money than the others I looked at. (Tacoma, Ranger, Dakota)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 1, 2013

Chris Benthall
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
I love the looks of this truck, very sharp.
The handling is great and power is good for the engine.
Very few problems with my truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
I think there's more power to the I5 GM should develop it.
Mileage is not the best but mine is a Z71 with tow package.
Stretch the wheel base to 128 in.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
My truck has been faithful and dependable. It corners like a champ and in 4x4 hasn't been stopped.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2013

Eddie
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
The Chevy Colorado 08 3.7L is at a good price - I love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2012

Barry D. Varga
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
I like the style. It is a sharp looking truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Gas mileage for sure. I have the crew cab and I wish it had the same box as the ext cab because I can't haul longer items with it.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
The 04 sierra crew we had before this was twice the truck, but if you keep to the speed limit, I would get 25 to 27 highway mileage. The Colorado can only dream about that.

Would I recommend it to anyone? Not likely.

The door agar light and interior light come on when you apply the brakes then go off when you accelerate. But the dash still says doors agar.

Also the tpm light comes on for no reason - had it back to dealer and they can't find anything wrong. Also getting exhaust smell in cab - again nothing done. I don't like the looks of the full size trucks - big a bulky like a Ford F-350. I'm not sure that I would buy another GM truck, and definitely not a Ford or Dodge.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Have 64,000 miles and the transmission went out. Luckly it is under warranty


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 11, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
The looks and overall handling of the truck.
Quite strong and sturdy for the size of its engine.
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Add an ipod/mp3 input into the audio.
Make the seats more comfortable for the extended cab.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2010

marty
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Handles ok.
Looks not bad.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Plastic everywhere.
Service engine light comes and goes for no apparent reason.
How could they put a four cylinder in a 4x4 with a towing package?
Very thin metal that bends easily.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Personally I think it's a overpriced, plastic piece of junk. I've driven Chevys all my life and this is the last one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2010

Jim Combs
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Good gas mileage.
Lots of leg room.
Had for 2 years and only took it back to the dealer one time for a minor weatherstripping issue. Dependable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Offer an 8 ft bed.
Change transmission so it does not downshift 2 gears when going up (really) steep hills.
Reduce road noise.
Get rid of the irritating DRL.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Good value $14000. No mechanical issues in 2 years. 26mpg highway, 21-22mpg city. A vehicle is merely transportation, and this has been a good value for me. Very sorry to see the S10 go, but time moves on.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 27, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
All around looks.
Power of the 3.7.
The room in cab for a small truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Turning radius.
Cab noise.

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
I am satisfied with my Colorado. If you stay off the gas you get desent mileage. Hardest part is figuring out what accessories to purchase to make it your own!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 24, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
Very smooth driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?
I would def. like Chevy to improve on the gas mileage. It is horrible with this truck once you put anything in the bed such as a dirt bike or gear or wood or anything you might as well be driving a V8. But without the V8 power. Also the brakes squeal every time I come to a stop, you'd think Chevy could fix that, too, right?

2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
I'm not too impressed with this truck, it gets just as good of mileage as an F-150 or the Chevy 1500. This truck is just a car with a bed on it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Chevrolet Colorado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Colorado? 2008 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2008 Avalanche
2008 Aveo
2008 Cobalt
2008 Colorado
2008 Corvette
2008 Equinox
2008 Express
2008 HHR
2008 Impala
2008 Malibu
2008 Malibu Hybrid
2008 Silverado
2008 Silverado HD
2008 Suburban
2008 Tahoe
2008 Tahoe Hybrid
2008 TrailBlazer
2008 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Chevrolet Colorado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact